Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon July 21, 2003
"Deep Blue Sea" is one of those monster flicks that makes an attempt at being an intelligent man's horror film. The genetically-altered, Alzheimer cure-all mako shark idea was a good one, and a little more unique than most creature films, but in essence this is a man-screws-with-nature-nature-screws-back sort of tale. There are a couple of suspenseful moments, and the makos look great throughout the majority of the film. Other reviewers accuse the acting as being standard and weightless, but remember that this is a creature feature and the first rule of this genre is that the creature is the star. I found nothing terribly wrong about the acting, and much like "Anaconda," this film has a token rapper(LL Cool J) who does a good job. The rest of the cast is fairly standard, but none of their performances are that bad. Samuel L. Jackson gives "Deep Blue Sea" a solid actor, and he seemed to enjoy his time on screen in this film. Thomas Jane is another standout who plays the heroic lead, although little is left for our hero to save. Saffron Burrows does an excellent job as the good-meaning, yet slightly mad scientist who you really want to see get bit by a mako.
Overall, this is an above-average flick. It isn't as cheesy as "Lake Placid," and it doesn't make the sharks quite as smart as the raptors of "Jurassic Park" fame, but it takes parts of both of these films and combines them with a little suspense and terror a la "Jaws" and serves up a fish dinner that just about anyone can enjoy.
Also, notice the nod given to "Jaws" during Jackson's initial landing at Aquatica.(Hint: Check that license plate)
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 1999
At first, I was looking more forward to see Lake Placid, butthis turned out to be much better. The sharks looked great. Surprises everywhere! Just when you think you know what is gonna happen and who is going to make it and who won't, they turn the tables. Jaws was nothing but an overgrown great white who was a maneater. These sharks are genetically altered by humans. It gives a better depth of their intelligence. And unlike Jurrasic Park, it goes even deeper into what can go wrong when you screw around with nature.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2003
This film is increadible, mainly because it has no respect for it's cast. Anyone can die in this film. Someone who's the main character one minute is shark food the next. Although Renny Harlin took the 'special effects' option instead of building up real suspense, it works. There are some real shock moments in this film.
Basically it's Genetic Modification gone bazerk, super intelligent sharks, modified for the purpose of curing a disease, turn against their creators in a frenzy of snapping jaws and red-water scenes. I know, it's not the most in-depth plot review but that's it really, which doesn't matter because the great content makes up for the barely existant story.
The cast is great. Saffron Burrows shows that she is more than just cleavage as the meddling scientist who went too far, while Thomas Jane succeeds as the action hero (Even though he falls down about 50 times) and LL Cool J is surprisingly good as the comic relief/chef. Although he's playing the token 'cowardly character' Michael Rapaport gives a good performance, Stellan Skarsgard and Samuel L Jackson are both very talented actors who are good in any film and Jacqueline McKenzie gives more than just a creadible performance, watch the deleted scenes to see her at her best.
I would reccommend this film to anyone who likes a high tension thriller with plenty or guts'n'gore, but it belongs in anyone's DVD collection. It's in mine ;).
Sweek!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 1999
This DVD was far better than I had hoped for. The special effects were awesome! After watching this DVD I'm not so sure I want to go in the ocean again.If what you like is to watch a shark tear a person apart, then this one is for you! This has become our all time favorite .The more you watch it the better it gets. This movie will NOT disapoint the the person that likes to sit on the edge of the seat. p.s keep your feet out of the water.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2014
I enjoyed this movie for several reasons, including the choice of actors - I thought everyone did a good job with their individual characters (spoiler - most of whom get eaten). This is one of those films about: "Look what stupid humans did to create monsters (in this case, sharks) for our own profit (in this case, for Alzheimer's drug research), and lo and behold, our creations turn on us in the most horrible way (they eat us)". The special effects (the sharks) won't wow you, but they're pretty good. The story is somewhat unbelievable, but it's real enough to keep you engaged. And let's face it, everybody fears being eaten by a shark, no matter how close they ever come to the ocean, so the constant scrambling by the characters to avoid this fate is sympathetic, at the very least. Saffron Burrows, as the scheming, hard-assed doctor in charge of this doomed crew, is very good. She gives the term "ice cold bitch" new meaning. Samuel Jackson as her financial backer, trying to decide if he will pull his funding after an "accident", is a great foil for her. Worth a rental.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2015
THE STORY: Scientists at a refurbished WWII submarine refueling base on the Pacific ocean are working to synthesize a drug that combats the debilitating effects of Alzheimer's by using fluid from the genetically-enlarged brains of three Mako sharks. After spending many months & piles of cash, they're close but have no concrete results. The entrepreneur backing them gives them just 48 hours to produce viable results or he'll shut the operation down and write off the project. At the proverbial 11th hour the scientists surprise even themselves, creating a protein from Mako shark brain fluid that seems to reactivate Alzheimer's damaged brain cells ...but their stunning success is incredibly short-lived. A powerful tropical storm is moving towards the sea base and the three huge test sharks take advantage of the opportunity, orchestrating a fiendishly clever plan to trick the scientists into unwittingly releasing them back into the Deep Blue Sea. The scheme results in several deaths and a heavily damaged complex that is quickly taking on water. Trapped out in the middle of the ocean, with no way escape or call for help, the base inexorably sinking around them and three huge, highly intelligent sharks looking for a quick snack before heading out to sea, what will this handful of very smart but also very weary and very scared people do? Who will survive?

THOUGHTS: This is another of those silly yet fun nature-on-the-loose movies in the tradition of ANACONDA & LAKE PLACID where you just put your thinker in neutral and enjoy the mindless mayhem. You'll have to suspend your disbelief, because the F/X in DEEP BLUE SEA are quite dated since this was filmed during the adolescent days of CGI. Many shots are pretty cringe-worthy now, but no more so than stop-motion effects were way back in the day, I suppose. Just use your imagination and go with it. Thankfully, the full-size animatronic sharks kick things up a notch, as they are very cool and believably realistic. Most of the acting ensemble (among them a woodenly macho Thomas Jane, amiable Michael Rapaport, L.L. Cool J, and soon-to-be Thor's pal, Stellan Skarsgård) seems to be having a good time, delivering silly dialogue that's cornier than a silo full of Jiffy Pop, (but that usually goes hat-in-hand with this kind of film). Samuel L. Jackson is the most polished member of the cast, and gets what has to be one of the greatest death scenes ever put on film. (Certainly one of the most memorably shocking!) Director Renny (DIE HARD 2) Harlin engineers the entire movie like one, long cinematic spookhouse funride. And it works for the most part.

THE BLU-RAY: Nothing to exactly cheer about, the Blu-ray for DEEP BLUE SEA is a decent if unspectacular affair. Good sharp picture and a solid level soundmix help make this a worthy purchase if you have a Blu player but don't yet own the film. If you've got the DVD then I cannot fully recommend a double-dip. The bonus features have merely been ported over from the DVD; (audio commentary with Renny Harlin & Samuel L. Jackson, 2 mini-featurettes, deleted scenes & the theatrical trailer). BOTTOM LINE: For dumb scary fun, DEEP BLUE SEA is a pretty good popcorn flick. Head & shoulders above the tidal wave of giant killer shark movies you'll find floating around video stores and thru online retailers. But don't get soaked. Buy it used for cheap and be happy. 4 STARS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2016
I choose this rating because the movie is good. What I like about the movie is that “Adrenaline-pumped shock waves.” (Susan Wloszczyna, USA Today) Researchers on the undersea laboratory Aquatica have genetically altered the brains of captive sharks to develop a potential cure for Alzheimer's disease. There is one unexpected side effect. The sharks are getting smarter. Which could mean trouble for the researchers. And lunch for the sharks. You can swim but you can't hide when a tropical storm floods Aquatica, plunging Samuel L. Jackson, Saffron Burrows, Thomas Jane, LL Cool J and the rest of the crew into a harrowing battle of wits against sleek killing and thinking! machines. Renny Harlin (Cliffhanger, Die Hard 2) directs, squeezing nerve-jangling suspense and thrills from a film that's a monster movie, a chase movie, a movie that snaps hold and won't let go. Dive in. What I dislike about the movie is that I wanted to see more of it. I would recommend this movie to other people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2000
I came to this movie with pretty low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the plot has major holes, some of the effects are chintzy, and the thing is just too damn long. Still, the action scenes are well choreographed (especially the terrifying helicopter crash) and any movie about killer sharks is going to press a button or two. This one pressed several. Yes, Samuel L. Jackson is terrible, just as he was in The Phantom Menace (it is rare to see an actor who is so equally capable of brilliance and bathos), and the characters played by Saffron Burrows and Thomas Jane, both gifted peformers, are as one-dimensional as LL Cool J's is stereotypical. Of the rest of the large ensemble cast, which includes indie fixtures Michael Rappaport, Jaccqlyn McKenzie and Aida Tuturro, few are allowed to do more than wait their turn to be fish bait. Of course, character development is not the main concern here, action is and, on that count, Deep Blue Sea works quite well. Just don't think too hard about it and you will find an enjoyable way to kill a couple hours.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2011
First off, I love sharks. So I'm pretty picky when it comes to collecting films on these prehistoric beasts. I have two, yes, two shark flicks, both on BD. Everything else is documentary.

Deep Blue Sea is one of the movies I own.

I'm not going to rehash the plot; plenty of folk have done that already. The acting is decent on all fronts; but the actors we're here to watch don't have any lines of dialogue. There are quite a few 'Whoa!" moments, knocking you back in your seat not because of gore, but just because you didn't expect THAT to happen. But the gore is good too, not over-powering though. There is a lot of situational/ironic comedy (The anti-smoking ad and the chef's special are my favourites). And there are a few cases of 'That would never happen'. But my brain shut off the switch that follows the logic stream and I enjoyed it for what it was: a B-Grade monster flick.

The special features are nothing to scream about; what they have here is pretty much just the expected fare - a commentary track, a few deleted scenes, and a behind the scenes featurette. They could have done better. The soundtrack is decent, but again, nothing to prompt a need to own; it has passable 2-channel and 5.1. The digital transfer is awesome though, and for me that more than makes up for the lackluster technical and special features.

There are a LOT of bad shark movies, even or especially from the Jaws franchise. But Deep Blue Sea somehow manages to swim above the rest. It's a good addition to a BD collection if you want to watch monster sharks outsmart the human cast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
I first saw this movie when I was on vacation at the beach and at the time I left the movie hating it but over time I have learned to really like this movie I mean its pretty bad acting and really bad CGI but still something about it I like and about twice a year I go back to it and watch it because it's just alot of fun but I will say this, if this movie was done right and by that I mean director , actors and budget this movie could have been awesome not Jaws awesome but close. It is surely worth a watch if you've never seen it before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.