Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will bring you joy!
This delightful book will definitely lift you up when you need an inspirational message. Sometimes, I read daily devotions or other motivational books and eventually stop reading them -- This book is not like that! It "hits the spot" when I need an instant mood change or something to pick me up out of the doldrums...or just when I need a different...
Published on March 31, 2000 by Keri-Lyn

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A pablum approach to heart-centered living . . .
This book came to me highly recommended, so I was doubly disappointed. Cohen does better in his other books, but this one is "spirituality lite," big time. The format is standard for this genre: A page for every day, with a catchy title. A quotation to spark your interest . . . his sources are varied, and this part is okay, though not particularly inspiring...
Published on October 21, 2002 by Maureen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will bring you joy!, March 31, 2000
By 
Keri-Lyn (Lisle, Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
This delightful book will definitely lift you up when you need an inspirational message. Sometimes, I read daily devotions or other motivational books and eventually stop reading them -- This book is not like that! It "hits the spot" when I need an instant mood change or something to pick me up out of the doldrums...or just when I need a different perspective at the end of a day. Sometimes, I read several entries at a time. I often share pertinent insights from this book with friends, and I am convinced that some of the gems of wisdom from this book are single-handedly pulling one of my friends out of a mid-life crisis. This author is truly blessed with the ability to touch the common with the divine. This book touches people - let it touch you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most inspiring books I've ever read!, July 17, 1999
By 
Sheri Baker (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
A Deep Breath of Life is an absolute joy from beginning to end. It's as uplifting and thought-provoking as are all of Alan's books, but this one is truly a gem. If you want to explore your spiritual nature, expand your awareness of life above and beyond the material realm, and experience an inner peace on a deeper level than ever before, this is a must read. If you're like many people and your good intentions outweigh the time you can dedicate to reading, then this book is an especially good choice for you. There's a message for each day of the year which includes a quote, a short story, a prayer and an affirmation. A Deep Breath of Life is filled with soul-searching anecdotes and positive thoughts; without a doubt one of the finest ways I can think of to begin a day. Although it was designed to be read one page per day, I must confess I couldn't limit myself to the requested pace. Perhaps it's my impatient nature, but more likely it's Alan's unrivaled mastery of verbal expression deep with insight that keeps you from putting this book down. At the beginning of the book, he takes your heart into his hands, treats it with special loving care throughout each glorious page and then returns it to you much more open and healed. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good the third time around, June 13, 2003
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
I hadn't looked at this book for a few years and recently started reading it again for the third or fourth time. There are some days when the reading doesn't really touch me and other days when it's exactly what I need to hear. I've attended three short seminars given by Alan and find him to be a loveable, real human being. I stayed around after one of the seminars and went out with a small group to have dinner with him. There are some 'teachers' who seem to don a mantle of self-importance and wouldn't consider breaking bread with a lowly seminar attendee. Alan is certainly not one of them. So, five stars to Alan and all of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best daily inspiration book out there--it has it all!, July 14, 1999
By 
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
I think A Deep Breath of Life is the best daily inspiration book out there. It has it all--heartwarming and humorous stories, with inspiring messages and powerful prayers and affirmations that gently lift me from any feelings of anxiety or sadness to that loving, peaceful place of empowerment and joy. What a wonderful way to start the day! I have also made Alan's book my number one gift for all occasions to family, friends, colleagues, and others I meet who may appreciate its daily dose of loving, spiritual nourishment. In fact, since I bought my first copy several years ago, I have given away 48 copies of A Deep Breath of Life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Deep, Refreshing, Rejuvenating and joyful breath of life!, January 6, 2002
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
Someone recently gave me this book as a gift and I have since given away 6 more copies! Wisdom in bite-sized digestable daily pieces that seems to magically be just what I need to hear on that particular day. Not only does Alan share wonderful inspiring and insightful stories, but this book is a great reminder of the power of metaphor in our own lives. I find now on a daily basis I am making deeper meaning of my own life experiences...recongizing and recording those little "ah ha" moments that happen each day.
The people I gave the book to as a gift have since called to thank me, reporting that they felt the message was written specifically for them on that particular day. They are now passing on copies as gifts to their friends. The wisdom in this book is a "pass it on" kind of thing...just too good to keep to yourself.
The biggest challenge with this book is to simply allow "one daily inspiration" to be enough and let it really sink in. I keep wanting to read ahead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantistic book to use daily for spiritual isspiration, September 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
I met Allen at a seminar he gave in Albuquerque..which inspired me to buy three of his books . This particular book is a wonderful ,inspiring compilation of stories that will give you the daily inspiration you need to stay on your Spiritual path.I highly reccomend buying this book ,and using it daily in your spiritual practice.The books I purchased will be treasured in my collection for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A pablum approach to heart-centered living . . ., October 21, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
This book came to me highly recommended, so I was doubly disappointed. Cohen does better in his other books, but this one is "spirituality lite," big time. The format is standard for this genre: A page for every day, with a catchy title. A quotation to spark your interest . . . his sources are varied, and this part is okay, though not particularly inspiring. music, contemporary writers, scriptures, with the most prevalent being "A Course in Miracles." Then comes a thought-provoking paragraph or two . . . and here the disappointment takes hold. Cohen tells obviously-created stories which he claims come from his personal experience, or trite examples from the lives of famous people. Sometimes he quotes stories from world religious traditions without attributing his sources (as on June 12 where he tells the well known Buddhist tale about the man and the tiger, stopping to taste a strawberry as he falls).
Next comes a prayer/meditation. These are good. If you do buy the book, turn first to these italicized sections near the bottom of each page. May 7, for example, "Spirit of Love, open my heart. Help me to be at peace with all my relationships . . . " Then an affirmation, and these range from excellent (as on May 7, "I create peace with my loved ones and myself" to the banal (July 10 - "God's timing is perfect.").
Save your money. Choose another book for your daily meditations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Daily Inspiration, October 7, 2005
By 
Lamar Bevil (Greenwell Springs, LA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
I've been reading daily meditations for many years but this one surpasses them all. I bought a bunch for those friends and relatives who are interested and they rave about it, too. Top-notch, first class book. You won't regret your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books of daily affirmative living!, February 16, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
While I have only been working with this book for a short time, it has been of great value to me. It is easy to read, making the prayers and affirmations more "real", if you will, through the short stories Mr. Cohen uses to illustrate an idea. I have found great inspiration in each page which helps me stayed centered throughout my busy days so that there is more of me for myself and my family. I have shared some of the affirmations with my children and friends, and they, too, have felt warmed and inspired. A definate must-read for anyone seeking to live more from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful addition to Alan's work, March 10, 2006
This review is from: A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living (Paperback)
I love anything by Alan, and I lemjoy this book for its daily message format. I pick it up at the end of the day or when I feel a spiritual boost, turn to the date and read the passage. He never fails to uplift my spirit and help me get back on track. This would make a lovely gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living
A Deep Breath of Life: Daily Inspiration For Heart-Centered Living by Alan Cohen (Paperback - January 8, 1996)
$13.95 $10.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.