Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Vineyard Case. . .
I am a fan of this series, marching through them in order now, and this is number seven. Several points: First, you should only read these books if you know and love Martha's Vineyard. As mysteries, they are ho hum, and I don't think they really give a fair picture of the Vineyard to the uninitiated --- it is so much of an insider's perspective. Second, you should...
Published on May 4, 2009 by Middle-aged Professor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Death on a Vineyard Beach
He's not one of the great writes but it was an amusing mystery. Not much depth, but an easy read. Enjoy reading about places I know of which the Vineyard is one.
Published 7 months ago by Mary Anne C.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Vineyard Case. . ., May 4, 2009
By 
Middle-aged Professor (NY'er living in Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death on a Vineyard Beach (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a fan of this series, marching through them in order now, and this is number seven. Several points: First, you should only read these books if you know and love Martha's Vineyard. As mysteries, they are ho hum, and I don't think they really give a fair picture of the Vineyard to the uninitiated --- it is so much of an insider's perspective. Second, you should read these books if you do know and love the Vineyard. The author is so sympatico, and the Vineyard so recognizable, the books are one of the next best things to being there. Third, the books are best read in order, as the characters develop as they go.

Having said all that, this book was not my favorite. The mystery was unusually weak and slow moving. If you want to just try one, this is not THE one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a honeymoon with a touch of danger, June 10, 2007
By 
Paul Skinner (Manassas, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death on a Vineyard Beach (Mass Market Paperback)
Newlyweds J.W. and Zee are off to Boston, and lo and behold, J.W. breaks up an attempted murder on the street outside the opera house. Luciano Marcus, the intended target, is greatful, and hires J.W. to track down who was after him. Could it be from his past mob ties, or somebody who will inherit his fortune if he dies? Or maybe angry Wampanoags who want the old man's cranberry bog (sacred Indian ground)?

This book has interesting side stories, and fascinating characters. And the ending scene is a thriller. A delish mystery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death on a Vineyard Beach, January 9, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death on a Vineyard Beach (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent reading, holds your interest from page 1. It is an easy read, relaxing but full of content. I feel like I have been to Martha's Vineyard. He is talented author and I have read 5 of his Vineyard series, all excellent reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imperfect Honeymoon, April 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death on a Vineyard Beach (Mass Market Paperback)
DEATH ON A VINEYARD BEACH, is not a world in which J.W. wants to spend his honeymoon with Zee. His action on the steps of the opera in Boston, saves the life a former mob boss, Luciano Marcus. Marcus demands J.W. join his team of body guards, which lures the ex-cop back to the island.
Marcus's home is like a fortress, which houses his wife and grandson, but gives the old man no peace.
While J.W. is investigating, Zee learns to shoot with surprising results. J.W. is reunited with his old Sargent Joe Begay who has mysterious means for obtaining information.
The shattered honeymoon is one of Philip Craig's best.
Nash Black, whose books are available in Kindle editions.
Writing as a Small BusinessQualifying LapsSins of the Fathers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring book..., May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All I can say is it's about the most boring book I have ever read.....maybe it just isn't my kind of book. From the title I thought it was a mystery....not so! It's a very ordinary day account of people and I kept waiting for something to happen and it never did until it was too late to hold my interest. Sorry...Amazon I usually love everything I read from you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific!, March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Craig's writing is always good...and this one ranks with the best! And Martha's Vineyard is a wonderful setting. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Death on a Vineyard Beach, December 13, 2013
He's not one of the great writes but it was an amusing mystery. Not much depth, but an easy read. Enjoy reading about places I know of which the Vineyard is one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Death on a Vineyard Beach by Philip R. Craig, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death on a Vineyard Beach (Mass Market Paperback)
Loved every one of Craig's books featuring J.W. Jackson in the Vineyard series. So sorry Craig's not with us anymore. . .I will miss his fine writing and the J.W. Jackson characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice addition to the series, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those of us who enjoy mysteries that exercise the mind without serial killers and gore, Philip R Craig's Vineyard series is just the thing. A little too much fishing, sometimes, and a little too much cooking, but enjoyable stories with likeable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death on a Vineyard beach, August 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Death on a Vineyard Beach (Mass Market Paperback)
All of Phil Craig's books are great. I have read them all and am very sad that there will be no more. Anyone can read his books. JW Jackson and his family are characters you would like to know in real life. Phil Craig will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Death on a Vineyard Beach
Death on a Vineyard Beach by Philip R. Craig (Mass Market Paperback - June 1, 1997)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.