Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Eric Clapton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 8, 2009
Unlike the half-wits who are commenting on the Constitution, Declaration of Independence, and the Articles of Confederation, I will be commenting on the publishers (Wilder Publications & A&D Publishing) compilation of the documents. DO NOT buy this publication. The publisher inserted "notes" all over the place. I don't know if it was an accident in the copying of the documents from one format to another but it detracts from the text. And, this is absolutely brilliant, it inserted the following disclaimer: "This book is a product of its time and does not reflect the same values as it would if it were written today..." Really Wilder! that is your view of the Declaration of Independence and the United States Constitution.
7070 comments|987 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2009
When I refer to the awful editing, I am, of course, not talking about the archaic spelling of some of the words which should remain spelled like they were in the original documents, I am referring to words like "note," or "history" that were sprinkled about in The Constitution. Article 6 of the Constitution appears twice in differing fonts. It is a nightmare of editorial proportions. Additionally on the copyright page there is a disclaimer telling us about how if the documents were written today, they would be more politically correct, and blah-blah (others have commented so I won't quote the bit.)

I would have only given this one star, but it contained a copy of The Articles of Confederation, as well as The Constitution and The Declaration of Independence, so, for convenience-sake I'm bumping it to 2 stars.

Awful, awful editing...totally unnecessary and frankly insulting disclaimer. Find another publisher if you wish to buy these documents.
77 comments|537 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2010
Disclaimer from the publisher;

"This book is a product of its time and does not reflect the same values as it would if it were written today. Parents might wish to discuss with their children how views on race, gender, sexuality, ethnicity, and interpersonal relations have changed since this book was written before allowing them to read this classic work."

Buy a copy of the Constitution from another publisher!
33 comments|364 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2010
If I had known the disclaimer was in the front of this book, warning people about the contents, I would never have purchased it. If you love our country and the laws on which it is based, you should find another source for these papers.
11 comment|130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2004
With all due respect to some of the other reviewers, this book doesn't claim to give "insight" into the Constitution. Rather, it's the Constitution itself, bundled into a nice little hard-cover book. For what it does (and what it claims to do), this book deserves 5 stars - after all, the writing is excellent and I agree with everything in it. :)

I keep one on my desk at work. The Constitution is so important that I want to make it available to everyone. It's small in size, so it doesn't take up unnecessary room. This little book should be required reading in our nation's gradeschools.
0Comment|138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2010
Read no further than this quote on page 3:

' "This book is a product of its time and does not reflect the same values as it would if it were written today..."

SERIOUSLY? Are the publishers at Wilder REALLY THAT INCOMPETENT???

I wouldn't take a copy of this publication if you GAVE IT TO ME. DON'T BUY THIS BOOK!!!
11 comment|161 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2010
Basically the publishers, or publishing company, included a small paragraph on the copyright page. It states: "This book is a product of its time and does not reflect the same values as it would if it were written today. Parents might wish to discuss with their children how views on race, gender, sexuality, ethnicity, and interpersonal relations have changed since this book was written before allowing them to read this classic work"

Since when is the Constitution, a living document, or the Declaration of Independence a classic work to be read and admired the same way as the Iliad or The Republic would be? The Constitution and the Declaration of Independence never change with the times and should always be considered FIRST when debating about governmental or societal issues.

The paragraph included in this collection is sickening and frankly, horrifying. Whomever teaches children about their country and freedoms should never compromise these documents in the vain guise of "political correctness" or not wanting to offend someones poor little feelings.

The only way to protect freedom, individualism, and security is to continually and unceasingly judge any act of government or governmental officials based on how well they know and abide by the Constitution. When people compromise their rights for any reason whatsoever, tyranny and oppression will soon follow.

So find a better copy of these documents and drive these worm-ridden publishers out into the darkness.
44 comments|168 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2008
This Constitution is published by Wilder Publications. The copyright page says this:

"This book is a product of its time and does not reflect the same values as it would if it were written today. Parents might wish to discuss with their children how views on race, gender, sexuality, ethnicity, and interpersonal relations have changed since this book was written before allowing them to read this classic work."

I don't know what to make of that. If it says what I think it says I think I want a Constitution from another publisher! That statement seems to say that the Publisher is telling us how to read it! They are saying that it's principles couldn't possibly mean the same thing today! What arrogance! I hope they don't mean these things but how can I not come to these conclusions?
3333 comments|397 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2006
I have always been looking for a reference copy of the U.S. Consitution to carry with me. For me this volume is that reference. This volume is compact, well laid out, and contains no unwanted extraneous materials.
11 comment|112 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2010
I find it peculiar that this publisher felt it necessary to include a disclaimer in the front pages warning parents that they may want to explain to their children how the doc's. are a product of their time and would not reflect the same values as if written today. Especially in the areas of race, gender, sexuality, ethnicity and inter personal relationships. Also, excessive notations are questionable. Much better products available at national center for constitutional studies or cato. Infowars, because there's a war on for your mind!
0Comment|109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse