Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The combination does it
This is a fine record. Its multi-layered tracks continue to grow. In fact it is lush soul-pop with a rough edge. What really does it is the input of the other musicians: a real team effort. A rowdy guitar in Nervous, the sax in Action Man, background vocals here and there, some samples and of course the organ (Joan herself). Especially Action Man is a great track, because...
Published on February 2, 2011 by Hereclectic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Specifics
Joan Wasser is easily one of the bravest and most lovely musicians out there today. She puts out albums under the Joan As Police Woman moniker and is not to be missed as a live act. The Deep Field's vinyl record sleeve is the most gorgeous thing I've seen this year...

...Now about the music. It pains me to say that this album leaves me conflicted. I 'like'...
Published on July 16, 2011 by JRL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The combination does it, February 2, 2011
This is a fine record. Its multi-layered tracks continue to grow. In fact it is lush soul-pop with a rough edge. What really does it is the input of the other musicians: a real team effort. A rowdy guitar in Nervous, the sax in Action Man, background vocals here and there, some samples and of course the organ (Joan herself). Especially Action Man is a great track, because it has such a contagious outro. Those elements stick and make this record a pleasure to listen to. We need police women like Joan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joan is the best., June 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Deep Field (MP3 Music)
Joan can do no wrong in my eyes (and ears). This album is fantastic. Maybe a bit more fuzzy guitar than previous releases which I really dig. It really just boils down to the fact that she writes incredible songs and gets a great bunch of musicians to record them. If you haven't seen her live you're really missing out. One of the best live performers I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Field best yet, June 9, 2011
This review is from: Deep Field (Audio CD)
Love the first album. Second one is great. This one takes the cake. Beautiful songs, musicianship, production. Album pulls you in after a few listens. Initially a song will linger in your head and have you go back for another listen. Before you know it the album becomes a familiar friend. To be experienced on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joan as Great Muscian, May 1, 2011
This review is from: Deep Field (Audio CD)
R&B, bluesy melancholy, burning, jazzy, funky arrangements, lyrically and musically sophisticated - thought provoking. She is bursting with talent and a brilliant musician. If she is in your town for a tour, please go see her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's a great violinist too!!!, February 13, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep Field (Audio CD)
In August of 2005, I came into NYC from 8 days in Las Vegas for an important CD release party at BAM (Brooklyn Academy of Music). (To paraphrase Joan Baez, it's NOT hard for me to love the East.) All the guests wore white! Fifteen years of my musical life were gathered there at BAM that night.

I met Joan Wasser after hearing her on preview cds from Dadi Beaubrun, one of the Haitian musicians with whom I have had the pleasure of collaborating since the early 90s, and saw her for the first time on stage with Lataye, performing the violin solo on TOU MEMBRE (Everybody)

The musicians I admire most write their own music and lyrics/poems. Additionally, Joan announced her new label, Joan as Policewoman (I loved Angie
Dickinson too).

Lovely in person, great on dvds of my favorite-for-decades Canadian errant Leonard Cohen (also playing violin, Joan not Leonard), I now am the proud owner of ALL her cds, and gifted some friends with others, like Susan who owns Gloucester Music. Joan's voice and piano knock me out.

Joan performs worldwide. Somehow, Haiti and Haitians always bring me lovely gifts, and that certainly includes Joan. She is a sweetheart and an artist to watch closely. You too will want to say you Knew Her When!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars her best yet, September 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep Field (Audio CD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this new work. Very accessible but introspective, deep, and melodic. She deserves more public attention. I like this more than any of Liz Phair's recent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Specifics, July 16, 2011
This review is from: Deep Field (Vinyl)
Joan Wasser is easily one of the bravest and most lovely musicians out there today. She puts out albums under the Joan As Police Woman moniker and is not to be missed as a live act. The Deep Field's vinyl record sleeve is the most gorgeous thing I've seen this year...

...Now about the music. It pains me to say that this album leaves me conflicted. I 'like' over half the record, but that's a far cry from loving this one the way I absolutely do with her self-titled EP and two previous albums. Hell, she even released a stop-gap album of cover tunes that's nothing short of amazing. Until now, she has done no wrong in her musical releases. Luckily, the songs Flash, Run For Love, and Forever And A Year save the day here because they're inventive, mind-bendingly great, and push her signature sound into new territory. I wish The Deep Field contained a few more standouts, and that the recorded songs lived up to their live counterparts since she's definitely an album artist, not a 2-3 good songs on a record artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Field best yet, June 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep Field (Vinyl)
Love the first album. Second one is great. This one takes the cake. Beautiful songs, musicianship, production. Album pulls you in after a few listens. Initially a song will linger in your head and have you go back for another listen. Before you know it the album becomes a familiar friend. To be experienced on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars music to move you, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Deep Field (MP3 Music)
Moving quietly, An undertow of music that draws you in and takes you under. Some of it is quite dark, some bright. It is an eclectic mix well worth my time and possibly yours. Flash was the song that brought me to this album. Give it a listen,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This May Be Her Best, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deep Field (Audio CD)
A friend turned me on to Joan As Police Woman and this may be her best album yet. I love her voice and the production is great. Buy anything by this artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deep Field
Deep Field by Joan as Police Woman (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.