Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Old-Fashioned Love Story for Cynical People
Deja Vu is a wonderful movie! I saw it in the theaters over a year ago, and I have been awaiting its release on video. It's a story about two cynical 90s people who meet and know that they are destined to be together. But not in the silly, Hollywood, Sleepless in Seattle kind of way. These characters are just as cynical as most of us are about romantic destiny. It's...
Published on November 15, 1999

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than it could have been.
After the terrific reviews, I had expected better.
The Idea is indeed a good one, but the lead actress is... awfull (I'm sorry to say it, but there it is.) She is whiny, complaining, selfish, and just generally irritating.
While watching the movie, I just kept wondering why any of these people would want to spent time with her, let alone, seek her out or leave...
Published on January 15, 2003 by M. Jensen


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing!, November 18, 2007
By 
T. Rogers (Annapolis, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deja Vu (DVD)
I love Stephen Dillane which is why I picked this movie. His performance was very good but the overall movie was weird and jerky. The "no script" thing shows how important a script is. I hope the director bagged that idea after this movie. It is painfully apparent when Stephen Dillanes character runs into Victoria Foyt's character at the house in London, she just keeps saying "what are you doing here?" and Dillane doesn't respond. The bedtime conversations between the old couple that owns the house are just plain weird and completely irrelevant. I agree with the other reviewer that Victoria Foyt's character comes off incredibly whiney! The other story lines - Vanessa Redgraves - would have meaning if they were in turn experiencing some sort of Deja Vu but they don't. I would pass on this movie, this director and certainly Victoria Foyt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deja vu (Amazon Instant Video)
THIS IS MY FAVORITE ALL TIME MOVIE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect in condition and content!, April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deja Vu (DVD)
excellent condition DVD. It was difficult to find...and now I have it! This is a quintessential love story, with all the goodies: a romantic song, a visit from the dead mother of the man, a confession from a father of a past love story, and exhibit of one earring of which the dead mother gave the 2nd one to the woman. hope I haven't made this too confusing, but at the end--it's a great love story with all bases covered, including a little humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed in both story and acting., July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deja vu (Amazon Instant Video)
Boring, unrealistic, with "believe in a childish urban legend" type od ending. Actors are not believable in their roles, and there is no chemistry between them. Not sure what this is all about and how this film got any positive reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars remarkable, February 7, 2001
By 
This review is from: Deja Vu [VHS] (VHS Tape)
the scenario of this movie is brilliant. the words that are said suits so much to the plot, but it really can be much effective with a slightly dramatic effects of camera movements usage of sound and emhasizing the close-ups...i don't know its so much inspiring me... thank anyway to putting some words to open view...its so brave to just let the words make us listen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deja vu (Amazon Instant Video)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What was Dillane thinking when he took this role?, April 19, 2007
This review is from: Deja Vu (DVD)
This viewer came away from this movie with the idea that Victoria Foyt and her husband must have been very generous with the cash to purchase such great actors for such a silly little movie. A check of Victoria Foyt's "acting" credits at IMDb shows that she hasn't been in any "real" movies, only those that she puts on herself. Foyt can't act her way out of a wet paper bag, and repetition and loud lines don't compensate for a lack of talent when supposedly working extemporaneously. I love Dillane's work, and to give him credit, he did his best to stay professional in this odd story. His best scene, though, was the one with the doorway, when he could just act, and not have to (one imagines) suppress winces at how awful it must have been to work with Foyt.

I do like that Vanessa Redgrave and her mother Rachel Kempson together, but they didn't have anything to sink their teeth into. Anna Massey is wonderful wherever she is. But she was wasted here.

Jun 27, 2010: Author's note. A one-star rating on this review is not unexpected or in any way dismaying. This film has been adopted by a lunatic fringe touch-feely group (I can't be bothered to look them up, but a Google search on this film will let you back-track to them) that gives away free DVDs of the film to members who join. It's just the silliest thing you won't waste your time on, and again, I'm sorry they managed to fool so many really good actors into joining this enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destiny, love and fellings, March 8, 2007
This review is from: Deja Vu (DVD)
About the destiny, the love and the feelings. This movie is a wonderfull production with very good actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deja Vu, September 8, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Deja Vu (DVD)
Waited a year for this great movie to come out in DVD letterbox (widescreen)...what happened? Normal aspect ratio cuts off people at the edges! When a conservation is going on with facial expressions you miss alot. I'm disappointed! I'm sure the director/producer knows what I'm talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A botched classic., January 3, 2000
By 
This review is from: Deja Vu [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Deja Vu had all the makings of being a classic. The story is first class. The acting was good. The concept fantastic. But - the score was non existent, the audio mixing very poor, photography equally dismal and the editing - well it hardly existed. This was a movie that could indeed replace Casablanca but ended up in the Blair Witch category technically. Further, inasmuch as I absolutely LOVED it, it is actually an almost remake of another movie from the '70's. Check out "And Now My Love" starring Marthe Keller and Andre Dusollier for a movie with very interesting parellels. (Available here and very much worth while.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deja Vu
Deja Vu by Henry Jaglom (DVD - 2002)
$19.98 $19.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.