Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Intense, Depressing, and You'll Love Every Minute Of It!
This is where the show starts to get even more interesting. We find the character Light continuing to play the role of "god of the new world," ending the lives of the people he deems evil and unworthy of life. Light continues to write names in the Death Note, with the genius detective L hot on his trail. Light stays sharp so that he can eliminate L, keep his grades up,...
Published on January 31, 2008 by Arthur Liang

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overly Convoluted
The pacing at the start of this anime is fantastic. The story is interesting. I'd give the first half of this anime five stars. Then things just start to get dumb. It really should have ended with the showdown between the two main antagonists in the first half of the series.
Published on February 25, 2011 by That Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Intense, Depressing, and You'll Love Every Minute Of It!, January 31, 2008
By 
Arthur Liang (Beloit, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Note - Vol. 3 (DVD)
This is where the show starts to get even more interesting. We find the character Light continuing to play the role of "god of the new world," ending the lives of the people he deems evil and unworthy of life. Light continues to write names in the Death Note, with the genius detective L hot on his trail. Light stays sharp so that he can eliminate L, keep his grades up, and keep Ryuk from going into withdrawal by feeding him apples. The show begins to start getting much more interesting in Volume 3 with Light entering college and L begins to keep an even closer watch on Light. More importantly, the revelation of another Death God coming to Earth with a second Death Note. The Death God not only gives the second Kira a Death Note, but they also provide a nice pair of Shinigami eyes to the owner allowing them to see everyone's name and lifespan by just looking at their face. What will this mean for Light?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whammy Boys!, December 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death Note Vol. 7 Standard (DVD)
There is thus far nothing wrong in my world regarding Death Note, including the more recent attempts at beating a dead horse with a stick with the live-action "L-change the WorLd" and the BB murders novel. The only disappointing thing for me was the decision to not include L's successors in the live-action Death Note movies (though there is a vague nod to Near at the end of "L-change the WorLd"). Considering that the original manga is really an extremely convoluted mind-game of chess, where there are more thought bubbles than speech bubbles, it's amazing that they were able to pull off fantastically the first two live action movies albeit in a truncated form.

More amazing is that the anime version manages to keep the manga's mind games nearly whole. Unlike most people, I find the characters of L's successors, Mello, and especially Near, not to mention the background of all three young men being orphans raised in a home full of brilliant children for the express purpose of picking certain of them for duties such as L, aka the Whammy House, to be much more interesting. Particularly in the fact of their different approaches from L, their similarities and drive to beat each other to avenging L and to end the reign of Kira - all while Mello does so with a dark, passionate drive and seeming hatred of Near and his passive, painstaking method. In a way seeing how Mello and Near interact gives you more of a perspective of L's background than watching L himself for a majority of the series.

Basically, if you've made it this far through my review I'm surprised you haven't already hit the 'One-Click' buy button. This is the point of the anime where you go from the long, steady, plodding pace of Death Note to the beginning of the brawling, psychotic stampede to the end of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Note is an anime worth giving a watch, December 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death Note Vol. 7 Standard (DVD)
Death Note is truly a well written and mind thinking anime for people of many ages. Just when one may think you know where the story maybe going there is a twist in the story line. I would also highly suggest the Death Note books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A battle of minds, February 18, 2008
I really enjoy this series. What would you do if you had the power to kill people just by picturing them in your head and then writing their name in a notebook? Would you do it, even if it meant eternal damnation? This is the power given to a high school student who uses it to "create an ideal world". But the laws of man cannot be ignore. A police force stumped calls in the greatest detective of their time, a man known simply as "L". "L" has never failed to solve a case, but can he catch a killer who never has contact with his victims. Can a high school student continue to kill without leaving any evidence? Watch and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, May 30, 2009
This review is from: Death Note Vol. 6 Standard (DVD)
Death Note vol.6, Great Quality, I've had no problems in video frame being slow or skipping. The Series itself is clinching, I strongly advise to watch them in order for spoilers are in this one and others. Quite basically what the main plot boils to is that a young boy named Light, picks up a Notebook, whoever name he writes in it with the picture of him/her's face in his mind, dies. He has many people attempting to hunt him down, but only a select few show great difficulty towards his goal. He meet's a few friends to help him along the way, Some are quite normal while others are abit more...out there. If you have never watched anime before this is a great one to start out with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new English dub chapter in this incredible Anime series, May 13, 2008
By 
J. Burgos "I <3 Books & Comics" (West Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death Note Vol. 4 Standard (DVD)
Since I first saw this on Adultswim I became completely captivated by this new import from Japan. I have bought all the current English dubbed dvds and this series has now become my favorite anime. This series has intrigue, suspense, supernatural elements including horror. A very faithful adaptation of the hit manga series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turning Point, March 31, 2008
This review is from: Death Note Vol. 4 Standard (DVD)
This dvd has some great episodes, and many important things happen during them. I am not gonna spoil anything, but if youve kept up with the series so far on Adult Swim, then you know that this release will be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great way to practice listening to Japanese, December 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death Note Vol. 6 Standard (DVD)
The series is great and a good way to practice listening comprehension with Japanese as well as be entertained. It is a dark series, but for those that like murder mystery, suspense, and horror, it is a great watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series ever., August 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Honestly, this is one of the best tv series ever simply because of the mental part of it. There isn't so much action in the sense of people fighting. It's all about the mental warfare. This series will keep you guessing what is going to happen inbetween each episode and as you're watching the episode itself. This is something that everybody and anybody should watch at least once through.

The Bad Part: It technically ended with the resolution at the end of the first "season". You can tell what part I'm talking about when you see it. Then because the fans loved it so much and they pressured him, he went about making a second "season". Think of it really being two books in the set. The second set of episodes takes some episodes to really get along. He had to take it slow to keep the human reactions in the show realistic as opposed to them "magically" figuring somthing out or slipping up. So that's it's only real downside.

There is one other part I don't particularly care for, but I can't say because it's a spoiler. If you enjoy the series, you'll know instantly what part I mean when you see it. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series ever., August 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death Note Vol. 4 Standard (DVD)
Honestly, this is one of the best tv series ever simply because of the mental part of it. There isn't so much action in the sense of people fighting. It's all about the mental warfare. This series will keep you guessing what is going to happen inbetween each episode and as you're watching the episode itself. This is something that everybody and anybody should watch at least once through.

The Bad Part: It technically ended with the resolution at the end of the first "season". You can tell what part I'm talking about when you see it. Then because the fans loved it so much and they pressured him, he went about making a second "season". Think of it really being two books in the set. The second set of episodes takes some episodes to really get along. He had to take it slow to keep the human reactions in the show realistic as opposed to them "magically" figuring somthing out or slipping up. So that's it's only real downside.

There is one other part I don't particularly care for, but I can't say because it's a spoiler. If you enjoy the series, you'll know instantly what part I mean when you see it. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Death Note Vol. 4 Standard
Death Note Vol. 4 Standard by Various (DVD - 2009)
$24.92 $22.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.