Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage R6 Siege Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars27
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$17.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
on June 13, 2004
One of the more frustrating things about "remasters" is that sometimes they are "re-edits". While this release gives us one more track in the pre-concerto performance ("Hush"), as well as the previously unreleased encore, the editors of this CD have cut more than 2 minutes from the third movement of the concerto!!
While this cut was mainly from the lengthy drum solo, there was certainly enough room on the disc for the full version.
The now out of print import CD has the complete version and sounds equally as good as the remaster.
This "remaster" smacks of revisionist history. For shame!
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on January 22, 2003
This was back when rock music was still progressing. The strength of an orchestra working with the power of a rock band. Deep Purple were the first band to integrate rock music with classical. The idea came from Jon Lord, Deep Purple's keyboardist.
The band have the muscle to avoid being buried by orchestration, yet manage to join forces with the orchestra. The outcome is a magnificent union that will delight those who care at all about music.
This set was recorded live at the Royal Albert Hall in London on September 24th, 1969 and was divided into three movements:
1st Movement: Allegretto.
2nd Movement: Allegro with lyrics by lead singer Ian Gillan.
3rd Movement: . Vivace presto which integrates a solo for Ian Paice on drums.
For only having two complete rehearsals, the outcome is absolutely amazing.
(Important note) Make sure to get the current release (import only, as of early 2003) which has been completely re-mixed to sound 100% better than the old CD and/or LP, it also includes a nice big booklet full of pictures and if that's not enough for you, a great bonus disc of the band performing a three song set before the Concerto.
Track 1: Hush - Perhaps a better version than the one we always hear on the radio, with Ian Gillan's incredible vocal delivery. Sounding almost like early Elvis at times.
Track 2: Wring that Neck - A smoking instrumental with room to play for guitarist Ritchie Blackmore and keyboardist Jon Lord. I must also mention the solid rhythm section of Roger Glover on bass and Ian Paice on drums, they just drive this piece along. Nice.
Track 3: Child In Time - The band were just about to record this "soon to be classic" for the upcoming album "In Rock". It might be one of the finest live version they ever did.
It's so new to them that they play it incredibly tight, and Gillan keeps his famous screams slightly off the mic, so not to scare the classical side of the crowd, but it makes for a great reverb sound. Those three tracks give you about half an hour of warm up. The audience sounds like they enjoyed the opening set. Fabulous!
The Concerto for Group and Orchestra was and is an excellent idea from JON LORD, he is a true hero. Thanks Jon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
My oldest sister got the original vinyl album. I was intruiged by the cover (a glorious color photo of an empty Royal Albert Hall) and inside picture (a grainy black and white picture of Deep Purple surrounded by the orchestra in front of an overflowing Albert Hall). When I heard the album, I couldn't quite believe my ears. Here's the orchestra creating beautful sounds, there comes the band crashing in with heavy metal! And it all somehow hangs together!
Recorded 35 years ago, two-thirds of that magical evening is now avaible (still missing: the opener Sixth Symphony of conductor and composer Malcolm Arnold). After the opening symphony, Deep Purple then came on for a short 3 song set (which was not featured on the vinyl album, but is included on the CD reissue). That set is incredible: Hush, the instrumental Wreck That Neck, and the then-still unreleased, unrecorded and unknown Child in Time (explaining why there was no reaction from the crowd when Ian Gillan announces the song).
Last but not least comes the Jon Lord-composed "Concerto for Group and Orchestra". The 1st Movement is still my favorite, because it takes it time setting the table and then magically making the way for an instrumental hard rocking jam by the band, with a blazing solo by Ritchie Blackmore. The 2nd Movement is my least fave of the three, as it is too timid (and reminding me at one point of the Moody Blues, argh!!). The 3rd Movement however is explosive, and includes an amazing drum solo by Ian Paice, only to then go to an incredible explosive final of band and orchstra. Wow!
A year after this album Deep Purple started its string of now-classic albums "In Rock", "Fireball" and "Machine Head". However, the "Concerto for Group and Orchestra" album is just as adventurous in its own right. I "borrowed" the album from my sister, and sure am glad to have it on CD now. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on May 12, 2003
The original album, released in 1970, had terrible sound. It was distorted and shrill. And a piece with so many soft passages didn't do well with the inherent surface noise of vinyl. In spite of that I completely wore out two copies of this album.
Now, this remix and remaster is nothing short of miraculous. Increased clarity and airiness are immediately apparent. But what really stands out is the group sections. Richie Blackmore's guitar parts...well I'm hearing things I never heard before. Roger Glover's bass now has a beautiful fullness and roundness. In fact the clarity of each group instrument is amazing. Get the picture? If you know and love this piece like I do, it's worth every penny of the high price. To say nothing of the additional three songs preceding the concerto. Ain't technology great?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on March 16, 2005
I have to admit I have very little knowledge of classical music though I do appreciate it at times. This album always intrigued me even before I actually heard it. Being a fan of Purple for many years I had obviously heard of the album and its reputation as a difficult thing for most rock fans to get into. It's definitely worth a purchase only for fans of the band but at a much cheaper price. The legendary Mach II lineup of the band makes its album debut here and while it isn't a true Purple album, each band member gets to shine in his own distinct way. Even Ian Gillan gets to sing a tiny bit during the second movement. This two disc edition is a much more reasonable buy then previous versions may have been due to the inclusion of Purple's warmup set before the concerto, featuring great versions of "Hush" (the BEST version), "Wring That Neck" and possibly the world premier of "Child In Time" although I'm not as crazy with this version as the 'Made In Japan' (could be my favorite DP song of all-time live or studio). Not for metal fans but for curious Purple fans only. Purple, 1969, Royal Albert Hall and an Orchestra, it doesn't get classier than that. Pretty ironic that their next album would be the absolutely devastating 'In Rock"!! No Malcolm Arnold here!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 24, 2013
Jon Lord is the best rock keyboard player ever. He composed this, played with young guys...
Orchestra is great, all the people doing concerts with orchestras moved from here.

One guy is named Ian Gillan... and this Child In Time is soooo good.

You don't need this if you like Deep Purple. But you MUST have this if you love Deep Purple.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2013
As an avid Purple fan from their first album through about "Come Taste The Band," I found this recording interesting. I had bought it in vinyl back when it was first released about 1970. That copy was worn out a long time ago. So it was nice to get a new copy. Is it great classical music? No. Is it a great rock album? Also, No. But it is any interesting piece. The idea of "Classical Rock" that integrated classical and rock music has been used by many groups and performers such as Moody Blues, King Crimson, Yes, and EL&P. But this album took the concept to much more of the extreme as Jon Lord really attempted to write a classical music composition first with the rock group integrated. If you're expecting a album anything like the previously mentioned groups normally recorded in the late 60's or early 70's, you will probably be disappointed. If you're a bit more open, you will possibly find this album interesting. Be forewarned though that is a live recording in a concert hall so don't expect state-of-the-art sound quality. The additionally cuts not on the original album are nice but don't really add anything.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 20, 2007
This is a 2 CD set. The first CD features Deep Purple doing live versions of some of their album songs.None of it is bad but none of it really anything more spectacular than live material Deep Purple has done on it's other releases. The 2nd CD is live progressive rock with Deep Purple more actively interacting with the Orchestra.It is very intense material with excellent performances by both band and orchestra.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 15, 2005
Before Metallica, Deep purple was the second band to do an arrangement with an orchestra.(the moody blues the first). At first I didn't know what to think. But, after listening to it a few more times I dig it. Maybe not for the true metalhead.If you like classical music, you'll surely enjoy this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 22, 2013
Very pleased with the service and the product. This concert is very unique and I love it. It is a must hear for all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
In Rock: Anniversary Edition
In Rock: Anniversary Edition by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1995)

Made in Japan
Made in Japan by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1990)

Concerto For Group & Orchestra
Concerto For Group & Orchestra by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1998)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.