Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dear Mr. Gacy
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 12, 2010
I honestly can't even remember the amount of movies made about various serial killers over the years and there has many numerous about John Wayne Gacy himself as well so going into this I wasn't expecting any new or different here but boy was I wrong. Based on a true story, the film tells the tale of college student, Jason Moss who decided to contact Mr. Gacy during his final year alive and try to find out things about no one else including the F.B.I. could get plus his was the subject John was using as his final term paper for school so he does have a motive. Early on I have to say I found Jason's fascination with Gacy a bit creepy and never having the read the book I was interested in finding out what was inside the head of the young man as well. The first letter he writes to John is one that paints a picture of a tough home life, of someone looking to reach out as a friend. After seeing an interview on Television where John states he is bi-sexual Jason takes the next step by posing and taking seductive pictures to send along in the next letter to John. Based on the book "The Last Victim" written by Jason Moss it paints a picture of someone looking to get into the head of Mr. Gacy but as the relationship moves along you quickly find out that John is a master and Jason is really no match. Jason slowly begins to journey now a dark path of destruction that effects his relationship with both his family and his girlfriend as John gets deeper and deeper in his subconscious. To go on and on about the story here would only ruin the experience for those waiting to see the film but I can say this is a dark, disturbing and and almost hypnotic look into the mind of a crazed killer, like Mr. Gacy himself the film gets in your head and stays with you long after it is over. William Forsythe gives one of if not his best performances as Gacy, he must of done a lot of research to be able to play him with such realism. Also Jesse Moss did a fantastic job playing Jason, the young man that gets more than he bargained for when taking on such a twisted mind. As the film was coming to an end I thought to myself that those 7 months with Gacy had to take its toll on Jason and had to effected the rest of his life and sure enough in the notes during the credits you find out just how much a toll it did take.

"Dear Mr. Gacy" is one of the best serial killer films I have seen in a very long time, it has fantastic production values, an amazing cast and a gritty,dark and realistic feel that sends chills down your spine. If you like the genre this is a must own film that really delivers on telling a story that will haunt you for days.

Patrick Ricketts-videoviews.org
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2010
A young psychology student begins corresponding with John Wayne Gacy, the famed serial killer, posing as a potential victim in order to write a groundbreaking thesis paper on the case. After exchanging letters and speaking on the phone, Jason thinks he has the upper hand in the situation, but Gacy quickly proves that he is more cunning than he appears as he infiltrates every aspect of Jason's life and infects his mind. Intense, nauseating, terrifying. DEAR MR. GACY details the true-life experiences shared between Jason Moss and his subject of study, John Wayne Gacy, as adapted from his memoirs The Last Victim. The film is a refreshing new approach to the tired serial killer theme, and one that is made that much more frightening in the fact that it was Moss' reality for seven months. William Forsythe is both captivating and repulsive at the same time as the incarcerated "Killer Clown." His powers of persuasion and seemingly innocent charm lure the audience in just as the real Gacy had done with his victims. The one fatal flaw that makes the story so difficult to believe is that the resourceful Gacy had the ability to track down so many details about Moss' life, and yet he was unable to figure out that Jason was a college student that was playing him from the start. With the suspension of disbelief held high, DEAR MR. GACY proves to be an intimate and unsettling examination into the inner workings of one of America's most notorious murders.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2010
Wow ... I was blown away. I remember watching the news coverage shown in this film as it actually happened - when Gacy was arrested and the gruesome discoveries that followed. The nation was appalled, terrified and morbidly fascinated by the undeniable proof that there is a dark side to some seemingly everyday people that is successfully hidden away by their ability to fit in with society.

I've also seen several crime documentaries about Jason Moss' experience studying Gacy. It's disturbing and unsettling to know that there are people who seem to have mastered the ability to manipulate and terrorize someone to the point of controlling them psychologically. Getting inside the mind of someone like that would be a life-changing and horrible thing to deal with. I hate to imagine what it's like as a detective, profiler, psychologist or worst of all - a victim - to realize that you are dealing with a person that is consumed by violence, narcissism and a lust for total control with no regard for human life - including yours.

William Forsythe was every bit as formidable and convincing as Anthony Hopkins in Silence of the Lambs ... two characters that are mesmerizing and terrifying because of the destructive use of their intelligence and the ability to gain people's trust in order to dominate them. But in this film I find it to be especially disturbing because from what I've seen and read it's (for the most part) what I consider to be an accurate portrayal of an actual, horrible event in history.

Be sure to read "the rest of the story" right before the credits. For me it really drove home the point that the impact a sick mind can achieve if they gain control is a powerful thing that can result in a multitude of damaging, violent and deadly consequences - way beyond what is obvious.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 19, 2010
Direct-to-DVD movies about serial killers are so common that it's almost revolutionary when one is given the slightest bit of positive notice. I caught the trailer for Dear Mr. Gacy in a store, was slightly intrigued, and became very interested when I found mostly positive reviews. The film is based on a book I'd never heard of by Jason Moss, who developed a correspondence with serial killer John Wayne Gacy in the months leading up to his execution. Gacy died in 1994, Moss' book was published in 1999, and Moss took his own life in 2006. The book was called The Last Victim and with the knowledge of his suicide and lack of explanation for it, a whole new dimension is added to the film.

I don't know how closely this film follows the book, so the following review is based solely on the film's own merit.

In the film, Jason Moss (coincidentally played by an actor named Jesse Moss) decides to write his college thesis on serial killers. Posing as a troubled admirer, he sends a letter to convicted serial killer John Wayne Gacy (William Forsythe). To his surprise, Gacy responds to it. Doing whatever he can to gain Gacy's trust and get access to the darkest parts of his mind, Moss develops a frighteningly close bond with Gacy that begins taking a toll on his real life.

It's troubling that Dear Mr. Gacy debuted on Canadian television and was followed with a direct-to-DVD release. Films released this way are rarely of high-quality and many people see a direct-to-DVD release as a badge of mediocrity. This is not the case with Dear Mr. Gacy. What we have here is a film that is not a horror film, but gets under your skin more effectively than any theatrically-released horror film that I can recall being released in 2010. It's also a low-budget film that never looks or feels cheap with a convincing lead performance by newcomer Jesse Moss, and one of the best portrayals of a real-life serial killer I've ever witnessed by William Forsythe.

Glancing at Forsythe's filmography, I've seen several of his films but he's only stood out in Rob Zombie's Halloween and The Devil's Rejects. I am not exaggerating when I say that Forsythe could have earned an Oscar nomination if The Last Victim had a higher budget, an actual theatrical release, and maybe some well-known people behind the camera. It's one of the most convincing performances I've seen this year. The first time we see Forsythe as Gacy is in a still photograph based on Gacy's mugshot. There's not much of a resemblance, but I accepted that he would be Gacy for the duration of the film. When Forsythe is finally seen on-screen portraying Gacy, it's a revelatory moment. He's gained weight for the role and the hairstyle is right, but once he begins speaking and the film begins progressively revealing the full extent of Gacy's character it becomes apparent how much he captured the essence of Gacy. Forsythe plays Gacy as a normal, intelligent, and friendly human being revealing Gacy as the sociopath he was in perfect synchronicity with Gacy revealing himself to Jason. Where some well-known, well-respected actors would have gone over-the-top or showy with their performance resulting in a typical one-dimensional serial killer, Forsythe slowly shows Gacy's normality wearing thin with an eerie, collected realism that's both fascinating and disturbing. A real-life serial killer is a psychologically complex character that's very difficult for any actor to tackle, especially when it's a well-written, real-life serial killer. Forsythe's performance is not this revelation because he's in a direct-to-DVD release or because he's not an actor known for embodying complicated characters...It's because it's a completely convincing performance. As far as direct-to-DVD releases about serial killers go, the only other performance to come close to the realism of Forsythe is Steve Railsback's portrayal of Ed Gein in the film of the same name.

Obviously, Forsythe blew my mind in this film. If only the film was as perfect as his performance is. All of the performances are just fine and the film maintains a dreary, grayish atmosphere that lends to the effect of Jason's correspondence with Gacy on his life. Obviously, the filmmakers didn't have much money to work with but the film never feels cheap. Except for a few "direct-to-DVD vibes," I would have thought this was just an independent theatrical release that flew under the radar. There have been a dizzying amount of direct-to-DVD films about serial killers such as Jeffrey Dahmer, Ed Gein, Ted Bundy, Richard Speck, and even John Wayne Gacy over the years and it's rather tragic that this film will be grouped together with that dreck.

Dear Mr. Gacy is not perfect due mostly to an uneven script that occasionally loses focus and stretches our suspension of disbelief a bit too far. As stated earlier, I have not read Jason's book but I found some scenes (the face-to-face meeting, Jason's assault on a high school student, and Gacy's ability to find anything from his cell...except that Jason is a college student) just a bit too unbelievable in an otherwise very realistically told movie. If this was a part of Jason's book, the filmmakers should have handled it better for those who have not read the book and would immediately think 'that wouldn't happen.' Imperfections aside and despite falling into the "true crime" genre, Dear Mr. Gacy is more disturbing and effective than most horror films. It's also a terrific character study of the psychological workings of a serial killer and how Gacy was able to manipulate Jason while Jason was simultaneously manipulating him. The film feels genuinely like a tragedy when we realize that Jason, in his own way, may have been Gacy's last victim.

I highly recommend Dear Mr. Gacy for those looking for a good film about a real-life serial killer. There's very few of them out there and Dear Mr. Gacy is a real delight. As a direct-to-DVD release, it's great. It's a true study of a psychopath, that doesn't just exploit it's subject to tell a cheap horror story. In fact, there is no gore and only brief scenes of violence shown in flashbacks. It's lack of a theatrical release is a tragedy, as Dear Mr. Gacy ranks up there with true-life serial killer films like The Boston Strangler and Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer. Forsythe's performance is one of a kind in the way it gets under the skin of a real serial killer and it's unfortunate that this performance won't garner him much critical notice.

Dear Mr. Gacy succeeds at what dozens of cheap films released each year fail at doing. It's an effective, haunting, rare, and introspective look at a serial killer without the blood and gore...If Dear Mr. Gacy isn't quite one of the best films of the year, it's possibly the best horror film of 2010. What other direct-to-DVD film could receive such praise?

GRADE: B
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2011
True stories make for interesting movies. Some tend to go overboard on the melodrama, usually ending up on Lifetime network. Others are depicted as documentaries. And then there is the real life story that is turned into drama, sometimes bad and others good. DEAR MR. GACY lands in between.

The story revolves around Jason Moss (Jesse Moss), a young law student not performing up to his potential in college who is searching for a centerpiece for his thesis. He finds it while watching the news as he becomes fascinated with serial killer John Wayne Gacy (William Forsythe). Gacy is soon to be executed, coming down to his last attempt at a stay of execution and Jason's chance to speak to him is slipping by fast.

Jason realizes that he has to find an in, a way to get Gacy's attention, realizing that chances are he receives tons of letters on a daily basis. To do so, he attempts to get into the psyche of Gacy, playing off of the information that Gacy tended to pick up on young boys. He sends Gacy a letter that is in ways flirtatious. To seal the deal he ends up sending Gacy photos of himself shirtless and describing how he's considering hustling himself on the streets.

Its all done in an attempt to gain Gacy's trust so that he'll open up to him, speak to him and perhaps give him the chance to discover why Gacy did the things he did. But as their correspondence continues, Jason finds himself drawn into the dark world of Gacy's mind, falling prey to the things Gacy encourages him to do, including a trip to the world of street hustlers where he is drugged and almost raped.

Jason is perhaps Gacy's last victim. His life changes and those around him see it happening though they don't know why. He spends time bodybuilding, argues with his parents and brother and goes so far as to dump his girlfriend. The letters lead to phone calls that Gacy places to Jason which he accepts. The lies he tells to paint the portrait of himself that he knows Gacy expects build one on top of the other until he finally gets the chance to meet Gacy in prison. It is here that Jason is witness to the true monster that was John Wayne Gacy.

The movie is terribly depressing, but not so much in a bad way. The slow decent into a form of madness that overtakes Jason is well played by Moss as we see the changes develop over time. Forsythe, a totally underappreciated actor who has starred in everything from OUT FOR JUSTICE, THE ROCK and THINGS TO DO IN DENVER WHEN YOU'RE DEAD, does a truly menacing portrayal of Gacy, showing the manipulative side of him that convinces Jason to do the things he does while at the same time show the animalistic frenzy that fills Gacy when he confronts the obsessive fan alone in a prison cell.

Gacy was an unusual killer. Well respected in the community, known for his dressing as a clown for children's parties and celebrated for his paintings of clowns while in prison, he was not what most people expected when thinking of a serial killer. But the acts he committed, not just to the boys he killed but to Jason Moss as well, were some of the most brutal imagined. This movie is on the low budget scale but it tells the story well and holds your interest. While there are moments you want to look away, there are others that keep you watching from beginning to end. Here's hoping that the number of potential serial killers like Gacy dwindle rather than grow.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2013
This movie takes a different approach to the well traveled serial killer genre based on factual accounts by the student (Moss) who made Gacy (Forsythe) the theme of his term paper and later a best selling book.

The idea of trying to get into the mind of a serial killer is not new and has been used for movies and law enforcement for decades. The departure from other movies in this genre is that a student (Moss) who chose to use Gacy as his project for his term paper who thinks he has the upper hand when dealing with Gacy. He hopes and thinks that he alone will be able to extract a confession and find out what was his motivation for the killings. He would be able to do what the FBI, psychiatrists local law enforcement weren't able to. The notion that most young people share is their belief that they are smarter and all knowing and that is what led our young student (Moss) down a slippery slope.

The movie does a good job of telling this story through the eyes of the student (Moss) and Gacy (Forsythe) as the main focus, but it also reflected the side effects of their relationship with the students (Moss) family and friends. Moss's characters downward spiraling mental state was played quite convincingly as he deteriorated into a paranoid train wreck. The movie also makes note of Gacy's relationships with the prison guards and just how much latitude he was allowed.

Several reviewers have noted the accuracy the movie possessed in relation to the book, but I wonder just how much artistic freedom was used in the telling of this story to make it more interesting to the viewer. The reason I mention this is because I thought that all prisoner mail in and out going is read as well as all inmate calls are recorded. So how did the pictures make it past the screening process? I kind of had a hard time believing Gacy had so much freedom that he could have killed the student. I guess when the student signed the release form the guards didn't care if they broke the rules regarding prison visitors or the fact that their reckless actions were caught on tape. I can't say for sure that they were monitering Gacy's mail and phone calls in 94 or if the mandatory montering (I believe is being done. Remember these guys have ZERO RIGHTS) of all communications started later in the prison system, but since he was so high profile I find it hard to believe they did not check all correspondence. This guy was a convicted pedophile, rapist and murderer who they had to keep under control. They wanted and needed to know if he had other victims and who and where they were.

The acting is very good and believable from Moss as well as Forsythe' s characters and their dialogue came across and realistic and was not over played. The director was able to extract very good performances out of Moss and Forsythe that added a good deal of credibility to their given roles. The locations that were used also worked well with adding another layer to the stories credibility.

Rating 0 to 5

Story = 4+
Acting = 4+
Direction = 4
Fear/Creep Factor =3.6
Gore = 2
Cursing = 4
Sex/Nudity = Yes/No
Entertainment Value = 4
Would I watch again = Yes
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
A true story based on John Wayne Gacy, the notorious serial killer, who was executed in 1994, for the murder and rape of at least 33 boys and young men.

The subject of the film focuses on Jason Moss, a bright college student with an interest in criminology.

Jason becomes fascinated by criminal psychopathology, and very excited by the idea of writing his term paper on Gacy, from the perspective of his victim profiles.

Jason poses as a lonley, naive young man, with an unstable identity, and homosexual tendencies, when he contacts Gacy in prison by letter. He is a bit cocky, and confident he will be able to "get inside" Gacy's head, and find out more than anyone thus far.

Gacy develops a trust, and dependecy on Jason, and the two end up having a long-distance phone relationship. At first Jason is thrilled with how his plan seems to be working, but begins feeling more and more pressured and repelled by Gacy's attachment, and his obvious sickness.

In my opinion, Jason begins to decompensate when Gacy starts to insist on involving Jason's 13 year old brother, wanting letters from him, and suggesting incestuous sex between the two.

When Jason does not satisfy Gacy's appetite for enough participation with Jason's brother, Gacy begins to threaten him, making it clear he had people "on the outside" that would carry out any request he wanted.

Jason was unprepared for the impact Gacy's pathology, expert psychological pressure and manipulation, or the terror it created about his own identity.

I think the most telling scene in the movie, was when Jason hires a prostitute. He becomes controlling and violent, and had a self-aborted attempt at strangling the hooker.

Sadly, I think we see how it allowed Gacy to "get into Jason's head", exposing Jason's own ability for violence, and possibly a latent homosexuality, that could have been a subconscious fuel for his fascination, and which makes one wonder if it contributed to Jason's ultimate suicide in 2006.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 24, 2015
The story of "criminologist" Jason Moss who committed suicide in 2006 after starting his own Criminal Defense law firm is a particularly grimy lesson in the costs of ambition.

Prior to that Moss wrote a bestselling book, "The Last Victim", in which he documented his relationship with serial killers like Richard Ramirez, Charles Manson, Jeffrey Dahmer, Henry Lee Lucas and finally John Wayne Gacy.

Being a sedentary 18 year old with the unusual goal of transcending law enforcement's forays into the psyche of these people, Svetozar Ristovski does a good job of portraying Moss as the perfectly ordinary guy who continually raises his hand in class too often not to ask questions but to ensure that everyone knows just how clever he is, who has it in his mind that he is going to do something absolutely *great* and bores everyone with the details.

Moss was still a kid who needed to be watched. Indeed, this narcissistic intellectual hatchet-man should have been watched round the clock, as he was looking for validation in, well, the wrongest of places. Creating different identities based on the victims of the murderers he corresponded with (the surface reason was that this was necessary "for his term paper" on the criminal mind), he finally found a formidable target in the person of John Wayne Gacy. (Kinda weird that he would choose Gacy right off the bat. A killer with the specific MO of being interested in young guys? Like he was?)

William Forsythe does a horrifyingly good job playing this monster, and at the beginning one almost roots for him; he's mowing down an arrogant little weirdo who thinks he's smarter than everyone else. Then, things get sad. He encourages Moss to do things so abominable that the implications are sickening and cannibalizes his mind with such enthusiasm that the only truly gratifying moment in the whole movie is when Moss informs Gacy, a day before his execution, that he was never anything more than a homework assignment.

Jason Moss was, in part, a victim not only of a psychopathic serial killer but the overexposure of "Ubermensch" Nietzschean thinking that was curiously prevalent in the 90's. He thought of himself as a sort of intellectual Superman, ready to contend with those "beyond good and evil" and the rest of it. He was a bright kid who, given time, may have attained the sort of recognition he wanted. Lack of close supervision, Promethean ambition and arrogance put his brain on a veritable platter for Mr. Gacy.

A great film with a similar theme would be "Shock Corridor".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
Happened to catch this on Starz one night and was absolutely blown away - I had to get my own copy. This is NOT a Gacy victim exploitation film. The film is based Jason Moss' book, The Last Victim. The idea that one's psyche can be "inhabited" by the psychosis of another has been used before in films like "Manhunter," but this is the first time I have known of such an experience - based in truth. Most of the physical violence in the film is (happily) mostly implied and the film itself is interspersed with actual news footage of Gacy's home, victim skeletal remains, etc. What remains is truly terrifying. Through letters and photos, young collegiate Jason Moss seduces JW Gacy (and a few other well-known serial killers) for his term paper, a treatise on such killers. Despite Jason's motive and intellect, he soon become the prey to the psychotic and master-manipulator, Mr. Gacy. Jason's descent into the sick machinations of Gacy's mind is the core of this film. The dichotomy is that regardless of how disturbing and scary that descent, the viewer cannot look away. Jason's final face-to-face with Gacy will stay with the viewer for quite a while. On a conscious level, we know evil exists; it's another thing altogether to see it put on display.

As mezmerizing as the film itself is, the epilogue is breath-taking with the real Jason Moss recounting a piece of his story on Leeza Gibbon, underscoring that this was not imagined horror. This was horror that walked among us.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
Based on a true story, this film concerns a college student doing a term paper about serial killer John Gacy. He tries to contact
Gacy by mail, and succeeds in getting him to reply and eventually start conversing by phone. The student figures that this will
enable him to get inside Gacy's head and write a term-paper that will give the reader insight into the working mind of serial-killers. Gacy was on death row at the time, and was executed a few days after the films climax. Without giving anything away,
the student soon discovers that Gacy is playing him, rather than vice-versa. Tension builds to a frightening climax. Be sure to
read the epilogues. A riveting film excellently acted, though somewhat disturbing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.