Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars15
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 27, 2015
What a great book discussing the murder in Vermont. Very indepth coverage of the murders and background of the persons involved. Use this as a reading in my class, most students enjoy how the book is written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2002
I inherited this book from a deceased family member (along with other true crime books). Peter Meyer tells a compelling and thoroughly-investigated story about a true rape-murder in a sleepy town in Vermont (much like my own hometown). An unthinkable crime in an unsuspecting town. It's tragic, and for the two little girls that it happened to, I came away from this book thanking God that the surviving girl got her story out and the animals that did it were caught! Only the highest praise for Peter Meyer to have the courage to write this story and get it published for others to see that it can happen ANYWHERE!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 26, 2008
Fortunately, the term "heinous" doesn't often come into one's descriptions of events. But this was the murder of one junior high school girl and the rape and murderous attack of a second (whom they assumed was dead), by two bad teens (15 & 16) who had terrible records. There was rape, there was sodomy, and the dead girl got her eye shot out. The perps were antisocial, entirely lacking in conscience, and the girls were just . . . little girls. The outcry over the crime was tremendous, and the author correctly makes a big deal over the arbitrary fact that that the 15-year-old got a light sentence of just three years (and an expunged criminal record) while his partner in crime got a 90-year sentence--the two being only a few months apart in age. The details of the crime were horrific and difficult to read. Once again, one wonders, how can one be human without the qualities of empathy and compassion for another? But there are those among us who have no awareness of that--and that is scary. The author concludes with a thoughtful couple of chapters on the "violent juvenile mind" and the "injustice of juvenile justice." Although now somewhat outdated, these chapters round out the book with a thoughtful review of the issues.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2012
This book was very powerful, and will stir up many emotions. The author did a great job describing this horrible event in VT's history, and he is very accurate in saying that day was the death of innocence in small towns all around the region. The book itself came very quickly and was exactly as described. I highly recommend reading this seller and book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
I read this book 25 years ago (in 11th grade business law class) and I will never forget it. EVER. It was that compelling. for years I couldn't remember the title but I knew the story and how it happened and the "aftermath". You need to read this book if you haven't yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2007
Picture a town, maybe your own, where everyone and everything is as perfect and seemingly safe as an American community could possibley be.
A place where nobody locks their doors at night, a place you and your
family proudly call home. Until that is, the worst crime against two
inncocent young girls unfolds. "Horror" as described by the local newspaper. What the community and ultimately the vast media asked is how and why? The state of Vermont had to face for the first time in it's history how to punish "kids" for what was always considered to be violent adult crimes. Murder! Violent, sexual rape and murder against two
young and happy adolecent girls walking home from school. Ultimately it, the state of Vermont, would have to change it's laws accordingly. The "spooky" thing about this book is that it is ultimately a story of what the future holds for the rest of the country in terms of juveniles committing violent crimes such as murder and rape. Since this book has been published (1981), year by year and state by state, the age punishable for murder (and other crimes) has been reduced to below the age of 15.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2000
I had heard of this from a friend of mine that was friends with one of the girls. I read the story and then realized how much pain and suffering these girls endured. I used to live in the neighborhood that this crime happened and it sure wakes you up.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2004
I was born and raised in Vermont. I remember when this happened. My heart STILL goes out to the victims and their families.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2000
This is the best book I have ever read in my life. I may not be a big time reader but I have read quite a few books and this one is awesome. It goes to show that danger is everywhere. My boss this knew these 2 girls mothers. It was hard. This book is truly amazing and I would recomend it to anyone.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2011
sad story, It is a very good story and very sad, hard to believe that it could have happened in Vermont.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse