Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scared And Alone
Seven-year-old Jillian was the happiest little girl in the world. She was finally going to get a father and soon a new baby sister. She grew into a responsible teenager, obeying her parents, exceeding in school and being a loving, attentive older sister to her baby sister. On the outside, Jillian is your typical energetic teenager, but on the inside, she's protecting a...
Published on September 29, 2009 by The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read It in A Couple Hours
This is a fast read. It has more of a novella feel than an actual regular book. WHile the subject matter is uncomfortable, and graphic at times, I just wasn't impressed with the writing. I think the author was way off the mark at how 12 year old girls and younger act and think.

I found the story to have an amateurish feel to it. The ending was a little too...
Published on November 13, 2009 by LuvsLabs09


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scared And Alone, September 29, 2009
By 
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers (RAWSISTAZ.com and BlackBookReviews.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Deep Dark Secret (Hardcover)
Seven-year-old Jillian was the happiest little girl in the world. She was finally going to get a father and soon a new baby sister. She grew into a responsible teenager, obeying her parents, exceeding in school and being a loving, attentive older sister to her baby sister. On the outside, Jillian is your typical energetic teenager, but on the inside, she's protecting a deep, dark secret.

Afraid to tell anyone because she knows they wouldn't understand or believe she wasn't telling the truth, she carried the awful pain alone. Her schoolwork begins to suffer and she starts to draw into herself, until a teacher inspires her to keep a journal. As time goes on, Jillian develops strength and courage to gain control of her life.

Written with compassion and warmth, A DEEP DARK SECRET is a stirring piece of literature which focuses on a serious issue that is running rampant, and how a family overcomes and survives the dark cloud that hovers over their lives. Roby skillfully influences the reader to float into the heart and soul of Jillian's character and feel her anguish. The subplot ties in perfectly as the story unfolds. A DEEP DARK SECRET...a tender masterpiece of family loyalty, friendship, and peer pressure.

Reviewed by Sharon Lewis
of The RAWSISTAZ(tm) Reviewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DEEP DARK SECRET, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think '' a deep dark secret '' is good book. I really felt bad for Jillian Maxwell. Her stepfather was a very sick man. I am not schoked that he had done it before. Him going to church was just cover up for how sick he was. I was shocked to find out about Jillan best friend Nikki was treated by that guy marcus. I was not shocked about Juillan stepfather Byron affair with the 18 year. He ddint like women he liked lil girls. I am glad when Jillan mom find out she did believe her daugther. Sometimes the mom dont believe the kid. I think that Jillan stepfather didnt get enough jail time. I am not shocked about him gettin other girl pregant either. I say read the book and you will enjoy it. It's a page turner for real. I am loking forward to reading her new book called'' the perfect marriage''. good job kimberla! I really got more of inside how how abused child goes though. Its so different from watching movie about this subject then when you are reading about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Deep Sark Secret, May 2, 2013
I read this in one night Feeling so overwelmed for Jillian. It shows just how a monster can change a persons life and how he can manipulate the horrid of it to his advantage. And it also shows that just because you have a BFF that NOT ALL things are shared with them. I think it is a book for ALL ages
and especiallY in todays society where so much of this has happened to girls and boys. I was so glad when the tables turned and she did what she had to do TO KEEP A PART OF HERSELF AND HER SISTER SAFE. I was just glad that her mother seen what happened and did believe her as that is the Main Problem to
have Someone believe you in the begining so you do NOT have to keep up the lies of everything is OK.
KUDOS to the writer for TELLING A HORRIBLE TRUTH AND SHOWING IT CAN COME TO AN END WITH A POSITIVE FEELING AND NOT ONE OF DOOM !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
From beginning to end the book kept you wanting more. Although the story line is sad it definately kept you wanting to know what would happen next. It is also a story that will help you to understand how these things happen and the thought pattern of children. It's a story that reminds you to talk to your children and let them know where you stand on the topic so prayerfully they will never feel the way this child did and they know they can come to you about anything. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Ever Tell, October 11, 2009
This review is from: A Deep Dark Secret (Hardcover)
Seven year-old Jillian Maxwell's life could not be better. She had a new step-daddy that she adored and a new baby sister. On the day her baby sister was born, Jillian's life began to change. Her dream daddy became her worst nightmare when he started to make secret visits to her bedroom. Jillian knew what they did during these visits was wrong, but her daddy told her not tell anyone about them because no one would believe her and she would have to leave home. Therefore, Jillian endured years of being manipulated by her step-dad to do things she knew was not right. Jillian successfully disguised her anguish, by putting on a happy face for her family, friends and teachers. In this novella, A Deep Dark Secret, by Kimberla Lawson Roby, the plight of Jillian and other young ladies with her problems came to light.

Statistics show that one in five girls will be abused by a trusted family member by age 18. As a former child protective services worker, I have witnessed that girls respond in a variety of ways. They will become sullen and withdrawn, an over-achiever, become sexually active at a young age or have an intense dislike for the opposite sex. It is usually when the perpetrator tries to take the abuse to another level that will make the child react, by either telling or fighting back. In this novella, Ms Lawson Roby presents two opposite reactions to the abuse by the parents and by the girls. I think this novella is a good book for mothers and daughters to read together and could open up an excellent dialogue between them on the perils of keeping secrets.

Jeanette
APOOO BookClub
Motown Review Book Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, January 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely loked this book! I read it on my way somewhere (i forgot where) and i couldn't and didn't put it down! I loved the plot, the characters, the revelations, and the little subtle hints that were dropped along the book that makes you wonder if something happened a while ago. The author did a really really good job in describing the feelings of an abused child. The book makes you kinda angry because of some of the girl's actions, but you've got to remember that it is a confused, inexperienced-in-life child that doesn't necessary have the wisdom and knowledge you have. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a great, interesting, page-turning read. I told my friend who doesn't read much about this book and somehow my kindle ended up in her purse for a night, so she read it and said it was so good and she couldn't put it down and read half the book in one sitting before bed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!!!, November 29, 2009
By 
Dawn Chambray (Michigan, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Deep Dark Secret (Hardcover)
This by far was one of the best books ever. Myself being the mother of two teenage daughters, I recommend this reading even for young people. It gives details and information on how children are abused. More and more children are becoming victims of sexual abuse but are too frightened to tell anyone. This book shows how abuse can affect a child and gives sure signs of abuse. I'm going to make sure both of my daughters read this book. It wouldn't even hurt to be implemented in some of the upper grade schools. This is a serious issue that has not been addressed enough. God bless you Ms. Roby for addressing this issue that truly affects so many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read It in A Couple Hours, November 13, 2009
This review is from: A Deep Dark Secret (Hardcover)
This is a fast read. It has more of a novella feel than an actual regular book. WHile the subject matter is uncomfortable, and graphic at times, I just wasn't impressed with the writing. I think the author was way off the mark at how 12 year old girls and younger act and think.

I found the story to have an amateurish feel to it. The ending was a little too out there as well.

I wasn't impressed with this book. I am glad that Roby did finally start a story with new characters. She used the past ones to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tell All, November 4, 2010
This book was an exceptionally great view into the story of a little girl with a secret. I believe stories of this magnitude should be revealed to victims of abuse- before and after. Many young girls live with this secret forever and are never healed. This book was not only about the secret, but it was based on strength. Thanks for writing this novel, Mrs. Roby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, March 29, 2013
By 
JoAnnC7 (Akron, Ohio, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kimberla Lawson Roby is an fantastic writer. I'm an number one fan of her books. Keeping them coming. Now on to her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Deep Dark Secret
A Deep Dark Secret by Kimberla Lawson Roby (Hardcover - September 29, 2009)
$19.99 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.