Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outlaw time with Anne Carson
Decreation is coy, playful, obscure, difficult & profound. In other words - it is experimental, like other works by Anne Carson. Where is the tiny give that begins to give you entry? The book is transparent - yes, but slippery (note the undergarment photographed like a jellyfish on the cover). In the book are tableaus of different approaches to annihilation featuring...
Published on June 24, 2006 by fishbola

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a Centaur Without the Horse
Carson has such a prodigious command of style and form that one is tempted to overlook the lack of passion and humanity in these poems. After initial enthusiasm I increasingly felt oppressed by this claustrophobic book, which evokes an apophatic language of transcendence to articulate what I take to be Carson's difficulty in making contact with her own animal nature. The...
Published on December 3, 2010 by Barnaby Thieme


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outlaw time with Anne Carson, June 24, 2006
By 
fishbola (San Mateo, California) - See all my reviews
Decreation is coy, playful, obscure, difficult & profound. In other words - it is experimental, like other works by Anne Carson. Where is the tiny give that begins to give you entry? The book is transparent - yes, but slippery (note the undergarment photographed like a jellyfish on the cover). In the book are tableaus of different approaches to annihilation featuring Sam Beckett and God, Marguerite Porete and God, Simone Weil and God. In the interludes, witness Sokrates and Demosthenes the orator "who knows how to make his nouns rain like blows", Virginia Woolf and Elizabeth Bishop together in a sleep-assay that describes To the Lighthouse as a "novel that falls asleep in the middle". Decreation also contains an hommage to Antonioni, as strange and beautiful as Antonioni's films. Perhaps the "give" you're looking for is on page 46, where Carson recounts Antonioni directing Lucia Bose in Story of a Love Affair - "To obtain the results I wanted I had to use insults, abuse, hard slaps." Then again maybe not. But just when you think you're in here's another clue from AC - "If God were knowable, why would we believe in him?" Slap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligence Has No Other Name, October 31, 2005
By 
Avant-Captain_Nemo (Aboard my black outlaw submarine cruising through the sewers in a city near you.) - See all my reviews
Intelligence has no other name than Anne Carson. And "Decreation" proves that Ms. Carson has not lost the good of intellect as she pursues an incomphrehensible sublime through the intricate paths that connect the uber-sublime Simone Weil, Margerate Porete, Longinus, the negative theology of Samuel Beckett, and a thousand other things, themes, and people. Though not all of the pieces in this volume are verse all are pure poetry shifting through an intense tesseract where things that are most traditional are radically re-interpreted in direction that is surreal, avant-garde, and yet classical.

This kind of work is an example of what strong poets should be attempting to do today and it is one reason why Ms. Carson is the brightest bard of our hour, worthy to stand on the heights with Emily Dickinson and Paul Celan.

As I read these poems and essays I feel that my own imagination and intellect are struck by a light that is feminine and precise, strong, even rutheless, breath taking in its wilful ascents and descents, and firmly dedicated to its own unique spiritual quest.

There are passages in the poems in which I encountered the truly indescribable. Few are the poets these days that will dare to take on such possiblities and labors. Most poets writing are grinding out stuff that sounds like the slightly piqued pseudo-spiritual musings of third-rate diarists. But not Ms. Carson.

I must confess I can hardly wait for her next volume but for now I have too much to ponder as I watch my own mind quietly re-organized by Anne Carson's on-going aesthetic triumphs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blown away, again, October 25, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Decreation (Paperback)
Anne Carson is an artist whose craft is so fine that it has departed the shore of known art, known poetry, and is headed into the deepest place, as she says in "Seated Figure with Red Angle (1988) by Betty Goodwin":"If body is always deep but deepest at its surface"

This is a woman not only in contact with her animal body, but in contact with the guide on the journey to knowing. Her deep questioning alone is worth reading this book, to bear witness to her bearing witness--an infinitely real human, an infinitely real poet--perhaps what the negative reviewer was picking up on was the sense of sadness that penetrates through her intellect as she investigates love and loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a Centaur Without the Horse, December 3, 2010
By 
Barnaby Thieme (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decreation (Paperback)
Carson has such a prodigious command of style and form that one is tempted to overlook the lack of passion and humanity in these poems. After initial enthusiasm I increasingly felt oppressed by this claustrophobic book, which evokes an apophatic language of transcendence to articulate what I take to be Carson's difficulty in making contact with her own animal nature. The intellect is depicted as a point of departure, but it leads only to alienation. Humans pass through this book like the shades of the Odyssey who generate speech but not warmth. Sexuality estranges, never unites.

It's a rather dismal view of life, and one that does not impress me. It strikes me as the work of a writer who would rather read of the rage of Achilles than stake her own heart in the bungled human comedy.

Carson is the greatest translator of Sappho that one can imagine, and in matters of elegant expression she lacks nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, Brilliant, Intriguing!, November 16, 2008
This review is from: Decreation (Paperback)
Everyone should read this book! It examines Simone Weil, Stevens, and other Modern and Contemporary Poets.

I adore this book.

"Nothing that is not there and
THE nothing that is."

Beautiful, moving, thrilling, lucid and sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Decreation
Decreation by Anne Carson (Paperback - October 10, 2006)
$15.95 $12.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.