Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Decoration Day
 
See larger image and other views
 

Decoration Day

Drive-By TruckersAudio CD
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (55 customer reviews)

Price: $11.88 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, April 22? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to Cloud Player.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 15 Songs, 2013 $9.49  
Audio CD, 2003 $11.88  
Vinyl, 2008 $25.23  

Amazon's Drive-By Truckers Store

Music

Image of album by Drive-By Truckers

Photos

Image of Drive-By Truckers

Videos

English Oceans Album Trailer

Biography

English Oceans, the 12th release by Athens, Georgia's Drive-By Truckers, is an elegantly balanced and deeply engaged new effort that finds the group refreshed and firing on all cylinders.

All but one of the collection's 13 new songs, written by singer-guitarists and co-founding members Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley, were recorded during 13 days of sessions in August 2013 with ... Read more in Amazon's Drive-By Truckers Store

Visit Amazon's Drive-By Truckers Store
for 16 albums, 10 photos, 7 videos, and 8 full streaming songs.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Includes FREE MP3 version of this album Here's how (restrictions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Decoration Day + Southern Rock Opera + The Dirty South
Price for all three: $37.78

Buy the selected items together
  • Southern Rock Opera $11.18
  • The Dirty South $14.72


Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 17, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: New West Records
  • ASIN: B00009M8IA
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (55 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #5,437 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. The Deeper In
2. Sink Hole
3. Hell No, I Ain’t Happy
4. Marry Me
5. My Sweet Annette
6. Outfit
7. Heathens
8. Sounds Better In The Song
9. (Something's Got To) Give Pretty Soon
10. Your Daddy Hates Me
11. Careless
12. When The Pin Hits The Shell
13. Do It Yourself
14. Decoration Day
15. Loaded Gun In The Closet

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

They earned wide acclaim with the double-disc Southern Rock Opera, a sprawling concept album about Lynyrd Skynyrd. Their three-guitar lineup and greasy look signify big, dumb rock in the minds of many, but their songwriting is relentlessly whip-smart. And what may be their greatest song, "The Living Bubba," is an ode to a righteous, hard-rocking redneck felled by AIDS. No, the Drive-By Truckers never do anything by the book, so it's no surprise that with Decoration Day, the band's first release for indie New West Records, Patterson Hood and his mates take another rewarding left turn. The album boasts a handful of crowd-pleasing, party-starting cuts, like the brash, cranky rocker "Hell No, I Ain't Happy" and the Stones ringer "Marry Me." Yet more common are moments of startling beauty (the steel solos on "The Deeper In" and "Loaded Gun in the Closet" and the jangling guitars, rolling melodies, and soulful fiddle breaks of "Heathens" and "My Sweet Annette") and heavy doses of recrimination and regret, as in the back-to-back suicide tunes "When the Pin Hits the Shell" and "Do It Yourself." --Anders Smith Lindall

Product Description


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Follow-Up to an All-Time Classic August 2, 2003
Format:Audio CD
You can call Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley a lot of things, but insecure isn't one of them. Not since Lynyrd Skynyrd brought in a young Okie by the name of Stevie Gaines has a great rock band suppressed their egos and added a talented guitarist and songwriter of the caliber of Jason Isbell. Isbell, the new addition to the Drive-By Truckers' three-guitar attack, is absolutely spectacular, a fact to which anyone who has seen him shine on lead guitar duties during their current tour can attest. Based on the evidence from Decoration Day, the kid can write songs and sing 'em too.
Coming on the heels of the all-time classic, Southern Rock Opera, Decoration Day had a lot to live up to. The DBT did the smart thing and seemingly wrote Decoration Day to please only themselves. It initially comes across as less accessible than its predecessor, but repeated listens reveal it to be a richly rewarding album. More than any DBT record before it, Decoration Day feels utterly anachronistic, like it was recorded before the CD era and should ideally be listened to on LP with all the attendant hisses and pops.
The stark opening cut, "The Deeper In" recalls Springsteen's Nebraska album both in mood and lyrical content. "Sink Hole" is a rave-up focusing on an issue near and dear to the heart of Patterson Hood, the collapse of family farms. "Hell No, I Ain't Happy" is typical ornery DBT. Patterson finally relinquishes vocal duties to the Stroker Ace, Mike Cooley, for a classic Skynryd- and Stones-inflected romp on "Marry Me". Songs like "Marry Me" just leave you shaking your head as to how the DBT fail to get airplay on your local rock radio station. "My Sweet Annette" is a pretty little song, even with Patterson and his delightful gravel-throated vocals up front.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have March 29, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Brash and brilliant as Decoration Day is, Drive By Truckers sound on it like a band in transition. When they rock, hard and often, their sound comes straight from the muscle and rowdy tradition of the Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd and the mostly overlooked Georgia Satellites. Hell No, I Ain't Happy is the template and while it is a great sing-a-long bar line of resentment, it's also probably the weakest of the CD's very generous fifteen cuts.
Decoration Day excels because where the Truckers were previously mostly a vehicle for front man Patterson Hood, they now showcase two more major writing talents, Mike Cooley and Jason Isbell. With their contributions and Hood's own better compositions, it's as if the Truckers have mainlined some William Faulkner and Flannery O'Conner, put a whole new true twist on all those tired Southern traditions and cliches. So we get Hood's sympathetic tale of incest, The Deeper In ("..but you took to his jawline and his long sandy hair. How he made you feel like none of the others."), Cooley's rocking Marry Me ("rock and roll means well but it can't help telling young boys lies" or "there's a fool on every corner, on every street, in everyone/and I'd rather be your fool nowhere than go somewhere and be no one's"), Isbell's Outfit (a father's lesson in pride to a son), back to back songs of survivor anger at suicides (When the Pin Hits the Shell and Do It Yourself) and, finally, the spare acoustical Loaded Gun in the Closet. In each of these songs and several others, the scenes and characters are so quirkily and sharply drawn that you feel them alive right beside you.
An even more interesting question than the accomplishment of Decoration Day is what happens next for the band.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock N' Roll is alive again September 27, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Incredibly talented band. This, their newest album, is their best yet. All three of the band's songwriters, Patterson Hood, Mike Cooley, and Jason Isbell, are great. I like Jason Isbell's song, Outfit, the best on this album, but they are all fresh. His guitar playing is monumental. Mike Cooley has a great deep voice and writes songs that would read well as short stories. Patterson Hood, a natural frontman, kicks the album off with a rolling story song that grabs me every time I hear it. This band has been appropriately compared to Lynard Skynard. The suprising thing is that they pull off that southern feel without sounding cheesy, sarcastic, or imitative. This is the logical extension of southern influenced rock and punk that should of came out of the seventies. These guys may have even been capable of saving music in the eighties. Too bad they were too young. If you like guitars and good songs without any of the bs spandex eighties nonsense, buy this album, pop open a beer, and rock the hell out.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelatory February 6, 2005
Format:Audio CD
I read below that nothing on this album is original, everything derivative of greater bands since laid to rest (or in different incarnations). On the contrary, I believe Decoration Day to be wholly original. Drive-By Truckers sing from the heart and they sing the Truth. While I am from the south, I never experienced the heartache and anguish and poverty told explictly on this sad album, I've seen it firsthand. Don't tell me what they say is False and Unoriginal. While they clearly draw from Lynyrd Skynyrd and other bands of that vein, the Drive-By Truckers have synythesized their own unique sound for the 21st century. Besides, if you're going to emulate someone, why not emulate Skynyrd or the Stones (who I hear in their music, as well)? And how many other southern rock bands have you heard lately? This is one of the best albums I have heard in a long time and I plan to buy the rest of their cds very quickly.

Most of the songs on Decoration Day are about the hardships and sadness inherent growing up as a poor white boy in the South and nearly every song rings true with acoustic guitars and excellent electric and pedal steel guitar throughout. I - unlike most reviewers on this site - do not give out five stars easily, but this album certainly warrants it. If you are a fan of country, southern rock or rock in general, this is essential, even revelatory. I haven't heard lyrics this true in quite a while.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly one of the best DBT albums
What some apparently fail to realize about DBT, thinking that they should sound more like "Free Bird" or "Sweet Home Alabama," is that Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley started in a... Read more
Published 27 days ago by Autonomeus
5.0 out of 5 stars Good CD
I like almost anything by this band. If you like dirty southern music, or southern / country music with some actual meaning and talent, this is a good place to start.
Published 3 months ago by shopperwhale
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite DBT Album
A complete classic in every sense of the word! A must have for any DBT fan. Every song better than the last.
Published 5 months ago by Ed McEachen
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern southern rock gem
I remember getting this as the free CD through an old record club from BMG. This was their featured pick of the month and after a few listens it was easy to see why. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Brent D. Sorenson
5.0 out of 5 stars One of DBT's best albums
This is probably my favorite truckers album. Every song could be a title cut. I bought this as I am working to complete my trucker's collection.
Published 6 months ago by Maverick001
4.0 out of 5 stars Decoration Day
My second favorite D B T disk. Very solid. Love the slide guitar work.Only had it for a month or so.
Published 12 months ago by James J. Aitken
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant...
The first 2 DBTs albums I bought were the most recent, 'Go-Go Boots' and 'The Big To-Do.' Now as Igo "back" I see were the brilliance started!
Published 13 months ago by Scott H
4.0 out of 5 stars Trailer park poets
Certainly music is a matter of taste and these southern rockers have a uniqueness about them that will separate likers from non-likers quickly. Read more
Published 14 months ago by John Firestone
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterful Album
Drive-By Truckers deliver the goods on this album. From brilliant narrative stories like The Deeper In, Sink Hole, and My Sweet Annette, to deeply personal rockers like Marry Me,... Read more
Published on July 8, 2011 by drdary
5.0 out of 5 stars Drive By This If You Dare
A guy at work told me about DBT last year, and thank the lord he did. Where have I been to miss these guys.
There are so many musical influences from my musical catalogue. Read more
Published on June 12, 2011 by tintin
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xa1cfb00c)

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category