Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre tracklist, GREAT remasters
This collection is far and away NOT definitive. The track list consists of only a handful of radio hits and leaves out many gems (No Steely Dan compilation should leave out Doctor Wu under any circumstances!!). That being said, the latest remastering on these is phenomenal!

Unlike the 1998-2000 remastered versions that had too much treble and not enough bass,...
Published on August 17, 2007 by D. Belcher

versus
109 of 130 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No real good reason for this CD
(4 & 1/2 stars for the tunes, zero for the concept) With so many Steely Dan hits collections and/or sets already out, the question is whether there's really any valid reason for this latest collection to exist. The answer is that besides the usual songs from the past, there are also two songs from the recent albums on this hits collection, just TWO SONGS. (That's one...
Published on August 1, 2006 by William Merrill


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre tracklist, GREAT remasters, August 17, 2007
By 
D. Belcher (Louisville, KY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This collection is far and away NOT definitive. The track list consists of only a handful of radio hits and leaves out many gems (No Steely Dan compilation should leave out Doctor Wu under any circumstances!!). That being said, the latest remastering on these is phenomenal!

Unlike the 1998-2000 remastered versions that had too much treble and not enough bass, these versions balance clarity with warmth very well! There is plenty of treble, but also enough low and medium range to keep the sound nice and warm. The instrument separation is likewise excellent. I already have all of these songs on their original albums, but I went ahead and got this collection anyway simply because the remastered versions are such high quality.

This is the first time that songs from the Katy Lied album actually sound "right." There are fewer high treble artifacts on Jeff Porcaro's cymbals on Black Friday and Bad Sneakers, for example, after this remaster. I hope all of the Steely Dan collection gets released in this high quality soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 130 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No real good reason for this CD, August 1, 2006
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
(4 & 1/2 stars for the tunes, zero for the concept) With so many Steely Dan hits collections and/or sets already out, the question is whether there's really any valid reason for this latest collection to exist. The answer is that besides the usual songs from the past, there are also two songs from the recent albums on this hits collection, just TWO SONGS. (That's one each from Two Against Nature and Everything Must Go, but I guess that's enough for this CD to get the title of "the only career-spanning collection" on the front cover sticker.) Otherwise, this is basically just another repackaging of the same old - but great - material. Adding to the problem is the Dan's perfectionist nature, one that prevents the release of ANY outtakes or other "extra" tracks. Nor apparently do they record new songs to go on a "hits" disc. They just do not put any bonus tracks on box sets or compilations (except for one lone live cut on the Citizen Steely Dan box). So this boils down to another greedy attempt to make money off the back catalog. These songs are among my most loved tunes ever, but I also don't like this endless repackaging of the same songs over and over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another useless Steely Dan compilation, August 13, 2006
By 
Mark Baum (Freeport, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Question: Did the world really need yet another Steely Dan "Greatest Hits" compilation album?

Answer: No!

There's already "A Decade Of Steely Dan", "Steely Dan - Greatest Hits", "Show Biz Kids: The Steely Dan Story 1972-80" and "Gold". Aside from the two tracks from 2VN and EMG this is just simply a waste of money for yet another useless repackaging of SD's back catalog (I'd include the bootlegs but anyone can download them for free from the online "Steely Dan Archive"...so Google up and grok that).

If one really wanted a solid and DEFINITIVE collection then one is better off purchasing the "Citizen Steely Dan: 1972-1980" box set which contains ALL of Steely Dan's official studio-released work from that period of time. And, if one's wallet can bear the burden, check out Donald Fagen's "The Nightfly", "Kamakiriad" and "Morph The Cat" and Walter Becker's "11 Tracks of Whack". Oh, and don't forget 2VN and EMG.

There's your list. Now lay down your Jacksons on some quality Dan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Definitive but Where's "Josie"?, August 1, 2006
By 
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
While Steely Dan has received the compilation treatment on more than one occassion, the latest "Definitive Collection" brings some of the band's best known work onto a single disc. Also, for completeness, one track each from their 'reunion' CDs are included here.

Steely classics such as "Do It Again", "Reelin' In The Years", "Rikki Don't Lose That Number", "Black Friday", "Deacon Blues", "Peg" and "Hey Nineteen" are all included here and sound just as fresh and unique as they did back in the day.

While this collection is an ideal place to start for the beginning Dan fan because of its songs and low price, it should be noted that there is one glaring omission to this Definitive Collection - the all-time classic "Josie". Granted, this CD is already packed to its limits with close to 78-minutes of music and is excellent from start to finish. However, including "Josie" and dropping a track like, say "Dirty Work" (writer's opinion) would have made this collection a lot stronger and cohesive overall. I guess this is how the band wanted it because they were indeed involved with the compilation of this collection.

Apart from this, Steely Dan's "Definitive Collection" is a great introduction to the band. For a more comprehensive overview, check out the double-disc compilation "Show Biz Kids" which includes all of the tracks included here (minus the two 'reunion' tracks) plus many many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy "A Decade of Steely Dan" used and save some $$$$, August 29, 2006
By 
dtrevors11 (Oaks Corners, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This CD is "A Decade of Steely Dan" only they took out "St. Louis Toodle-oo and replaced it with "Dirty Work"- great song- and added a song each from their 90's releases "Two Against Nature" and Everything Must Go". If you really want a comprehensive collection w/out having to buy the box set or all of the albums separately, go buy the 2 cd Showbiz Kids collection fom a few years back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive is the best collection for the casual fan, July 15, 2007
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I wouldn't call myself a big Steely Dan fan. I did however grow up in a household where my dad had Aja and I remember listening to a few of their songs on the radio. This collection succeeds because it has all the best songs that the casual fan would know and introduces people like me to what Steely Dan has been up to lately with the two new tracks. Typically I am not a huge fan of collections that max out the CD because usually with some artists by the time I get to about 45 minutes I have had enough. With Steely Dan, since this is all top notch music, the 80 minutes seem to fly by... even the new tracks sound very good up against the old standards. I keep this in my regular rotation and may someday, since I love this collection so much, may check out some of their albums.

If you are a casual fan like myself and want a nice remastered hits collection this is where you can start. For the more hardcore fan this of course is not for you but it is a great way to lure in new fans to the fold as it did me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC GREATEST HITS PACKAGE, August 3, 2006
By 
Greg "greg19444" (Lafayette Hill, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Sound quality of this collection is superb. Definitely an improvement over Decade. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good single disc review of their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As close to "definitive" as single disc hits collection can be for The Dan., August 1, 2006
By 
Boss Fan (Take a Right at the Light, Keep Going Straight Until Night) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
A cynic would say something like, 'Jeez, they keep doing this. It seems like every musician in the world has had a greatest hits CD come out in the last few years and almost all of them have already had one or more in the past.' Yes, this is true, and yes perhaps record companies want to keep gouging us for cash by releasing a cheap and easy product. But I have noticed that with many artists, the record companies have not gotten it right - in terms of compiling a true definitive collection -until the umpteenth try.

I count at least four other hits collections available on CD for Steely Dan, and over the years there were probably several more that are no longer available, or at least not usually found on record store shelves. But I always come across "Gold," "A Decade of...," "Greatest Hits" and "Showbiz Kidz," the 2001 career retrospective that is two discs and is more likely to get a thumbs up from true Dan enthusiasts than any of these single disc releases. Truth be told though, I have always championed "Decade" for its face-paced over view of all of their best stuff. Sure it's lacking some great songs, but aren't all greatest hit collections, especially in the eyes of an artist's die hard fans? Not to mention it is only one disc so for it to stand up so well is something of a feat.

Something like, say, Springsteen's single disc greatest hits is a slap in the face of anyone truly seeking out The Boss's best. Some artists just need more than one disc and more than the radio hits to truly capture their staggering talent and diverse career. But Steely Dan belongs to a group legends that hit hard and fast and then were all but gone (their great reunion at the beginning of the Millennium not withstanding). Like The Cars or Huey Lewis and the News, and countless others, they came on the scene, delivered hit after hit and seemingly just as quickly were gone. Steely Dan also made relatively short albums so compiling their best from their short hit-making career on one disc is not that hard.

All that said, that's why I think "Decade" got it pretty close to right. I griped that there was no "Josie," "Black Cow," or "Dirty Work;" and that, because it was originally released in 1985, couldn't have any of their more recent stuff. Well, this new collection, "The Definitive Collection," as it is called, almost rights all those wrongs. "Josie" and "Black Cow" are still MIA, but they both are on "Aja" (maybe the Dan's best album), so if one were to purchase this and "Aja" you may feel you'd never need anything else. Of course, there are deeper cuts you'd be missing out on, but for those who collections like this are intended (the casual fan or radio-hits-only fan); you can't really do better than this. Plus there are two tracks from their last two albums - probably the two best tracks, but not the only ones from those albums that deserve inclusion. But again, a true fan's gripes are besides the point of this release, not to mention you could never satisfy everyone since everyone has their own idea of what belongs here. But from the technical aspect of culling all the hits, this album gets the job done right.

Those who want to delve further into Steely Dan, but don't want to pony up for each individual album, should try the more expansive, but also more expensive "Showbiz Kidz." For anyone else, this is a must addition to any true rock 'n roll CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, August 24, 2011
Iwas initially excited about this collecton but now I have mixed feelings after listen to it. I just picked up all of their records in used cd's, at really decent prices, and the sound is better than either of the discs mentioned, or any other cd I have heard from some of the artists. I don't have a great sound system or anything, its just that the source is so much better with the better quality cd's. I do agree that the earlier remasters were a bit lean sounding, lacking some natural richness, especially in the midrange. But this one is excessively warm with rolled-off treble. If you have a high qulaity wuffer than that really helps with a lot of these songs so this might do it for you, but I have a system with pretty good resolution and overall neutrality, and this disk is worse than the originals, but in the other direction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 82 out 100 helens agree............, March 27, 2007
By 
Ann Morgan (Castleville,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
As many have already stated and I agree as well, the "Show Biz Kids- Steely Dan Story 1972-1980" is a much better choice. And for a buck or two more you get 33 tunes on two discs which includes all the songs on the "Definitive Collection"(less the two new reunion songs)plus lots of other must have's from the Big Steel D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Definitive Collection
Definitive Collection by Steely Dan (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.