Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unnecessary, but still fun live album
Believe it or not, before this was released, this legendary British heavy metal band already had seven live albums and at least three greatest hits compilations under their belts. So was it really necessary to release another live album? Do we really need another version of "Run To The Hills" or "Hallowed Be Thy Name?" Anybody who isn't a diehard Iron Maiden fan would say...
Published on January 18, 2006 by A. Stutheit

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great.
This is the live album that didn't need to be. While it's always nice to hear some new material live, the sound and production aren't really there. Moreover, there really was no need for yet another release of the same old staples such as NOTB, FOTD, etc. It would have been great to get some other material that we hadn't heard in at least 10 years. There is simply no...
Published on December 27, 2005 by Jason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unnecessary, but still fun live album, January 18, 2006
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
Believe it or not, before this was released, this legendary British heavy metal band already had seven live albums and at least three greatest hits compilations under their belts. So was it really necessary to release another live album? Do we really need another version of "Run To The Hills" or "Hallowed Be Thy Name?" Anybody who isn't a diehard Iron Maiden fan would say nah. One could even make the case that Maiden's last two compilation discs ("Death on the Road" and the ironically titled "The Essential Iron Maiden") were "sell-outs," or desperate attempts to rake in more money.

But, fortunately, six of the songs on here are from Maiden's 2003 album, "Dance of Death" (since this was recorded on the "Dance of Death" Tour), so, therefore, the live versions of these songs hadn't been heard before.

And "Death on the Road" is still a great live album. Frontman Bruce Dickinson's vocals are top-notch and the rest of the band are in fine form, as well. Bruce really has a wonderful voice, and, as he shows here, his vocal chords are very elastic. Songs like "Wildest Dreams," "Rainmaker," and "Brave New World" are very exciting because Bruce's almost soulful vocals triumph over running rhythms which consist of fast guitars and energetic drum beats. Elsewhere on the first disc, "Wraithchild," "Dance of Death," and "Paschendale" feature great, wild solos, and "The Trooper" and "Lord of the Flies" put catchy "Oooh-oh-oh" sing-alongs on top of walls of wailing guitars.

Later, Bruce digs deep for a lung-stretching vocal performance on the ultra-catchy and famous tune "Hallowed Be Thy Name." Other highlights on the second disc include the slowly solemn "Journeyman" (which is complete with hand claps and crowd singing), and the soaring, perfectly executed, last two songs ("The Number of the Beast," and "Run to the Hills"). Even though we've already heard these songs plenty of times on other discs, no Iron Maiden concert is complete without them.

It's a great performance, but is it worth buying? Well, if you're a casual Iron Maiden fan, you probably don't need any of their live albums; you could probably be suited just fine with "Number of the Beast" and/or "Powerslave." But diehards should pick this up. If nothing else, just buy it and throw it on the pile so you can say you have a complete Iron Maiden collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great., December 27, 2005
By 
Jason "jrd" (Junction City, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
This is the live album that didn't need to be. While it's always nice to hear some new material live, the sound and production aren't really there. Moreover, there really was no need for yet another release of the same old staples such as NOTB, FOTD, etc. It would have been great to get some other material that we hadn't heard in at least 10 years. There is simply no excuse for this as Maiden has a terrific catalogue to draw from. I must also say that the performance is adequate, but not stellar. I am also a little confused as to why Jannick Gers' playing is turned way up while it is hard to make out Adrian Smith's playing. Clearly, this should have been the other way around as Jannick butchers almost everything he touches. Anyway, this would be a great live album for most bands, but for Maiden, it is simply lackluster and tired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, October 25, 2005
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
This album is only good for getting the Dance Of Death songs live and they are not all that great. Lord Of The Flies is best left for Blaze Bayley too sing...sorry Bruce. Get Rock In Rio and forget this bore fest. Bruce's singing is very tired sounding on this and all three guitar players pretty much do mindless noodling on this album...only good thing is McBrain's drumming...sorry, huge Maiden fan here but the setlist sucks and so does the overall performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Dead on the Road. More like vocal and sound roadkill., October 7, 2005
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
You want an honest review then read here. I dont praise a band 5 stars cause I simply love them. I will tell it like it is, this album is not that great live, it isn't horrible but it is more in lines of Real Live and Real Dead One. Sounds slightly sloppy, and the vocals are not the best either. It just is not top notch, especially after Rock In Rio. Yes the band is great and we know it, but with so many live albums by these guys this what to expect on this:

They sound very tired and worn on this live album.

I am a huge fan of these guys. I love all the albums, with the fact that some are stronger then others. Yet somehow each album fits that certain period of your life and when you listen to it, it gives a nostalgic factor that can only be describe by Maiden fans.

Here is the problem! Maiden finally get back together (with Dickinson and Smith) and make an epic album (Brave New World) and tour with a incredible double CD album tour called Rock in Rio. Then Dance of Death came out and was sorta shock to some fans since it was hot/cold between fans, some will agree that it was not their best, some will say nothing compares. I personally think it is a strong album with a direction to their roots, however it was a step down from BNW (IMHO). Since those 2 albums are out with the reintroduction of Dickinson and Adrian Smith, we expect top notch music.

PAY ATTENTION MAIDEN - We don't need anymore GREATEST HITS or LIVE albums!!!!! We want more studio albums!!!!!

Get in the studio and just keep making studio albums one after the other, no more tours or major breaks, pour that overflowing cup of talent in the studio and go back in and do it again before you guys retire!!!!

This CD sound is OK, the singing is OK, and the majority of songs have been way over heard (Live and Greatest Hits!!) example - Wrathchild, Can I Play With Madness, Trooper, Hallowed Be Thy Name, Fear of the Dark, Iron Maiden, # of the Beast, Run to the Hills. Admit it, it is on every greatest Hits or Live album and we get those again.

Buy it for the fact that this is one great band live, but don't expect an amazing performance that night. Expect the same overheard songs minus the additional couple Dance of Death tunes live, Lord of the Flies was a surprise however. Especially plug the ears at the beginning of "Can I play with Madness" it is the worst vocals ever, I laughed at how bad it was!! It is even worse then A Real Live One's version.

Overall good to add to the collection, but when I want to hear them live I will put in the only 2 most amazing live albums by these guy - Live After Death or Rock In Rio. I guess in the end a double CD Live after one Studio album they release another feels a bit worn out. Go ahead and get it, you will enjoy it, but it wont be near impressive as Rock In Rio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maiden Does It Again!, August 28, 2006
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
Do these guys put out a live cd every month?, it sure seems like it. I think perhaps the only band that beats them in the live cd department is Aerosmith!

Anyway, is it necessary that we have yet another offering of live Maiden tunes? Well the answer is YES and NO. This one gives you the newer tunes such as Dance Of Death, Rainmaker, Brave New World, Paschendale, Lord Of The Flies etc, basically stuff you're never heard live before. They all sound really good live with all kinds of energy being put forth for our listening pleasure.

Maiden have always been a very good live band and this cd represents that to a T. I would rate this live offering as their second best cd coming in behind Live After Death, which we all know is gold. Rock In Rio is a very close third, however I have to put this one ahead of it simply because of the newer tunes it contains. Paschendale, Dance Of Death and the Journeymen sound awesome live. You know, Paschendale just might be the best song ever penned by the boys!!

The sound/mix is pretty good for a live cd. It's as good or better than any of the other two live cd's mentioned above.

So in conclusion is it worth spending the extra $$$'s on? Well truthfully it's a decision you'll have to make for yourself. I would say yes, but that's because I'm bias and because the newer songs sound great live.

Up The Irons!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden Maiden Maiden!!!!, June 1, 2006
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
Energy has been overly present throughout an incredible career for one the kings of heavy metal. To say that these guys rock will be short, the melodies of their songs are unique, but above all they have crafted a sound that can be recognized anywhere.

In this album Dickinson's stamina is amazing, the guy is in top form for this tour... every song better than the other and personally the live versions of the Dance of Death album are just way better than the studio versions. The guitars sound astonishing, you can't really say which solo or riff is better than the other; Gers, Smith and Murray can be the best guitar trio in ANY band out there... they rock and can make you cry with heaven notes that run through those phenomenal Harris' songs.

Finally you get to listen an acoustic maiden for the first time, if you call this a sell out you can kiss my a** ...

The DVD has a SUPERB documentary, and the concert is an incredible experience.

Let the music play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad. really it isn't. but it's just a little...., February 5, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
The thing about this album that is so "un-unique" is that this is their 8th, repeat after me, 8th live, repeat again, live album. i mean there really wasn't a good use for this. i mean look at Live after death, you wait for 5 studio albums and you get a great live album. But for Death on the road........ i mean they just released Rock in Rio after Brave new world. Iron Maiden just couldn't wait to sell another live album. All they did was make Dance of death and made another live album about it. 6 songs from dance of death makes it a great album. And then the ordinary, Run to the hills, Can i play with madness, blah blah blah. But we really don't need run to the hills being played on most of their albums! That is just the beginnning. Why does "Rock in Rio" (...)has 21 songs, while death on the road (...)has 17 songs? hmm? do you think it's because Death on the road is new? maybe, but for all i know i shouldn't have bought this album. Costs too much, not too many songs, not as much energy as Rock in Rio and just because it's their 8th LIVE ALBUM!!!!!!!!! It's making me pissed. Just buy Live after death and that should be enough energy+liveness as you need for a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So-so live concert 2-CD set., January 31, 2006
By 
Unstereotypical (Somewhere In Time) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
Very good CD, but no "LiVe AfTeR DeAtH".

Some of the songs on this CD set are just replayed songs that they keep playing over and over and over and over and over again.

Some songs on here like "Lord of the Flies" is a good breakaway from the replayed songs, to hear Bruce Bruce sing this song is a rareity. (B/c this song was originally done by Blaze Bailey when he was in MAIDEN).

"Wildest Dreams" and "Rainmaker" sounded really good on this CD set, and so did "Dance of Death title song" and "Paschendale".

They made "No more Lies" and "Journeyman" sound SO MUCH better on this than it ever did on the "Dance of Death" CD.

Nice to have, but not essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death to the Repeated Live Songs, December 30, 2005
By 
Ben Sumner (Beltsville, Md. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
Every time Iron Maiden puts out a studio album, a live album is soon to follow. That isn't a bad thing in theory, but when they put out a double disc with the same songs as their previous live album, it's a waste. Who needs another live "Run to the Hills" or "Number of the Beast"? Fortunately, on "Death on the Road," they do six songs from "Dance of Death," and two older songs - "Can I Play With Madness" and "Lords of the Flies." If you have their other live albums, especially "Rock in Rio," those are the only songs you'll want from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Death on the Road, November 19, 2005
By 
This review is from: Death on the Road (Audio CD)
I asked myself why I needed this. Another live Maiden album??? But it's good. It's nice to hear the live Dance Of Death stuff. I agree with the other reviewer-leave Lord of the Flies to Blaze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Death on the Road
Death on the Road by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.