Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 11, 2009
It took me a little while to get into this book, maybe because it had been so long since I read the last Riley book that I just felt disconnected from the world, or because Riley just isn't out there almost getting killed every two seconds in this one. Whatever the reason, it may read a bit slow to some in comparison to the others in the series. BUT, oh lordy, Ms Arthur makes up for it in the end!

Riley is investigating not just a series of vampire killings (its the vamps being offed) but a series of zombie killings (the zombies are doing the offing). All of it smack dab in the middle of the full moon. Needless to say Riley gets herself into a spot of trouble. She is trying to juggle time with her super hawt vampire lover Quinn into her case load, and is actually doing a pretty good job, but is distracted by the appearance of bounty hunter Kye into the mix. This unlikeable (or so Riley tries to tell herself) werewolf keeps turning up, setting Riley into a hormonal twist.

I definitely recommend this book, while not as action packed as previous books, this one has a few emotional and personal discoveries for Riley that will have you hopping up and down waiting for the next installment!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2009
The Riley Jenson, Guardian novels cross the fantasy genre with paranormal romance, and Deadly Desire somehow gets lost in the translation.

The premise of Riley's world is unique and interesting, set in modern-day Australia where supernaturals live among humans and are policed by a Directorate of Guardians (a combination James Bond/Navy SEAL squad comprised of supernatural races including vampires and werewolves). Unfortunately, the protagonist Riley Jenson, who is a rare werewolf-vampire hybrid with expanding psychic talents, has a host of annoying personality traits that make it very difficult for readers to take her seriously as a skilled investigator.

Riley's promiscuity is written into the core story as a preoccupation of werewolves due to "moon heat" and often dominates her limited investigatory skills. Additionally, every male character with the exception of her boss Jack and her twin brother Rhoan and his partner Liander, are essentially interchangeable: stereotypical hunks with different hair and eye color. With few exceptions, all of these physically perfect men eventually or immediately become Riley's lovers in the context of each new investigation. Often, the prose is literally recycled in each book with phrases like "kaleidoscope of sensations" and "happy hormones" that make repetitive appearances in all 7 books to date! Riley's investigations largely consist of wisecracking with CSU workers at murder scenes, chasing suspects around the city, and going undercover at exotic locations, which often serve to further her expanding collection of lovers.

Deadly Desire opens with Riley pursing a murder suspect while grousing to herself about the interruption to her sex life with on-again off-again vampire lover Quinn. Riley tails the suspect to an abandoned warehouse where she bumps into Kye, a werewolf bounty hunter paid to find the killer by a victim's parents. Their suspect turns out to be a zombie reanimated by magic who is controlled by a black crow--a shapeshifter who gets away--and who looses a pack of hellhounds on Riley and Kye. Thus begins the investigation of why vampires are being murdered in Melbourne.

Riley's case is constantly thwarted by Kye, who also frustrates her personal life, as their mutual attraction interferes with Riley's intention to remain faithful to Quinn. When a prominent vampire and friend of the head of the Directorate is murdered and a witness fingers a stripper as a possible suspect, Riley goes undercover at (where else?) a strip club. Kye shows up to conduct his own investigation which includes a lap dance from Riley and hints that this werewolf is not all he seems.

While the story itself could serve as a stand-alone in the series, Riley's preoccupation with men and her attractions to her workmates overwhelm her investigation, and the prose in relation to the ever-present love scenes (at times) reaches the level of soft-core porn as opposed to mainstream fiction, or even mainstream romance. Riley's continuing quest for her soulmate becomes a major factor in this story by book's end.

Readers who enjoy erotica will be delighted by the steamy content of Deadly Desire, but for those who prefer more of a focus on police procedural urban fantasy may want to look elsewhere.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2010
The Riley Jensen series has been one of my favorites for a while. Unfortunately, the last few novels haven't wowed me. It's feels like Riley is talking about the same issues in every novel. She will be in grave danger and she will never be happy with Quinn because he's not a werewolf. Her thinking is very one dimensional, and she hasn't grown much as a character from novel one. She is still lusting after random strangers when she has a man at home, and frankly it's starting to get old. The series is getting entirely too predictable. I assume in the next novel she will get into danger, somehow manage to get out of it, and Quinn will stick with her. Personally, I'm starting to think he deserves better than Riley, since he will never be enough for her. Even if she were to stop lusting after other men and be with Quinn, I still think she would flirt with her colleagues, and it's just not an attractive trait. I guess I hoped Riley would grow up, but that may never happen. The mysteries and the danger are interesting, and I still enjoy the plots of the books, but there may be a point when my dislike for Riley makes me not want to continue reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
I like the crime fighter Riley Jensen but her personal life is getting old. She has a lot of sex with different men throughout the series and then seems to finally settle down with Quinn only to be attracted and tempted with Kye. Who turns out to be her soul mate. Only they hate each other. Which makes no sense to me because all she's been longing for is finding her soul mate. So then she has to hurt Quinn who has made plenty of sacrifices for her but it's not reciprocated. Aye carrumba! I will read the next installment but I really hope Riley finally grows up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
These books just keep you guessing if Riley will ever have a happy ending!!! I just enjoy Keri Arthurs books. If you enjoy werewolves, vampires and every other supernatural creature you will love these books. You will laugh, cry, get angry and be shocked more times than you can count. I suggest you start with the first book of this series and read them all, you won't be able to stop at just one.
I don't believe in giving spoilers to books, so you won't find any here. I will tell you that if you are looking for a book that has drama, romance, suspense, action and heartache you have found the book and series you've been looking for in a paranormal romance. Still not sure? Find a friend who has this book and read it ,then see if you don't get the whole series. I dare you....lol. Enjoy. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2014
Deadly Desire is book seven of the Riley Jensen, Guardian series by Keri Arthur.

Zombies are killing innocents. Vampires are being torn apart without a struggle. And there's a mysterious sorceress raising hellhounds in Melbourne. All these things are connected, if Riley can figure out how. Oh, and somehow avoid the dangerously attractive werewolf bounty hunter Kye who calls to her soul.

Riley's love life is finally on track and she's given her heart to Quinn, but Kye might just change all that. Unless Riley is strong enough to resist a desire that's almost deadly in its potency.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
i adore this series it's got everything I laughed & cried & was a nervouse wreck. Keri Arthur is a genius I love her writing style & awesome character creation & my this combination I wish there was more between dark angel series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
I loved this book's plot with the magic as a central component, even if it was sort of gory at times. I won't bore you with a plot summary as I know other reviewers are fond of doing that. I will say, however, that this book has a crucial thing happen for the main character that has been a long time in coming and it changes everything up to a point. This was a very emotionally "thick" book, so to speak, because every bit of it was tied to some strong emotion of some kind by nearly every character in ever chapter. It was, again, quite a ride for me, personally. If you liked the previous books in this series, I say give this one a shot. Have at it! I don't think you'll regret it. I can't wait to read the next one as I type this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2012
Another great adventure with Riley! I love these books. Sometimes when series get to the 7th book, you get a little bored or see the same things happening over and over again. But Keri has a way of fully sucking you the story and having a great adventure.

Of coarse with Riley being a guardian her life is always on the line while taking down the bad guy or girls in this case. Her and Quinn finally seem to be on the same page and their relationship is going great . Then comes Kye. Riley was actually a very very good girl but things got out of control at the end and now everything must change!! Its a great twist. And as much as I want her and Quinn to be together, I wouldn't mind her playing around with Kye for a bit.

I can not wait to see how this all plays out. Oh and my dog is lucky I read this book before he so meanly ate it. Damn Dog!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Keri Arthur is a fun author. Her characters make me smile and the stories are very relaxing and allow me to get away from the pure technical world I work in most of the time. I'd say that's a great reommendation, lol!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.