Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dell 3100 3100CN 3000 3000CN Series Drum Reset Chip
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Color: Drum Reset Chip|Change
Price:$14.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 2, 2012
I'm a hardware engineer and have designed computer components for the last 16 years so I know exactly what goes into the design and manufacturing process of so called consumables like printer/copier drums. If I had a nickel for every time I was told to incorporate a life expectancy of X into a design, well, you get the picture. Printer/copier drums are no different. If you knew the mechanics of what renders the chip useless, you'd understand too. The fact is, the drum in 90+% of equipped printers has a service life far exceeding it's 1 time use capacity and chip life.

These reset chips are quick and easy to install. I would recommend wearing a form of breathing protection while emptying the waste toner. A simple dust face mask would work. Don't touch the metallic looking roller. Other than that, the process takes about 10 minutes and, assuming the drum was in good working order before replacing the chip, your printer should be it's good old self again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
This item is really a necessary item in gaining economy from the Drum. Precautions are advised. Do remove the drum to a well lit area offering ease of your handling the emptying of its toner contents inside a mostly closed plastic bag. Your choice should be to use a utility sink or a bathtub. You will be afforded easy cleanup ability as well as ability to carefully examine your Drum in meeting the steps of the provided instructions. Once done with the toner emptying operation and the re-setting of Drum using the extension of a thin wire such as that of a large paper clip, the rest is easy. I bought two of these few remaining items in anticipation of a future application in the doubling of life for a future purchase of one more new OEM Drum. The second Drum Reset Chip when used with the new Drum will bring my printer to an end of life extended expectancy of 2016. Not bad as relates to total cost of ownership for a double sided, color laser printer!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2014
Very satisfied. The first drum was defective. Laser Tek helped us troubleshoot it and then they promptly shipped a replacement. I don't expect perfection, especially from re-built products, but a do expect vendors to take care of issues when they occur and this one did a great job.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2015
These cartridges even used can have issues. Although this one appears to loaded adequately, I had to modify the cartage to prevent a plastic boss of the cartridge from dragging on the image belt and causing a streak down the image. A properly refurbished drum cartridge should have this well known problem taken care of. Rather disappointing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
This seemed to help my printer initially--it added about a week's extra life, but then I got the same error message that I needed to replace the drum cartridge. I was hoping to avoid that very expensive choice and thought this relatively cheap part was worth a try. I guess this part will help some printers, but unfortunately it didn't fix my printer's problem.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
Once I got the chip in the drum everything worked fine, however their directions are less than adequate. Be prepared to wing it when installing this chip because it seems there are several versions of the Dell 3xxx drum, each slightly different, and you'll have to figure out on your own how the provided directions match your particular drum.

We swapped out about a month ago, and its been working fine since. Its worth the 20 minutes it will take to figure things out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
I got this to help with the lines that would be in pictures when I printed. It contains descriptive instructions that walked me through the whole process in less than 10 minutes. Shipping was fast and it even came with some Starburst candy!

I'll update this if anything goes wrong but this is a awesome money saver seeing that new drums are $80+ depending on the quality of them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2013
First off, boo to Dell for creating a printer drum that doesn't deliver per their specs. Kudos to this company Lasertek for selling a product to fix that and save me $$ since a new drum is expensive. Directions need pictures. Emptying the toner was a challenge with them. Thank heaven they talked about the arrows tho mine were a different color. Not much toner came out which made me concerned I had wrong area, but finally decided it was Dell's defect. Reset some other pin per directions. Again, pictures please. Replaced the chip itself very easy. It works! My printer is back in business. The chip works great. Directions need to be better that is why I gave 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
Ordered this chip a while back and just went to use it, and followed directions just as they were supposed to be done. I have done this before on our other printer and of course the printer did not recognize this chip. Seems like a waste of time and money, but maybe I just ended up with a bad one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
My printer said I needed a new drum which was a bit expensive. I found instructions online on how to empty the used toner, push in the reset, and replace the chip so I gave it a go. It sounds difficult but it was so easy! Replaced the chip, reset the printer and presto! I am up and running with my color laser again. Thanks internet! Thanks Laser Tek!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.