Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars E book $3 more than paperback?
I have read all of Robin Cooks books to date and havent been disappointed in any of them.
This latest book follows suite.
BUT .. The fact that the kindle edition of this release is $3 more than the paperback version has me confused.
Why pay more for for an e book that obviously costs less to manufacture than its printed version.

I dont know if...
Published on December 27, 2011 by Ed L.

versus
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biotech research, life insurance investments and the Albanian mob come together in this medical thriller
Pia Grazdani, a talented medical student, is working with a prestigious scientist, Dr. Rothman, on stem cell research to create human replacement organs. The research, which will revolutionize treatment of many diseases, is only months away from being completed when a disaster strikes the lab. Dr. Rothman and one of his associates become deathly ill while working in the...
Published on January 6, 2012 by Leslie


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biotech research, life insurance investments and the Albanian mob come together in this medical thriller, January 6, 2012
By 
Leslie (Midwestern USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Death Benefit (Audio CD)
Pia Grazdani, a talented medical student, is working with a prestigious scientist, Dr. Rothman, on stem cell research to create human replacement organs. The research, which will revolutionize treatment of many diseases, is only months away from being completed when a disaster strikes the lab. Dr. Rothman and one of his associates become deathly ill while working in the lab and die within hours. Pia does not believe this is an accident and, with the help of her friend George, begins her own investigation much to the distress of school administrators. A potential murder investigation would not be good for the school.

I liked Pia. She is smart, strong-willed and independent. Orphaned at an early age she was raised in the foster system and learned to depend on herself and no one else. She still suffers from nightmares and cannot allow anyone to get close to her even though her friend George would do anything to help her.

Meanwhile, several ex-Wall street hot-shots think they have hit on the investment idea of the century. They formed a company to buy insurance policies from terminally ill people for pennies on the dollar. The future seems bright until someone begins shorting their stock. As soon as other investors find out about this, their company will be worthless.

Scattered throughout the story are a few chapters with some very unlikeable characters from the Albanian mob. It got a little unbelievable and this element of the plot could have been handled differently and still been effective. To avoid spoilers I'll not say much more other than all three seemingly unconnected storylines come together in the end.

The narration by George Guidall was a pleasure to listen to with a smooth, flowing style. I usually prefer a female main character to be narrated by a woman's voice but Guidall did a capable job with Pia and I was not distracted by the lack of a female reader. The book was written in the third person so there was more narration than dialog.

I enjoyed this medical thriller that combines the right amount of current research, factual information and an engaging story. Stem cell research and organ replacement are timely and interesting topics that held my attention over the eleven hours of the audiobook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars E book $3 more than paperback?, December 27, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death Benefit (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Robin Cooks books to date and havent been disappointed in any of them.
This latest book follows suite.
BUT .. The fact that the kindle edition of this release is $3 more than the paperback version has me confused.
Why pay more for for an e book that obviously costs less to manufacture than its printed version.

I dont know if this is the fault of the author, the publisher or amazon but it has me wondering if my next purchase will be kindle based..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exciting medical thriller, December 27, 2011
This review is from: Death Benefit (Hardcover)
Nobel Prize winner, molecular geneticist Tobias Rothman, who worked with virulent strains of typhoid-causing salmonella, concentrates on organogenesis, growing fully functional entire organs from stem cells. He notices the energy and intelligence of Columbia Medical School student Pia Grazdani so Tobias brings the troubled twenty-six years old onto his team.

Avaricious board chair of LifeDeals Inc. Edmund Mathews uses his firm's assets to buy life insurance policies from the sick and elderly on the cheap. However, if Rothman's work succeeds making organs cheap, Mathews and his partners would go bankrupt and potentially face criminal charges of fraud and embezzlement. An accident at the safe lab shakes up Pia who soon realizes someone caused the lethal incident and wants her dead too. She turns to Columbia medical student George Wilson, who loves her, for safety.

Although an exciting medical thriller, Death Benefits is over the top of Morningside Heights; thus requiring readers to ignore their plausibility measures. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the lab incident occurs and never slows down. Robin Cook shines a fascinating spotlight on the multitrillion dollar insurance commodity market inside an engaging Manhattan tale.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Annie, February 19, 2012
By 
Ann Welton (Carlsbad, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Benefit (Hardcover)
So sorry to see Robin Cook declining. He used to be the Best!! This is not worth your time - characters not developed, not even likable. Don't waste your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So, where is the story?, February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death Benefit (Hardcover)
This book has to be one of the most disjointed books Cook has written. I could not determine whether the story was about business, greedy business people, insurance, greed, nuns, Wall Street, medicine, research, Albanian Mafia, viruses, stem cells, deadbeat dads, perverted uncles, organ generation, etc. The people at the OCME, who I like the most, were pretty much ignored. The worst part of the book is the ending. It has more lose ends/incomplete story lines than a porcupine has quills. I would say that anyone who rates this book higher than 3 stars has very low expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, January 9, 2012
By 
Kristin (Portland OR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death Benefit (Hardcover)
I'm a huge fan of medical thrillers, and normally really enjoy Robin Cook's books. However, I won't be finishing this one. For one thing, the beginning, with all of the Albanian/Russian names, etc. was very hard to follow, and didn't really draw me in. Then when Pia & George are introduced, she just seems cold, and he seems wimpy. If a book doesn't grab me in the first few pages, then it's back to the shelf for it, and on to something more interesting. Here's hoping he'll do better next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sadly disappointed, September 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was very disappointed in this book. I am surprised it is even a Robin Cook book........ nothing like any of his other works. I usually enjoy the medical thrillers he writes.......because they are believable, written so someone who is NOT in the medical field can understand them, and have great plots to them. Death Benefit doesn't fall into ANY of those categories. The main character is so distracting, and the second character has a high school crush on her, and ugh! On and on the story goes of him chasing her, and her rebuffing him, ad nauseum. I wouldn't recommend this book to Mr Cook's fans....... they will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I really want to like Robin Cook's novels, but, January 23, 2012
By 
C. Temple (Myrtle Beach, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Benefit (Hardcover)
if he keeps publishing throw away junk like this I'm writing him off.

I don't like Pia, really, she made it this far through college and medical school without ending up in a psych ward? If they don't do psychiatric evaluations of med students and prospective med students, they should. As was mentioned in a previous review - George comes off as a big wimp. They introduce Grandma only to drop her completely, they bring in the nuns to be forgotten and written off also, the ME's characters make a guest appearance for no reason other than to say hi.

The whole thing is just one big mess! The conclusion just made me roll my eyes.

The biggest problem with completely unlikeable characters is the reaction to the possibility of how quickly they have approval for he implantation of test tube organs. Really? Plus the reaction of the Wall Street baddies to the news? Their little rip off company is going to fail because of something that will not likely to go mainstream for a couple of generations? They should be more concerned about Congress passing legislation putting an end to their scam.

I gave it 2 stars, perhaps it should have been 1 or 1 1/2 for the whining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, strange plot lines, uninteresting characters, February 1, 2012
By 
Happy Scherer (Delmar, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Benefit (Hardcover)
I agree with the less than favorable reviews on this book. I've enjoyed the Jack/Laurie books and always like Cook's hot-off-the-presses medical thriller issues. But this one was just totally muddled. The characters were one-dimensional and not very believable, there were too many plot lines left un-finished, and the Armenian mafia/long lost daughter stuff was just ridiculous, convoluted, and off the track. Not one of his best, and not even exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Disappointed, January 24, 2012
This review is from: Death Benefit (Hardcover)
I have read every single one of Robin Cook's books and so I ordered this as soon as it was available....some are superb, some are great, a few have been a little laborous...but this one was just all over the place! Robin.....I think maybe you were thinking "sequel" at the end? I hope you read these reviews. I do admit that the first few chapters were a little dull, then it picked up, got very interesting with the lab incident, Pia's eventual "escape", but the last few chapters simply did not satisfy.....Mother Superior and the convent disappeared, did not hear anything more about George's grandmother, what was up with the maintenance men in Pia's office, who was the "spy" in the lab?, Jack, Laurie & Chet's "appearance", then gone......please, please Robin, do NOT begin to write in a "formulary" fashion as Danielle Steele's books now seem...your readers are smart & savy.....please do not let us down. It would be interesting to see Pia's character developed more...where DOES she head from here? Maybe in the mob? Ok..that was a joke, but you are always on the cutting edge and have been since COMA......please give us more...or my $$$ will go elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Death Benefit
Death Benefit by Robin Cook (Hardcover - December 27, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.