Deeper Learning and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $26.95
  • Save: $8.87 (33%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 20 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Deeper Learning: How Eigh... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by apex_media
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships direct from Amazon! Qualifies for Prime Shipping and FREE standard shipping for orders over $25. Overnight and 2 day shipping available!
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.33
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Deeper Learning: How Eight Innovative Public Schools Are Transforming Education in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover – June 17, 2014


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$18.08
$10.61 $10.93
Best%20Books%20of%202014

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more.

  • Get a $150 Amazon.com Gift Card: Get the Citi ThankYou® Preferred Card and earn a $150.00 digital Amazon.com Gift Card* after $1,000 in card purchases within 3 months of account opening. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

Deeper Learning: How Eight Innovative Public Schools Are Transforming Education in the Twenty-First Century + Making Thinking Visible: How to Promote Engagement, Understanding, and Independence for All Learners
Price for both: $35.00

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Holiday Deals in Books
Holiday Deals in Books
Find deals for every reader in the Holiday Deals in Books store, featuring savings of up to 50% on cookbooks, children's books, literature & fiction, and more.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: New Press, The (June 17, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1595589597
  • ISBN-13: 978-1595589590
  • Product Dimensions: 1 x 5.8 x 8.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #72,415 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"It is a fast read and will interest educators who want to produce self-motivated, passionate learners with a goal that looks beyond passing tomorrow's quiz."
Library Journal

"In the tradition of Ted Sizer, Pedro Noguera, Gloria Ladson-Billings, and other innovative thought leaders, Martinez and McGrath provide inspiring examples of what deeper, student-centered learning looks like in practice. Communities across the nation must use the principles outlined in this book to fundamentally transform schools into places where Deeper Learning flourishes as a rule rather than an exception."
—Warren Simmons, executive director, Annenberg Institute for School Reform at Brown University

"What do 'reinvented' schools look like—schools that prepare all students for college and for an innovation economy? This fascinating series of portraits offers a road map for the future of education. Deeper Learning is a wonderful book that should be read by every educator, parent, and policy maker."
—Tony Wagner, Harvard University, and author of Creating Innovators and The Global Achievement Gap

"Deeper Learning is both informed and informative. From California to Maine, eight exemplary public schools show us how teachers and principals are finding creative ways to impact the learning and life chances of high school youth. This book is a clarion call to celebrate the imagination and commitment of educators in these and other stellar public schools."
—Mary Brabeck, Gale and Ira Drukier Dean, NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development

"This compelling book reveals how eight schools are navigating the transition from industrial-era teaching to twenty-first-century learning. A rare blend of inspiration and practical action."
—Tom Carroll, president emeritus, National Commission on Teaching and America's Future

"Deeper Learning is a refreshing reminder that the best schools are defined by a commitment to motivating, challenging, and connecting students to their own lives and their own learning."
—Elena Silva, senior associate, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

About the Author

Monica R. Martinez, PhD, is a former president of the New Tech Network and was previously vice president of Knowledge Works. In 2011 she was appointed by President Obama to serve on the President's Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for Hispanics. A Colorado native, she currently lives in the Bay Area. Dennis McGrath, PhD, is a professor of sociology at the Community College of Philadelphia where he won the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award. He is the author of The Collaborative Advantage: Lessons from K-16 Educational Reform, among other works. He lives in Philadelphia.

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By A. Maurer on August 23, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Perhaps one of the best books about education I have read this year. This book was exactly what I needed. As an instructional coach and working in a building that is transforming the platform of teaching to project based learning, this book really helped to guide me with questions to ponder and ideas to process.

From the book description you are able to see that the author spent time with eight different schools looking at the key ingredients to help students reach deep learning in their education journey. This is so vital because for so long we have taught education as survey courses. We pack so much into so little that we barely scratch the surface in learning.

What we are seeing with many schools today is a shift with perhaps less content, but taking time to really dig deep into ideas that will help them craft and develop the thinking skills needed to survive once they leave the confines of the education system.

While I read this book I shared my notes online and when it was all over I had over five pages of typed notes. There are so many great examples of teaching and learning. There are fundamental questions that make you pause and reflect on the answers to your own classroom and school.

We are going to be using this book as our first book club book for our staff. It is an easy read that does not require deep concentration. It is not cutesy fluff book that so often hits the high ranks of education books. Even more important it does not bash the education system that is so often the case. Instead it is a breath of fresh air into the amazing things schools and teachers are doing with students. It gives promise to the future. More importantly, it leaves you ready to push your comfort zones to move in the direction of deeper learning.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Pumpguy18 on August 27, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A very interesting book about how some schools across America are succeeding at making public education more relevant to the modern world. My son attends Casco Bay High School (one of the eight schools). I can testify that what they are doing at Casco Bay works. The results of his Junior Journey (described in the book) were stunning.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Cbartow on October 19, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I appreciate the straightforward and clear way that the ideas and imperative to transform education in the US is presented. The focus on the essential elements of high expectations and establishing strong relationships that support students is spot on. This book acknowledges the essential elements for effective change without falling victim to the quest for a "silver bullet" or program-based fix for the complex system that is K-12 education.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Betul goksal on October 28, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A must read for everbody.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Deb Alexander-Friet on September 29, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Thank you!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again