Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drama, drama, drama!
In my opinion, this is the best (and most dramatic) season of Degrassi yet, filled with everything you can possibly think of that a teenager might experience during their high school years. (I was a senior in high school when this season originally premiered so I know what I'm talking about!)

Season 5 starts off with the introduction of newcomer Peter (the...
Published on November 7, 2008 by Geneva

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad season
In this season, you get to see growth within a few of the characters and also new challenges they have to face. Plus the development of characters we rarely got much of through the early years like Alex and Liberty. Paige goes through break ups, exploring her sexuality with a close friend, and a short hook up with an old beau. Liberty is not the perfect, nerdy kid...
Published on July 22, 2007 by ROFLCOPTER


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drama, drama, drama!, November 7, 2008
By 
In my opinion, this is the best (and most dramatic) season of Degrassi yet, filled with everything you can possibly think of that a teenager might experience during their high school years. (I was a senior in high school when this season originally premiered so I know what I'm talking about!)

Season 5 starts off with the introduction of newcomer Peter (the principals son by the way) whom Emma has a desperate crush on, only to later find out that he wants Manny, her best friend. Manny is desperate to pursue a career in acting, and, after getting some pretty harsh criticism from a casting agent, decides to go so far as to get plastic surgery, much to the dismay of her very strict father, who refuses to let her become an actress and throws her out of the house after calling her a slut. A very upset Manny then goes to a party that Peter invited her to, gets drunk, and allows Peter to film her taking her top off. Manny begs Peter to delete the footage, but when she calls him a freak and refuses to date him, he emails the video to everyone at school, angering not only Emma, who is horrified that Manny did such a thing with the guy she likes, but also Paige who is disgusted by Mannys behavior and immediately throws her off the squad. A distraught Manny begs Emma for forgiveness, and ends up moving in with her. She also begins dating Craig again, who is on his way to becoming a serious musician.

Now onto the other characters.

Liberty reveals to JT that she is pregnant, and they both eventually agree to keep the baby, and plan on moving out together. In order to move out, JT picks up more shifts at the Pharmacy he works at, but when he realizes that he won't be able to support Liberty and the baby with the amount of money he's making, he begins dealing drugs and when Liberty finds out what's he's been up to, she breaks up with him. Around that time, Libertys parents urge her to give the baby up for adoption once its born, and she agrees. Devastated by the news and by the break-up, JT overdoses on painkillers and lands in the hospital.

Meanwhile a friendless Spinner, who is still dealing with his guilt over the shooting (from season 4) meets good girl Darcy, who is part of friendship club, and after they start dating, Spinner vows to become a born again virgin (yeah right!)

Paige, who is stressing over getting into the college of her dreams, and is still dealing with her breakup with Matt, begins experimenting with her sexuality and is soon dating bad girl Alex.

Jimmy is dealing with being crippled and is trying to find out who he is when he realizes that he's no longer the basketball star he once was.

Emma begins to develop feelings for Peter yet again, who feels the same way about her, but is desperate to keep her feelings a secret from a still-very-angry-at-Peter Manny. During a school play, Emma and Peter sneak off for a makeout session...only to find her stepfather (aka Snake) and the school principal (aka Peters mom) kissing. A devastated Emma tells her mom, who kicks Snake out of the house, thus leading to Emmas bout with Anorexia. During this time, Manny becomes angry with Emmas change in behavior, which angers Emma, who eventually confesses that she's been dating Peter. All of this leads to Emma having a serious panick attack, which lands her in the hospital.

....etc. I guess now you get the point when I say its a very dramatic =) and definitely a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teen Angst Melodrama Cheese!, August 27, 2007
I love the cheesy escapism of this Canadian teen soap, in which every episode is A Very Special Episode. Watch Manny pursue acting, Emma struggle with anorexia, Liberty and J.T. deal with possible parenthood, Craig make it big in music, Spinner try to redeem himself, Jimmy struggle with his identity post-parapalegia, Paige explore a different aspect of her sexuality, and Marco come out to his Dad. And more. The stories seem a little better fleshed out this season, perhaps because of the back work done in season 4. In addition, the writing seems snappier and funnier, but I could have just been tired from being up all night with the baby;) Pure escapist fun. A guilty pleasure for those of us far past our high school days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Season, July 30, 2007
This is another great dvd box set of Degrassi! My daughter and I are still loving the characters on this show. It is very interesting to watch the trials and tribulations that this group of teenagers go through.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad season, July 22, 2007
In this season, you get to see growth within a few of the characters and also new challenges they have to face. Plus the development of characters we rarely got much of through the early years like Alex and Liberty. Paige goes through break ups, exploring her sexuality with a close friend, and a short hook up with an old beau. Liberty is not the perfect, nerdy kid anymore as she becomes pregnant by her boyfriend JT. JT also battles the upcoming pressures of becoming a teen dad. Manny wants to be famous, but has a Girls Gone Wild moment that is all over the school. But her on again-off again boyfriend Craig Manning comes back into the picture as they finally have a relationship. Spinner also goes from being a bad boy to connecting with the Jesus. We're introduced to three new characters Peter, Derek, and Danny.

My favorite moments through this season was Manny's drunkeness, the Paige and Alex relationship, and the JT and Liberty baby drama.

As for the extra disk, I was a bit disappoint at what I got for my money. I'm very accustomed to commentaries that wasn't featured in this season. Also the blooper reel and deleted scenes was a little boring. Yet, maybe, if they would had added the minisodes the fourth disk would had been a big upgrade and worth the watch.

Nevertheless, don't buy the disk just for the extras. The season is fairly good and whether interesting. So if you're a Degrassi DVD collector it should be along side with all them.

Season rate - 3.5/5.0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm Gonna Be FAMOUS!!, July 20, 2007
I live for and have an odd obsession with Degrassi. I love it to death, and have even seen some of the actors in person twice!

That being said, although the episodes are phenomenal as EVER, the plotlines are a tad calmer compared to previous seasons. And I was really dissappointed that there were absolutely NO commentaries, because they were definately my favorite part of the Season 3 and Season 4 DVD sets. I honestly believe that if the leads and writers of the "Our Lips Are Sealed" episodes had done a commentary, it could have probably helped a lot of viewers who have struggled with their body image and/or an eating disorder.

On the other hand, the bloopers were hysterical with a lot of funny moments from Cassie Steele. And the deleted scenes seemed like they may have included some alternate plot twists. But one thing that I found odd about one of the deleted scenes is that Manny supposedly borrowed that "look at me" silver sequinned mini skirt from Emma, to wear to Craig's wedding gig in "Weddings, Parties, Anything."

The interview with Cassie Steele wasn't too revealing, and seemed almost repetitive. And the auditions of the new full-season cast members almost make one wonder how horrible the other people who auditioned must have been, or perhaps which acting school whipped the new additions into shape before shooting comenced. 0.0

Overall, I was happy with this DVD set, because it's an addition to my collection, but I wasn't thrilled by it. I personally enjoyed Degrassi The Next Generation - Season 3 DVD set the most because it included humorous and serious commentaries, hilarious bloopers, deleted scenes, and Degrassi Karoke!!! =)

Hope this helped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Season of Degrassi, August 20, 2007
The fifth season of Degrassi The Next Generation is now available on DVD. Season 5 is an exciting one that ends with the shows first graduation. The season starts with the character of Manny pursuing her acting career. Things go awry when she hooks up with the new kid at school Peter. Peter candidly catches her on video and shares his home movie with the majority of the school much to Manny's dismay and she finds herself kicked off of the spirit squad. Paige is preparing for college, Banting is the university of her choice. She also finds that maybe her and her brother Dylan may have more in common than she realizes when she pursues a relationship with her female friend Alex. Marco's and Dylan are still broken up, but before the season's end Marco realizes he still has feelings for Dylan. Jimmy is still at Degrassi, trying to find his way in life after the school shooting left him paralyzed. He isn't so sure that basketball is for him anymore and spends much of his time working on his art work.

Much of the fifth season includes a newly introduced group on campus named the Friendship Club. Friendship Club is a faith based organization that Spinner turns to after being shunned by his friends due to his involvement with the school shooting. He soon finds love with Darcy. There is one surprising departure during the fifth season. The character of Craig Manning decides to leave Degrassi to pursue his music career.

The fifth season of Degrassi the Next Generation is one for fans of the show who need to complete their collection of the series on DVD. The two biggest storylines of the season include Liberty's pregnancy and Emma's eating disorder. It's a good season of the show and one fan's of the series will enjoy owning on DVD. The four disc series includes all of the episodes from the show's fifth season and a bonus DVD filled with extras. The set was released by FUNimation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Season 5, January 9, 2009
By 
In this season, a lot of more stuff happens. Emma deals with Anorexia, Paige has troubles with her sexuality with Alex. Spiner is allowed to come back to school and makes a new friend Darcy, Manning acting career is ruined and Peter does something bad to ruin her reputation, Jimmy tries to get back into basketball, Elie becomes the new drummer for downtown sasquatch and Later Elie gets closer to Jimmy, Mr. Simpson cheats on his wife Spike. Jay and Silent Bob make two more apperances
J.T gets Liberty pregant and gets a job to support them, Later J.T even overdoses on prescription medicene. Jay and Alex gets starring credit, so does newcomer Peter and Mrs. Hatzilakos. Alex, Elie, Marco, Paige, Hazel and Craig graduate at the end of the season and Ashley returns at the end of the season
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good EY, December 31, 2007
this is just one of those shows that is great to watch marathon-style on a rainy day. It takes you back to highschool with all the catty stuff that goes on. As a girl, there were times i totally got into it and other times i made fun of it, because as an adult i know how stupid some of the stuff kids say really is. But its one of those things you have in the back of the closet and watch when no one else is around...kinda like guys and porn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No regrets, November 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have never really watched Degrassi when it first aired, until one day I watched it at a relatives house, and since then I fell in love with it. So I decided to catch up with all the things that's been going on and I'm getting to know all who is who by purchasing from Amazon and I'm just enjoying all my Degrassi dvds and I'm still purchasing them until I get them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, June 3, 2014
Love the series good tv drama for young teens. Once you start watching its hard to stop thats how good it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.