Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Death at Windsor Castle: Her Majesty Investigates
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 9, 2000
Jane Bee, a Canadian serving as housemaid in the Royal Household, assists THE QUEEN in solving these terribly inconvenient murders. Jane's father is a cop, so she comes by her detective skills naturally. All three "Death at . . ." books are a hoot. I consider them comic cozies, my favorite mystery genre.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read my first adventures of Bee when she was doing her thing at Sandringham and have enjoyed everyone of them. I not only enjoy her, but every character who works "on staff." I am wondering what the Brits think of her, but they would probably dismiss her as a cheeky Canadian! I hope Jane will continue her royal duties for sometime to come. Her adventures couldn't be more fun and more interesting.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2003
There is just something so wonderfully diverting about these books. My more urgent question is why haven't there been more written since this last one? As an unabashed anglophile, I love the descriptions, etc. that go along with the stories and this latest book does not dissappoint. Loved it loved it loved it. And just let me add that these books are fiction. Too good, but write more!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2001
I love the C.C. Benison stories. For those of you who are royalists or at least interested in the British royal family, you can't beat these tales for an inside scoop of life at court. Whomever Mr/Ms Benison is, he/she knows a lot about the royals and spins her tales with fabulous details and humor.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 1998
Four years ago, Canadian Jane Bee was touring Europe when she ran out of cash. Instead of returning home, Jane responded to an ad for a maid. Jane was hired as the newest member of Her Majesty Queen Elziabeth's household staff. Though cleaning after the rich and famous is as boring as cleaning after one's self, Jane livens up her life by solving murder mysteries at the various royal castles.
Since it is Ascot Week, the royals have assembled at Windsor Castle to watch the races and the induction of two new members to the Knights of the Garter. However, on the day of the ceremony, Roger Pettibone, assigned to the royal art collection, is dead from a daggar thrust into his back. Victor Fabiana, a portrait artist hired to paint HRM confesses that he killed the man. However, Jane uncovers evidence that suggests Victor is protecting the real killer. Additionally, the victim had many enemies, who wanted him dead. It is up to Jane and the Queen to uncover the identity of the culprit so that justice can be served.
C.C. Benison is becoming well known and liked for her popular Jane Bee mysteries that reflect the English royal family in a kinder, gentler, and more humorous light than the media typically does. The author recognizes that these are humans who are not totally saints or sinners, thereby adding a believable ambiance to a terrific story line. Readers will enjoy touring Windsor Castle with guide Jane Bee, whose latest entry, DEATH AT WINDSOR CASTLE, and her previous novels bring dignity and a good read to the royal English cozy.
Harriet Klausner
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2000
This is my second favorite of Benison's series, with "Death at Buckingham Palace" being my first. This was also a "those dishes haven't been sitting there all that long!" can't-put-it-down type read for me! I'm afraid I horribly neglected many duties in order to read this in one fell swoop. I really enjoyed the characters in all of Benison's books, but especially in this one and "Death at Buckingham Palace". They're colorful and well-drawn. Once again, a complicated plot and lots of insight into life with "her Maj" and the household staff. I highly recommend this!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2012
This is the third book in the C C Benison series about the housemaid Jane Bee and her ongoing life below stairs at the Royal residences.

These books have a really nice blend of mystery, humor and respect for the British Royal family whilst also exploring some of the issues they have had to learn about to live in the 21st century. This is unfortunately the last in this series, however it is a really nice book to read, relaxing yet challenging and makes you eager to read on.

Watch out for Benison's new series - starting with Twelve Drummers Drumming: A Mystery.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2000
wow! what fun. dont know why bought the book maby becouse of the cover (nice drawing)? who knows. the tech descriptions of the castle some time were a bit long (thought the auther was trying to prove how much he/she knew of the subject)other than that,again,fun. will read the rest
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2005
Not as good as the first book of the series (Death at Buckingham Palace), and darker in its content (some discussion of child abuse), but a great book nonetheless. Jane Bee is back and together with the Queen, she once again investigates a death in one of the royal houses. It keeps you guessing all the way through to the end. The humor is great and the British slang always makes me laugh.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
I found this book delightful with its background and intricacies related to the British royalty and murder. Perhaps not a great murder mystery, but the setting makes it very enjoyable. Worth a read - especially if you’re a fan of the monarchy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.