Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Delta Green: Denied to the Enemy
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 26, 2004
Simply put, this book is brilliant. The story is well done and clearly the author did considerable research for the Second World War setting. Furthermore, it is a great read, unlike many post-HPL-circle stories. It is a true credit to the Delta Green concept. More, Detwiller's story is so well done it very well could be one of the best post-HPL circle mythos stories around and should be read by not just those interested in the Delta Green concept but anyone interested in Cthulhu Mythos stories.

Suggestion: Read HPL's "Arthur Jermyn" and "The Shadow Out of Time" BEFORE reading this novel. Detwiller mentions his love of and use as building blocks of these stories in the "Author's Note" at the novel's end, which is a shame; his modest "additional layer" to the stories shows all the better if one has read the two HPL tales before reading his novel. (Indeed, it would be nice if all post-HPL-circle stories mentioned in the beginning which stories they built upon.) Also, if you can read Detwiller's short story in the Delta Green: Dark Theatres anthology before, that is all the better. (Not necessary, but beneficial to enjoyment and appreciation of this novel.)

Hopefully, as they are great fun, Armitage House will produce many more Delta Green novels and anthologies, as well as reprint their previous releases (such as the impossible to purchase DG: Alien Intelligence). Again, these books are some of the best post-HPL-circle stories available today and are highly recommended to anyone who enjoys Cthulhu Mythos stories.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2004
DELTA GREEN is the modern adaptation of Call of Cthulhu. Drawing on

the same body of UFO lore and paranormal activity as the X-Files, DELTA

GREEN has tapped into something very deep. And of course, once you have

a successful RPG, you might as well start the fiction flowing, right?

Do you trust your government? Would THEY withhold information from the citizenry, information on a plot to colonize humanity, in order to keep society functioning as THEY wish? Is it better to die not knowing what waits in the darkness? DELTA GREEN knows that since 1928 the FBI has had knowledge of an undersea race, implanting their genes into coastal communities, establishing a population of collaborators for the coming invasion. And things only got weirder from there...

"Denied to the Enemy" is a story about Nazis during WW II, and their attempts to use occult powers to further their eugenic agenda. However, a secret cabal has found ancient knowledge, knowledge their Nazi masters cannot be trusted with. Knowledge that falls into the hands of the Allies during a raid to stop the cabal from tapping into the power of the undersea race.

But that's just the beginning. "Denied to the Enemy" is also a story of WWII espionage. Yanks and Brits have to decide how much they can trust each other, and how much of their secrets they can reveal. Each partner has had a glimpse of The Truth, the reality that lies outside the comfortable, sane picture of the universe that humanity collectively constructs. Each side hungers for the knowledge of the other, but worries about the sanity of the other should they, too, know all. An interesting dilemma, no?

But now we get to the meat of the story. "Denied to the Enemy" is a story about a time-traveling race, establishing their own future. However, time is not static; our future turns on a knife's edge, and this time-traveling race must ensure its own survival in the future by carefully orchestrating our own demise in the present. However, one member develops a sense of morals, and decides that it would be more fair if EVERYONE dies (has a certain charm, huh?). The agents are pawns of both sides, but who to trust, if anyone? Changing the future is a dicey business, considering that every moment, the future becomes the past.

But, of course, "Denied to the Enemy" is a story about one man. If all the world's a stage, then there's an audience of one. All of those around us are mere scenery as we wend our way through Time in infinite isolation. The real story, the drama, is the monologue we carry on as we parcel out our measure of time. One man knows his script ahead of time, and that makes all the difference. Does he have the courage to ad-lib his lines? Do any of us, really?
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
This excellent book expands the the two H.P. Hovercraft stories, THE SHADOW OUT OF TIME and ARTHUR JERINIM.
By adding Delta Green and placing them in the context of WE2, the author has added a layer of richness and context.
This interwoven narrative is rich with interesting characters that are nicely fleshed out. I really recommend this book to any fan of HPL and/or Delta Green
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 4, 2012
I've been running a Delta Green campaign for several years now and as I wrap it up this year I finally managed to read some of the fiction by one of the Call of Cthulhu setting's original creators, Dennis Detwiller. I'm not generally a fan of historical fiction, but I make an exception for all things Delta Green.

I needn't have worried. Although the book is subtitled "A Call of Cthulhu Mythos Novel of World War II," the historical setting is only peripherally related to first third of the book. After that, Denied to the Enemy forks into two paths: Burma and Australia. In fact, if you removed the first third of the book, the characters' speech and mannerisms are modern enough that you wouldn't know this Denied to the Enemy takes place in World War II.

The book begins with two characters, the all-American Delta Green agent Arnold and the diminutive British PISCES agent Barnsby. Of the two, Barnsby is far more interesting; a peculiar character who always wears gloves and has a pretty fiancée. It turns out Barnsby's a psychic and his abilities are pivotal in tracking down a book that leads to the remaining two-thirds of the novel.

Unfortunately Barnsby disappears (for good reasons) and is replaced by Joe Camp, who isn't quite as interesting. Camp is a fish out of water in Australia and for the most part just follows the lead of a group of allied Aborigines. They have a parallel in the Gurkha that feature in the parallel Burma plot - loyal, wise in the ways of the Mythos, and seemingly immune to the sanity-snapping sights that bring white men to their knees.

Intertwining these two plots is a time-traveling battle between Yithians. A traitor amongst the ancient race is planning to destroy the world and it's up to the assassin known only as the One to stop him. This can get confusing at times, as there's really no single narrative to keep things on track - One doesn't show up often and reading his alien perspective can be tiring.

It's clear that Detwiller is a gifted author. He has a command of descriptive prose that honors Lovecraft, whom at times he intentionally mimics. On the other hand, Detwiller has a habit of telling instead of showing, with great swaths of text describing events after they happened. There's very few reveals here; it's more background for a role-playing campaign than an overarching story.

The print edition is legendary for both its historical gaffes and its typos. My history is sporadic at best so I didn't pick up on the criticisms leveled by other reviewers, but the typos certainly distracted me. En dashes were used instead of em dashes, which frequently muddled the text. I understand that the Kindle edition has fixed these problems.

Although World War II aficionados will be disappointed, Denied to the Enemy features the full panoply of Lovecraftian villains. It's not a "Mythos hoedown" by any means, but there's enough to keep Delta Green fans interested: deep ones, tcho-tcho, flying polyps, yithians, and surprisingly few Nazis. The real core market is a select few: fans of "Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family" and "Shadow Out of Time." Denied to the Enemy extrapolates and explores both.

My modern Delta Green campaign has a similar buddy relationship between the rough Arnold and the reserved Barnsby. There's an undeniable pulp feel to my game, something that might not always suit more traditional Call of Cthulhu play, but if Denied to the Enemy is any indication of the creators' tastes we've been true to the spirit of Delta Green all along.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
What started as a tale told from the perspective of a Nazi officer, shifted to an American Ally and even into the thoughts and ideals of the Great Race which predates human history. Great story with vivid expressions of insanity. If you're a fan of Lovecraft, you'll enjoy this as it builds on two of his stories which were the inspiration for this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
This is an alright book that requires a strong knowledge of Lovecraftian lore to be able to understand large sections of the plot. There often seem to be too many characters, and the story jumps around the world a bit too often, making the plot harder to follow. Overall a decent read, but seems the author was a bit too ambitious.

The story is at its strongest early on, when the nefarious Germans are making a deal with the deep ones, but this interesting plot line is abandoned in favor of a confusing time travel yarn. There are a bit too many parts of the mythos packed into the book, with Yithians, Tcho-Tcho, deep ones, Thule, and other assorted monsters running around.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2004
Dennis Detwiller delivers an exciting Cthulhu novel set against the battle for world supremacy in World War II. The fascinating characters and fast-paced plot will keep you hooked until the end. This is an outstanding addition to the Delta Green series which I recommend to both Cthulhu fans and also those who love thrillers and mysteries.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2014
I have to say I ended up disappointed. There where some good ideas, and in fact the first portion of the book I found to be quite good. But once the change of narrator takes place, the story seems to go in way too many directions, none of which is very satisfactory. I have found that Lovecraft's mythology seems to be better dealt with a myth at a time, and not trying to mix it all together in a single narrative; another thing that seems to work better is to re-invent, rather than to attempt and expand upon the preexisting mythos. For instance in this case the expansion takes away a lot of the mystery surrounding some of Lovecraft's better ideas, rendering them common fantasy/horror fare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2014
I picked up this book because I was already acquainted with Lovecraft fiction and was curious to read something set in more modern times. This Lovecraft/WWII/X-Files mashup is very well written, with interesting characters and believable historic bits all laced with Lovecraftian insanity lurking around every corner. Mr. Detwiller spins a great tale with Denied to the Enemy, and it will certainly make me look for more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
I became engrossed in this novel and finished it over the course of two days. I love the plot, character development and flow of the story. I'm going to have to re read some of the Chthulhu stories to refresh my background of the mythos history. Thank for the fun time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.