Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Info
This was a good read and had many items or areas that were good reminders and a few new tips as well. Would be great for the new bow hunter.
Published 11 months ago by Doug Kinney

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not as expected
I am just getting into bow hunting this fall, so I was ultimately looking for a book that would help explain different tactics, help with sighting in a bow, tips on shot sequences, anchoring, scent control, and general in-field advice. That's what I would expect from a book titled "Guide to Better Bow-Hunting." This book was not that. Guide to Better Bowhunting is...
Published 12 months ago by Stacy Harmeling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but not as expected, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting (Paperback)
I am just getting into bow hunting this fall, so I was ultimately looking for a book that would help explain different tactics, help with sighting in a bow, tips on shot sequences, anchoring, scent control, and general in-field advice. That's what I would expect from a book titled "Guide to Better Bow-Hunting." This book was not that. Guide to Better Bowhunting is essentially a comprehensive overview of good *equipment* to purchase that will make you a better bowhunter. He explains different broadheads, that you should buy laser range finders, that you should use a loop on your string and a mechanical release etc., etc., etc. It read like his recommendations for equipment, and came across as a bit of a check off shopping list. If you truly don't have a bow yet and even haven't gone to a good archery shop yet, this might help you make purchasing decisions. However, I purchased my bow at a local archery shop and much of the equipment they recommended and that I ended up purchasing was what he touted in this book, so reading it after the fact was kind of pointless.

There were some useful tips, about sound proofing your equipment with adhesive moleskin, and about switching the grain of your tip for better penetration, and a few others. An interesting read for the few pointers at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic and opinionated., January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting (Paperback)
I am looking to get into bow-hunting and picked up this book, because I like to know what I'm getting into before a big purchase. There is a lot of good advice from the author on a great many things involved with bow-hunting, especially for deer. The author seems to have tried almost every gadget that has come along in 20 years in the industry and gives a comprehensive, if brief, opinion on what and why he uses a certain product and why he may not use another. Well but simply written, good for the beginner or novice, less so for the intermediate to advanced hunters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needs more, May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting (Paperback)
I would like to see maybe a youtube channel as a companion to the book. ITS nice to read how to be a better bow hunter, but maybe an instructor showing physically how to do it, would reinforce the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for new bowhunters., March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting (Paperback)
This is overall a good book. It focuses more on bow/equipment setup and selection than I expected but I think to a new bowhunter this book would be really informative. It is still worth reading for more seasoned hunters because I think almost anyone will pick-up something that will help them in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WEAK, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting (Paperback)
I've read better. The book is lacking in content. Is great for someone who has never bowhunted before to give them an idea of what to do and look out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for better hunting., September 21, 2013
By 
Carroll V. Rickard (SANFORD, NORTH CAROLINA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting (Paperback)
Excellent reading for the novice bow hunter. Good technical information to understanding the do's and don'ts of setting up your bow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Info, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a good read and had many items or areas that were good reminders and a few new tips as well. Would be great for the new bow hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has a lot of really good info on tactics and tuning your bow. I would recommend this to anyone just getting started in bow hunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read, but..., April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I consider this a great beginner's guide. I did however pick up a few tips and explanations on reasons why we use certian equipment in modern archery/bowhunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, March 16, 2013
By 
This review is from: Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting (Paperback)
I liked the format: 29 four page chapters. Covers anything and everything about bows without being fanatical. Great for beginner to intermediate and probably a few things for experts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting
Deer & Deer Hunting's Guide to Better Bow-Hunting by the Publisher of Deer & Deer Hunting Magazine (Paperback - January 4, 2012)
$9.99 $8.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.