Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maeve at her best
Dear Maeve is a compilation of some Maeve Binchy's columns from the Irish Times. Although she wasn't an advice column, she often was asked to field questions facing her readers, and to give her two cents worth. With the usual straightforwardness and gentle hunor, she addresses the everyday struggles that face her readers. Whether deciding how much is proper to spend on...
Published on May 30, 2001 by Mary G. Longorio

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor, Dear Maeve
This is the first of Maeve Binchy's books that I didn't care for. It was more like a book of essays on her political philosophies.
Published 4 months ago by evelyn mizak


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maeve at her best, May 30, 2001
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Paperback)
Dear Maeve is a compilation of some Maeve Binchy's columns from the Irish Times. Although she wasn't an advice column, she often was asked to field questions facing her readers, and to give her two cents worth. With the usual straightforwardness and gentle hunor, she addresses the everyday struggles that face her readers. Whether deciding how much is proper to spend on a baptism or confirmation celebration, how to deal with a difficult family member or facing the challanges of relationships, Maeve pulls no punches. This book captures what makes Binchy a favorite of readers everywhere. She does not seem to be changed by the fame, or the money. She remains the good friend that you would go to to chat about a problem, or to share a drink. This is a hard book to find, I got the copy I read through a friend who had recently been to the UK. If you can find a copy, don't pass up the chance to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Maeve, December 6, 2012
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Paperback)
Maeve Binchy's warmth of character, effervencent personality and down to earth practicality shine through in this wonderful collection. A heart-lifting read and a wonderful testament to her character. Rest in peace, Maeve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maeve tells it like it is., July 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Paperback)
I understand why this book is not marketed in the U.S., as some of Maeve's columns refer to people and events more familiar to those living in Dublin. As in her books, Maeve's realistic and thoughtful views shine through, and they lend an honest tone to reconsidering how one goes about daily interactions with others, making moral decisions, and demonstrating simple good manners. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Her, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Paperback)
Real, down-to-earth and very matter of fact, you just can't get any better than this. Dear Maeve - God Bless Her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ireland's Dear Abby, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Paperback)
I don't understand why this wasn't promoted in the U.S. Excellent advice, no matter what country you live in. A Keeper !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars writing to grab your heart, September 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Paperback)
This is one of the finest collections of Maeve Binchy's writings, brilliant and often hilarious essays when she was writing for a newspaper. Her connection to people and an ability to relate to their personal pain and challenges is amazing. Crikey, when I grow up I want to be just like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Maeve Binchy, great to the last page!!!!, December 23, 2013
By 
Mary Jane Pogue "Mary Jane" (Germantown, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Kindle Edition)
This is a trypical Maeve Binchy book, keeps you involved in everyone's life, from the first page o the last page. I would suggest this book to everyone who has fallen in love with Ireland and the Irish way of life. A++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suprise, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Kindle Edition)
I was hesitant in ordering this book since it was composed from Columns; however, it reads like one of Maeve's treasured books. Oh how I will miss her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best writer ever!, June 1, 2014
By 
Connie Lentz (Three Rivers, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dear Maeve (Kindle Edition)
I like anything written by Maeve Binchy, we will miss her writing. She makes you feel like you know tne people personally . Connie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dear Maeve
Dear Maeve by Maeve Binchy (Paperback - 1995)
Used & New from: $0.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.