Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, but not a definitive one
First of all, a small correction to the editorial review: Lovedrive is the 6th studio album, and 7th album overall. The previous releases (RCA Records) are:
1972 Lonesome Crow 1974 Fly to the Rainbow 1975 In Trance 1976 Virgin Killer 1978 Taken by Force 1978 Tokyo Tapes (live)
Now, this compilation has all of their commercial and worldwide succesful...
Published on May 18, 2000 by JM Sjöbohm

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have to comment
....on Jon Wiederhorn's editorial review. Contrary to what he states, "Face the heat" really isn't a universally acknowledged comeback-album, neither are 'Savage amusement' and 'Crazy world' sloppy let-downs. It is really the other way about, believe me.
Scorpions have had a about 100000 compilations released so far, so it's hard to find anything to say...
Published on November 10, 2001 by Alexium


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, but not a definitive one, May 18, 2000
By 
JM Sjöbohm (Kristianstad, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
First of all, a small correction to the editorial review: Lovedrive is the 6th studio album, and 7th album overall. The previous releases (RCA Records) are:
1972 Lonesome Crow 1974 Fly to the Rainbow 1975 In Trance 1976 Virgin Killer 1978 Taken by Force 1978 Tokyo Tapes (live)
Now, this compilation has all of their commercial and worldwide succesful songs, plus some of the finest album cuts of the band. It's definitive (rather excesive) for the casual fans , but for hardcore Scorpions fans it's not representative of their whole career (They started in 1969) This is a better compilation than Best of Rockers and Ballads, since it also includes their 90's hits. It's a good starting point for this specific era of the band of commercial success.
If you're more interested in Scorpions 'the cult european metal band' you should check the compilations BEST OF and BEST OF Vol. 2 by RCA Records. They're currently out of print, but the music there (that includes virtuoso guitarist Uli Jon Roth) worth the search.
If you're the kind of fan who's searching ONLY the hits, you should try the european single disc compilation BEST, released recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is my first time please be gentle., February 18, 2002
By 
jack davanzo (summit, nj United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
this is my first scorpion album and my first review so please be gentle, thank you. i was so moved by this album that i just had to write this. I am 51 years old and i have heard "hurricane" many times but never thought an entire album could be this good. thanks scorpions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than "Best of Rockers N' Ballads", March 6, 2002
By 
The Scenario (Roseville, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
I disagree slightly with Jon Weiderhorn's review. "Face The Heat" was not a "comeback of sorts", nor was "Crazy World" sloppy. It was "Crazy World" that was in fact the comeback the Scorpions had been waiting for, producing their biggest hit ever, "Wind of Change". I will agree that the Scorp's post '84 output has been at times mediocre. "Rhythm of Love", "Tease Me, Please Me", "Don't Believe Her" and "Alien Nation" aspire for greatness but instead invoke boredom. But songs like "Passion Rules The Game", "Send Me An Angel", "Hit Between The Eyes" and "Under The Same Sun" reveal a band with a few more tricks in their bag. And their cover of the Who's "I Can't Explain" absolutely blows away the original (though to be fair, the Who's version was an early-60's monophonic recording). It was the only decent tune on the otherwise awful "Stairway To Heaven/Highway to Hell" compilation album from 1989, done under the guise of being an anit-drug album by Bon Jovi manager Doc McGhee after he got arrested for his own trafficking schemes.
As for the first disc, what else can you say? Near perfect. The only missing tunes are "Hey You" (unavailable on any of their studio albums) and "I'm Leaving You" (decent tune from "Love At First Sting", received a fair amount of airplay). A must for the 80's metal fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for First time Scorpion listners., July 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
This CD covers a wide range of the hits of the Scorpions and is a great choice for a "Most-Own" Scorpions CD. It goes as far back as the "In Trance" album and has excellent live cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be careful ordering "Import" version, May 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadly Sting (Audio CD)
Be careful if you order the import of "Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years" since this is a single-disc version, even though Amazon repeats the description from the double-CD version. This is similar to the first disc in the double-CD version, with a few tracks from the second disc added and a different track order. The track listing for the import version is correct (yes I know, only 15 songs, I should have suspected a single disc). Boo to Electrola for using the same title and image as the double-CD domestic version for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They Still Sting After All These Years, March 16, 2007
This review is from: Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
I was never a huge Scorpions fan when I was growing up. I was familiar with all of their radio releases, but not much else. When "Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years" was released, I decided that it would be worth the price to gather up the bulk of the Scorpions' most popular tunes. I actually bought this double disc set when it was originally released (well in the wake of the Grunge revolution that killed 80's hard rock and hair metal). The album is definitely worth your consideration if you enjoy hair and hard rock bands from the 80's/early 90's.

Most people will be able to recognize songs like "Wind of Change," the anthemic "Rock You Like A Hurricane," "No One Like You," and "Still Loving You." A few more, like myself, can recall songs like "The Zoo" and "Tease Me, Please Me." One really nice treat on this album is "I Can't Explain," from the "Make A Difference: Stairway To Heaven/Highway To Hell" album. It's the Scorpions' take on The Who's popular tune. Also included are gems like "Big City Nights" and "Loving You Sunday Morning."

As a whole, this is the perfect collection for casual fans like myself. I found quite a few songs on here that I was unaware of and really enjoyed them. I can't speak for the diehard fans, but I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to have a sizeable portion of Scorpions tunes without having to muddle through each and every album out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the songs we casual fans remember from radio & Mtv, February 10, 2003
This review is from: Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
"Best of" and "Greatest Hits" albums are, let's face it, not made for a band's hard-core fans who already own their entire catalog. They're typically marketed towards everybody else: the casual fans. That is, the people who don't own any albums from that band, but liked what they've heard (from a concert, radio, Mtv, etc.), and would enjoy a compilation of these songs from different albums.
When it comes to Scorpions, I'm in this second category. After seeing them live in '96 with Alice Cooper, I knew I had to break down and buy a CD of theirs once and for all. Especially after hearing "Coast To Coast", an instrumental that for whatever reason I absolutely fell in love with. So I bought "Worldwide Live". I liked it a lot, but I still preferred hearing the studio versions of all those songs I've come to know and like (The Zoo, Rock You Like A Hurricane, Black Out, No One Like You, Big City Nights, etc.) Plus, I also really liked those 90s hits and concert songs I heard (Tease Me Please Me, Don't Believe Her, Alien Nation).
Finally THIS CD, "Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years", hit the stores, and it was exactly what I was looking for. Quite simply, it had EVERY song I ever remember hearing from them! The audio quality seems good and consistant too. I even liked some of the few songs I wasn't originally familiar with.
So, if you like those Scorpions songs you heard on the radio or in the videos Mtv used to play, but never got around to buying any of their albums, just buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SCORPIONS "DEADLY STING" DOUBLE DISC CD, December 2, 2008
This review is from: Deadly Sting (Audio CD)
GREAT SOLID HARD ROCK & ROLL!!! THIS IS PROBABLY THE BEST DOUBLE OR EVEN SINGLE DISC CD OUT THERE BY THE SCORPIONS!!! IT CONSISTS OF 16 SONGS ON DISC ONE AND 17 SONGS ON DISC TWO. THESE GUYS ARE HARD ROCK EXPERTS FROM GERMANY AND THEY'VE BEEN AT IT SINCE THE EARLY 1970'S. THIS PACKAGE IS ONE OF THE BEST CLASSIC HARD ROCK SETS THAT I KNOW OF!!!

Some highlights from disc one include: "Holiday"(Not Madonna's song, but their's), "The Zoo", "Blackout", "NO ONE LIKE YOU", "china white", "Bad boys running wild", "ROCK YOU LIKE A HURRICANE", "Big City Nights", "Still Loving You", and "Coast to Coast - Live".

Some highlights from disc two: "Don't Stop at the Top", "Rhythm of Love", "Passion Rules the Game", "Walking on the Edge", "Believe in Love", "WIND OF CHANGE", "Send me an Angel", "Alien Nation" and their old classic "IN TRANCE".

THIS IS A DOUBLE DISC OF GOOD SOLID HARD ROCK/HEAVY METAL WITH NO VULGARITY, NO EVIL, NO BAD MESSAGES, JUST GOOD "WHOLESOME" HARD ROCK.
IF YOU LIKE CLASSIC ROCK, YOU SHOULD LOVE THIS ONE. I RECOMMEND IT AND THEIR RECENT DVD "IN WACKEN OPEN AIR".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a set spanning their Mercury years, April 15, 2008
This review is from: Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
It's hard to document the Scorpions' music through a single CD. They had some good single-disc compilations (like 'Bad For Good'), but they had plenty of collections that weren't up to par (like '20th Century Masters.')

But this one succeeds in almost every single category. It has all of the classics, and it spans 1979-1994, which were the years the Scorpions were at their most popular. Klaus Meine's vocals really shine here, and Rudolf Schenker is a real talent.

And, this two CD set features all of the Scorpions hits. 'Winds of Change,' 'Rock You Like A Hurricane,' 'Can't Live Without You,' 'No One Like You,' 'Still Loving You,' 'Lovedrive' and their cover of The Who's 'I Can't Explain' all appear on this set.

And, Mercury gets extra points for remastering the tracks. The sound quality is simply superb.

Overall, if you don't want to empty your wallet for the box set 'Box of Scorpions,' than this set will get the job done perfectly. Highly recommended for any Scorpions fan.

ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ULTIMATE Scorpions, January 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of the Scorps in the '80's and '90's, you'll LOVE this double CD. Included are five of their best songs from each of their most popular albums (Blackout, Love at First Sting, Savage Amusement, Crazy World), some classic early tracks (e.g., Lovedrive, The Zoo), some later songs, two live recordings, two previously unreleased songs and their excellent remake of The Who classic I Can't Explain (which is only available on compilations). All in all a solid (and I feel their best) compilation effort from one of the world's greatest rock bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years
Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years by Scorpions (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.