Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As solid as any season
Season 5 may be the most in depth of any of the seasons. After a shortened season 4 (for the same price), this full season is worth the money. Between the off the wall, but always helpful remarks of Larry, and the interactions between Colby and David, this season is at the top. If you are a Numbers fan, pick this season up, you won't be disappointed. The one change...
Published on November 20, 2009 by Reviewer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING SHOW
3.5 stars

While a formula police/FBI procedural show, i find it to be entertaining enough to watch the entire series.Thus it gets 3.5 stars as being above average in terms of entertainment.

I particularly like to connection to real world concepts [math, physics, etc] to help solve complex issues. The writers do [did] and incredible job interweaving...
Published on October 12, 2012 by Coach J


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As solid as any season, November 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Numb3rs: Season 5 (DVD)
Season 5 may be the most in depth of any of the seasons. After a shortened season 4 (for the same price), this full season is worth the money. Between the off the wall, but always helpful remarks of Larry, and the interactions between Colby and David, this season is at the top. If you are a Numbers fan, pick this season up, you won't be disappointed. The one change that some fans may not like is Meagan left the show, and is replaced by a somewhat irritating (in my opinion) former LAPD officer. The transition works. It allows the LAPD to become a slightly more important (and different) aspect than it once was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love those Epps brothers!, January 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Numb3rs: Season 5 (DVD)
A former math teacher, I love to see a show that illustrates the usefulness of math and people actually enjoying math. This show does just that. I hope it never goes off the air. I buy every season when it comes out and watch it in a marathon - no commercial breaks, no missed episodes. BLISS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best!, May 12, 2014
This series has fresh material each episode with lots of action and suspense intermingled with science. I really appreciated the fact that Numb3rs does not find the need for foul language. The character interaction of the family and team members gives this series a depth and leads one to feel that one knows each person: the brothers, the father, the love interests. Then there was the time when Megan resigned – she left a hole for the rest of the series. When Colby was in trouble – ‘No, not Colby!’ I could go on and on but that would not be good. I highly recommend this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good series, February 10, 2014
This series was on a couple of years ago. I enjoyed then and still enjoy the reruns of it, with 6 years of episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Numb3rs Fan, July 14, 2013
By 
I was a fan of this show. I hated when it went off the air.It was iinteresting to see how Math was used to solve problems and I loved Charlie and Amita. This is great for fans to see their favorite episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good series, July 11, 2013
By 
Ernie Lawrence (San Luis Obispo, Ca.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love detective shows and this one is one of the best and how they explain what happen and their technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome show, June 26, 2013
Numb3rs is one of the best shows ever. Unfortunately like all the good shows it was taken off the air prematurely. I just wished there were more seasons to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the show, miss the commentary, March 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Numb3rs: Season 5 (DVD)
I love Numb3rs - it's one of my favorite shows ever. I was excited for the fifth season, but disappointed at the lack of audio commentary available. There are a few episodes with commentary, but not enough. This would not affect my decision to buy it again; it's just something to know ahead of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently fresh..., December 10, 2009
This review is from: Numb3rs: Season 5 (DVD)
...describes the overall tone of Numb3rs, a unique attribute for a mature series. Although the basic formula hasn't altered since Season 1--FBI Special Agent Don Eppes recruits his mathematical genius brother, Professor Charles Eppes, to help solve crime--the human element of the series has evolved as characters have developed and become more complex. Season 5 featured several pivotal character events--Charlie's security clearance is restored, the process of which prompts a journey of self-examination for Don, a journey which bravely includes an exploration of his Jewish faith (a facet to his character which helps set him apart from other TV cops); David receives a promotion to Don's second-in-command, which fleshes out the differences in professional approach between him and Don, and creates tension between him and partner Colby; Don suffers a near-fatal stab wound as a result, in part, of a miscalcuation of Charlie's, which leads Charlie to question his own purpose in life; and Amita is kidnapped, which ultimately deepens her romance with Charlie and prompts a season-ending marriage proposal.

The interpersonal relationships of the characters remain at the core of the storytelling, with character and plot each informing the other, particularly that of the Eppes family. The continuing influence of executive producers Tony and Ridley Scott can be seen throughout this season, from the dramatic and visual intensity of episodes like "Thirty-Six Hours", in which the team races to save lives following the collision of two trains, and "Jacked", in which a tour bus is hijacked, leading the FBI team through a series of surprising plot twists which, even after repeated viewings, catches the audience by surprise, to the cinematic and romantic feel of "Angels and Devils". The series continues to be enhanced by a great score and soundtrack as well.

To the writers' credit, Numb3rs doesn't need to resort to high-tech bells and whistles to tell a compelling story. Lower-key episodes such as "Frienemies", "Arrow of Time", "Chinatown", and "First Law" provide insight into character and pose evocative philosophical questions, while "Disturbed"--the series 100th episode--recalls the pilot episode and treats the show's loyal fanbase to a goody bag of trivia (including a Michael Rooker mention, a nod to the original unaired pilot in which Rooker played an FBI agent). The supporting cast are given moments to shine, and even take a lead role, in episodes like "Thirty Six Hours", "Cover Me", and "First Law", underscoring the strength of the ensemble cast. The quality of guest stars remains high, with names such as Lou Diamond Phillips, Keith Carradine, Henry Winkler, and Colin Hanks making recurring appearances (and it was fun for me to see a childhood favorite, Emergency's Kevin Tighe, in "Charlie Don't Surf").

The extras are the best since the Season 3 disc, and include the popular Crunching Numb3rs segment, the hysterical blooper reel, and footage of the 100 episode celebrations. Also included are deleted scenes from "Thirty-Six Hours" and a handful of episode commentaries featuring actors, directors, writers, and guest stars, all of which provide informative behind-the-scenes glimpses into what seems to be a surprisingly cohesive and close-knit family of creators. This series seems to be evolving itself, creating story as it goes along, and I hope it continues for many seasons to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Numbers DVD, January 17, 2010
By 
This review is from: Numb3rs: Season 5 (DVD)
My granddaughter is a mathemetician and high school physics teacher. She never misses the show. This show is one of the things that got her students interested in the math part of Physics. I plan on eventually getting her each season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.