Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (143)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


312 of 328 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening in its Implications
As a progressive who grew up in exactly the kind of town the author describes, I found "Deer Hunting With Jesus" to be a chilling and dead on accurate account of modern day America. Unless you've had the experience of seeing the house you grew up in only 20 years ago boarded up and sold at a HUD auction, or turned into a crack house as my best friend from high school's...
Published on June 30, 2007 by Brian D. Rubendall

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bleak Look at America's Poor Whites
Joe Bageant's Deer Hunting with Jesus investigates the political conservatism and declining economic fortunes of America's poor whites (i.e., "rednecks" or "crackers" or "white trash"). In order to write the book, Bageant moved back to his Appalachian hometown of Winchester, Virginia, after a 30-year absence. As both my family and my wife's family are from Appalachia,...
Published on November 25, 2009 by stoic


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

312 of 328 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening in its Implications, June 30, 2007
As a progressive who grew up in exactly the kind of town the author describes, I found "Deer Hunting With Jesus" to be a chilling and dead on accurate account of modern day America. Unless you've had the experience of seeing the house you grew up in only 20 years ago boarded up and sold at a HUD auction, or turned into a crack house as my best friend from high school's house recently was (we were solidly middle class by small town standards), you really can't appreciate what the author is trying to describe.

That said, this is no biased political rant, as the author's staunch defense of gun ownership demonstrates. It is instead a desperate warning to all Americans just how perilously close we are to seeing our way of life destroyed by our own misguided collective actions. The author believes that progressives and the white working class (rednecks as he calls them) ought to be able to find political common ground based upon economic interest. He's also realistic enough to realize that it is unlikely to happen in time to rescue America from the precipice we seemed so determined to fling ourselves over.

Be forewarned, it is depressing as hell and in no way conforms to the Republican OR Democratic narratives of what America needs to do to preserve our way of life. It is the kind of truth-telling book that could only be written by someone who has seen enough of living on both sides of the red-blue divide to truly understand what ails this country.

In all, a perfect antidote to what the author calls the "American Hologram" of our mass media culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


194 of 207 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, June 26, 2007
I am a native of Winchester, VA, Bageant's hometown that is also the focus of this book. It was interesting to read about the dark underbelly of the town in which I grew up. My sense is that Bageant's facts are mostly correct, even though his assessment is quite obviously one-sided.

I give this book a solid five stars and highly recommend it to any reader regardless of their politics. It was a very entertaining read and I found it to be more informative about how the working class lives than either "Nickel and Dimed" or "What's the Matter with Kansas?". Those were good books, but they never escape the "outsider" perspective. The authors of most books on working class America are like scientists looking at some bizarre pathogen through a microscope; Bageant doesn't approach working class people as specimens to be studied, he actually sits down and talks (a lot) and drinks (a whole lot) with them.

The reader should keep in mind Bageant's perspective and remember that Winchester is not all bad. I graduated from the city high school (Handley) in 1996 and it seemed like any student who was reasonably intelligent and hard-working had a good future; however, the problem emerges when you look at where students get such habits - usually from peers and family members. That's why Bageant's description of the culture of the poor is so important regardless of whether or not you agree with his politics (I most emphatically do not). Conservatives and libertarians should find this useful because it exposes why some behave so irresponsibly.

This is by far the best political commentary I have read this year. Highly recommended and a quick and easy (but very intelligent and witty) read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Biting but convincing book about the working class in America, June 19, 2007
This books has moments of sharp-edge humor, but overall it paints a very bleak picture of the working class of our country. Whereas the "average Joe" in his Virginia hometown used to be able to afford his own home and enjoy something akin to the "American dream," Joe Bageant returns 30 years later to find a world bereft of hope...a place populated by folks who relentlessly pursue a dream that they will never see come true.

I find Bageant's points well-taken and convincing, and it did open my eyes up to a few things I had never considered. I recommend it, not for it's sharply humorous thrust, but for the important observations he makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blue (but Escaped Red) American Writes with Feeling about Red America, July 27, 2007
By 
Steve Koss (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Let me begin by saying that, as an escapee in 1974 from Red State Indiana to Bluest of Blue New York City where I discovered my own liberal bona fides, I hope every New Yawker, Bostonian, Connecticut Yankee, San Franciscan, Portlander (OR), and Seattlean reads Joe Bageant's DEER HUNTING WITH JESUS. Along with every East and West Coast Democratic Congressman, Senator, and Presidential aspirant. Why? Understanding a different country within our country, developing a modicum of identification or at least empathy, developing and further promoting national policies to address the societal needs of working class America, and (if for no other reason) increasing the chances of re-establishing and maintaining Democratic control of Congress, the White House, and someday the Supreme Court.

Bageant is not some liberal academician who just helicoptered in Margaret Mead-like for a brief, notebook-in-hand stay with the indigenous peoples of Winchester, Virginia. Rather, DEER HUNTING WITH JESUS describes the author's return to live in his hometown after a thirty-year absence in such far-flung left wing havens as Boulder, CO , Eugene, OR, and the Coeur d'Alene (ID) Indian Reservation. What he discovers is a town far different than the one of his boyhood, a place where "average folks" are uneducated, hopelessly parochial and uninformed, terrified of getting sick, and anesthetized by materialism, religious fundamentalism, and eight hours a day of television. They spend most of their lives resentful of "elites" and the rich, but resigned to their lot, all the while living on an economic precipice.

In each chapter, Bageant tackles one aspect of rural, working class life: Republicanism, debt and bankruptcy, gun ownership, religion, allegiance to the military and military ideals, health care, and education and the American lifestyle as delivered by Wal-mart and the mass media. In almost every instance, however, the author combines exposition and revealing statistics with highly personal accounts based on the lives of Winchester's citizenry. From the first pages at the Royal Lunch to the book's closing back there again, Bageant tells his story through the townspeople. We meet Dink Lamp and Pootie, the karaoke-loving Dottie, local rich guy Bobby Fulk, Woody McCauley and his wife Ruth, Tommy Ray, longtime friend Tom Henderson, old high school flame and Rubbermaid factory worker Carolyn, and Joe's demon-exorcising, Baptist pastor brother, Mike. In his one major diversion out of Winchester to the nearby town of Fort Ashby (WV), Bageant relates the fascinating story of that town's native daughter and serial Abu Gharib abuser, Lynndie England. Some of their stories are illustrative, while others are stunning in their subject's naivete and a few are simply heartbreaking. Bageant tells their stories, especially those of Dottie and Ruth, with a touching tenderness and humanity, and without a trace of condescension. In the end, most of Winchester's working class are simply economic victims of the broader American society, most fooled by corporations, government leaders, and the media into believing they are living the average Joe's American Dream.

Of course, Bageant's imposed reality on these individuals tells the real tale, the one few if any in Winchester comprehend. Working class America is grossly undereducated and overfed, hypnotized to near catatonia by television and right wing talk radio, underpaid but duped into believing that unions will only worsen their plight, and lacking in health care and retirement benefits. The lives of many of the people in DEER HUNTING WITH JESUS will ultimately be dictated by events and forces outside their control and understanding. Yet they march along in political lockstep, conservative Republican to the core without knowing why, responding with emotion rather than reason to religious and political appeals designed for just that purpose.

Similar to books like Ehrenreich's NICKEL AND DIMED or the New York Times's series compendium CLASS MATTERS, Joe Bageant gets truly up close and personal with small town, working class, Blue State America. Instead of Thomas Frank's intriguing but more academic WHAT'S THE MATTER WITH KANSAS?, we get a microcosmic, small town equivalent - a sort of "What's the Matter with Winchester, Virginia?" The difference in Bageant's book (from Ehrenreich's and the Times's), however, is that his agenda is overtly and in your face political, yet done with humor and a genuine feeling of care and concern for the townsfolk who populate his writing. Hopefully, this book will also provide (liberal) Democrats with increased insight on how to finally begin reaching a large segment of the American population. Bageant makes it clear that improved education, a livable minimum wage, and access to affordable health care would be good places to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious Book Highly Recommended, July 1, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Senator Obama may or may not have read this book. It's author does open with the observation that life is so hard among the white poor and working poor that they seek solace in beer, overeating, Jesus, and guns. This is, however, a very serious book, a first-hand deep look into the hearts and minds of the 60% of the country that cannot control its lifestyle, environment, pay check, or future.

Early on I note that the author appears to combine both education and common sense. There are magnificent turns of phrase throughout.

My fly-leaf notes:

+ Parallel world to that of the educated urban liberals
+ Life runs from complete insecurity to looming job insecurity
+ Just over half the poor in the US are white and this is the only group that is growing in number
+ For someone earning $8 an hour, if nothing goes wrong, they have $55 a week for groceries, gas, and incidentals
+ Insurance can cost as much as rent or mortgage
+ One third of working Americans make less than $9 an hour
+ They are inherently anti-union, facts are irrelevant, Christian radio is their primary source of information and viewpoint
+ This is a permanent underclass, two out of five have no high school diploma while all over 50 have major health issues, and low to no credit
+ The leftist middle class does not realize that this group votes right in part out of a feeling of revenge
+ Right owns the bars, the non-Internet real world
+ Left lost the middle when they demonized guns and gun owners--70 million gun owners, 200 million guns, guns are used to protect 60 times more often than they are used to attack
+ Superb multi-page discussion of whitetrashonomics and the trailer mortgage scams
+ Fundamentalists are superbly organized, home schooling leads to select colleges where political indoctrination is part of the deal
+ Sense of Rapture and Left Behind is very real within this group
+ Excellent discussion of how health "non-profits" are a real-estate valuation scam that serve only the well-off and not the poor
+ Television and petroleum have defined us

The author makes it a point to quote and point to a dirty dozen books that he drew on, but overall this is an essay from the heart with a great deal of intellect and a great deal of discipline in the presentation.

I highly recommend this book to both moderate Republicans wondering where their Party went off the rails, and to moderate leftists and to libertarians wondering how best to reconnect to what appears to be a very angry, down-trodden, unheard and unseen majority.

The most compelling insight for me from the author centered on his description of small towns across America, but especially in the South including Virginia, where a network of "elites" controlled the bank, newspaper, city hall, zoning board, and so on. As the author describes it, these fiefdoms and their masters are all too eager to cut deals with corporations and make money off the resulting land transactions, while not spending money on education, localized health care, or anything that might elevate the "local poor" to a point where they might understand the value of unions or tenant boards.

I experienced one major personal insight in reading this: the author takes great care to point out that most members of this group do not read, period. No books, no newspapers, barely use the Internet (except for NASCAR) and--this is the insight--have great disdain for those of us who have the "luxury" of sitting around and reading (not real work, that). This book and this author really communicated to me how little value my education and reading has in this context--what is needed is a long-term hands-on strategy for educating all the people all the time, and that is something neither the Democrats nor the Republicans appear willing to fight for, which is sad, since Thomas Jefferson said so clearly that a Nation's best defense is an educated citizenry.

Other books I recommend (and have reviewed):
The Global Class War: How America's Bipartisan Elite Lost Our Future - and What It Will Take to Win It Back

The Battle for the Soul of Capitalism
The Working Poor: Invisible in America
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Off the Books: The Underground Economy of the Urban Poor
Left Hand of God, The: Healing America's Political and Spiritual Crisis
Breach of Trust: How Washington Turns Outsiders Into Insiders
Running on Empty: How the Democratic and Republican Parties Are Bankrupting Our Future and What Americans Can Do About It
The Manufacture Of Evil: Ethics, Evolution, and the Industrial System

DVD (links poverty and military recruitment):
Why We Fight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The View Outside the Hologram, July 14, 2007
Deer Hunting with Jesus is not easy to characterize, and it could use a better title. Bageant is writing self-consciously from a redneck/working class perspective, but he is far too-educated and sophisticated to be considered a typical redneck. In the end, the book is a startling social-economic-religious-political analysis of contemporary America, presented from the perspective of an Appalachian, working-class man. And a very convincing analysis it is.

He understands and explains as well as any person I have read the essence of Fundamentalist Christianity. One might argue technically whether Pentecostalism technically is Fundamentalist, but that is a mere quibble. Surprisingly, he understands Christian Restorationism and Dominionist thought, and readers would be well-advised to pay attention to what he has to say. Bageant also freely acknowledges that genuine, sustained personal transformation occurs in some people who commit themselves to Christ under Fundamentalist preaching.

Perhaps his most valuable contribution is the metaphor of "The American Hologram." A hologram is an elaborate illusion created with lasers, a powerful symbol of contemporary technology. Bageant could have used myth, ideology, illusion, or some other word, but "American Hologram" seems uniquely appropriate to the contemporary situation. Bageant speaks of being "inside" the hologram. For those inside (and to some degree we all dwell within it), the hologram defines the world and reality. It is a false reality created by multi-national corporations, and transmitted every minute of the day by electronic media prostituted to corporate viewpoints. The metaphor first appears in chapter 2, but receives a more extended treatment under its own name in the last chapter of the book, chapter 8.

He says, "Americans, rich or poor, now live in a culture woven entirely of illusions, and all of us are rendered actors." And later, "We are all watching the hologram and cannot see one another in the flesh. . . . From inside the hologram there is no history, no memory, no way to equate the tribute rendered to the credit card companies, the insurance companies, the IRS, the power cartels, and the home mortgage banks with the kind of debt bondage they actually represent."

From Bageant's point of view the hologram must collapse before meaningful political change can occur. Economic and environmental collapse, which he believes is all-but-imminent, will certainly destroy the illusion and bring disastrous consequences. His mission it to bring about wholesale awareness of the hologram among the very people most despoiled and exploited by the "attention economy" (a phrase coined by someone other than Bageant) before apocalypse comes.

Bageant has a deep and genuine sympathy for the American working stiff, and he articulates, grieves and resents the cause of the working man and woman's captivity--poor public education and inadequate funding for higher education for poor people. This keeps them from becoming aware of the hologram mesmerizing them. His analysis of the debt industry is especially insightful, particularly with respect to the sub-prime mortgage industry racket. His contempt for the healthcare industry is right on target, focusing on its self-aggrandizing behavior at the expense of ordinary people's health.

He offers more insight into the world and mind of Lynddie England, the dominatrix of Abu Ghraib, than any other author I have read. I found myself feeling sympathy for her for the first time.

Finally, the reader will find a distinctly unique and sympathetic view of redneck gun culture. He will disabuse many people of cherished notions, and undoubtedly anger some who otherwise would be prepared to cheer what he has to say in other chapters. Nevertheless, he is worth hearing on this controversial subject.

Bageant frequently startles the reader with odd but important bits of information gleaned from research. Many writing blurbs for the book have remarked his humor. His tales from Burt's Tavern sometimes provoke a hearty laugh, but the context in which he writes quickly chills the laugh--as it should, for the humorous stories he tells are a necessary coping device for people living at and beyond the edge of sustainability in our society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive analysis of America's class war, July 26, 2007
By 
I've been reading Joe Bageant on the Internet for several years and he has been and is one of my favorite commentators on life in America. "Deer Hunting with Jesus" brings together all of the themes that Joe has written about in a very readable and comprehensive book.

I find Joe Bageant very valuable, because he emphasizes two points which you don't hear very much about. First, that there are a lot of people (the ones he writes about) in America who are essentially ignored by the popular culture, but yet who are very significant for many reasons (which he also writes about).

The second reason I really like Joe Bageant is because he has compassion for people, he listens to them. I think he would agree with what Kurt Vonnegut reported his grownup son told him when he asked the big question about life, "Father, we are here to help each other get through this thing, whatever it is."

I believe that this ethos of looking out for each other is necessary to avoid the many horrors that loom in our future (global warming, peak oil, loss of freedom, etc.) and Joe understands this and articulates it very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Deep-Fried & Double-Wide Took The White House, March 18, 2008
This is not my world. And this is not the kind of book I normally read. But I'm glad I did. I met Joe Bageant, the gonzo journalist turned author at a book reading and signing event put on by the Writer's League of Texas and Barnes & Noble in the very blue city of Austin Texas. I found the man part avenging angel, part commie-liberal-provocateur, but a man with honesty and insight. And that's before I read the book. I must admit, I'm one of those liberals who have had a hard time understanding the appeal of NASCAR and sixers of Bud Lite, preferring a Prius over a GM Sierra, Target instead of Wal-Mart, (Joe calls it Junk-Mart), and accepting that white working class America votes Republican.

Of course, I bought his book, read it in one sitting, and loved his colorful and hilarious writing style. This book will be my Christmas present to my Liberal friends and relatives who, like me, just don't get it.

"Deer Hunting with Jesus - Dispatches from America's Class War" sheds light on why Joe's people, the underpaid, undereducated, anti-union, overworked have-nots, the deep-fried, double-wide, git `er done, church-going, gun-owning, heartland Americans he grew up with, have become George Bush's base. I was amongst the depressed liberal masses who couldn't believe George and Company took the 2004 election. Four more years. What was that all about? I never knew, until I read this book.

Joe returned to his redneck roots of Winchester, Virginia, after being gone 30 years. He came back not as an outsider, but as an embedded reporter, to clarify his understanding of the attraction the working class, he calls it the permanent underclass, has with the GOP. They see the erosion of their traditions and values, and blame it not on the raping and pillaging self interested Republicans, but on the Liberals. Getting most of their information from right wing talk radio and Fox News, the working class who would never accept a handout themselves, mistrust the Dems who give handouts and welfare. Even Social Security is suspect. "In the redneck mind, lazy is the worst thing a person can be," says Joe. There is deep anger and fear there, and the GOP has tapped into it. Democrats ignore it. The middle class cannot see the working class.

Joe rants a bit, but that's OK. As one of the "brie-eating, microbrew-sucking, Volvo-driving wimps" (read Liberals), I appreciate the insight into what he reports from the trenches. He interviews real people at the bars, restaurants, hospitals and businesses of the town. There is a class divide in this country, defined by money. And education. And the neo-cons understand the real secret; that education has a liberalizing effect on people. Think about it.

Don't ignore this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studs Turkel revisited, July 26, 2007
For those of you inside "the Beltway" you probably will dismiss this as just another "cute" piece of writing on the rural United States, to be quickly read and filed on the shelf to show you are aware of the rest of the world.

Having grown up in this area (the mountains west of the local in the book), I can say it is the true heart of America. Yet, the urbanites and suburbanites don't have a clue about life in rural America. This book starts to show the reader what is going on and what they should understand about place, family, and loyalties. And if you don't you will never even begin to realize the changes that have happened over the last half century in our country.

The author, a self described (cynically) "Godless-communist", who is from the area (Winchester, Virginia), moved away when young and then returned
older (and wiser?). He has the advantage of friends, local acceptance, and trust, as well a a family that can trace itself beck to the "scots-irish" immigration. He knows the history of the area well and the customs and behavior even better.

A must read for all (even for the right-wing and left-wing extremists, although the anti-gun advocates are going to have to swallow hard on the title inspired chapter). It's a good book, short, to the point, reasonably priced. READ IT !

Other books worth reading: The Miners of Windber, Coal Run (novel, and Sister mine ( novels by Tania O'Dell), and various histories about the West Virginia Coal Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundbites & Regurgitations From the Homeotown, May 5, 2010
"Deer Hunting with Jesus" is Joe Bageant's account of returning to his hometown of Winchester, Virginia, after leaving many years prior. D.H.W.J. is a quick and easy read that notes several things many readers can relate to across the US. In addition to the attitudes Bageant observes, is one pertinent point: Bageant left, but the others in his hometown, stayed. Therein lies the issue.

In this book, there are many cultural elements of contemporary America. Bageant peppers this book with personal anecdotes, statistics, and polling data to aid his observations. The author is witty and makes the read enjoyable. This isn't about one man (the author) and one community (Winchester), but about many commonalities of the different regions of contemporary US society. Belief systems shaped by mainstream media, Dominionist Christian attitudes of superiority, and readily accepted Neo-Con foreign policy beliefs by those who work, live, and occupy bar stools at the "Royal."

At times there is a generic partisan theme that refers to "Democrats" and "Republicans," and as a non-partisan I didn't buy into it, mostly because both parties are more similar than different and only represent the PACs, Lobbies, and Special Interests. But the author is correct in the split-personality voting behavior by these people who support clearly, the party that is most harmful to their interests. Bageant aptly notes this strange phenomenon of the neglected working-class who vote against their economic well-being, and he notes the reasons why. Those of us that follow American political culture, are aware of the reasons for this.

The book also accurately focuses on the growing under-class of America: Not the under-class in the Inner Cities but the working class of the rural and semi-rural regions of the USA that have slipped down more than a few notches and are paying a significant price in a lack of health care, education, and gainful employment. These people are subtly (and oft-times not so subtly) aware that they actually are slipping down the economic ladder - but they don't know the reasons why.

While reading "Deer Hunting With Jesus" I (and I assume many readers) could picture many of the characters described by Bageant. This is because I know people like this in my hometown 3,000 miles to the west, of Winchester, VA.

Some of the attitudes and biographical anecdotes by the real-life characters in this book are that people sincerely believe that by following the "work hard" and "play by the rules" game they "deserve" a big house, new car, cookie-cutter 2-week vacation, and financial independence as they grow older. For millions of Americans, this not the case. And it isn't only about the working class, but the middle and upper-classes today.

The material reward from "working hard" is no longer the case for most in the US. This trend started in earnest in 1970. Bageant notes that his cohorts didn't figure this out. Why have so many people not recognized this trend? Possibly because this information is not often available in the Mainstream Media in the US. More likely, because people are not curious enough to get this information, which is readily available.

More biographical overviews from the author that seem very common in the US is noted here: "My people don't cite real facts. They recite what they have absorbed from the atmosphere. Theirs is an intellectual life consisting of things that sound right, a blend of modern folk wisdom cliche, talk radio and Christian radio babble" (Page 65).

As for the comments about these hometown folks: one need not be intellectual. Not at all. Bageant knows this. One only needs to be curious, in my opinion. It's certainly not necessary to be an "intellectual" to discuss certain topics of the world and current events over a cup of coffee or bottle of beer. But people should be able to critically think to the degree where they can recognize bias, weazel words, spin, over-simplification, and over-generalization. We all have our own biases and preferences, and many of our own opinions are not always essentially our own. We have to get our information from somewhere. However the point is, many people simply regurgitate what they hear and see (and occasionally read). Much of this info regurgitated are from soundbites. Many people cannot even paraphrase.

In sum, many people are dumb. Not to sound arrogant or condescending but this is the perception. This dumbness is not because of genetics, but because of mental laziness, and not seeking objective sources that go into at least some amount of depth. If people want to make rhetorical statements and debate people (and often be loud) they should do some research. Do some homework.

As for Winchester and other areas of the US, I generally, find people in urban areas to be more sophisticated than those in rural regions. Again, nothing to do with intelligence.

Here is another excerpt from this book that I often observe in my hometown:

"Getting a lousy education, then spending a lifetime pitted against your fellow worker in the gladiatorial theater of the free market economy does not make for optimist or open-mindedness.....It makes for a kind of bleak coarseness and inner degradation that allows working people to accept the American empire's wart without a blink" (page 71).

I have specifically witnessed this, and still do in the United States.

People think political situations can be resolved by violence.

"it is not uncommon to hear someone talk about the Middle Est or some Asian or European country 'gettin out of line' and 'needing to be put in its place.' .....people who believe we should bomb France (though I doubt many of them could find it on the map" (page 71).

One chapter notes Lynddie England and appropriately asked how did her and people like her come to (falsely) define the American national ethos?

A fair question.

Written in 2007, DHWJ notes many of the elements that were issues in the 2008 National election that came a year after the publishing this book.

Health care, Abu Grahib, Oil dependency, Sub-prime mortgage industry and the racket of mortgage loans, CDOs, Neo-Conservatism, and the Mainstream Media. The religious influence of Reconstructionist, Dominionist, and Fundamentalist Christian elements that permeate attitudes (more than behavior).

But it's not mostly about about the town of Winchester, concepts, or "things." The most notable element is, the people --> Their attitudes and beliefs.

Chapters: Put in this review because of their pithy and self-explanatory titles.

1. American Serfs
2. Republicans by Default
3. The Deep-Fried, Double Wide Lifestyle
4. Valley of the Sun
5. The Covert Kingdom
6. The Ballad of Lynddie England
7. An Authorized Place to Die
8. American Hologram

"Deer Hunting with Jesus" is a great book by by Joe Bageant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America's Class War
Deer Hunting with Jesus: Dispatches from America's Class War by Joe Bageant (Paperback - June 24, 2008)
$15.00 $12.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.