Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RASPBERRY POP
ERIC CARMEN-DEFINITIVE COLLECTION: Eric Carmen was the great lost chord connecting the Beatles to the Beach Boys. Blessed with a high pitch-perfect voice and the ability to write hooks that could catch Moby Dick, the Cleveland native's first group, the Raspberries, sounded too good to be true, let alone last long (they didn't). Their bubblegum-meets-hard-rock efforts bore...
Published on October 12, 2005 by Jukebox Dave

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars eric carmen
i wasnt really that fond of this cd i wish it had the song im through with love i thought it had that song on it when i bought it.
Published 17 months ago by Debra Gahm


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RASPBERRY POP, October 12, 2005
By 
Jukebox Dave (RECORD TOWN, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
ERIC CARMEN-DEFINITIVE COLLECTION: Eric Carmen was the great lost chord connecting the Beatles to the Beach Boys. Blessed with a high pitch-perfect voice and the ability to write hooks that could catch Moby Dick, the Cleveland native's first group, the Raspberries, sounded too good to be true, let alone last long (they didn't). Their bubblegum-meets-hard-rock efforts bore chart fruit via the lust-encrusted power poppers GO ALL THE WAY and I WANNA BE WITH YOU, school dance ballad LET'S PRTEND, and the flawless autobiography OVERNIGHT SENSATION, which kick off this compilation disc in grandiose style. What follows are Carmen's slightly mellower, but equally classy solo career highlights, not the least of which are a pair of biggies he wrote for teen throb Shaun Cassidy (THAT'S ROCK & ROLL, HEY DEANIE), heard to best advantage here in their harder-nosed original versions. The Beach Boys-channeled SHE DID IT, yearning angst-fest ALL BY MYSELF, and DIRTY DANCING-era guilty pleasures HUNGRY EYES and MAKE ME LOSE CONTROL round out the fun. Maybe his recorded output has been a tad slight compared to say, Billy Joel or Elton John, but I'd rather hear one TRULY GREAT greatest hits like Eric Carmen's than a bloated box set of almost anyone else.

RATING: FIVE RASPBERRIES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Carmen is a Master of Pop Music, December 27, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Note to Calrocker1@aol.com and others reading their review. Eric never recorded "Without You". The original hit version of this song was done by Harry Nilsson and can be found on his "All-Time Greatest Hits" CD, sold on this website. The song was originally written and recorded by Badfinger on their "No Dice" album.
Eric Carmen will always be known as the man who wrote and hit with "All By Myself", which sounds very much like Nilsson's version of "Without You". But Carmen could also rock out, and was the inventor of "power-pop". So if you like tuneful, uptempo pop songs inspired by The Beatles and The Beach Boys, and heartfelt pop ballads that would make Barry Manilow envious, then this CD is what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, "Definitive" though would require a box set., July 24, 1998
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I suppose if you had to have just one Eric Carmen CD, this would be the one. Ever track is classic EC and a good sampling of songs throughout his career, particularly the singles. Be advised that this disc is contagious. A couple of listens and you're going to want more, in fact all 4 Raspberries albums, and all 6 solo albums. Eric Carmen is the most underrated and misunderstood singer/songwriter/performer of his time. His infectious melodies are custom made for the most expressive voice in the biz. This disc goes along way to demonstrate EC's versatility, effortlessly moving from scorching rockers such as "Tonight" and "Go All the Way" & "That's Rock and Roll" to smooth as silk ballads such as "Boats Against the Current", "Desparate Fools" and the famous "All By Myself". Take a listen and you'll be amazed. The liner notes are great. This guys got class, and boy can he write, sing, and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definative is right!, May 13, 2000
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I'm gonna carried away with this review! I can't help it. This set is incredible!
This collection really is the cream of Carmen! Included are his biggest hits with "The Raspberries" and goes on to include all his solo successes.
His days as lead singer and songwriter with the Raspberries are well represented here. "Let's Pretend", sounding like a second cousin of "Wouldn't It Be Nince" is my favorite, along with "Go All The Way" and "I Wanna Be With You". These are all unabashedly feel good power-pop classics of the early 70's. This is feel-good music defined!
"The Raspberries" grew up a little with "Overnight Sensation" as many critics agree this songs is a masterpiece.
After Eric split from "The Raspberries" his music showed a marked change. Gone were the boy/girl bubblegum love songs, replaced by songs with an amazing depth and maturity, "All By Myself" being the prime example. This song, along with "Never Gonna Fall In Love Again" are very much influenced by classical music, and have become classics in their own right.
To round off the set, you have the achingly beautiful "Boats Against The Current", the Beach Boy Inspired "Make Me Loose Control" and the Dirty Dancing smash "Hungry Eyes".
Also included are the bouncy "Hey Deannie" and "That's Rock and Roll". Eric wrote and recorded both of these songs, and they both hit the top of the charts with cover (and vastly inferior, in my opinion) versions by Shaun Cassidy.
This is a must for all fans of power pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDERRATED AND TERRIFIC, December 13, 1999
By 
R. Penola (NYC, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Eric Carmen first entered my consciousness from my small radio, singing as the lead in GO ALL THE WAY, the Raspberries' incredibly sexy pop hit, featuring Eric's trademark classically-infused melody. His pop music is truly intoxicating, and is drenched with some of the most gorgeously melodic sounds ever to hit the airwaves. This may be the "definitive collection" of hits, but I want the BOATS AGAINST THE CURRENT album on CD -- it is his most ambitious and grand album ever -- some of the tracks are here, but not the best -- and the one I wore out three copies of in vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just What I was looking for ... and do read the liner notes., April 1, 2001
By 
swhobbit (Kenmore, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
As a casual fan of Eric, this is exactly what I was looking for; I own the Raspberries hits collection on vinyl, and wanted something longer with good coverage of the solo hits on a single CD. One particular feature of this that I liked is the fairly complete liner notes (mostly written by Eric himself); so many CD collections of old vinyl hits have liner notes that are a) generic terse Cliff Notes of the artist, b) generic terse "this was the greatest band of ... [insert era/style]" or c) missing entirely. Not here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Song List - All digitally remastered 1997, December 27, 2011
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
1. Go All The Way (The Rasberries/Digitally Remastered 1997)
2. I Wanna Be With You (The Rasberries/Digitally Remastered 1997)
3. Let's Pretend (The Rasberries/Digitally Remastered 1997)
4. Tonight (The Rasberries/Digitally Remastered 1997)
5. Overnight Sensation (Hit Record) (The Rasberries/Digitally Remastered 1997)
6. All By Myself (Digitally Remastered 1997)
7. Sunrise (Digitally Remastered 1997)
8. That's Rock N' Roll (Digitally Remastered 1997)
9. Never Gonna Fall In Love Again (Digitally Remastered 1997)
10. No Hard Feelings (Digitally Remastered 1997)
11. Boats Against The Current (Digitally Remastered 1997)
12. She Did It (Digitally Remastered 1997)
13. Change Of Heart (Digitally Remastered 1997)
14. Hey Deanie (Digitally Remastered 1997)
15. Desperate Fools (Digitally Remastered 1997)
16. The Way We Used To Be (Digitally Remastered 1997)
17. Hungry Eyes (Digitally Remastered 1997)
18. Make Me Lose Control (Digitally Remastered 1997)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definitive Collection?, February 1, 2003
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I have been an Eric Carmen fan since his Raspberries days. Most
of his music I have enjoyed. Not all, but most. For a definitive
collection this is a pretty good album. All the songs on it I
thoroughly enjoy. My only two complaints is that one, it ignores his Geffen album. My other complaint is that it is not long enough.This could easily of been a 2 CD set. Not everyone will agree with me but that's okay. Everyone has their own tastes in music.I would of liked to see such songs as "I Want To Hear It From Your Lips", "Spotlight", "Baby I Need Your Lovin", and many others on this product to make it a 2 CD set. Since the Import
CD prices seem to be pretty outrageous, than this CD is a great
value. I do recommend his Geffen album intitled "Eric Carmen" and
his latest album "I Was Born To Love You".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview of Carmen's career, September 17, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
There's no denying Eric Carmen's talent. Like Paul McCartney, Carmen has an uncanny way with a melody and a warm tenor that pulls the listener into a song. His career with the Raspberries(represented by the first 5 songs on this disc)probably represented the best material of his career and, while he became more ambitious, he never surpassed the quality of the material with his old band.
The Raspberries material deserves 5 stars(and the quality of the sound is spetacular--20 bit mastering), while the solo work represented is a little more hit and miss. After the Raspberries disbanded Carmen moved into lush ballads(and the occasional rocker). While there's nothing wrong with that, frequently the material would veer into the pretentious and cloying category.
Still, Carmen's way with a melody(and terrific sense as an arranger and vocalist)never deserted him so, while the songs were on the whole weaker than his earlier material, Carmen's way with a melody and ability as a vocalist frequently allowed the songs to have punch. While a good portion of the material strikes a delicate balance between MOR and AOR.
"All by myself", "Make me lose control" and "Boats against the current" are among the stand out tracks represented here. Carmen has yet to make that perfect synthesis between power pop and lush balladry that he is capable of doing. This is a good place to start listening to his solo material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Memories Of Eric Carmen, June 22, 2007
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this,Definitive Collection, of Eric's from Amazon a few years ago because it was a decent (and inexpensive)sampling of his days not only as a Solo Artist but it also has Five songs on it (Tracks 1 thru 5) from his earlier days with The Raspberries and although I thought his Solo career was good (especially the, Hungry Eyes, and, Make Me Lose Control, era in the 80s) I have even a fonder memory of The Raspberries. The reason is because I owned a couple of their Albums on 8-Track back then; but getting back to his Solo career; the very popular 70s tunes, All By Myself, and, Never Gonna Fall In Love Again, are here plus other good Solo efforts including, Hey Deanie, (a popular song penned by Shaun Cassidy). Personally; as many memorial songs Eric has gave us over the years; I believe you are better off purchasing The Raspberries songs separately from his solo songs but if you are just wanting the basics; this collection is ideal.

September 25th 2012 Update: I wanted more than the basics so I did purchase The "Raspberries Greatest" CD and like the Title says.....it IS Great! I am familiar with Sixteen of The Twenty "Raspberries Greatest" Tunes anyway!.....Buy It! You Won't Be Sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Definitive Collection
Definitive Collection by Eric Carmen (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.