Deadly Sanctuary (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.95
  • Save: $2.82 (18%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by BigHeartedBooks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Book is in very good condition, there may be some minor wear from a prior reader or two but very good books are in excellent condition. Super fast shipping is available and we offer a money back guarantee.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Deadly Sanctuary (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series) Paperback – April 28, 1998


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.13
$4.99 $0.01


Frequently Bought Together

Deadly Sanctuary (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series) + The Devil's Cradle (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series) + Dark Moon Crossing (Kendall O'Dell Mystery series)
Price for all three: $43.75

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $2.99 (Save 61%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Bone Clocks" by David Mitchell.

Product Details

  • Series: Kendall O'Dell Mystery series (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 360 pages
  • Publisher: Nite Owl Books; Fourth Edition, Fourth edition edition (April 28, 1998)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0966110579
  • ISBN-13: 978-0966110579
  • Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (389 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #718,018 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Deadly Sanctuary is a literary rollercoaster ride of suspense, an outstanding mystery from first to last" -The Midwest Book Review

"Nobel's whodunit is in the vein of Agatha Christie or Jessica Fletcher of Murder She Wrote fame. I got hooked...that's what a good mystery should be." -Grant Smith, Sonoran News

"Sylvia Nobel's tale of mystery will hold your attention from beginning to end. Her style is similar to Tony Hillerman. Try it--you'll like it!" -Amazon book customer -- Book Review

About the Author

Sylvia Nobel is the award-winning author of the Kendall O'Dell mystery series and two romance novels, all set in Arizona. She is an accomplished public speaker and a member of Mystery Writers of America. She lives in Phoenix, AZ with her husband and seven cats.

More About the Author

Sylvia Nobel is the author of the Kendall O'Dell mystery series. All of her novels are based on actual events and set in Arizona. Sylvia is a member of Mystery Writers of America. Her books are enjoyed by fans of all ages worldwide. She has lived in Arizona most of her life and loves this ruggedly beautiful state where she delights in showcasing its unique beauty in her suspense-packed novels.

Customer Reviews

Book Kept reader guessing til the end.
Betsy R. Korb
Since this was free on Kindle I decided to give it a read...............so GLAD I did!!!
Army 3456
It has humor and a good story line with very well developed characters.
Jan

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

98 of 104 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on April 19, 1998
Format: Paperback
Enjoy Southwest lore? Love a mystery? Recently I read a mystery by a comparatively new and very promising author who resides in the Phoenix area, Sylvia Nobel, which combines both features. Deadly Sanctuary is a fast paced mystery which takes place here in Arizona. The heroine, Kendall O'Dell, takes a new job at a small AZ newspaper and stumbles into an evil conspiracy involving the death of two teen-aged girls. Sylvia Nobel's tale of mystery will hold your attention from beginning to end. Her style is similar to Tony Hillerman. Try it--you'll like it!
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
115 of 127 people found the following review helpful By BBC Addict on December 26, 2010
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
First of all, not sure how this book was ever tagged "Christian" as a reviewer mentions. Maybe the word "Sanctuary" kicked off some kind of automatic labeling? This is not a Christian book but also doesn't hold itself out to be one.

Story is a typical big city girl goes to tiny town for one reason or another (man trouble, money trouble, or in this case, both) and stirs up the locals. First, with so many references to the heroine (Kendall) having such limited funds and the newspaper she works for being on the brink of financial disaster, where does Kendall get the money to do things like pay several hundred dollars to a source? The book needs a good editor.

Characters: pretty one dimensional - handsome, rich but obviously slimy guy tries to charm Kendall (guess the author was trying to create conflict?), then there's the typical brooding-cowboy-who-clearly-has-a-secret character; small town sherriff as bad guy, etc. All quite predictable and boring.

What killed the book for me: I may have given the book three stars except for one thing. The author has Kendall's coworker, Ginger, speaking the most excrutiating dialect since she's supposed to be from Texas. Almost every sentence out of Ginger's mouth is the author's attempt at a folksy saying and Ginger says "y'all" every other word. A word to aspiring authors who studied dialogue in a writing class and want to be the next William Faulkner: PLEASE, PLEASE, DON'T TRY TO WRITE DIALECT! Sit on your hands, have someone hide your laptop, call your writing sponsor! Written dialect is extremely difficult to get right, and most of the time all it does is make readers cringe in embarrassment for the author.
Read more ›
9 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
89 of 98 people found the following review helpful By A reader from California (cbflor@aol.com) on October 6, 1999
Format: Paperback
I'm not usually a big mystery buff, but I thought I'd give this one a try and I'm glad I did. Now I understand what the phrase "compulsive page turner" means -- I just couldn't stop reading! It's such an imaginative plot, with so many twists and turns I can't imagine many readers figuring it out ahead of time. A definite must read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful By bookfreak on January 1, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm glad this was a Kindle freebie, or I'd have been unhappy at wasting my money. I love mysteries and read many of them, but felt that this one didn't offer much. Before I'd read 20% of the book, I'd figured out the "big secret" that was supposed to be the great surprise ending. I found Kendall O'Dell to be unbelievably naive for a woman of nearly 30 who'd been working as a journalist in a large city. For example, she decides that information about one character's deep financial troubles can't be true because the person lives large and has a public image of extreme wealth. Really? Despite all the events of the past decade, she takes that at face value? Apparently she only works for newspapers--she never reads them. There's also a lot of very repetitive wording that I found distracting and grating. (Someone needs to buy this author a phrase to use in place of "I couldn't help but . . . ." Not only was it over-used, but it's technically a double-negative and shouldn't be used at all.)

I did enjoy the last few chapters when the book reached its climax and everything let loose, but it was a struggle to stick with it until I got to that point. I'm going to pass on Ms. O'Dell's other exploits.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful By Jason Hitesman on January 7, 2011
Format: Paperback
It was free on our nook last week so I figured I'd give it a try. Basic plot wasn't bad, but the writing was very amateurish. Read like it was written by a bored housewife who was dragged to AZ by her husbands job, read a "how to write mysteries" book and decided to give it a go. Not much of a "thinker" the narrator spells everything out for the reader. The author may live in AZ, but must not have lived here long or not lived outside of a gated McMansion type of area because the little details she includes are just wrong. Snowbirds sticking around until June? Heck they're gone by April. Closing doors and windows to turn on a swamp cooler? That's the opposite of how you use a swamper - they need windows or doors open to circulate air. Just a lot of that kind of little thing that tries to add authenticity but is off base. Maybe the author has gotten better or found an editor...but I'm not in a hurry to try anything else of hers unless it's free again.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful By Claudia Jordan (worklifepb@msn.com) on September 21, 1998
Format: Paperback
The main character, Kendall O'Dell, is someone everyone can relate to as she tries to untangle a murder mystery in her new hometown. She's attracted to two very different men--which one will win her favor? Loved the Arizona setting--very descriptive.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?