Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something old AND something new
For their eighth studio album, Dimmu Borgir got a little more creative. They reached into their bag of tricks and pulled out a 48-piece philharmonic orchestra/choir from Prague. They then blended this orchestra in with their sterile black metal. The result was an album which is considered by most to be their best and most creative work to date. The orchestra, which helps...
Published on September 8, 2005 by A. Stutheit

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unsure as of yet
My feelings about this band are conflicted, I both like them, and are also put off by both the sound of this release and the way they present themselves. Their lyrics are a part of this, musically they rock, but if you read their lyrics you can see that they haven't really grown at all since their early days, nothing brilliant, a few good lines, but nothing to be proud...
Published on July 11, 2004 by Karl Haikara


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something old AND something new, September 8, 2005
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
For their eighth studio album, Dimmu Borgir got a little more creative. They reached into their bag of tricks and pulled out a 48-piece philharmonic orchestra/choir from Prague. They then blended this orchestra in with their sterile black metal. The result was an album which is considered by most to be their best and most creative work to date. The orchestra, which helps to make "Death Cult Armageddon" sound epic and expansive, is sprinkled on, alongside some female backing vocals. Plus, some keyboards are wisely thrown in.

The orchestra really shines on track two, "Progenies of the Great Apocalypse," where some cool piano playing makes an entrance. This song also balances clean singing (which is a rare occurrence) and snarly vocals well. "Blood Hunger Doctrine" combines more crunchy riffs and keyboards, and it ends with a single, cold note from a piano. And after the blistering guitar work and driving drums are over, "Cataclysm Children" turns to piano playing (which actually sounds rather pretty, here). Finally, track nine, "Eradication Instincts Defined," combines peaceful choir singing with violins and a brass horn of some kind.

But if you're looking for some great, old school black metal, it remains in tact here, as well. "Vredesbyrd" has machine gun riffs which almost bob in places. "For the World..." has more propulsive riffs and fast, all over the place drumming, and "Allehelgens Dod I Helveds Rike" features drumming which is so fast, it sounds like it could be a drum machine.

So, "Death Cult Armageddon" is full of fiery riffs, inhumanly talented drumming, and snarly vocals, but it also has some ear candy. The final sound is very full and explosive. Thus, this album is for all types of Dimmu Borgir fans, because if you're looking for something new, "Death Cult Armageddon" brings some innovation to the table; but it also has plenty of head banging worthy material to please old school fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenominal, March 11, 2004
By 
"nightlordv" (Addison, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
I have been a Dimmu Borgir fan for well over four years now, and have seen them live twice. Now, I have a lot of problems with some of these "reviews" on Amazon here.
Some of these problems begin with idiots who who will label anything "nu-metal". It reminds me of the Salem Witch Trials where every other minute people were screaming "WITCH!!" "SHES A WITCH!!" over even the tinniest thing. Dimmu Borgir is NOT, nor ever will be nu-metal. Sold out??? I don't know about other people but i consider selling out a "Metallica story", meaning when you begin to get regular large radio station air play constantly and you tour with "yo yo yo" bands like Linkin Park, that to me, is a sell out from a band who used to be the pioneers of thrash metal (I mean Metallica of course).
Just because Dimmu is trying to evolve their sound without completley alienating their true fan base (IE, In Flames and Soilwork), does not mean they are going to be another Metallica.
Stormblast was a good album, however all the lyrics are in Norwegian, and since I am no Viking, I can't understand them one bit, even though the music is brilliant. So all you hooked on Stormblast and Stormblast alone, if you are not happy with Dimmu's newest offerings, then turn to your redundent over done black metal, like Immortal or Darkthrone or worse, your "something like black metal but not, but it sucks either way" offering in Cradle of Filth.
Now that that is out of the way, onto Dimmu Borgir's latest album entitled "Death Cult Armageddeon"
This latest cd is simply put, awesome. The production as in all of Dimmu's albums, is excellent, you can hear every instrument, and the vocals are audible and not drowned out in anyway. Galder and Silenoz just rip through a guitar onslaught from the beginning track "Allegiance" right down to the last track "Heavenly Perverse". Silenoz's meaty rhythm guitar riffs are great along side Galder's more leading guitar, and even though there are not that many solo's on this album, the harmonies and melodies are none the less excellent. The song structures are beautifully laid out, with Mustis's haunting keyboards leading all the way. The keys are intuned with the rest of the music perfectly, not too over the top, nor too much in the background, just the perfect blend.
Vortex's bass riffs continue to pound and slam into my chest when i listen to this ablum in my car. His clean vocals, although not as much used as in their last album, are none the less great. This guy has a set of pipes on him thats for damn sure, and I was slightly disappointed they were not used more on the rest of the album. You can hear Vortex's clean vocals very well on "Progenies of the Great Apocalypse" which is perhaps one of the best tracks on this album.
Nick Barker pounded on the drum kit as he always does, blast beating smoothly one minute to change tempo immdiately to a more slower mid paced beat. Nick Barker however, was "forced out of the band" according to Dimmu on their website, a shame.
Shagrath's vocals are typical rasps, growls, and hisses, and are strong as always, one of my favorite vocalists for sure because he changes the pitch and tone of his voice nicely throughout every song so that he does not sound boring and redundent. Even though he uses a lot of special effects, it just makes his voice all the more perfect with the music.
oh did I mention there is an orchesta on this album? Oh whats that you say? Another Metallica "Symphony" album? HELL NO!! unlike Metallica Dimmu Borgir uses the orchestra sparringly and more as an ambient, atmospheric purpose only. In fact, it is kinda hard to tell when the orchestra is playing they are so much in the background. Even though you can hear it more distinctively on some songs over others, the orchestra is just a nice touch and adds an element on soundtrack like opuses.
I know many people say that Dimmu claim to be anti-religion and their lyrics are about Satanism, but you know what? Its called an image. Like Slayer, Cannible Corpse, Deicide and other such bands who use such things to sell items, merchandise, albums, and to get recognized, Dimmu is the same way. Since they are not going to get any mainstream radio play or barely any mtv video play except for on Headbanger's Ball, they need to rely on something to get themselves known. Yes its cheesy, but I could care less as long as the music is good, and on Death Cult Armageddon, it is almost perfect.
Listen to pummeling tracks such as "Lepers Among Us", "Cataclysm Children", and "Unorthodox Manifesto", and tell me Dimmu Borgir have grown soft. Listen to tracks "Progenies of the Great Apocalypse", "Blood Hunger Doctrine", and "Allehelgns Dod I Helveds Rike" and tell me Dimmu Borgir cannot write music.
These guys have busted their ass to get to where they are today, and they deserve absolutely all the credit they get.
Memorable Tracks: Progenies of the Great Apocalypse, Lepers Among Us, Cataclysm Children, Unorthodox Manifesto
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Newer stuff keeps on getting better...., December 4, 2005
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
Dimmu Borgir is -

Vocal - Shagrath

Guitar - Silenoz

Guitar - Galder

Bass - Vortex

Keyboard - Mustis

Drums - Nicholas Barker

Dimmu Borgir was formed in 1993 by Shagrath and Galder and have not cease to amaze and dazzle fans since then. Dimmu Borgir has yet produced another symphonic metal masterpiece. This time they brought in a 48 piece orchestra from Prague, which includes a full brass section. This new cd features fantastic production, different from many other black metal bands. But there is the contreversy: Does poor production classify you in the black metal subgenre? I didn't think so. These guys are as black as it gets, and their musicianship proves it. Shagrath's voice has improved much, and is more demonic and evil than ever before. I think this cd show's off his best vocals. A downfall is that Vortex's clean singing isn't as exposed on this cd as it is on their previous cd's. When it is sung though, ex: "Progenies of the Great Apocalypse", it is as hauntingly mesmerizing as ever.

"DCA's" songs are also "musically round" on this album, kudos to the orchestra. "Allegiance" starts the cd off with sort of a march like song. It's not like other two minute intros cd's usually have but is a full song instead. "Progenies of the Great Apocalypse" is the best song on this album. The intro is filled with breakdown guitars and the orchestra filling it up in the background. "Leper's Among Us" has an intro like I've never seen Dimmu use before, but Galder plays it off well. The most appealing tracks to me are:

"Progenies of the Great Apocalypse" - (love the brass section)

"Vredesbyrd" - (awesome chorus breakdown)

"Blood Hunger Doctine" - (if you listen close, you can hear the French Horns pull off a vibrato in the middle of the song)

"Cataclysm Children" - (awesome rythym once Shagrath starts singing)

Basically, this cd contains "lightening fast demonically possessed" drumming by Nick, wicked vocal solos by Vortex, and intense throat thlash singing by Shagrath. These guys are seriously musically talented, and should be more worldly known.

This is a definite MUST HAVE cd by Dimmu Borgir. PICK IT UP, YOU WON"T REGRET IT!!!!

John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Cult Armagedon, September 15, 2004
By 
Rebecca Lyle (Garland, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
I own every Dimmu Borgir album to date, and this has got to be my favorate. The 48 piece orchestra really helps add to the music by giving it that epic feel. They really did a great job in combining the orchestrated instruments with the band. Also, the keyboarding in this is fantastic, Mustis really has a good idea as to what he is doing. Mr. Barker is the same monster behind the kit, but I feel like he really took the backseat on this album when compared to Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia. Galder and Silenoz come up with some great riffs, some of which are the heaviest Dimmu Borgir has ever done. Vortex is a great bass player with many fills and an epic singer. Vortex does the clean vocals once again and never fails to amaze. Though I would have liked to have heard a little more of Vortex's singing as it is quite limited on this album. Shagrath is a monster. This album holds my favorate performance from Shagrath, who snarls grimey, misanthropic poetry all throughout. Overall, this is an epic masterpiece for any fan of the neo-black metal genre. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality doesn't mean bad "Black Metal", June 8, 2005
By 
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
Or maybe it does. But hey who am I to decide? In my opinion Dimmu, COF, Satyricon and even the last Immortal album are still every bit Black Metal, but just much better quality. Every one of these bands started out as young kids and they sounded like "true" black metal bands like Mayhem or Darkthrone. The difference is that these guys got better at their instruments and wanted the music to be more accessible.

I really like this album. The production is crystal clear. The Prague Philharmonic Orchestra was a brilliant touch. It makes the music stand out, sound majestic even. Nicholas Barker is a top notch metal drummer and sounded great here. Vortex' bass compliments the music nicely and his clean vocals are great, albeit underused. Galder and Silenoz write very catchy songs, but herein lies my only complaint. Galder doesn't play the elaborate solos that Astennu did while in the band. Perhaps that is why I gave only four stars. Small complaint notwithstanding, I think this is the perfect album for an inexperienced listener to start out with.

Not everyone will agree with this review. Some will say that only "minimalist" bands are worthy of calling themselves Black Metal. For those I say enjoy your Carpathian Forest and Darkthrone albums. I personally appreciate that I have a choice to listen to intelligent talented bands like Dimmu Borgir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INFALLIBLE KINGS OF DARKNESS, September 12, 2003
By 
Matthew Brown (Gainesville, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
When bands reach a certain level and end up releasing a masterpiece, it is very hard to match let alone top that status.
Dimmu Borgir Created a masterpiece with "Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia" and have managed to stay at that level with "Death Cult Armageddon" This time around an even more polished production accompanies the unrelenting wall of power That Is Dimmu Borgir. The Vocals are the same sick (Jon of Dissection influenced) Black Metal vocals. After the unfortunate passing of the "Sons of Northern Darkness", Abbath lends his voice and is heard on a couple of tracks. The Guitars dice through the compositions like only Galder and Silenoz know how, adding to the gargantuan of the opus. They experimented with technical riffing this time and a slight hint of groove in areas a bit more than ventured with previous efforts. The Keyboards blend beautifully with the Prauge Harmonic orchestra, hired this time around to add to the epic Grandeur of this album. The Drums are another example of why Barker is king of the kit and are more polished, with less of a drum machine feel. I got the album today, and have listened to it five times already. The only downside I could find was the minimization of Vortex's incredible operatic like vocals, as he only shows up on a couple of songs. As long as the line up stays glued together as it is, Dimmu Borgir will keep on churning out mind blowing album after album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cradle of Filth just got their @$$e$ handed to them!, September 17, 2003
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
I just got this last night. This is a new benchmark, in my opinion. I don't listen to much black metal, but I always liked the way these guys do it. With the addition of the Orchestra behind them, it takes their music to a whole new level. It sounds like a major motion picture soundtrack with black metal as the format. It's just epic. I'm just wondering how they are going to reproduce it live. I can't see a fifty piece orchestra traveling around with them to places like the Trocadero. If they try to reproduce the classical parts on keyboard, it's not going to come off the same. You can really hear the difference between a live orchestra and a synthesizer. Just listen to this compared to their earlier cds and you'll hear it too. It gives the music a different feel. The songs never get stale, there's so much going on at any given time, but more importantly, they never over-do it either. There's none of the cheesiness I hear from other black metal bands (see title of this review). The more I think about it, the more I seem to think that this band shouldn't be lumped into that category, because there are too many elements to their sound to confine it to a single category. This would sound right at home in a number of different genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one to remember, January 17, 2004
By 
Daniel Simon (Randolph, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
Where to begin. Well I must say I am relatively new to black metal, and its all thanks to this album. This is most definitly one of the best albums I have ever purchased.
Vocals : Shagrath can really dish out some heavy vocals. He can go from a sort of higher raspy growl to an insane deep growl, he never keeps his voice constant throughout a song. Vortex comes in on some of the songs with his amazing clean voice. He comes in at just the right time, and provides an interesting contrast to Shagrath.
Guitar and Bass : Perfect. I can be pretty picky on how guitars and bass sound, these guys get it just right. There's enough trebble and middle to make the sound dynamic, but enough bass to shake the floor. A lot of times Silonez will be doing lower chords with Vortex on bass backing him up while Galder is doing lead and harmony guitar, sometimes along with the orchestra. Each of them has their shining moments though.
Keyboard/Synth : Despite the fact that the orchestra takes over the string synth keyboardests often do, Mustis definitly adds to the richness of the band. Whether its synth or piano he often fills in quiter moments and manages to pull in a few good solos.
Drums : Nicholas definitly proves there is more to black metal than blastbeats. Of course when he does them, he's like a machine gun. The bass drum is really thick sounding and the snare also has a deep sound to it. Plus, he keeps things interesting by constantly changing beats, like suddenly goin double-time or changing from 4/4 time signiture to 6/8.
Ok now on to each of the songs
Allegiance 9/10 : An amazing opening song. It builds up then explodes into a fastpaced song. The orchestra becomes more noticable towards the end and keeps the song interesting.
Progenies of the Great Apocolypse 10/10 : Definitly the best song on the album. The middle part is incredible with Vortex's singing and a great part by the orchestra with Mustis on paino by themselves.
Lepers Among Us 8/10 : Slower song with a sort of upbeat beginning, but as soon as the vocals start, it gets really dark and creepy.
Vredesbyrd 10/10 : Incredible fast paced song with Norwegian Lyrics. The end will really get you headbanging!
For the World to Dictate our Death 8/10 : Interesting opening with crazy drumming.
Blood Hunger Doctrine : 8/10 The shortest and lightest song on the album. Shagrath does some weird vocals on this track, but it fits the song.
Allehelgens Dod I Helveds Rike 9/10 : One of the faster songs on the album and the second one with Norwegian lyrics. The middle is amazing with some more great singing by Vortex. The rest of the song molds around that part nicely.
Cataclysm Children 9/10 : More of an upbeat song than the others, the middle is great with Mustis going crazy on piano with the orchestra backing him.
Eradication Instincts Defined 10/10: This song will rock your socks off. It starts out with the orchestra by themselves for about a minute and a half, then the whole band kicks in all at once. towards the end, the orchestra plays the same intro riff, except this time with the band full blown.
Unorthodox Manifesto 9/10 : The longest song on the album, starts off with 2 minutes of ambient war noise, sort of like Metllica's "One", except you hear this group of people yelling "hail satan" getting louder and louder. Anyway, this song constantly changes and the orchestra has some strong parts here.
Heavenly Perverse 7/10 : Nothing amazing here but its still a good song, definitly has a "this is the end of the album" sound to it.
Well I hope this review convinces you buy this album. If it doesn't, just trust me on this one and get it anyway!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not their heaviest but I luv it!, July 7, 2005
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
Dimmu borgir has been known for bringing hate filled lyrics, death vocals that scare kids and symphonies that sound like theyre straight out of the exorcist. But with this release they have toned it down a little and use alot more melody. This is why it is personally one of my favorite death/black metal albums. I was never even a fan of ANY of their older stuff so if you like melodic death metal with actual melody in the vocals, I recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Metal Ruined By Shallow Minded Stereotype Bondage Pantsed Goths., February 17, 2006
This review is from: Death Cult Armageddon (Audio CD)
Wah wah wah. So Dimmu is becoming popular. I could've sworn that was the whole point of making music. Express yourself, and hope people will relate to what you're saying. But as soon as someone gets popular, they're dubbed "mainstream" and the cool to do is hate them. But this band deserves so much more respect than that. Sure, it's not the same as their earlier albums, but is it really bad? No. This is top of the line music. and When I say music I don't mean Slipknot, the 9 member band that sounds like a school band class had a little too much crack before practice. I don't mean Mudvayne, or any other mainstream band that spawns this race of bondage pants gloating children that do random things without reason. Dimmu started out as Black Metal and I think they've just evolved. Is this album as melodic as Stormblast, or Enthrone Darkness Triumphant? No. Is it a continuation of Dimmu's evolution since Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia? Definitely. The guitar riffs are crunchy, and Nick Barker continues to excel above most, if not all, other drummers in the music industry. I give Dimmu credit for growing away from the Satanic theme. Not all Black Metal is about worshipping Satan. It's also about superiority. "The weak deserve to die." And Dimmu captures that message better than any other band I've heard. ANY. Don't bash Dimmu for evolving. This album is one of their best. Apocaplyptic to say the least. As you listen to this, you can automatically picture the world coming to an end. Excellent music. Well worth the money. It's just a shame that children who refuse to grow up ruin this genre with their Cradle of Filth shirts and bondage pants they pick up from hot Topic. You try to convice them a band is good, but they won't listen because "it doesn't live up to the standards of SlIpkN0T, dude!" But as soon as other people listen to a band, it's time to throw on your bondage pants and fit in. Don't let them spoil Dimmu with their antics. DImmu is a very talented band that deserves as much respect as Bathory, Mayhem, Immortal, Burzum, Gorgoroth, Dark Funeral and Darkthrone. I just hope they don't sell out like Arch Enemy or Children of Bodom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Death Cult Armageddon
Death Cult Armageddon by Dimmu Borgir (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.