Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking Lyricism...Droppin The Club 4 Da Farm!
Bubba sparxxx is a very unique rapper. Yes he's white. However, he is ten times better than the other commercial trash you hear today. He isn't a commercial sell-out, however, due to his previous clubbish joints with timbo, the Underground didn't really feel him. The verdict? Read on...
1. Intro
2. Jimmy Mathis (5/5) Nice production, great storytelling
3...
Published on February 29, 2004 by Jamall Hill

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than The 1st LP (3.5 Stars)
I have to admit that when Bubba Sparxx first came out, I thought he was a gimmick that Timbaland was using to get his label off the ground. Therefore, Bubba got little to no attention from me because of my intolerance for gimmicks. I was completely ready to write Bubba Sparxxx off as a fluke until I heard the first single. I liked it so much that I went out and bought...
Published on February 3, 2005 by Norfeest


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking Lyricism...Droppin The Club 4 Da Farm!, February 29, 2004
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
Bubba sparxxx is a very unique rapper. Yes he's white. However, he is ten times better than the other commercial trash you hear today. He isn't a commercial sell-out, however, due to his previous clubbish joints with timbo, the Underground didn't really feel him. The verdict? Read on...
1. Intro
2. Jimmy Mathis (5/5) Nice production, great storytelling
3. Comin' Round (4.5/5) Street narratives with excellent beats
4. She Tried (5/5) Worthwhile, introspective love song.
5. Deliverance (5/5) Underground feeling, with catchy hook
6. Nowhere (6/5) My personal favourite, with great vocals and lyrics.
7. Warrant (interlude)
8. Warrant (5/5) Bubba mixes well with the Dungeon family. Nice snare-driven beat.
9. Take a Load Off (3.5/5) Nice lyrics, but no breakthrough production.
10. My Tone (4/5) Some filler lines, but some other great ones.
11. New South (4/5) I forget the lyrics, so it's getting a four for now.
12. Hootnanny f/ Justin Timberlake (3/5) Bubba makes this song fogivable. JT, GET OUTTA HERE!
13. Overcome (4/5)- Tight track, but breakthrough material fails.
14. Like it or Not (2/5) Album falls off. Clubbish and commercial pop/rap material.
15. Back in the Mudd (4/5) Return to introspection. Unfitting production loses points.
16. We Da Sh*t (4/5) a fitting braggadiocio track.
_____________________________________________________________
This album is very likely to be a slept on hit. Bubba offers a plate of southern goodness with some depressing, introspective and intelligent songs, and a few up-tempo bangers backed up by Timbaland's excellent production. Its interesting that the first half of the album is classic and the second half is above average, and the one bad song that is featured is easily skippable. One bad song and all good songs makes this as close to 5 stars as possible, but not quite. I highly recommend NOT sleeping on this new near-classic, cause it truly is unbelievable considering rap's commercial state.
Recommended: Yes
Great To Play While: Studying, Driving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 1/2 stars, really, really good cd period., August 12, 2005
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
First off, Im from a chicago suburb so thats how good this cd is for me to give it this star rating. The rap around here compared to souther rap is like comparing apples and oranges. Im not that much of a fan for southern rap but bubba sparxx on deliverance exceeded all expectations. I havn't heard his first cd expect for ugly which I didnt really like to begin with. My friend picked up this cd and I was skeptical at first but this cd is so smooth and fresh it was probaly the the best cd I heard all year. This cd had everyting, good drinknig songs, good anthem songs, and good personal laid back chill songs. you can defineataly play the whole cd without skipping a song. My fav songs r jimmy mathis, comn round, nowhere, warrant and deliverance. This cd has no bad songs to skip through no joke. about 3 are ok but no bad ones. Bubba gives his all on this cd from his awesome party anthems to his deep, personal childhood songs, I dont know how his nxt cd can top this 1, his career best no doubt, pick up this cd no matter where you live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a sad thing, September 2, 2004
By 
JKbmore (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
Its sad to see that THIS white rapper just can't make it to the financial status of other pathetic rappers such as Lil' Jon, Master P, all those No Limit morons.......

What deliverance offers is an incredibly produced album by Timbaland(one of the greatest producers in the business)and a unique style that has never been heard before, unlike the repetitious beats that you hear from some of those terribly overrated rappers out there these days.................. I'm not from the south, but this album is fantastic! I hated Bubba Sparxxx albums before this one came out, i couldnt stand his music, but then i heard this album, and i was fascinated at how different it was compared to everyone else,,,, he is what the rap industry needs, a pioneer to take the industry to a new level, to "1 up" the next guy........ i think he did this, but however its sad that most Rap fans will never get a chance to listen to this great album.................. its a sad thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This isn't hip hop...but it's great!, September 20, 2003
By 
"silkeeman" (Bakersfield, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
Wow. After his catchy but underwhelming debut two years ago, who knew Bubba Sparxxx could be this deep? And after producing club hits after star-making jams after classic hip-hop after experimental funk grooves, who knew Timbaland could pull elements of BLUEGRASS and FOLK (?!) out of his bag of tricks? Who knew you could make a rap album with the lonely sounds of the deep, deep south or southern rock? Who knew "Deliverance" would be THIS good?
Pick up this album, and you'll find out.
First, some Bubba Talk. He's still country on this album. He rarely gets into the more prevalent themes in hip-hop--yeah, money, cars, drugs, guns, girls, yadda yadda blah--and instead takes a more emotional and internalized view of his roots, his successes, his failures, and the game in general. In the heart-wrenching "Nowhere" he seems to confess many of the sins he's committed since he took off. In "She Tried" he cops to treating his lover badly, and accepts the consequences that come with that act. Even his sure-fire club bangers like "Jimmy Mathis" and "Hootnanny" are more thoughtful than your average rapper bragadoccio. His idea of the good life is country, grimey, but not violent or exploitive. From his lyrics, you'd picture Bubba at a card game or a frat party rather than in the VIP with Puffy. In a way, it's the best of country music--the charming po' folk imagery, the drinkin' and trouble-makin', the self-loathing, the defiance--without all the flag waving and corny count-off-the-beers/wives/cars choruses.
Bubba does take a shot or two at the critics who have been sleeping on him in favor of the mainstream giant whose white shadow looms over him. He even mentions the "E" word, saying "Eminem's incredible, but do I really have to say this" in order to get more radio play? He shouldn't. Bubba's come into his own with this album, carving out his own niche not just among white rappers, but more importantly, among everyone in the game.
That said, Bubba's contributions only comprise roughly half the album. The production on this thing is surprising, and wonderful. Timbaland produces all but three of the tracks (with Organized Noize more than holding their own on the rest). But I hesitate to call Timbaland's offerings "tracks" just as I wouldn't accuse Johnny Cash or John Denver of singing over a track. For the first time in hip-hop, Timbaland is giving us music akin to a composer's score. He never lets the track just loop. He's on top of the music all of the time. More than that, he's branching out, creating music alongside Alison Krause and the Soggy Bottom Boys instead of The Neptunes or Dr. Dre. On tracks like "Comin' Round", "She Tried", "Warrant" and "Deliverance", I defy anyone to find the "hip-hop" contained therein. It's barely there. Instead, Tim's taking the term "southern rap" almost literally. And it works.
Like Bubba, Tim is also taking a more emotion-driven approach to his work. It's pure speculation for me to say that the pain he felt at losing Aaliyah is finally coming out in his music, but it's the only thing I can come up with to reason why his work seems so much more sincere now. "Nowhere" will give you goose bumps just as soon as something like Garth Brooks's "The Dance". He does take it back to "Ugly" and "Lovely"-esque beats with "Overcome" and "Take a Load Off", but they're still hot, and aren't so different from the other songs as not to fit the theme of the album.
The Organized Noize beats aren't filler material either. Catchy guitar lead stuff that, again, hardly resembles your typical "urban" beats. Sum-41 could have just as easily been given the music for "Back in the Mud", which would almost be right at home on an alternative rock station.
The best thing about this album is the potential it brings to hip-hop music in general. You CAN make a compelling track without soul samples and dance hall rhythms. Even Bubba and Tim don't sound like they're done yet. Bubba freely admits that he's not at the peak of his potential, but he has made improvements. And we already know Tim won't stop at any form of music. With this tag team, the possibilities for Bubba Sparxxx's next album are endless. Just like the replay-ability of "Deliverance".
If you're in the mood for something deeper and more genuine than the usual rap offering...buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Rap??? Dont be so Quick To Judge, March 14, 2004
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
Bubba Sparxx??? C'mon all...You guys remember Timbaland's boy, Bubba...No???...Ugly?...Whatever guys, forget what you thought you knew about Bubba Sparxxx. He reinvents himself on his sophmore album, "Delieverance", a BRILLIANTLY produced nu breed of bluegrass rap. Yeah guys...BLUEGRASS...Bubba Shows his lyrical and boasting skills on songs like "Jimmy Mathis" and "Overcome", and his softer side on the somber "She tried" and "Nowhere". But it is not Bubba that is the true star of the album. It is producers Timbaland and Organized Noize (outkast, other dungeon family stuff...) that are the geniouses at work here. The sample Timbo uses on "Comin Round"(an old white dude singin bluegrass) seems to be impossible to make fly...But guys...this is Timbaland...He turns the bizarre sample into one of the most interesting beats of the new millenium. While sometimes Bubba is outshined by his producers, he also shows his unique lyrical capabilities in one of 2003's best releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This!, October 4, 2003
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
I thought Bubba's "Dark Days, Bright Nights" was good, tho some people may disagree, but this CD surpasses DDBN by alot. His lyrics are deeper, and his sound is even more country this time around. This CD is definitely from the south and Bubba disperses the southern feel. If you happened to like the single "Deliverance" like I did and decide to check out the CD, you'll be thoroughly surprised. DDBN beat production was done by Timbaland of course and Deliverance has even better production from Timba and Organized Noize. I would say that my fav songs are "Deliverance", "Nowhere", "She Tried" and "Jimmy Mathis". "Nowhere" and "She Tried" bring in country singing for the chorus, and I'm not really a fan of country but it makes the song even better. If you liked Bubba since "Ugly" or you like "Deliverance" give this CD a shot. This will be one of the sleeper hits for rap this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than The 1st LP (3.5 Stars), February 3, 2005
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
I have to admit that when Bubba Sparxx first came out, I thought he was a gimmick that Timbaland was using to get his label off the ground. Therefore, Bubba got little to no attention from me because of my intolerance for gimmicks. I was completely ready to write Bubba Sparxxx off as a fluke until I heard the first single. I liked it so much that I went out and bought the album. With that being said, I have to admit that Deliverance does, in fact, deliver. Actually, this album goes in a completely opposite direction. While his first album had more of a manufactured pop feel to it, you can tell that more thought and feeling were put into this it. Aside from the four tracks produced by Organized Noise, the album is handled by Timbaland. I have to say that Timbo took his sound to another place on this album. He uses folk, bluegrass, and country in a blend that that flows so well that it's almost undetectable. Tim has always been one of my favorite producers, but I was beginning to lose faith in his abilities. This album removed all doubts that the man can produce with the best of them. Also, Bubba digs deeper into his personal life than he did on his first album without it coming off as cheesy.

There are moments where the album could've been better though. The "Warrant" interlude seems like a waste of disc space and even though "Nowhere" is probably one of the dopest songs on the entire album, Timbaland loses points for recycling the beat he used on Justin Timberlake's "Cry Me A River". And it seems that two of the songs that are produced by ONP seem to miss more than they hit. "New South" seems more obligatory than artistic and "Back In The Mud" (from Madden 2004) comes off sounding a little forced.

If you haven't heard this yet or you've been a little skeptical (like I was), you shouldn't wait any longer. There's no doubt in my mind that this is a tight album. I reccomend picking this one up if you see it on the shelves of your favorite music spot.

Standout Tracks: Take Take A Load Off, Warrant, Nowhere, Deliverance (My Favorite), Jimmy Mathis, Hootnanny, and Like It Or Not feat. Sleepy Brown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The New South Delivers, October 1, 2003
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
2003 is shaping up to be the year of the southern invasion in hip-hop. Not that southern crunk hasn't been tearing clubs up from coast to coast for years, but it now seems as if the standard for musical innovation is also being set below the Mason Dixon. From the new millenium funk of Big Boi's Speakerboxxx to the contemporary blues of Nappy Roots' Wooden Leather, southern artists seem to be embracing the musical heritage of the region and using it to infuse some much needed soul into modern hip-hop. Following in the vein comes perhaps the most pleasant surprise of the year, Bubba Sparxxx's sophmore effort, Deliverance.
One of the most compelling elements of hip-hop is that it give a voice to those who wouldn't otherwise have one, most notably urban youth. But Bubba Sparxxx comes from rural poverty with his own story to tell. With Timbaland and Organized Noize using the music of the rural south as a backdrop, Bubba lyrically shows that while the surroundings may be different, poverty is poverty. This is best exemplified on the fiddle and guitar laced "Nowhere" where Bubba rhymes, "Can you relate to 5 kids, 6 fish sticks on a plate/Or writing Santa Clause, I guess he got the list too late/In order to catch the fish you bait the hook with little Dylan's poo-poo/On Mr. Alan's Property, he catch you he will shoot you/Let these cats amuse you with comical depictions/but where I'm from being broke's no honorable affliction/Love some Jimmy Carter but we never even voted/slum is still slum so you best believe we toated...Cause we worked the land like you work the block for yayo/but I choose ki's over cattle cause the profit's way mo'"
On "Comin' Round", Timbo lays his trademark snare drums behind a blue grass track while Bubba paints a visual picture of his stomping grounds. "She Tried" features more funky fiddle work and allows Bubba to flex his surprisingly effective story telling skills as he tells a bluesy tale of a trailer park love triangle. "Warrant" is a striking contrast of hyper speed drums and a slow bluesy guitar as Bubba lays out a first person narrative of a man on the run in the dirty south. Ice-T would be proud. But so would Johnny Cash.
Bubba's flow can be amaturish at times (though he shows surprising dexterity on a few tracks), and despite a running time of 62 minutes (fairly modest by today's overblown standards) the album feels a bit long. But overall, Deliverance represents a unique piece of the hip-hop quilt and a welcome addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Ground-Breaking Album, December 25, 2004
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
(note: I agree with M. Argyrou, it definitely does seem Timbaland is putting more emotion into his work)

The surprise the listener experiences when they listen to this album for the first time is that most rare of joys in hip-hop music, awe and disbelief. There have been few songs that showcase musical genius, complexity and pain like "Nowhere". This song alone would warrant a purchase at the price Deliverance is selling for on Amazon. There is so, so much more here though.

"Jimmy Mathis" is a pleasant, bouncing song that sets the album up nicely for excellence. "Comin' Round" mixes bluegrass and hip-hop perfectly, a historic moment in hip-hop history. "Back In The Mud" is pure adrenaline, a frenetic rush. Multiple other songs are worthy of mention, all uniting together for a devastating sophomore effort that will be on "best of 2003 lists" for years to come.

Delieverance is a criminally slept-on album, and denying yourself a listen to it would be a terrible mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressed!, December 6, 2003
By 
Amy Gookin (Fairfield, IA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deliverance (Audio CD)
Wow! Bubba really impressed me this time! I had liked his song "Ugly", but never bought his cd or heard of him again until "Deliverance" came out. I was so obsessed with "Deliverance" that i bought his cd, not even caring if anything else on it was good. I didn't know I was buying such a cd full of hits! I have never taken this cd out of my car since I bought it! This is such a good "driving" cd! It is my favorite! "Deliverance" was the only song I listened to for awhile. My next obsession was "Warrant" and right now "Nowhere" is the only song I listen to. "She Tried", "Hootnanny", and "Jimmy Mathis" are my other favorites. This is one of the few cd's that you can listen to the WHOLE WAY THROUGH! Buy this cd! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Deliverance
Deliverance by Bubba Sparxxx (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.