Robin non-member

Buy New

Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
$3.68 + $3.99 shipping

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Decoration Day
 
See larger image and other views
 

Decoration Day

Drive-By TruckersAudio CD
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (58 customer reviews)

Price: $11.88 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, Aug. 1? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 15 Songs, 2013 $9.49  
Audio CD, 2003 $11.88  
Vinyl, 2008 $24.19  

Amazon's Drive-By Truckers Store

Music

Image of album by Drive-By Truckers

Photos

Image of Drive-By Truckers

Videos

English Oceans Album Trailer

Biography

English Oceans, the 12th release by Athens, Georgia's Drive-By Truckers, is an elegantly balanced and deeply engaged new effort that finds the group refreshed and firing on all cylinders.

All but one of the collection's 13 new songs, written by singer-guitarists and co-founding members Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley, were recorded during 13 days of sessions in August 2013 with ... Read more in Amazon's Drive-By Truckers Store

Visit Amazon's Drive-By Truckers Store
for 16 albums, 10 photos, 7 videos, and 8 full streaming songs.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Includes FREE MP3 version of this album Here's how (restrictions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Decoration Day + The Dirty South + Southern Rock Opera
Price for all three: $39.61

Buy the selected items together
  • The Dirty South $16.79
  • Southern Rock Opera $10.94


Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 17, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: New West Records
  • ASIN: B00009M8IA
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (58 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,421 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. The Deeper In
2. Sink Hole
3. Hell No, I Ain’t Happy
4. Marry Me
5. My Sweet Annette
6. Outfit
7. Heathens
8. Sounds Better In The Song
9. (Something's Got To) Give Pretty Soon
10. Your Daddy Hates Me
11. Careless
12. When The Pin Hits The Shell
13. Do It Yourself
14. Decoration Day
15. Loaded Gun In The Closet

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

They earned wide acclaim with the double-disc Southern Rock Opera, a sprawling concept album about Lynyrd Skynyrd. Their three-guitar lineup and greasy look signify big, dumb rock in the minds of many, but their songwriting is relentlessly whip-smart. And what may be their greatest song, "The Living Bubba," is an ode to a righteous, hard-rocking redneck felled by AIDS. No, the Drive-By Truckers never do anything by the book, so it's no surprise that with Decoration Day, the band's first release for indie New West Records, Patterson Hood and his mates take another rewarding left turn. The album boasts a handful of crowd-pleasing, party-starting cuts, like the brash, cranky rocker "Hell No, I Ain't Happy" and the Stones ringer "Marry Me." Yet more common are moments of startling beauty (the steel solos on "The Deeper In" and "Loaded Gun in the Closet" and the jangling guitars, rolling melodies, and soulful fiddle breaks of "Heathens" and "My Sweet Annette") and heavy doses of recrimination and regret, as in the back-to-back suicide tunes "When the Pin Hits the Shell" and "Do It Yourself." --Anders Smith Lindall

Product Description


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Follow-Up to an All-Time Classic August 2, 2003
Format:Audio CD
You can call Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley a lot of things, but insecure isn't one of them. Not since Lynyrd Skynyrd brought in a young Okie by the name of Stevie Gaines has a great rock band suppressed their egos and added a talented guitarist and songwriter of the caliber of Jason Isbell. Isbell, the new addition to the Drive-By Truckers' three-guitar attack, is absolutely spectacular, a fact to which anyone who has seen him shine on lead guitar duties during their current tour can attest. Based on the evidence from Decoration Day, the kid can write songs and sing 'em too.
Coming on the heels of the all-time classic, Southern Rock Opera, Decoration Day had a lot to live up to. The DBT did the smart thing and seemingly wrote Decoration Day to please only themselves. It initially comes across as less accessible than its predecessor, but repeated listens reveal it to be a richly rewarding album. More than any DBT record before it, Decoration Day feels utterly anachronistic, like it was recorded before the CD era and should ideally be listened to on LP with all the attendant hisses and pops.
The stark opening cut, "The Deeper In" recalls Springsteen's Nebraska album both in mood and lyrical content. "Sink Hole" is a rave-up focusing on an issue near and dear to the heart of Patterson Hood, the collapse of family farms. "Hell No, I Ain't Happy" is typical ornery DBT. Patterson finally relinquishes vocal duties to the Stroker Ace, Mike Cooley, for a classic Skynryd- and Stones-inflected romp on "Marry Me". Songs like "Marry Me" just leave you shaking your head as to how the DBT fail to get airplay on your local rock radio station. "My Sweet Annette" is a pretty little song, even with Patterson and his delightful gravel-throated vocals up front.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have March 29, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Brash and brilliant as Decoration Day is, Drive By Truckers sound on it like a band in transition. When they rock, hard and often, their sound comes straight from the muscle and rowdy tradition of the Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd and the mostly overlooked Georgia Satellites. Hell No, I Ain't Happy is the template and while it is a great sing-a-long bar line of resentment, it's also probably the weakest of the CD's very generous fifteen cuts.
Decoration Day excels because where the Truckers were previously mostly a vehicle for front man Patterson Hood, they now showcase two more major writing talents, Mike Cooley and Jason Isbell. With their contributions and Hood's own better compositions, it's as if the Truckers have mainlined some William Faulkner and Flannery O'Conner, put a whole new true twist on all those tired Southern traditions and cliches. So we get Hood's sympathetic tale of incest, The Deeper In ("..but you took to his jawline and his long sandy hair. How he made you feel like none of the others."), Cooley's rocking Marry Me ("rock and roll means well but it can't help telling young boys lies" or "there's a fool on every corner, on every street, in everyone/and I'd rather be your fool nowhere than go somewhere and be no one's"), Isbell's Outfit (a father's lesson in pride to a son), back to back songs of survivor anger at suicides (When the Pin Hits the Shell and Do It Yourself) and, finally, the spare acoustical Loaded Gun in the Closet. In each of these songs and several others, the scenes and characters are so quirkily and sharply drawn that you feel them alive right beside you.
An even more interesting question than the accomplishment of Decoration Day is what happens next for the band.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock N' Roll is alive again September 27, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Incredibly talented band. This, their newest album, is their best yet. All three of the band's songwriters, Patterson Hood, Mike Cooley, and Jason Isbell, are great. I like Jason Isbell's song, Outfit, the best on this album, but they are all fresh. His guitar playing is monumental. Mike Cooley has a great deep voice and writes songs that would read well as short stories. Patterson Hood, a natural frontman, kicks the album off with a rolling story song that grabs me every time I hear it. This band has been appropriately compared to Lynard Skynard. The suprising thing is that they pull off that southern feel without sounding cheesy, sarcastic, or imitative. This is the logical extension of southern influenced rock and punk that should of came out of the seventies. These guys may have even been capable of saving music in the eighties. Too bad they were too young. If you like guitars and good songs without any of the bs spandex eighties nonsense, buy this album, pop open a beer, and rock the hell out.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Perfect, But Very Near It January 25, 2004
Format:Audio CD
This is another great release by the Drive-By Truckers. While I think there are some filler songs ("Sounds Better in the Song", "Careless", "Your Daddy Hates Me"), the rest of the album is great rock or sweet jangly music. Patterson Hood is constantly talking about the "duality of the Southern thing." I wonder if he applies that to the sweet music and heartbreaking lyric combination of their songs.
Like all DBT albums I am familiar with, this one starts out with a tune that takes a left turn and grabs your attention. "The Deeper In" is about an incestual relationship between two consenting adults. When you hear the twang in Patterson's voice, one might assume this story takes place somewhere in the south, playing on stereotypes. But leave it to Patterson to drop a ten-ton heavyweight on your head with the final line, "Seven years in Michigan..."
The thing about this album is the body count. The second song tells the story of a man losing his farm owned by his family of five generations. To secure his farm, the man kills the banker. "Sinkhole" is a rocker with a great riff and won't leave your head for a long time.
"Hell No, I Ain't Happy" is a great rockin' tune about life in a band on the road. Mike Cooley's first contribution on the album is next with a great Stonesy "Marry Me" and gets the award for being the most positive song on the album. This gem is straight off rock radio, circa 1976.
Then comes a jangly section in the middle of the album which includes "Heathens" and "My Sweet Annette," both beautiful songs sung by Patterson and his raspy voice, a great "duality." Great hangover music.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
A+
Published 9 days ago by Dr. S. Shurville
5.0 out of 5 stars DBTs are bad mother's
Simply put, my favorite DBT album and that is saying something given their catalog of work. Put this album on push play and sit back and enjoy! Read more
Published 1 month ago by Mike Penrod
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK.
Bought it for one particular cut. I found it a rather depressing CD. Songs seemed to be all downers. But they are a talented group.
Published 2 months ago by AliceK
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly one of the best DBT albums
What some apparently fail to realize about DBT, thinking that they should sound more like "Free Bird" or "Sweet Home Alabama," is that Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley started in a... Read more
Published 4 months ago by Autonomeus
5.0 out of 5 stars Good CD
I like almost anything by this band. If you like dirty southern music, or southern / country music with some actual meaning and talent, this is a good place to start.
Published 6 months ago by shopperwhale
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite DBT Album
A complete classic in every sense of the word! A must have for any DBT fan. Every song better than the last.
Published 9 months ago by Ed McEachen
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern southern rock gem
I remember getting this as the free CD through an old record club from BMG. This was their featured pick of the month and after a few listens it was easy to see why. Read more
Published 10 months ago by Brent D. Sorenson
5.0 out of 5 stars One of DBT's best albums
This is probably my favorite truckers album. Every song could be a title cut. I bought this as I am working to complete my trucker's collection.
Published 10 months ago by Maverick001
4.0 out of 5 stars Decoration Day
My second favorite D B T disk. Very solid. Love the slide guitar work.Only had it for a month or so.
Published 15 months ago by James J. Aitken
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant...
The first 2 DBTs albums I bought were the most recent, 'Go-Go Boots' and 'The Big To-Do.' Now as Igo "back" I see were the brilliance started!
Published 16 months ago by Scott H
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category