Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: A Decadent Way To Die (A Savannah Reid Mystery Book 16)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars51
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 2, 2011
All of G.A. McKevett's Savannah books are a wonderful treat to read and savor slowly. This book rated high on the emotional scale and I couldn't put it down. I hope that reviewers will NOT write too detailed of a description of the book in their reviews and spoil the whole ending of the book for everyone. All who read A Decadent Way to Die should enter in totally without a clue to the events in order to thoroughly experience what the book has to offer. This is wonderful series.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2011
This mystery brought me to tears.
It spoke to my heart.
How could a mystery accomplish this?
Easy. McKevett writes from her heart.
Her characters come to life for me.
Savannah and her friends add so much depth
to each story. The good,the bad, and the ugly.
As always,a murder takes place and someone
has to do the dirty work.
Savannah and Mike are hot on the trail.
Along the way, one of her friends is in need
of some help and advice.
If you have ever read any of the other
mysteries by McKevett, you will know
that when a friend needs help, Savannah pulls
out the big guns and doesn't stop till she finds
an answer. This book is the best one yet.
Tis a keeper for sure.
I am not a very good reviewer.
But, this book made a big imprint on my heart.
Hope is does the same for you.
P.S. The first bite of the cheesecake is mine!
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2011
The Savannah Reid books have a host of wonderful and colorful characters which have stayed constant throughout the series. The author has written about domestic abuse in this book, and she did a wonderful job in using her characters to help show what domestic abuse can look like, and I liked how she added a couple of pages at the end of the book to tell victims how they may seek help. Writing about matters of the heart always adds great emotional value to the written word. I loved the surprise ending and can hardly wait for the next book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
I wish there were more female protagonists like Savannah Reid. She is no-nonsense,does not suffer fools and is smart as a whip. This may be the best Savannah Reid book yet. I look forward to the continuing relationship with Dirk and I love all the characters. Can't wait for the next one
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2011
This is the sixteenth book starring Private Investigator Savannah Reid, and readers will all be thinking as they close the cover on this one that there will hopefully be a seventeenth, eighteenth...does infinity ring a bell? For those living in a cave, Savannah is a plus-size detective and one of the funniest, smartest, most enjoyable characters that's offered in the world of cozy mysteries.

In this newest offering, Savannah is hired by the granddaughter of Helene Strauss, an eighty-year-old businesswoman and creator of the very popular Helene doll. Ms. Strauss is a shrewd woman who is immensely brash and as funny as Savannah, herself. There are some odd things happening to Helene in this book - suspicious events that seem to allude to the fact that Helene has been marked for death by a clever killer who's making it very difficult for Savannah to uncover.

When the case begins, Savannah doesn't exactly get any co-operation from the high and mighty Strauss family - most especially Helene, herself. Helene simply has that smart businesswoman persona that makes her an extremely hard person to please, even though she needs Savannah to find out why exactly she's being stalked. Savannah quickly discovers that there have been many stressful relationships within the Strauss family for years. Helene's niece, Ava, has worked her behind off and scratched and scraped her way into the management of the family's illustrious doll company, which makes a great deal of money. But Ava seems to be moving the company into a completely shabby realm. In fact, the newest Strauss doll in the famous Helene line is a sultry fashion doll that comes with an excessive sexy wardrobe and a brand new, almost pornographic figure (Seems that Barbie isn't the only one who looks good in a bathing suit). Helene is understandably upset at this new doll because she's always prided herself on elegance and class, and she is trying with all her might to stop production on this atrocity.

With the help of her friend Detective Dirk Coulter, Savannah soon finds out that Ava is not the only family member with a motive to get rid of Helene. In fact, there are quite a few that surround her who have their own eyes on the profitable business. And, boy, would they just love to inherit by any means, fair or foul. As Savannah begins to unravel the case, two of the important players end up dead in a jacuzzi, and she finds herself investigating every branch of the Strauss family tree.

This, as always, is a wonderfully fun read. But - as always - the best part of the whole story is our leading lady. Savannah is an intriguing and sassy heroine and offers readers a great time. Highly Recommended.

Until Next Time,
Amy Lignor, Bookpleasures.com Reviewer
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2011
Savannah is always a good read, but this time the author outdid herself. I loved this book and the ending will be a major surprise for fans of the "foodie" mysteries of G. A. McKevett. Loved it, loved it, loved it!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2011
In Southern California legendary for her designing the Helene doll, octogenarian Helene Strauss owns a doll manufacturing company. However, recently there have been incidents that one cannot write off as an elderly person's accidents; at least that is what her granddaughter Emma Strauss believes while her niece Ada, who runs the business, thinks otherwise.

Emma hires plus-sized private investigator Savannah Reid to uncover who is out to harm her grandmother. She explains she saw the news clip in which Savannah and her visiting grandma from Georgia solved a homicide case so she thought Reid would be perfect for her Oma Helene. The client also mentions that Helene hates Ada who wants to run her life too. The simple case proves convoluted so Savannah lines up help from San Carmelita Police Officer Dirk Coulter who owes her for being at his side during the Murphy brothers' case and from her office assistant-investigator in training Tammy Hart. All hell breaks loose when a double murder occurs on Helene's estate.

This is a deep Reid tale that focuses on domestic abuse and contains an afterward with a short analysis of what is abuse and where to get help. Action-packed from start to finish, A Decadent Way To Die is a poignant mystery that grips fans from start to finish with its powerful emotional story line whether it is Reid's early childhood or Helene's in Nazi Germany (her short discussion about her best friend Esther is heart-wrenching yet less than a page). This is a winner that well be on everyone's short list twelve months from now.

Harriet Klausner
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2011
I have read and purchased all of the Savannah Reid mysteries. This book was G. A. McKevett's best effort. Most authors are afraid to drift away from their standard formula...the one that keeps loyal fans reading. I have stopped reading "series" books from a few authors because the author is afraid to let the characters change, grow, and develop. They frustratingly keep the characters locked into their standard "comfort" relationships. I was so thrilled that McKevett allowed her two main characters to change the dynamics of their relationship. By doing this she allows the entire storyline to breathe in a breath of fresh air and allow for continued growth for this series...which happens to be one of the best series mysteries next to Sue Grafton. This is a page turner! Well done!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2012
Really enjoyed reading this book. Fun characters and an interesting story that did not drag or become too far-fetched for a cozy mystery. The mystery is plotted pretty well and the main character, Savannah, is very likable. In fact, this is the first book of what appears to be a long-running series that I have read. Just ordered a very old copy of the first one written in 1995 to see how it all started out.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
I have read all of the Savannah Reid books in the series. The thing I like most about Savannah is how she shares the short comings of herself and the others without ever sounding insecure about herself or thinking she's above her friends and co-workers. It's a gift being that honest and not mean.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse