Customer Reviews


407 Reviews
5 star:
 (253)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


225 of 236 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Grill is Great!
I am very satisfied with this grill; I have also given it as a gift to a relative who also loves it and uses it frequently.

Some of the problems described here (not hot enough, etc.), in my opinion, stem from improper use. Like any grill, you have to let it warm up, before plopping quarter pound hamburgers on it. My daughter over-cooked chicken breasts on...
Published on January 17, 2006 by M. Clemmensen

versus
125 of 145 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Non-stick coating flaking off.
I've had this grill for about 2 years now but I've only used it about four times. After using it the last time I noticed blistering of the grill non-stick coating (Teflon?). I was able to scratch this off in a few places with my fingernail to verify if the coating was blistering or if these spots were just imperfections underneath. I wasn't pleasantly surprised to find...
Published on December 31, 2006 by omega


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

225 of 236 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Grill is Great!, January 17, 2006
By 
M. Clemmensen "Mary" (River Grove, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
I am very satisfied with this grill; I have also given it as a gift to a relative who also loves it and uses it frequently.

Some of the problems described here (not hot enough, etc.), in my opinion, stem from improper use. Like any grill, you have to let it warm up, before plopping quarter pound hamburgers on it. My daughter over-cooked chicken breasts on it(they looked great (grill lines, etc.) but they were dry)--so the comments here about the heating element not working are simply not true.

I love the glass top that contains spattering; I also line the bottom of the grill (when cooking) with aluminum foil to make clean up easier. The grill itself is something of a pain to clean, but I put mine in the dishwasher and it comes out great.

This grill performs very well, but you have to allow sufficient time for the heating element to get the grill hot and choose the correct heat settings in connection with what you are cooking--not exactly rocket science, but judging from the reviews here, some people obviously find this challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


196 of 207 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over George .!!!, November 11, 2003
By 
A. Day "sunniday" (Crane, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
I got this grill about a week ago and I love it. First of all the cooking area is BIG.. and wonderful so that you can really cook. I also love how you can adjust the heat setting depending on what you are cooking instead of like my former George where it was 1 temp was supposed to cook all ( which burnt the outside of thick pieces of meat and chicken breast and left the inside way underdone)I also love how the fat drips down immediatly into the tray. On my George ( a big one) the fat would come sort of off one burger and then run into the other burger and stay there without ever going into the tray thing. Clean up is alot easier than George because I can stick all of it except the temp control into the sink or dishwasher to wash. I also like the lid that keeps the food from drying out while cooking and warm before it is served. I will admit it is not as fast as George but honestly the quality of food I cook is so much better b/c it has been cooked right and not just fast. This grill IMO is much more similar to cooking on an outside grill and the taste is better for it. I highly reccomed this product over it's competition, there is no comparrison! Move over George, YOU GO GRILL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Indoor Grill, June 12, 2006
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
I have had my grill for a week, we've cooked lean steaks on it, pork chops, and the other night we cooked hamburgers on it. This is my first indoor grill so when one review mentioned the "George Foreman" grill was a bit faster, I was amazed I thought the Delonghi cooked pretty fast!! Clean up was really easy and one MUST remember to preheat it. I gather some have not. And as to smoking I haven't had any but then I buy lean meats and put water in the bottom if I think the food will drip a lot of fat. Fat dripping into the large tray in the bottom is what burns and causes the smoke. I've only used water once, with the hamburgers (no smoking). This really is a great grill and large enough to be more than satisfying (actual cooking space is 15"x11"). Ease and comfort of use is amazing. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, November 2, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
I just received this item today. It is fabulous. I made boneless chicken breasts with a marinade consisting of 1/2 cup honey, 1/4 cup dijon, 1/4 cup melted butter, and 1/4 teaspoon of curry. I followed the directions to use the grill explicitly. I coated the grill very lightly with olive oil. I put some water in the tray and there was no smoke at all. I turned the heat up to 5 (the highest setting) for 10 minutes to preheat and kept the grill covered while it was heating. I poked holes in the chicken and basted them with the marinade. I put the chicken on the grill setting high for 3 minutes on each side, uncovered. Every time I turned the chicken I basted with more marinade. The chicken seared beautifully with grill markings on both sides. After 6 minutes on high, I lowered the grill to between 3 and 4, basted again, and covered for 6 minutes. I then flipped the chicken again, basted and cooked for another 6 minutes. They came out so delicious, juicy, moist - it was amazing. Chicken like this usually comes out dry but this was juicy and tender and the marinade which was a recipe I got from the internet was terrific. My kids both enjoyed it. Both are VERY picky eaters. I read all the reviews on this site and agonized over this purchase worrying about what was said in the negative reviews. I am not a cook at all. I am just learning but I followed the directions and I cannot reproduce ANY of the negative experiences stated here. It was also easy to clean. I followed someone's advice that said to place wet paper towels on the grill and then wipe it down with the paper towels. Just like that reviewer, my grill came out perfectly clean, as if it had come right out of the box. I hope this review helps someone. I may never grill outdoors again - this was so easy and quick and was such a great experience. I would give it 10 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill, March 3, 2006
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
This is the third Delonghi grill I have owned. The first was very similar to this model in that it had a non-stick surface. It was great. I had to replace it after 2-3 years since the power plug in unit broke. I replaced it with a Delonghi unit that did NOT have a non stick surface. It was impossible to clean. I returned it for a store credit and bought the Perfecto from Amazon on-line. I have used it 2-3 times a week since I got it. It is easy to use, easy to clean and I am very pleased with the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 145 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Non-stick coating flaking off., December 31, 2006
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
I've had this grill for about 2 years now but I've only used it about four times. After using it the last time I noticed blistering of the grill non-stick coating (Teflon?). I was able to scratch this off in a few places with my fingernail to verify if the coating was blistering or if these spots were just imperfections underneath. I wasn't pleasantly surprised to find that the blistering came off easily and that this could be in my food the next time I use it (healthy grilling!). I had many flects of coating on the table after running my fingernail over the blisters exposing the bare metal of the grill.

I therefore cannot recommend this product to anyone. By the way, I've only used a soapy sponge to clean the grill and never used metalic utensils on in while cooking. The "blistering" of the teflon tells me that the metal of the grill was not primed correctly before the coating was applied. Has this happened to anyone else? Before I throw this grill away I'm going to try to contact the manufacturer and see if they can replace the grill element seeing how this looks like a manufacturing defect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love My Delonghi Grill!!!, June 30, 2006
By 
C. Estrada (Long Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
This is a great product - easy to use, easy to clean, grills great! I definitely will be using it quite often, and intend on purchasing other Delonghi brand items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very solid grill!, January 19, 2005
By 
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
I am a big fan of grilled food, especially steak. I live in a small apartment in NYC so grilling on a gas grill is not an option. I have had a good experience w/ this company's previous indoor grill so I gave this one a shot.

Unlike some of the negative reviews I found that this grill heats up very quickly and is very hot. I cook my stakes Medium-Well like 6 minutes on each side and thats a wrap. To be honest I never use the glass cover, but it is nice to have.

One great thing about this grill is that the surface is indented. That means less grease flying off the grill and onto your counter top. It cleans as easily as can be expected. You just have to be careful not to scrath the cooking surface while cleaning it.

All in all this is a great product and I highly reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Saving Grace! Grilling Happily!, January 25, 2006
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
I bought this grill so that I could improve the foods I eat and how they are prepared! My experience is that it doesn't smoke at all - it heats up very well and cooks beautifully. I've cooked steak, chicken, pork chops, fish filets, vegetables, Boca burgers ... and all have been a delight.

I love the no splatter glass lid, the sturdy frame and the hardy grill surface. I have found that, for small amounts of food, if you cook at the end away from the heating control you can submerge that end in dishwater and the mess just wipes away.

I look forward to cooking on this grill and the effort to take care of it is nothing ... especially if you line the drip pan with foil. But even when you forget ... it just wipes clean!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Grill, March 4, 2007
This review is from: Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill (Kitchen)
I bought this grill after reading all the reviews here and elsewhere. This grill works great. I heat it for about 5-10 minutes and it cooks very fast with excellent grill marks. If others have had problems with it getting hot then either they did not let it heat long enough or they got a bad unit and they just need to get a replacement. I have cooked pork steaks and Rib Eye steaks and they come off the grill just like my outdoor grill. I have used other indoor grills and this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Delonghi BG24 Perfecto Indoor Grill
$112.00 $51.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.