Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing guitar player shares his influences
"Dedicated" is Steve Cropper's debut project on 429 Records. For those of you unfamiliar with Cropper's track record, he has an impressive resume: a member of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the staff song writer and in-house guitarist on Stax Records staff, and a member of Booker T & the MGs. He also is credited with writing some true R&B classics: "Knock on Wood," "In the...
Published on August 9, 2011 by Polar Bear

versus
5 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Think" twice before buying this one.
Nothing against Steve who is one of the greatest for sure. But if you by chance play the original recordings by The "5" Royals before listening to this one; you will be deeply disapointed by this effort to bring back the great music of the 50s and 60s. A few Nice performances (a few), It was the first time I have heard Lucinda Williams, and she sounds totally "smashed" on...
Published on September 6, 2011 by Allan Mainous


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated, January 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
My favourite album of the year. I was checking out some Huey Lewis and Ry Cooder on Amazon, and this popped up as a possible alternative. I gave it a try and I'm glad I did. I had remembered Steve Cropper from The Blues Brothers, but hadn't thought of him since. Wow. Every song's a keeper. I recently downloaded all my CD's to a new MP3 player. This is one of the few albums of which I transferred every song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playing well with others, October 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
Steve Cropper, of course, has long been celebrated as one of the inventors of the Stax sound and the writer or co-writer of several R&B classics. He broke through to general recognition, after a highly successful career, as one of the guitarists for the original Blues Brothers. However, he's never really broken out as a guitar hero in the same way as Hendrix, Clapton, or even Frank Zappa. He is a collaborator par excellence, and here he works with the likes of Delbert McClinton, Bettye Lavette, Sharon Jones, B. B. King, Lucinda Williams, Steve Winwood, Brian May, et al., as well as a very tight band, including keyboard guy Spooner Oldham and Dap Kings sax player Neal Sugarman. This is soul (or in some cases rock) royalty.

The album pays tribute to Lowman Pauling, the engine of the legendary 5 Royales, both early influences on Cropper. As far as I'm concerned, there's not a weak track on the disc. It's also an "honest" production - no inflation, no pretension. You get all of these people doing what they do directly and cleanly, without the fooferaw of "production values." It's the difference between a Mercedes and a pimpmobile. You could almost be hearing them in a club. This is as close to the bone of R&B as it gets. I hope that the album will re-ignite interest in the 5 Royales themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the party's at steves, October 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
Need some pep in your soul? Got tired blood? Have your party guests decomposed into math computations? Pop this in the player and see what happens. Most tributes are refried without the beans but this one is fun.I can't think of a time Steve Windwood fronted a doo wop gruop,but he could any day of the week.The neo soul revivalists,betty and sharon kick the rug out from under you.The unlikely contributor Buddy Miller puts in a cool performance.Even my good friend Jeffrado,the avid jazz, fan was caught tapping his toe when I played this.I can't think of any higher recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated Steve Cropper : A Salute to the 5 Royales ., September 28, 2011
By 
Lou Scrobogna "charlieboy" (sunbury, victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
The only Albums I have of Steve Cropper is from the Blues Brothers Band so after reading good reviews about this CD had to buy it for my collection with some Great Rhythm and Blues and early Rock Guitar licks and Musicians singing and playing 15 tracks : Thirty Second Lover with Steve Winwood , Don't be Ashamed with Bettye La Vette & Willie Jones , Baby Don't Do It with BB King & Smekia Copeland , Dedicated To The One I Love with Lucinda Williams & Dan Penn , My Sugar Sugar with John Popper , Right Around The Corner with Delbert Mclinton , Help Me Somebody Steve Cropper Instrumental , I Do with Brian May , Messin' Up with Sharon Jones , Say It with Bettye La Vatte , The Slummer The Slum with Buddy Miller , Someone Made You For Me with Dann Penn , Think Steve Cropper Instrumental , Come On & Save Me with Dylan LeBlanc & Sharon Jones and When I Get Like This with Lucinda Williams ... Good Album Musicians Vocals Catchy Tracks and Guitar Licks .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty, September 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dedicated (Vinyl)
Some great playing by the great guitarist Steve Cropper behind a wonderful lineup of guests. First vinyl copy came warped, but replaced with no problems. Vinyl is slightly warmer than the CD, but both have excellent sound. The track order on the vinyl and the CD differ slightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drink It Down, October 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
Steve Cropper's "Dedicated" is a great disc that blasts the music of the Five Royals into the present. The set opens with the utterly delightful "Thirty Second Lover" with Steve Winwood on vocals. The title's double entendre melds into a blistering rock rave, "Get me a bottle, turn it up and drink it down, Can't get you out of my mind." "Dedicated to the One I Love" has Lucinda Williams on lead vocals with Cropper's great guitar. Blues Traveler's John Popper gives strong vocals on the addictive "My Sugar Sugar." While not every track blasts me into the stratosphere, there's enough here to make this a welcome addition to the sonic atmosphere! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New take on some great old tunes, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this CD and can't believe I missed it when it first came out. Cropper's guitar playing is clean and precise and the songs are wonderful. Reminds me of tooling around in my old Ford in the summer with the windows down and the stereo at full blast enjoying my youth with friends from high school! The added feature of having a host of other talented artist's make for a great "various artist" collection. I'm glad Steve Cropper introduced me to The 5 Royales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast!, March 23, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
Some fun songs, a great cast of guest musicians and singers, and the legendary Steve Cropper on guitar. It's hard to go wrong with such a combination. This tribute to the 5 Royales has definitely sparked my interest in hearing the original recordings. Clearly, that group --- particularly their guitarist --- was a big influence on Cropper. Each listener will find a few tracks that they prefer more than others on this album. I really like the two songs that Lucinda Williams sings, but it's all pretty darn groovy. Very thankful that Steve Cropper was able to get so many interesting artists to help him with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rock revival, October 21, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dedicated (Vinyl)
This is an interesting release. Cropper chose to cover an entire lp's worth of songs from a group most of the buying publice has most likely never heard of. And if they did they would barely remember any songs in their original form. Certainly "Dedicated to the One I Love" will ring familliar with many music fans but not the 5 Royale's version. Further making this a new product for many rock & roll fans old enough to remember the 5 Royales in their day is the fact that nearly half of their songs which charted on r&b charts in the 50s are not included here. And two that are are done as instrumentals. I realize Cropper is doing this more as a personal thanks to Lowman Pauling's guitar work. But if sales mattered I think those items just mentioned are flaws.
That said, I doubt that sales really mattered to Cropper. A tribute to the 5 Royales is a mighty reach in the sales world. He has lined up some really good vocalists for this including Lucinda Williams, Bettye LeVette and Steve Winwood to name a few to really fortify his tribute.
This is a good disc and it shouldn't matter how obscure to the main music buyers the 5 Royales are.
Of interest, but of no critical value, is the fact that while the vinyl and CD have the same cuts the playing order differs from one to the other. Wonder why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tribute, September 14, 2011
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
This is a very enjoyable listening experience dedicated to a great artist and survivor. For anyone who loves Steve's impact on pop/soul/blues music...this one is a must get! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dedicated
Dedicated by Steve Cropper (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.