Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRING OUT DE BLOB. BRING OUT DE FUNK!
First of all, diving into a game about a revolt against an oppressive regime by use of color can only be done tongue-in-cheek. But, you know, that is how de Blob rolls.

Although the Wii console has always focused on the fun rather than the eye-candy factor, the visualization of this game is quite impressive. Since colors play an integral part in the gameplay,...
Published on February 26, 2011 by NeuroSplicer

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A let down
First of all, let me say I eagerly awaited the release on the wii. I loved the first version. As a casual game player, I am not looking for endless repetitiveness. Unlike the first version, this one does not take advantage of the wii controls, instead it is endless button pushing; instead of being able to flick your wrist to jump you must push a button. There are very...
Published on March 11, 2011 by V. Stout


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRING OUT DE BLOB. BRING OUT DE FUNK!, February 26, 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
First of all, diving into a game about a revolt against an oppressive regime by use of color can only be done tongue-in-cheek. But, you know, that is how de Blob rolls.

Although the Wii console has always focused on the fun rather than the eye-candy factor, the visualization of this game is quite impressive. Since colors play an integral part in the gameplay, the world gradually turns from black & white to an explosion of colors and patterns. You start off with only the primary colors (blue, red & yellow) but, later on, learn to create compound colors (green, purple, orange & brown).

Remember how much fun was to receive a couple of thick coloring books and a 24-pack of brand new crayolas? Well, imagine doing the same thing over an entire city (only with fewer color options)!

The game is a 3D platformer with a number of quirky 2D stages. De Blob absorbs color like a sponge and then paints everything it touches with it. As the color returns, the oppressive regime loosens its grasp. As the stages progress, more objectives are revealed, whereas, between stages beautifully made and funny animations progress the story.

There is a time limit for every stage, something that is more important as the number of security forces start to increase. However, there are enough time-extension bonuses around to deal with it. As you turn Prisma City from oppressive black & white to vibrant colors, the music picks up and sets the mood.

The game will feel somewhat repetitive to adult players but kids cannot get enough of it.

Freedom is coming - and it will be celebrated in color!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blobs o' fun, February 28, 2011
By 
Tim Trippel (Worland, Wyoming USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
While this game is not overly challenging it is a great amount of fun for all ages. The humor is delightful the sound track is filled with great jazz beats that change and expand depending on what color you happen to be and how much of your surroundings you have blobbed. I could smash "Inkies" all day. There is an occasional camera/controller frustration but it doesn't get in the way of the overall enjoyment of the game. The story line, as you overcome the religious and political oppression of the INKT Corportation's black and white regime, is told with a great amount of whimsy. One of my favorite "easy" games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Blob 2 - even better than the original, March 8, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I received De Blob 2 as a gift and enjoyed it so much that I ended up buying the original game De Blob as well. After playing both extensively, overall I prefer the second version, though the original is also a lot of fun.

Just as background, I am a mom with two kids ages 6 and 8. When we first received this game, I played it myself while the kids enjoyed watching. Now my 8-year-old is playing it himself and enjoys it, although he still asks me to take over when there's a section that he has trouble with. My 6-year-old still prefers to just watch and provide running commentary.

The overall concept of the game is fun and funny and we all enjoy it. It's just really cool to move the Blob around bringing color to all the dull gray buildings of the city, rescuing the inhabitants from the gray suits they've been forced to wear, and so forth. The various challenges do get a bit repetitive, but that's fine for the kids, and all the action is moving toward trying to shut down the evil "inkies" and capture the bad guy. The levels and challenges do get more difficult as you progress. For those of us with a completionist streak, after you have completed the challenges for a level you can get extra points for painting everything in that level. It can be fun to try to track down that last tree or building that you missed while completing the challenges. The kids tend to be more of the "just finish it and go to the next level" type, which is why I'm often up at midnight playing the game by myself. ;)

Both games also include a small selection of minigames where 2 players can play together -- in some cases working together to complete a challenge, in other cases competing against each other to see who can paint more in a span of time. My son and I have really enjoyed doing these together.

The following are the major ways in which I find that De Blob 2 is better than De Blob:
* A second player can use a second wiimote to be the "Pinky" character. Although she has limited capabilities, it does at least allow another person to participate by coloring certain things, and in some cases it can be really helpful in getting the Blob to be the correct color for a challenge.
* The addition of multiple save points within each level. Certain "major" challenges in each level will trigger a save and you are alerted onscreen with a little "autosaving" icon that lets you know your progress has been saved. So you can exit the game and come back later. In De Blob (original) you have no choice but to finish the entire level or else you have to start over from the beginning when you come back -- and the later levels can take an hour or more to complete, so this can really be an issue with the short attention span of kids.
* In the original game the Blob activates a paintbot simply by rolling over it/touching it. So if you don't see the paintbot there and you roll over it by accident -- this often happens when you're changing perspective, e.g. going around a corner -- then you can end up turning into the wrong color, which can be really frustrating when you're in the middle of a challenge that requires you to be a certain color. In De Blob 2, you have to actively "slam" the paintbots in order to get that color, so this isn't an issue.
* De Blob 2 uses the A button to jump, replacing the motion of swinging the wiimote downward to jump in De Blob. This is more familiar to us, since most of the games we play on the wii nowadays use A to jump, and it seems to allow for better control over the jumps. In general the movement/control is better in De Blob 2.
* De Blob 2 also adds "lightbulbs" that can be collected and used to upgrade the blob's capability. For example, you can increase the maximum number of lives he can have or paint points he can collect, and you can decrease how many points it takes to destroy certain enemies. This definitely comes in handy in the later levels.
* Camera motion and positioning are also improved, in general. There are fewer instances of the camera swinging around crazily or orienting itself so that you can't see where the Blob is.
* A small detail but appreciated: the compass, which shows you where your next challenge/objective is, and nearby paintbots and water, stays on permanently when you press the 1 button. In De Blob (original) you have to hold down A to make the compass stay onscreen.

In conclusion, both of these games are great fun and highly recommended. If you enjoyed De Blob, you should definitely try De Blob 2. If you have not played them at all, I would suggest starting with 2, and then you can always do like I did and buy the original game later if you finish 2 and still want more. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloberrific, February 27, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
If you enjoyed the 1st game, you'll enjoy de Blob 2.

Like the other reviewer pointed out, a 3D view with good ol' 2D nuances. The game is repetitive in the way of color the buildings, avoid getting inked, get the evil "grayscale" police dude, etc. It's mindless fun! Perfect for a weekend afternoon, where all you want to do is just play a video game that doesn't require rocket science analytics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A let down, March 11, 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
First of all, let me say I eagerly awaited the release on the wii. I loved the first version. As a casual game player, I am not looking for endless repetitiveness. Unlike the first version, this one does not take advantage of the wii controls, instead it is endless button pushing; instead of being able to flick your wrist to jump you must push a button. There are very long challenges instead of lots of short ones, all are required, you can no longer pick the ones you want to do. Each level has several long challenges, but it is often endless targeting and smashing, instead of the fun of painting your surroundings.I was completely let down by this version...I missed the fun of the original version that took advantage of the wii controls.
Add to the disappointment the game often freezes when you try to skip through the intros at the beginning. In some cases you must watch the videos and skipping is not permited.Many times the in game compass is not available, and then point of view camera will not focus the way you want or expect. All in all I am left feeling...please just let me get through this challenge and autosave so I can be done with it. If you are looking for a more fun experience, stick with the original wii version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SEQUEL!, February 28, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
When I saw the original de Blob on Amazon, I wasn't sure if I should buy it or not. In the end I bought it, and it was a great desicion to make. The game was colorful and fun with amazing characters. When I heard a sequel was being made, I couldn't wait. It was a bummer that I had to wait for 6 months before it came out, but it was definatley worth the wait. The levels are shorter, the anamation is better, you can level up de blob by finding interest, new characters, and a great new story. This is one game that is definatley worth 40 dollars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, colorful adventure!!!, September 10, 2014
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is an excellent game. In this game, De Blob starts off by trying to find Comrade Black, the villain from the first game who made the world in a grayscale, oppressive regime, and he tracks him to the island, which is the first level of the game, but the villain has escaped, and then De Blob finds out about a new cult and their leader, Papa Blanc, and they are doing things that seem kind of familiar...and this villain has political aspirations, and he rigged the election and reveals himself as Comrade Black! The mean, evil, and imperialistic conqueror, the grayscale oppressor, hater of everyone's fun. In this game, you fight against that cur by...painting everything! De Blob absorbs color, and paints everything he touches, and he frees people and lifts the oppression and takes down the INKT corporation once again with his mad 1337 painting skills, bringing a dull, dead world back to life and bringing back fun and creativity and awesomeness for everyone! But Comrade Black has a plan in the works...what is it? I cannot tell you what it is! That would spoil the surprise! Also, unlike the first game, getting inked isn't lethal, and there are anti-gravity panels which let you climb up walls, new power ups, including the wrecking ball (which turns De Blob into a wrecking ball and those nasty INKT soldiers fell some pain!) and even a power-up that creates a gravitation vortex that inhales all enemies within range!!! And you get armor, so you can take some hits unlike in the first game, and you can upgrade De Blob's abilities with inspiration points, which look like light bulbs. I love this game and highly recommend it for everyone. Don't listen to silly people complaining about the lack of Wii motion controls-those were terrible and tacked on in the first game and tend to do Wii games more harm then good anyway (just look at Okami or Skyward Sword). Also, you do get a compass in this game to tell you where you goals are next, and, unlike the first game, there are coherent goals in each level rather then ones you can ignore and have to find on your own like in the first game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deblob 2 Good/Bad Review, August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
There are some positives and negatives to Deblob 2.
Likes:
-Use A to jump instead of slamming remote. Makes it easier to defeat bad guys and move around.
-It's more clear what your next step should be. In the first game, I would lose time because I wasn't sure where to go next.
-When getting paint from Paint Bots, you can target with Z+A to jump on them, rather than roll into them. Before, it was always a problem with rolling on the wrong color.

Dislikes:
-No free paint (this was untimed paint in each course). They only have paint party with player 2.
-The worlds don't give you that much time to explore. I find I have to restart after I've come almost to the end of a world, just so I can hurry up and get to the end before time runs out.
-Doesn't seem to be a purpose the shake the remote all that much (before, you shook when it asked for paint points).
-There are certain checkpoints you must do to move on.
-More LARGE negative are the tutorials and cut scenes. While, it's great to learn and watch the scenes (they are well done), I don't need to see them every time I play the game. There needs to be a way to skip those.

While this game is good, there are some differences you'll notice if you've played the first one. Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Wii hidden gem, May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
My son and I have a lot of fun playing this together. It has slightly different controls than the first de blob. Both games are worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 6yo LOVES LOVES LOVES this game!!!, April 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Granted, he loved the original DeBlob - with good reason, it's a great game. DeBlob 2 isn't exactly the same. The jumping / slamming is a push button instead of an arm swing. Personally, I like that change. The color mixing is not featured as much - I don't care for that change. The color mixing is a great "teach primary and secondary colors" device. Also, this game has a lot of underground and tunnel action, which is all 2-D, instead of the aboveground 3-D action. That is confining, and less fun.

Overall, this is not quite as good as the original DeBlob, but my son still loves it, and goes back and forth between the two, much to the exclusion of most of his other Wii games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii
Deblob 2 - Nintendo Wii by THQ (Nintendo Wii)
$34.99 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.