Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Toad Is A Toad Is A Toad ~ Or Is It?
Australian witch Deborah Gray's offering is a delightful 64 minute excursion into spell casting, what you might refer to as 'Basic Foundations of Witchcraft 101A.' There is nothing out of the ordinary or overly speculative offered here, just good, basic historical information and easy to follow instructions for each ritual casting designed primarily for the novice...
Published on November 30, 2005 by Brian E. Erland

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 by Deborah Gray
This arrived quickly even though it was ordered during the busy holiday season. I was marginally disappointed overall, however. While the content was well presented, I had hoped the subject matter would have been a bit more advanced. I would recommend this to anyone new to the Craft. The visuals are lovely.
Published on January 13, 2009 by Lehua


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Toad Is A Toad Is A Toad ~ Or Is It?, November 30, 2005
This review is from: Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 (DVD)
Australian witch Deborah Gray's offering is a delightful 64 minute excursion into spell casting, what you might refer to as 'Basic Foundations of Witchcraft 101A.' There is nothing out of the ordinary or overly speculative offered here, just good, basic historical information and easy to follow instructions for each ritual casting designed primarily for the novice practitioner.

This is a nicely produced DVD and highly watchable for both the budding witch as well as those just curious about the subject. The set designs are meticulously prepared with the appropriate colors, scents and ritual impliments required for each spell to be covered by the very attractive Deborah Gray. Her soft melodious voice and the lavish ceremonial surroundings are sure to instill within the viewer the desired mood and level of openness necessary for a successful spell casting.

In my opinion where this little how-to-course really shines is in its emphasis on the essentials. Personal intention during the spell must be equally matched by the appropriate amount of time and energy in preparation for the ritual. Preparation goes hand-in-hand with intention. If one is too lazy or unwilling to put in the comensurate effort leading up to the spell casting how strong could the intention be?

There is also a wonderful featurette titled, 'Witches Weekend' which introduces some of the major figures in the Australian movement today. A very nice companion piece to the main feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting DVD About Spell Casting and Modern Witchery, October 28, 2005
This review is from: Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 (DVD)
"The moment you begin your journey into magical knowledge is the moment you become a magician. You are now entering into the realm of enchantment. Welcome, fellow seeker, to the world of magic." - From the DVD

According to Australian witch and author Deborah Gray, casting a spell can be a simple or as dramatic as you want it to be. She teaches the art of simple spell casting in a new DVD Wish on a Spell, which is the first volume of the WitchCrafter DVD series

In this 64 minutes DVD, Gray walks the viewer through seven spells:

*Perfect Soulmate Spell

*Merlin's Mansion (Real Estate Magic)

*Totally Toadworthy (For enemies and ex-lovers)

*Sex in a Bottle (Perfume Spell)

*Royal Peacock's Brew (Wealth and Prosperity Spell)

*Ghostbuster Potion (Banishing Spell from ancient Morocco)

*Wedding Ties (Spell to get your lover to propose)

Gray also talks about the four phases of the moon (New, Waxing, Full, Waning) and how each phase exerts a physical and spiritual influence on everything-and how certain spells are more beneficial when cast at particular times. For example, if you want to weave spells for growth and commitment, cast it during a Waxing Moon.

In addition to the instructional part of the DVD, there is also a "Witches Weekend" featurette as well as an interview with the late Australian astrologer Athena Starwoman. I found the Witches Weekend segment particularly interesting. Several witches, including two male witches, discuss the Gardnerian and Alexandrian tradition and how to communicate with gods and goddesses.

When asked if gods and goddesses were archetypes or actual beings, one of the male witches made an interesting observation: deities are an anthropomorphization of energy where people project thought forms. Because individuals work with deities, they gain power.

The interview with Athena Starwoman was also engrossing. She explained how masculine Leo was originally portrayed much like the Strength card in Tarot (feminine) and how the Venus placement in a chart shows where an individual shines-where they're "beautiful"...and also where they're jealous.

Wish on a Spell is an entertaining DVD that's especially good for seekers, especially those wanting to know more about Wicca, Paganism, and spell casting. I don't think "love spells" are all that ethical and I also think it's misguided to assume that everyone has a soulmate out there. However, this is a nicely produced DVD highlighting spell casting and modern witchery from one of Australia's most famous witches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking!, March 4, 2007
By 
Sara (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 (DVD)
I can't rate this video highly enough. Yes, it is far too short, but GORGEOUS altar decor and outdoor scenery. I was expecting stage lighting and generic rituals, but this is like a mini-movie. Quite amazing! The witches weekend featurette was more interview-style than demonstrating ritual as I had hoped. My one critique on the movie is that Deborah gives information beginning on Samhain and goes through Beltane, and the rest of the wheel of the year is left incomplete (but there is a booklet included with the DVD containing this info). However, this is a small discrepancy regarding information that most witches already know anyway. I love Deborah's confidence in being a Goddess and would hope all initiates can find someone who will inspire them to be this self-assured (something rather lacking in most religions today). I had to come upon this realization myself through much struggle, as I have come to understand most of the greater mysteries of life. I would have been very happy to have found this DVD much sooner. Buy this one! You won't be sorry you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An informative and fascinating survey of the ancient arts of witchcraft, October 13, 2005
This review is from: Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 (DVD)
Wiccan Deborah Gray hosts an informative and fascinating survey of the ancient arts of witchcraft through the perspectives of contemporary wiccans, showing how to cast magic spells and charms, weave magic with the phases of the moon, and align with the enchanted seasons. Superbly filmed on location through historical sites of Egypt, Europe, and the British Isles, Wish On A Spell is an outstanding and well recommended 64-minute, full-color, DVD production that includes a Bewitched Spell Booklet, "Witches Weekend" featurette, and an interview with famed astrologer Athena Starwoman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING DVD!, March 26, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 (DVD)
I really enjoyed this DVD!
The Woman is a Beautiful sexy Witch.
The "Extras" were just as good as the feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 by Deborah Gray, January 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 (DVD)
This arrived quickly even though it was ordered during the busy holiday season. I was marginally disappointed overall, however. While the content was well presented, I had hoped the subject matter would have been a bit more advanced. I would recommend this to anyone new to the Craft. The visuals are lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1
Deborah Gray's Wish on a Spell, Vo. 1 by Deborah Gray (DVD - 2005)
$19.95 $17.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.