Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 21, 2006
This book is a very enjoyable read. It is a page-turner of medical suspense that's nearly impossible to put down. If you like TV medical dramas like ER or Grey's Anatomy, then you'll really like this book. It'll also shock you into awareness of what really goes on in teaching hospitals... the ethical dilemmas, life and death situations that require split second actions, the simple mistakes that lead to disaster, the positive outcomes that make the medical doctor's training worthwhile.

The book will make you more aware for when you or family members go into the hospital, all the while entertaining you as you read the book.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2008
I read Death On the Learning Curve while recovering from ankle surgery and I thoroughly enjoyed it. In fact, someday in the future, I plan on reading it again! It was a hard book to put down and I couldn't wait to see the outcome of the medical drama. I now understand how hard it is for interns to make decisions that could cost another's life. While reading this book, I often gasped, laughed, and got teary eyed. You won't be disappointed if you invest your money and time into this book.

This review was written by Linda Gardner.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2007
Dr. Scranton's book is a candid and realistic portrait of internship in the 1970's. Although some things have changed, many more things have remained the same. His attention to details makes this story very real and delightfully entertaining. This is a wonderful read for anyone in the medical profession, but medical knowledge is certainly not needed to follow the story line and thoroughly enjoy.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2007
It is a thought provoking book that makes you rethink about where you would go for medical assistance -- a medical teaching institution or an established medical practice. I found this book exciting to read and hard to put down; I could not wait to see what has going to happen next. As a wife and mother I have little time to myself but I would gab every 15-20 minutes I could find to continue the journey with the intern on his way to becoming a doctor.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2007
I loved the book. It is written as surgeon's comming of age book about his internship experiences. The author is one of America's foremost surgeons with a real story to tell.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2007
Written by Pierce Scranton, MD, Death on the Learning Curve is a novel based on explicitly real-life quandaries that result from the sheer complexity of medical cases and difficulties involved in learning how to practice medicine - with the result that patients all too often become casualties due to the mistakes of inexperienced interns. Death on the Learning Curve is medical drama grounded in true events, divided into vignettes within each chapter that are in turn based upon the author's first year internship in a busy teaching hospital. From clashes of ego and personality, to the conflict that can result when book training of interns contradicts the personal experience of residents, to ethical quandaries, to incidents of outright misconduct and criminality, Death on the Learning Curve has it all. An utterly enthralling novel, sure to offer keen - if at times frightening - insights into how modern medical teaching hospitals really work.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2007
Many occupations are more dangerous where mistakes can get you hurt, fired or cost you money as most of us have found out on the learning curve of our occupations. These interns though very human, as this book shows us, face a different learning curve, one that mistakes that can cause patients a high price in many ways or even cause death.

Everyone has to learn and these interns are no different.

This books gives us a little peak at future doctors learning how to treat patients and handle their own emotions and methods of their profession.

This book will keep you interested and will give you a look inside this profession. Scranton does a great job. It is a good read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2007
Death on the Learning Curve is a novel that brings the daily routine of interns alive! The book reveals the difficult decisions that interns are forced to make as they are learning the procedures for the different medical specialties. This book keeps your attention and as the story and the characters develop, it is difficult to put the book down. It's interesting to learn how the uncertainties, fears, successes and failures affect the lives of these interns who are making every attempt to learn and save lives. Some efforts are successful, some are not successful, but it makes the reader aware of the importance of our medical doctors and hospitals. A very compelling story!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2007
An eye opening account of ones early years in the medical field. Although the author touches on several topics, he ties the subjects together in a compatable manner that draws you into the text from chapter to chapter. The "Hook" is set very early into the reading and holds one throughout the book. It's very hard to put this book down until finished.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2008
I enjoyed this book. It reminded me a lot of "Grey's Anatomy" only it takes place in the early 1970's so it's interesting to see how many things have changed since then (women in the surgical field, major technology differences, etc.) Good character development, I felt like I really knew the characters by the end of the book. Sequel! Sequel!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.