Customer Reviews


975 Reviews
5 star:
 (739)
4 star:
 (134)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


302 of 322 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor for those looking for something better
When you do a search for a 24" monitor, and you find dozens available in the $150-$200 price range, why in the world would anyone consider this monitor when it costs about twice as much? If you're just looking for a monitor that delivers basic performance, you wouldn't. But if you're looking for a monitor that will deliver a great picture, provide lots of desktop space...
Published on April 11, 2012 by S. Jentsch

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't get warranty service from Dell
Be advised that it is just about impossible to obtain warranty service from Dell on this monitor, or any monitor 24" or less.

It turns out that Dell's website and its CSRs in the Phillippines and India refuse to even allow you to talk to (or chat with, or access online) any tech support or warranty info without a "service tag" number or "express service"...
Published 14 months ago by apb


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

302 of 322 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor for those looking for something better, April 11, 2012
By 
This review is from: Dell UltraSharp U2412M 24-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
When you do a search for a 24" monitor, and you find dozens available in the $150-$200 price range, why in the world would anyone consider this monitor when it costs about twice as much? If you're just looking for a monitor that delivers basic performance, you wouldn't. But if you're looking for a monitor that will deliver a great picture, provide lots of desktop space for your programs, and backed with a great warranty, then you should definitely consider this monitor!

There are plenty of bullet point reasons to consider when comparing monitors:

- Most monitors made today are 1920x1080. This one is 1920x1200. Those extra 120 pixels can make a difference depending on what you are working on. Imagine the difference between viewing a PDF file a full page at a time instead of having to scroll. Imagine being able to see more of that photo of your kids that you're working on. More vertical height means that you can see more E-Mails at once, and less scrolling when reading web pages.

- Most cheap monitors are made with lesser quality TN LCD panels instead of higher quality IPS panels. This Dell UltraSharp has an IPS panel that delivers great color without oversaturation and its viewing angles are very good. With TN, you get color shifts depending on how you're looking at your monitor (especially vertically). Not so with IPS. While not capable of the wide gamut that the U2410 can deliver, that feature is only needed if you are editing files in the Adobe RGB color space. If you don't know what that is, you don't need it because you aren't using it. The more common sRGB color space is supported on this monitor, which is what most people would want to use.

- Most cheap monitors do not have height adjustments. This monitor allows you to move the panel vertically to get the right viewing angle. For most people, the best position is to have the top of the monitor line up with your forehead. With cheap monitors, you end up stacking your monitor on top of old catalogs or phone books.

These are just some of the things you should consider when buying a monitor. Whether they are important to you is your choice, but you should be aware of them and make an educated decision.

What would I change on this monitor?
------------------------------------
While it has two USB ports on the side, it would be nice if the monitor had a built-in card reader. Doing so would help reduce the clutter of having an external card reader or depending on having a card reader built into your PC or printer. This isn't a deal-breaker by any means, but it would be nice to at least have an SD reader available.

I like the fact that this monitor doesn't come with speakers built-in, but the AY511 soundbar that can be added is unnecessarily expensive and requires a power adaptor. There are situations where having very basic speakers would be very nice, and an unpowered speaker bar that was in the $30 price range would be a great addition. The AX510 seems like it should work, but Dell doesn't list it as being compatible with the U2412 monitor.

Overall
-------
I haven't yet fully calibrated this monitor with color profiles, and I'm not sure that I will go through the effort, as the controls allow for getting a pretty good picture without needing that extra step. I have it adjusted for a broad range of greyscale display and the colors are vibrant without being oversaturated.

I am very happy with the performance of this monitor, and while the price was higher than your average big-box store flyer special, it represents a great value in my opinion. Even though I'm using it for personal use, I would not hesitate to use it in a professional environment as well. It's an excellent business monitor, and after being fully calibrated, I think it would serve photographers and graphic designers very well. If you need Adobe RGB, you'll have to go up to the U2410, but many photo labs use sRGB, and this monitor does that with no trouble.

While this monitor is more expensive, I feel that it delivers what's important. A monitor is your primary interface with your computer, and if you care at all about image quality, you'll give this monitor very serious consideration before thinking that you can save money and be just as happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


665 of 726 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best IPS monitor in this price range, June 7, 2012
By 
Jordan Grosz "FED250" (Altamonte Springs, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dell UltraSharp U2412M 24-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
First off, please ignore all the comments about not for photography or it lacks the full color spectrum and all the complaints about the anti-glare coating. I will say right off the bat that yes you can see the coating but really only if your screen is showing pure white. It isn't as bad as most people say though. I like to call it the "Twilight Effect(tm)", it is a small rainbow shimmer that appears when your monitor is showing bright colors. It's not a strong shimmer and really only shows if you are up really close and are shifting viewing angles. However this coating does do a wonderful job at preventing any sort of reflections or shine even in super bright light which for me is a way better trade off because if you get glare it is going to be way more obvious and disruptive then a little "Twilight Effect(tm)" on your screen. If you're ever in a room with windows, in an office with bright lights, or even if you're ever mobile then glare will be far more of an issue than this shimmer will be. However if you're a graphics guy or something similar and never plan to have your monitor see the light of day in fear that it will melt under the bright sun rays (in true vampire style)then sure go get yourself one of those super shiny glass covered Apple displays.

As for all the ""Professional Photographers" that keep complaining about the color spectrum of this monitor, I must ask you why you are looking at an entry level budget IPS panel for you exactly matched color spectrum? You seriously think you are going to have a $300 monitor that will be able to display photos taken with your $3,000 lens. You're just looking in the completely wrong place with this one. You are going to have to do like you did for all that fancy Canon of Nikon gear and just bend over and take it and pay $1,000+ for a truly accurate professional level monitor. Seriously you didn't skimp out on any of your camera gear so don't skip out on your monitor either. I know there are a couple good ones around the $500 or so range but the true pro models that meet all standards are really expensive.

For all of you amateur/semi-pro photogs, this would include anyone that doesn't plan to print or intends to print at the drug store, this also includes anyone sharing your photos on a web site or saving images as jpg, png, or gifs, this means anyone that isn't shooting on a DSLR and with all the high end fancy settings options set or even if you are shooting on a DSLR but really only with your kit lens because it zooms to any focal distance you would ever dream of using, basically this means that 90% or more of users are either never going to get the chance to notice a difference or are just not going to really care enough to pay double the price for a monitor that can show more colors but no one else will see them unless you print them on a calibrated cmyk printer. As for everyone else on earth if you do happen to have gear that can work in these color ranges just remember that if you are not setting everything correctly along the entire process then it isn't going to make a difference. Or if you are going to share your digital images with basically anyone on earth then those missing spectrum colors won't matter. Not only will not show for them but it will actually mute and wash out the colors and if will look worse than ever.

If your someone who does photography as a hobby or on a small level or only digitally, if you edit your own videos or web shows, if you want something that will display way more colors while watching your dvds and blue rays and you don't want to sell a kidney to do it then this monitor is one of the best out there. If all of this same stuff applies but the 1920x1200 (16:10) isn't important to you and you are perfectly fine with 1920x1080 (16:9) then take a look at the ASUS PA Series PA238Q or the cheapest and nicest looking of the all the AOC I2353PH. They are both also very highly rated IPS panels for cheap. Just remember if you plan on doing video editing that the extra 120 lines of vertical pixels in the Dell monitor means you can view your footage full HD and still have a time scrub/ tool bar at the bottom of the screen.

Anyway before you can really make a good decision takes a little bit of time to think how you are going to use your monitor the most and then find something that fits your needs. Don't bash a monitor (really anything) because it doesn't do what you want it to do. That would be more your fault for looking in the wrong place or not spending the time to make sure it will suit your needs. If you open a box and you pick up your item and it falls apart well then that is something to complain about but deducting a star because a monitor doesn't have an HDMI port and you need an HDMI just means you did a really crappy job at reading the specifications line in the product listing. Seriously though you are obviously already online and it's not like they are hiding facts about their monitor to hope to dupe you into thinking it will have an HDMI port when it really won't (OH I can just hear the maniacal laughter now). Well anyway if you are not a professional and you want something that's still fairly high end yet still affordable then you won't be disappointed with the quality of this monitor and color of this monitor once you set it up properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 185 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great monitor for video editing workflow, May 5, 2012
By 
hiscifi (CHICAGO, ILLINOIS, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dell UltraSharp U2412M 24-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
I'm a photographer making the transition to video capture and editing (which will be my primary workflow). I shoot with Canon and exclusively use older Zeiss lenses. I process on a 2010 15" Macbook Pro duo-core i7 processor with 8gb ram. I recently purchased a Spyder 4PRO color calibrator for monitor calibration.

I'm not a video gamer, so monitor response time is not that much of a concern (if you primarily game, save $150 and buy a TN panel).

Okay, with all that in mind:
I researched monitors for a month prior to my purchase and decided that, regardless of the money, an IPS panel was critical for color gamut and angle of view. Of the IPS panels, Dell had the winning combination of video performance as well as physical ergonomics within a $500 budget. It became a question of the U2412 ($300 on Amazon) and the U2410 ($500 on Amazon):

Both monitors had a well-built feel. They had heavy, solid bases that prevented tipping within reason. The menus were intuitive and easy to navigate.

It wasn't until I calibrated the color with the Spyder 4PRO that I noticed a potential problem for photographers using the U2412. The Spyder 4PRO is such a dream to use in this system configuration, and will actually show you how your monitor's color gamut compares within SRGB, NTSC, and ADOBE RGB color spaces.

THE U2412 FALLS JUST SHORT OF AN SRGB COLOR SPACE, AND IS ONLY 77% OF AN ADOBE RGB COLOR SPACE. If you want the option of viewing your images in an ADOBE RGB colorspace, the U2410 is capable of that color gamut - not the U2412.

The U2412 is a stellar in the image department, showing as much subtle mid-tone as my camera can capture. I will, however, note that blacks could be just a touch deeper. Again, it's easy to get neurotic with exacting measurement. It must be put into perspective that, for my line of work, web-based media is the future, as broadcast network tv is becoming dead as dead. with this in mind, even if I'm watching media on a "prefect" screen, the masses who will stream it are definitely watching it on wildly inaccurate monitors, so when all's said and done, where do you draw the line on critical performance perfection?

Out of the box, both monitors need to be calibrated (previous reviews about a blue/red hue are right on). Don't rely on the pre-fab video options for games, movies, etc. - they are not accurate. I personally can't fault a monitor for not being accurate out of the box - I understand that proper monitor calibration is a step that must be taken and is dependent on specific variables regarding monitor location, workflow, etc. I found the Spyder 4Pro to be a 10minute process from start to finish and was dead on the first time... because exact directions were followed.

Again, the U2412 is plenty of accurate monitor for the price.

!!! ADD-ON COMMENT !!!
THERE ARE NO HDMI INPUTS FOR THE U2412, ONLY THE U2410.

IF YOU ARE ON A MACBOOK, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A PROPER DVI INPUT. MY MACBOOK REQUIRES A MINI DVI - STANDARD DVI ADAPTER... NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH A MICRO DVI - STANDARD DVI ADAPTER (EVEN SMALLER INPUT FOR IPADS). APPLE SELLS THE MINI FOR $40 AND THE MICRO FOR $20. AMAZON SELLS THEM FOR $5.

*** 6 MONTH FOLLOW UP ***

Monitor behaves just as it did out of the box. No problems of any kind to report.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't get warranty service from Dell, October 2, 2013
By 
apb (Vacaville, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dell UltraSharp U2412M 24-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
Be advised that it is just about impossible to obtain warranty service from Dell on this monitor, or any monitor 24" or less.

It turns out that Dell's website and its CSRs in the Phillippines and India refuse to even allow you to talk to (or chat with, or access online) any tech support or warranty info without a "service tag" number or "express service" number. As Dell's website makes clear, 24" monitors and smaller do NOT have service tag numbers, only serial numbers. Dell's reps repeatedly told me that they cannot transfer me based on a serial number, or a Dell order number. There was of course no Dell order number, either, because the monitor was bought from a retailer, not Dell. Ultimately, Dell said the warranty was the retailer's responsibility, which is patently false.

Eventually, after many hours of pleading with dilatory script-readers in India, one of them took mercy upon me and connected me to tech support, against policy, without the required number. The tech support person created an "order number" for my monitor based on the serial number, which order number allegedly I could use in the future to access warranty service and tech support. When I called back with this order number, the CSRs said it was useless to them and they need a "service tag" number. Total Catch-22.

Bottom line: if you have warranty issues with this monitor, be prepared to spend many many hours just trying to access Dell's warranty service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Monitor But Bad Revision with A Yellow Tint Revision A00, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dell UltraSharp U2412M 24-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
This is one of the best monitors out in the market today. You can't go wrong with this monitor if you want to play video games, edit photos or just surf the internet. I am currently the owner of one of these monitors for the past year and have been so happy with it that I decided to purchase another. Well I read that many people had been receiving monitors revision A00 with build dates in 2013 that had a yellow tint. I believed that this yellow tint problem could be fixed by properly calibrating the monitor. It can't. Using Spyder and spending over an hour trying to calibrate this monitor I have been unsuccessful at removing or limiting the effects of this yellow tint. It is even more apparent when I compare my current u2412m Revision A03 to the new Revision A00 that I have just received. I also went to TFTcentral and downloaded their monitor color profiles for this monitor and these profiles also don't get rid of the yellow tint.

I am very disappointed, if you can makes sure when purchasing that you are going to get a monitor that is Revision A03 or better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Yellow tint issues plague this model, but possibly only REV A00 versions., January 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dell UltraSharp U2412M 24-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
UPDATE: 07.30.2014

So I wanted to do a quick update on my review. I work for a new company now and we recently ordered 13 Dell U2412M monitors for the office. Yep that's right, 13 of them. Strangely enough all of them now say REV A01 on the back and are manufactured in 2014. They also do not have the weird yellow tint issue that I was getting on the REV A00 models that were manufactured in late 2013. My company ordered these directly from Dell. This could be a fluke or Dell might have fixed the yellow tint issue. I am still kind of scared to try to order another one for home use.

I have updated my review title.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATE: 01.22.2014

Well my replacement U2412M came in from Dell today and guess what! It has the same yellow tint issue as well! So far I am 3 out of 3, all having the yellow tint issue. I was hopeful that this one would be better considering it said "Manufactured December 2013" while the other two said "Manufactured November 2013", but nope it didn't matter. Like I said, they must either have changed the panel they put in them at the manufacturing plant in China, or they are selling their old defective stock and relabeling them to look new.

So the one I ordered from Amazon had the yellow tint issue and the two I ordered directly from Dell. I AM DONE. I am returning this one as well and just getting my money back.

FYI: If you only have one of these hooked up then you might not notice the yellow tint as bad, but if you compare it to a close by laptop screen or other monitor that has normal colors you will notice how jacked up it is.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

ORIGINAL REVIEW

I highly recommend staying away from purchasing a Dell U2412M, mainly because all vendors including Amazon, Newegg, TigerDirect and even Dell themselves are selling a version of this monitor that has a horrible yellow tint to the screen. There is nothing you can do about the yellow tint. Even the most advanced screen calibration can not make the colors right. Obviously Dell is either selling an old recalled version of this now trying to get rid of old stock, OR they are now putting a cheaper screen in these monitors.

It's such a shame because I already own one of these and use two more at work and they are perfect. I would totally give them a five star rating. But NOT the current one getting sent out to customers!

Here is a little back story. I purchased a Dell U2412M for home use back in late 2012 directly from Dell. I opened her up and it was one of the best monitors I have ever used. I mainly use it for Web Design and Development. I even recommended this monitor to others at work and my company ordered over 10 over them for everyone in my design team to use. All 10+ of the U2412M monitors were perfect and all ordered in late 2012.

Fast forward to today. I have been using dual U2412M monitors at work for over a year now and had been using a single one at home, so I decided to upgrade my home workstation to dual U2412M monitors as well. So I ordered one from Amazon (shipped and sold by Amazon) and when it arrived I noticed that it had a HORRIBLE yellow tint to the screen compared to the one I already owned and compared to all of the ones I use at my company. I checked the back and it said REV A00 and it was manufactured in November 2013. The U2412M that I have owned since 2012 which is perfect, says it was manufactured in May 2012 and is REV A03. I checked all of the ones at my company and they all say REV A03.

I did a little research and come to find out, when this monitor first released all of them said REV A00 and that revision of them got recalled for yellow tint issues.

So I ended up returning my new U2412M back to Amazon who promptly gave me a refund. I then contacted Dell and asked them what revisions number they were selling, and if it was REV A03 or higher. Dell could not give me a straight answer, but they said the REV A00 version of the U2412M was recalled and revised. They also assured me that if I ordered a U2412M directly from Dell that I would get the latest version/revision.

So like an idiot I ordered one directly from Dell and guess what? It's another REV A00 and has the horrible yellow tint issue!! I immediately called up Dell and after talking to five different people they are now sending me out a replacement. My fingers are crossed that I get a good work version this time. Maybe third time will be the charm!

Oh yeah, and it's just not Amazon and Dell that is sending out the REV A00 versions with the yellow tint issue. There are people reporting that the same thing is happening with U2412M ordered from Newegg, TigerDirect and everywhere else.

So like I said earlier, either Dell is trying to get rid of their old stock of REV A00 versions of this monitor, or they have completely changed the screen they are putting in these to a cheaper and very yellow screen.

I will update this review when I get in my third U2412M.

PROS:

-If you get a good one, it is an awesome monitor!
-16:10 aspect ratio for a full 1920x1200 resolution
-LED lit so the brightness will stay bright for a very long time
-Great colors and viewing angles
-Text looks great for writing code or documents
-Nice sturdy and adjustable stand
-Rotatable screen
-Easy to use menu
-USB 2.0 hub built-in
-Decent warranty from Dell

CONS:

-HIGH chance you will get a defective one with a yellow tint issue (If you get one this monitor is horrid)
-IPS glow/bleed when on dark screens (however this is common with IPS technology)
-No HDMI port
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 128 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice monitor in $350 price range., November 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beautiful image set in a good, unobtrusive matte bezel. I replaced a deceased TN panel with this, it's wonderful no longer having viewing angle or a photo's location on-screen affecting brightness and contrast when I process things. The stand seems sturdy and has nice tilt, rotation and height adjustments.

Out-of-the-box default settings had the panel WAY too bright and it seemed to have a bit of a cold cast; if like me you don't have calibration equipment TFT Central makes available a color profile you can try. That plus the brightness brought down to 35 worked well enough for me and images are beautiful, without their ICC I'm not sure I could've tuned it well "by eye" (it's amazing how quickly our eyes adjust to compensate for color casts).

I'm glad they kept the 16:10 Aspect ratio instead of 16:9, 1920x1200 has lots of real estate, and the only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is that Dell is a pain to deal with if you haven't purchased directly from them. I had to call them three times (and ignore a thread in their forum where their "liason" misinformed me) before getting an employee who would deign to entertain my questions without an order number or service tag, finally a tech rep acknowledged for me that yes, the manufacturer's 3-year warranty (from time of manufacture at rear) remains valid despite my inability to obtain an order number.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dell U2412M vs. Asus PA248Q, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dell UltraSharp U2412M 24-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Personal Computers)
This is a review based on my experiences between the Asus PA248Q and the Dell 2412M monitors. I am focusing on the aspects that no specs webpage will tell you.

Introduction: I started out with two Asus PA248Q monitors. One fell victim of the known flickering issue, so I returned it and paired it with a Dell U2412M with the intention of using both. However, I am now returning the Asus PA248Q mainly because I discovered that it has more input lag than the Dell.

Input lag: I cloned both displays and started a timer which tests input lag and took a photo with a DSLR camera of both screens, and the Dell was clearly faster. I even hooked up my old Dell ST2010F TN monitor and compared it to the U2412M and they were equal with input lag. Apparently input lag is not a statistic that is advertised. At any rate, while the Dell U2412M may have a higher response time than the Asus (as a negligible difference), the Asus has more input lag. When dragging a window up and down, split between the bezels of the Asus and Dell, the Asus lags behind causing a kind of "catapillar effect" between the two.

The adjustable stands: Both Dell U2412M and Asus PA248Q have adjustible stands, but the PA248Q is built far more solid. The base is larger and heavier and does not wobble. Both monitor stands, however, function normally on a stable desk with no difference after the designated adjustment.

Color quality: The Asus PA248Q looks better out of the box. It is apparently pre-calibrated from the factory, even comes with a calibration certificate, and it shows; both Asus PA248Q monitors I had looked 100% the same. The U2412m allegedly has a possible "yellow-tint" problem, and while I feel I may have received such a monitor, I was able to adjust the yellow tint away (when comparing it to the PA248Q). Both monitors have color quality that I could consider completely equal, after adjustment.

IPS glow: Both the Asus PA248Q and the Dell U2412M have equal amount of IPS glow, but the Dell has warmer glow on the left and cooler on the right. The Asus seems to be fairly equal on both left and right sides, but regardless, the glow is the same amount. There is "a lot" of glow, but that is to be expected from an IPS monitor of this price range.

Anti-Glare Coating: both the Asus PA248Q and the Dell U2412M have negligible difference in terms of AG coating. Popular opinion claims the Dell has more but I cannot see that whatsoever.

Physical Body: The Asus is far more rigid with sharp edges and is fully black while the Dell is "smoother" with more rounded edges, including the corners of the bezels, and has a gray accent color. The Asus looks more "industrial" overall. The Asus has some measurement indicators etched into the face of the monitor which I would consider useless considering you would be utilizing a program's on-screen measurements for measurements. This seems like a gimmick that exists solely for the "ProArt" name that the Asus wields.

OSD Menu: The Asus PA248Q has a little joystick to use in the menu, and while that seems brilliant for navigation, it seems to be a needlessly complicated piece for such a simple menu. The Dell has unlabed buttons that are "labeled" once the OSD menu is open and on-screen and is extremely simple to navigate with no possibility of pressing the wrong button. For this reason I see the Dell having a much cleaner menu and physical set of buttons.

Aspect ratio control: the Asus PA248Q has an ability to display 1:1 aspect ratio while the Dell U2412M does not. BUT THE QUALITY IN THIS SETTING WHEN ACTIVELY DISPLAYING A NON-NATIVE 1:1 RESOLUTION IS HEAVILY REDUCED ON THE ASUS PA248Q. When 1:1 is activated and the PA248Q is displaying as such, say 1920x1080, the monitor automatically loses the sRGB setting and defaults to Standard (and must be manually set back to sRGB when finished). In addition to this, the quality of the screen becomes blurrier and a little unstable. It is a complete joke of a 1:1 setting and is only useful if you're either sitting very far away from the monitor or simply don't care. I have had 1:1 aspect control on other monitors that did not have this loss of quality. For this reason, the fact that the U2412M does not have 1:1 aspect control is not a factor since the PA248Q's might as well not exist.

Power-indicator. The Asus PA248Q has the option in the OSD menu to completely shut off the power-indicator light on the bottom-right corner of the monitor. The Dell does not have this option, but the light is not intrusive. I would still prefer the option, however.

Conclusion: out of the better-packaged box, the Asus PA248Q offers a higher quality display in terms of colors and a more uniform IPS glow, at the expense of more input lag than the Dell U2412M. The Dell is better for gaming simply because of the lesser input lag and the Asus is better for accurate photography editing because of it's pre-calibration from the factory, although you can calibrate the Dell as well if you have the hardware.

The Asus PA248Q may have a flickering problem (search for this problem and you'll see) which is a big defect while the Dell U2412M may have a "yellow-tint" problem which I seem to have yet to discover. Purchasing monitors is full of risks left and right, with advantages and disadvantages on various models and the possibility of stuck pixels on any of them. Good luck out there.

UPDATE: I have purchased a second Dell U2412M; still no "yellow tint" but the monitors' colors definitely do not match and require tweaking settings to get them similar. The Asus PA248Q monitors are pre-calibrated and matched absolutely perfectly out of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


186 of 227 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dirty monitor look. The new hotness?, December 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pros:

- Viewing angle: Much better than a TN monitor: This is very important for monitors that are 24+ inches as all TNs look significantly darker at the top even when sitting right in front of them. This is very noticeable in dark areas of movies and games. All IPS variation monitors address this problem well. The Dell u2412m seems to not have quite as good a range as other IPS monitors, but it doesn't really matter if you're sitting right in front of it.

- Sturdy base: Rock solid. Does not wiggle when typing or even shaking a less-than-sturdy desk.

- Color reproduction: The range of colors is very good, minus blacks, once properly calibrated with a spectrometer. There might be a tad bit extra hint of blue, but nothing terrible.

- No dead pixels: I absolutely hate dead pixels. It is a very common issue. Luckily, this monitor did not have a single one.

Cons:

- Factory Default settings: Out-of-the-box, the colors are waaaaaaaay off. Like you took a translucent blue paint brush to your monitor. Using Windows 7's monitor calibration tool is not sufficient, you will need either a really good third-party program such as EzTune or, for better accuracy, a monitor spectrometer such as the Xrite ColorMunki.

- Blacks are poor: This is to be expected of an IPS monitor. I was unable to calibrate my monitor to distinguish between 96-100% blacks.

- Anti-glare coating: Oh god. Where to begin? When I first turned my monitor on, the first thing that popped into mind was "Wow, this monitor is really dusty. How did this happen?" Upon turning my monitor off, and taking a better look at it, there wasn't any dust on it at all. I then turned it back on and looked closer. It was the Anti-glare coating that was applied to it, reflecting light produced from the monitor into the wrong directions and producing what looks like small, dull, red and green specs. I then began to speculate. Maybe they just used way too much anti-glare coating on my monitor? After-all, it received so many positive reviews on Amazon. Well, after looking around at other websites for reviews, it turns out that it is a very common complaint about this monitor.

The dusty-looking screen is very distracting. Like looking through a window that had collected dust for a few years. Solid colors do not look like solid colors, bright colors look murky, and no matter what you do, you can't get over looking past the "dirty" screen.

The Anti-glare coating itself is not very effective. I have a window to the side and it seems to somehow reflect some of the light back at me in a dull satin shine. For reference, my old monitor has a very glossy mirror-like finish and there is no glare at all on it. If the window was behind me, however, it would be a very different story.

I really wanted to like this monitor. I really did. But the anti-glare coating is such an eye sore. This is unacceptable for me in a monitor. I have an old Gateway FHD2400. It was a TN medium-low-end monitor for it's time, and it has a better picture than the Dell u2412m due to everything looking so clean. The only thing I liked better about the Dell is that it has a better viewing angle.

Needless to say, I sent the monitor back. Out of the hundreds of purchases I have made on Amazon, 95% of them being technology related, this is the only item I have ever sent back for a refund. I had high expectations of the Dell u2412m, but was very disappointed in the end. I would like to see Dell cease use of the useless anti-glare on this otherwise nice monitor.

Edit- For more information on "Anti Glare with Hard Coat 3H", the coating Dell uses on their IPS monitors, google "dell u2711 anti glare review".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dell UltraSharp U2412M Good after tweaks, January 3, 2012
By 
Casch "Chris" (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excited to get the new monitor I had it plugged in within the hour. Nicely stylish, and very sturdy I was sure I had made a good choice. I am a photographer and while on a budget I DO need something that is accurate that I can count on. This is my third IPS monitor and is replacing an excellent (expensive) 8 year old 16 X 10 24" HP that gave out. Here is how it fared.

Turning it on I LOVED the extra real estate that a 16 X 10 monitor gives the viewer. I couldn't imagine editing photos with anything less. Viewing angles are great. When sitting at a dual monitor setup you are never really lined up to be square with either monitor. The wide viewing angles offered by IPS are fantastic. Plenty of ports on the back and side for anything you are doing. I just use the DVI so I didn't test anything else. Convenient control placement.
But, I noticed (side by side) that the colors did not match my other smaller IPS monitor (LG). Not even close. The LG took a little tweaking to get it right so I began to set it up. The LG was close out of the box, in fact, all I had to do was turn down the brightness. Not so the Dell. The colors were all slightly off out of the box. First of all it comes too bright... this is common and a simple test to achieve the proper brightness is to peer at a gradient and adjust till it you see the differences between black blacks and white whites. You can accomplish this by visiting any number of sites or by using the Windows excellent "Advanced Color Management" tool in control panel. Once that was done I still had colors that were off and dull compared to what I was used to. Plugging in a Spyder 3 finally did the trick. It took the Spyder about 5 minutes and the screen colors matched (very close at least). Colors are bright and seem to be accurate. When something is printed at the lab I use it is right on so....
Here is the conclusion.
While much better than any tn monitor it still falls short of the full IPS experience that I had from my previous IPS monitor (I assume that much of this is caused by the 6 bit panel instead of 8 bit). It will have to do for now as I cannot afford the $1000 replacement cost of the previous monitor. It is sturdy and built well. Controls are well thought out and easy to navigate. Lots of connectivity. All things that add to its value.
Is it worth its price, absolutely. Does it it rate 5 stars unfortunately not.

PROS
16 X 10 Native format (lots of extra real estate from a 16 X 9)
Lots of ports- 1 DVI-D with HDCP, 1 DisplayPort 1 VGA,1 USB upstream port 4 USB downstream ports, Dell Sound bar
Budget priced for an IPS
Great wide viewing angles
Accurate colors once calibrated

CONS
Factory Settings without hardware calibration are going to be disappointing.
6 bit color not 8 bit so to achieve 8 bit color it needs to dither. (I knew this before I ordered but if you didn't...)
only standard RGB gamut not wide gamut. Even then falls a little short of the full RGB spectrum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.