Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The show is back on track
After a shaky season 8 where many of the episodes were forgettable (though still a solid season), Degrassi gets back on form with season 9. Introducing new characters like twins Declan and Fiona, nice-girl Jenna and class clown Dave, and a whole lot of drama, the show takes it to a whole new level. Foundations of seemingly strong relationships are rocked as infidelity...
Published on June 30, 2010 by KindlyUnspoken23

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars subtitles?
They don't have subtitles so I can't watch it. The movies should start developing subtitles for other people who can't hear like me. I'm deaf and I would love to watch that t.v. show but can't.
Published on November 8, 2010 by lolz**


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The show is back on track, June 30, 2010
After a shaky season 8 where many of the episodes were forgettable (though still a solid season), Degrassi gets back on form with season 9. Introducing new characters like twins Declan and Fiona, nice-girl Jenna and class clown Dave, and a whole lot of drama, the show takes it to a whole new level. Foundations of seemingly strong relationships are rocked as infidelity plays a big part this season, along with drugs, first times and homosexuality. A strong cast of talented teenagers take centre stage and shine, proving they can handle difficult storylines. Characters also have to handle a lot this year: Holly J softens in light of a new relationship, Riley continues his inner battle with who he is and what he wants, Anya makes a bad decision out of desperation to save her relationship with Sav, and Ally learns a hard lesson about honesty. This season has shocks, humour, fun, and heart. Anyone who claims Degrassi has 'Jumped the Shark' just has to watch this season to see the show is still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few steps forward, a few back, and a few to the side...., July 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm going to review the product/dvd set more than the actual season...

Picture Quality:

One of the most exciting aspect of this dvd set is that it is finally in 16:9 widescreen! For the first time, a Degrassi DVD set is in widescreen. The picture quality is pretty decent as well. It's a lot cleaner than the previous grainy seasons. It's not blu-ray quality, but it looks pretty good for a DVD set.

Packaging:

WHY!?!?!?! Why did they do this!?!? They decided to STOP doing the box sets format with little mini dvd cases! Now they decided to package the set in a HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, CHEAP 4 disc dvd case. This dvd case is the same size as the standard dvd case. However, it is made with very, very, cheap plastic. Poor quality, China made, 4 disc dvd case. The case is so bad, that it will most likely snap in half if you accidentally step on it.

Extras:

This DVD set contains the Degrassi Takes Manhattan movie! It's also in widescreen, which is nice because TeenNick only showed it in 4:3 fullscreen. There's also deleted scenes and bloopers for both the season and the movie. One of the discs also contains "minis". They are short episodes that are like 5 minutes long each that give the whole season some depth. They are pretty funny too. There is also 3 music videos from the Degrassi movie. Overall, the extras are pretty nice.

Overall:

I felt with the deleted scenes, minis, and widescreen presentation it was a step forward, with the terrible packaging that was a HUGE step backwards, and lack of subtitles for everything is an annoy step sideways. But overall I felt this season of Degrassi was more entertaining than season 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Juicy Drama From Canada's Finest Show, May 31, 2010
By 
In the 9th season of Degrassi, everyone's favorite Canadian soap "goes there" like never before. Watch reformed bad boy Peter Stone as he deals with an addiction to crystal meth, the loss of his lovely girlfriend Mia to another continent (*cough* Vampire Diaries *cough*), and the tough decision that his bandmates are forced to make when he goes too far. Watch Riley struggle with his inner feelings and his contrasting jock exterior. Watch Jane toy around with a new relationship, find a friend in an unsuspecting classmate, and pick up a new hobby. Watch the world's most dramatic couple, Sav and Anya, fall in and out...and in and out...and in and out of love again. Watch as little Clare begins to grow into her own, and Alli is as bold as ever. Watch as Holly J, the most hated girl in school, earns both a fresh start and the heart of Degrassi's hottest diplomat kid, Declan Coyne. Watch as alumni favorite Emma Nelson struggles to balance college dreams and her love for helping humankind, and familiar face Marco gains a new role at his alma mater. But most of all, watch as a superb cast of young adults continues to carry the name of Degressi high and proud, never balking to discuss the difficult issues such as homosexuality, drug abuse, religion, and infidelity. This is one of the best seasons in the nine years that Degrassi has been on television, and should you choose to purchase this DVD set, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the show, May 15, 2014
my kids gave this rating I don't watch the show. my kids like the series and are watching them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for a collector, July 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a collector/fan of the Degrassi series this of course was a must have item. However it didn't have quite the amount of extra features that previous DVD sets have had. I don't know if that is because the distributor has changed or they just didn't have as much material to add to the DVD. Either way it was a little disappointing in that aspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Daughter Thinks DeGrassi is the Bomb, December 28, 2010
By 
Retro Guy (San Bernardino, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter has to have each season as it's put out on DVD. She is addicted to the series and has been ever since I bought her DeGrassi Jr. High. I think the series gives youth options for dealing with difficult situations. It shows them the types of values to hold onto and pitfalls to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars subtitles?, November 8, 2010
They don't have subtitles so I can't watch it. The movies should start developing subtitles for other people who can't hear like me. I'm deaf and I would love to watch that t.v. show but can't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so addicting!!!, September 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely love this show, I could (and have) stayed up all night watching one after another. This season rocks (especially the bonus movie at the end) the characters are awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars degrassi!!, September 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
well this season of degrassi as with most is more intense than the other prior season. iv been watching it since 7th grade im currently 3 yrs out of hs and yet still enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome season, May 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This Season of degrassi was so intense and so much better then the other season's and this season was really good because of The dot exploding, and plus Emma and Spinner finding their love together was good too and also some nude involved and a trip to new york in the season final. My favorite part of this season was the movie because it was so much fun to see drama in new york and also the movie was good but kinda unexpected because this was the final season with the four original characters that started the show which are Emma, Manny, Spinner, and Liberty even though Liberty wasn't part of this season, she was in the movie final and it was great to finally close their ending in the show plus Fiona and Declan might do something unexpected too, Anyway this season rocked and I can't wait to see more of Degrassi on my TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.