Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Old Guy's Point Of View
Sadly, I must say that I'm probably considered an old guy to most of the reviewers of this "Degrassi: The Next Generation" boxed set. At twenty-eight years of age, I'm probably twice as old as most of these folks. But that doesn't matter because I really love this boxed set. I grew up watching the original Degrassi shows on PBS in Louisiana. Though the cast was...
Published on September 30, 2004 by Ken Fontenot

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good show but the DVD leaves something to be desired
This is not a complaint about the show. (Degrassi TNG is a GOOD show, as good as its predecessor, and the best sequel series since another show with the title TNG that came out back in 87)
It is how it is presented, at least on this DVD set.
The 15 episodes that make up the first season are on two supposedly cheaply made discs. There is a red back (unlike the...
Published on October 15, 2004 by J


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Old Guy's Point Of View, September 30, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sadly, I must say that I'm probably considered an old guy to most of the reviewers of this "Degrassi: The Next Generation" boxed set. At twenty-eight years of age, I'm probably twice as old as most of these folks. But that doesn't matter because I really love this boxed set. I grew up watching the original Degrassi shows on PBS in Louisiana. Though the cast was roughly two years older than I was, I found myself relating to a lot of them. The new series allows me to catch up with some of my old favorites, as well as introduces me to a new crop of kids going through that great life-changing period we know as junior high and high school.

This new DVD set brings us the first season of the new series. Many of the kids are still pre-teens in this season. We are introduced to Emma, J.T., Toby, Manny, Ashley, Paige, etc. We're also introduced to some of their parents. One of the parents is very familiar to us old folks. Emma's mom is Ms. Nelson, or Spike, from the original show. She'll become quite close with Emma's media immersion teacher, Mr. Simpson. Once again, the old folks will probably, recognize Mr. Simpson as Snake from the old show. Another returning favorite is Joey Jeremiah. You'll remember him as the goofy kid that wore a fedorah. Many of the older castmembers show up for a class reunion at the end of episode two.

The new cast is fun to watch. It's funny how kids these days still deal with many of the same problems that other teenagers deal with. Everything from sex to drug abuse to first loves is dealt with. There are a few new trials and tribulations these days, however. One such temptation is internet romance, which gets Emma into a sticky situation. Another subject dealt with is Ashley having to come to terms with the fact that her father is gay. Though homosexuals have been around forever, I think that this is the first teen show that deals with this particular situation. Spinner is on behavior-controlling prescription drugs(ritelin, forgive the spelling). Jimmy uses those particular drugs to give him an "edge" at basketball. J.T. and Toby check out a little internet porn and, as usual, those blasted parents catch them. These are just a few of the "newer" problems that are addressed on the show.

Some of the problems that have hampered teens since the dawn of time are addressed as well. Toby crushes big-time over Emma, who is captivated by Sean. Sean, meanwhile, comes from a busted, alcoholic family. Paige manipulates her friends to get what she wants. Terry is overweight and thinks that no one will ever like her. Liberty fears failure in the classroom, etc., etc. What you get is a teenage soap-opera that deals with real issues.

Granted, some of the "problems" are hokey and 100% cheese, but this helps break the intensity of some of the dramatic moments. The acting isn't superb, but it wasn't with the original show, either. What you end up with is a program that teens and pre-teens can watch without feeling like they are being preached to or lectured. The characters are believable and they deal with their problems in the same way as any average kid would these days.

The DVD extras are fun. There is karaoke, where you get to sing the theme song. There's a casting call section where you get to see some of the youngsters try out for roles. A blooper reel is included, and some deleted scenes as well. One of the best deleted scenes for us oldsters is one which catches us up on a lot of the old characters from the original shows.

I recommend this boxed set to anyone who wants to relive the old days of their youth. More importantly, I recommend this set to teachers and parents who want to teach their kids without having to hammer a speech down their throats. Kids connect with the characters on this show, and that makes life a little bit easier to deal with once they realize that they aren't the "only one" who has to deal with any of their particular teenage problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, July 31, 2004
Being an adult in my twenties - I sadly admit to giving into watching Degrassi reruns on "The N" during the wee-hours of the morning. However, I am ever impressed with the range and frankness with which they address teen issues. Their problems have grown with their ages. The characters have not remained static. They have grown the way real kids grow between 13-17, with their problems accrurately affecting their ages.

Sure, some of it is hokey. After all, it is a 22 minute show. There's a lot to cram in there. However, I think every kid should be watching this show. I've seen nothing like it produced in the US. I give the show great credit for addressing a teen struggling with his sexuality, even showing a kiss between two gay teens. I give them great credit for addressing rape, a violent relationship, one character cheating on another and the effects of that, alcohol and drug experimentation. In short, sure, it smacks of after-school special, and it may not run exactly true to life, but it is REAL issues that kids deal with, and I commend the show for its honesty in addressing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A show that digs deep into teenage drama, February 10, 2007
By 
Lisa Siegel (Cincinnati, OH) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was just recently introduced to Degrassi: TNG. One of my friends told me about it and I thought it sounded interesting so I watched an episode on the N. I was instantly hooked so I decided to go ahead and purchase the first four seasons on DVD.

I must say that I was surprised at the content this show has; this is a good thing though...most shows that revolve around teenagers in junior high and high school deal with the little things like getting a zit or breaking up with a boyfriend/girlfriend. Degrassi: TNG is different, however. It really goes the distance with the drama. The show deals with self-consciousness, underage drinking, kids coming from very troubled backgrounds...and those troubles seem to surface every now and then, drugs, and so much more.

Even though I never watched Degrassi: Junior High, I really like how a few characters from that have reprised their roles. Not many shows do that.

This show isn't only for teenagers; I'm 25 and can remember (by watching this show) all of the drama I went through when I was in junior high and high school. Overall, this is a great show that I highly recommend to anyone who likes dramatic TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good show but the DVD leaves something to be desired, October 15, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is not a complaint about the show. (Degrassi TNG is a GOOD show, as good as its predecessor, and the best sequel series since another show with the title TNG that came out back in 87)
It is how it is presented, at least on this DVD set.
The 15 episodes that make up the first season are on two supposedly cheaply made discs. There is a red back (unlike the silver back on virtually ALL commercial DVDs and most blank ones as well) which gives the impression that this could either be a burned DVD or even pirated (I know it isn't but at first,one is not sure)

Also all episodes are listed as ONE title. Although there is a menu option to choose each episode, when the second episode is chosen (for example Mother and child Reunion Part 2) it starts at "chapter 9" . Also there is no closed captioning or subtitles and although episodes may have chapters, there are no menus other then the top menu.

Picture quality seems to be almost on par with SP VHS.

Yes, I know the show was made on the cheap, but it seems that these DVDs were made on the cheaper, and the TRUE value is probably ˝ of what is being charged for it.

The biggest appeal for these DVDs at least in the US is that these episodes are presented as seen in Canada (the N didn't originally show "Jagged little pill" until into the 2nd season, and have totally eliminated the storyline connected with "Accidents will happen" a 3rd season episode.)

Degrassi TNG is a very good show, and deserves much wider exposure then currently offered on the N [they may rerun each episode many times, but there are a lot of folks who do not have digital cable or a dish who would enjoy this show] (perhaps on a network with a wider reach like Nickelodeon, MTV, or even CBS!.)

Did I get the second season? Yes, as it is a quality series. (This review may have led to a better Season 2 disc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exceedingly Great Dvd, June 24, 2005
I had often heard about Degrassi: The Next Generation. I went on to the show's website often, even though I didn't get the channel it shows on. I knew as much about the show that everyone else did, and I didn't even see the show. So after a year or two of trying to figure out how to I could see the show, I heard that they were making a DVD, and I was so excited!

I ordered it on ebay a few months after it came out, and it was fairly priced. I watched all of it in a day, and I was ecstatic. This show is all about what it is really like being a teen. Nothing fake, but not over-dramatic. Giving life lessons on everything, like internet relationships, the effects of using ecstasy, presssure (beer), family, rumors, first dates, and all sorts of things. Season One is especially perfect for prettens and early teenagers because it is based around a group of 7th and 8th Graders.

Of course, through the Seasons, the characters face changes and more dramatic situations, but somehow, there is always a Season for teens and Preteens of every age to relate to. And that's what everybody likes about the show.

This DVD also includes auditions for most cast members, which are fun to watch, bloopers and deleted scenes, which add more to the episode, and a karaoke of the theme song which is also very fun. With cast and characters biographies, you can tell that the creators of the DVDs put as much into them as possible, and it pays off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ASTONISHINGLY REAL - THIS IS "RESPONSIBLE T.V."!, November 7, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's hard to imagine, that a cast of less than a dozen central characters, most of which are under 18, can take serious and current social issues, then introduce, act out the plot and believably resolve everything in under a half-hour, leaving any viewer with much "food for thought," but this cast does, and they do it better than I have ever seen it done before.

Degrassi (Next Generation) is not a show with mid 20's actors playing 14 and 15 year olds, who use their parents' wealth and status to bail themselves out of inane contrived jams. Rather, it's a show, with an incredible amount of young acting talent, playing kids their actual age, grappling with extremely serious issues, and they do it so well, you get the idea that you (the viewer) are an invisible onlooker in something that is actually taking place in real life. In other words, it seems more like "real life" than TV.

Don't get me wrong, there are times when the writers have taken minor liberties, which I mentally footnote as a departure from what might actually happen in the real world; however, it's rare, and it is understandably chalked-up to the very real time constraints this show has. With only a half-hour per episode, there is no time to waste at all, and the rare times a corner is cut, the actors handle it so professionally, that you may not even catch the glitch with just one viewing of any particular episode.

Anyway, a friend recommended this show to me. I didn't think I would like it; however, I do, and from an adult prospective, it gives a good inside look at the current issues the next generation of potential leaders are dealing with in these very complicated times.

You can't go wrong - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely in love with this DvD, June 10, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you live In America and are a DeGrassi fan, you HAVE to get this dvd. It shows scenes with The-N edited, and shows scenes deleted from ever airing- including a bit where JT and Liberty hook up when he thinks he's strung out on Ecstasy. If you are a hard-core DeGrassi fan, you'll absolutely love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teen Show Unlike Any Other!, June 29, 2004
By A Customer
The Canadian teen drama Degrassi: The Next Generation is a spinoff of the original Degrassi which debuted in the 80s. It's now 2004 and the Degrassi franchise is more popular than ever, and hasn't lost it's realistic portrayal of the lives of high school teens. Season 1 premiered back in 2001 and introduced a new generation of kids dealing with real life issues from sex to peer pressure to illegal drugs. The show is filming it's fourth season now and has often pushed the boundaries on sensitive topics, such as homosexuality, rape and abortion. Degrassi has gained an increasing amount of attention from U.S. fans, from young teens to adults. With a reputation for being blunt and very honest about several of the issues the series tackles, Degrassi often tries to provide an unbias interpretation of the situation. I have recently become a devoted fan this past year and I enjoy watching every episode. The show makes you laugh, makes you cry, and makes you more open-minded as a person. And Season 1 is where it all starts!!! Degrassi: The Next Generation can be seen on The-N Fridays at 8 et. and all weekend long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Degrassi is the best show in the world!!!, July 15, 2004
A Kid's Review
Okay so at my school this kid everyday would ask me, "Dude, did you watch Degrassi last night?" and I would always say "No. I don't watch Degrassi." But then a few weeks ago I was channel surfing and I started watching Degrassi and oh my god it is addictive. This show not only is amusing and hilarious, but it teaches teenagers important lessons and shows them that it's okay to be who you are. Degrassi goes through middle and high school and the social issues everyday teens have to deal with. During numerous episodes, you see kids struggling with their sexuality, puberty, dating, family issues (divorce, death, remarriage etc.) and friendship. This show has the drama of Fox's hit, The O.C., but Degrassi: The Next Generation teaches important lessons and instill values into kids, without discussing embarassing issues with an adult, instead of showing perfect people doing illigal things (drinking underage). I would rate this show a 100000000000000 out of 10 and I am definately going to buy it and I think that you should all buy it either for yourself or a teenager struggling with one or more of these issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Degrassi what USA will never do., March 2, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had heard about Degrassi The Next Generation a couple of years ago. But never gave the series not much of a thought because I was too busy with American television series at the time. Back when American television still had great television. I watched a few episodes of the series on The-N website and was instantly hooked. One interesting aspect of the series is they actually teenagers playing teenagers. Something that doesn't happened in the U.S. Another thing, that get me hooked was the fact that the series takes some real risk. No disrespect to good Teen Dramas i.e. Season one and Season Two of Dawson's Creek & Everwood. But most teen drama series begin with, the oddity which is the first day of a new school. Degrassi has this but it has something I had never seen anyone dare try in their first episode which is Cyber Predators. What the first episode of this new series does is bridge fans of Degrassi High - The Complete Collection and viewers of this new series. So if you are a new viewer of the Degrassi univirse like I am, you are not completely confused. And if you are a long time viewer of the two previous Degrassi series; it is like meeting up with old friends again. The first season of Degrassi The Next Generation deals with such things as rape, your first date, jealousy, body image, drugs, porn, drinking, peer pressure and all things young kidsdeal with when they are young without all the over the top BS you get on One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl. The first season sets up relationships and friendships that are still on going now in the series 7th season and some that are taken to the 10th level in future seasons. Like friendships such as, Manny Santos & Emma Nielson, Spinner Mason & Jimmy Brooks. And rivals like Paige Michalchuk & Manny Santos. Season One also begins the iconic relationships of Liberty Van Zandt & J.T. York, and Emma Nielson & Sean Cameron a relationship to this day fans of the series' wonder if they will ever be. If you despise teen dramas of all kinds then do not purchase these DVD's. If you don't mind going back and seeing as close to junior high & high school a television series can be. Then please do purchase this series. I will discuss the special features because I don't think they are all that good. Also, do not get these DVD's because of the great picture quality or sound qualilty. Degrassi has never and will never have the budget that series like Gossip Girl or One Tree Hill will have but when it comes to emotion no one beats Degrassi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.