Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Immensely likable comedian, and a terrific show!
Demetri Martin's low-key, child-like comedy is an awful lot of fun to watch. One part Zach Galifianakis, one part Mitch Hedburg and with a dash of early Pee Wee Herman on Ritalin, Demetri performs as though he's a talented but strange kid putting on a show for his parents. Through stand up ("I like to stand around ATMs, wait until someone punches in their PIN number and...
Published on September 4, 2007 by Ethan D. Van Sciver

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing
Martin is something different for those who like off-beat standup comedy. Don't expect a lot of belly laughs, but instead a more subdued, goofy comedy that appeals to quirky and intelligent types. The artwork sketches, done by Martin himself, are the strongest elements.

If you like guys like Jim Carrey, Martin Lawrence or Carlos Mencia...forget this and look...
Published on March 2, 2008 by The Phantom


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Immensely likable comedian, and a terrific show!, September 4, 2007
This review is from: Demetri Martin. Person. (DVD)
Demetri Martin's low-key, child-like comedy is an awful lot of fun to watch. One part Zach Galifianakis, one part Mitch Hedburg and with a dash of early Pee Wee Herman on Ritalin, Demetri performs as though he's a talented but strange kid putting on a show for his parents. Through stand up ("I like to stand around ATMs, wait until someone punches in their PIN number and say, 'Got it!" and run away."), odd train of thought music, graphs and pie charts of observations he's made ("This graph represents how cute a girl is vs. how long I'll listen to her talk about how intuitive her cat is..."), "Art", and even some animation, it's laugh out loud hilarious and worth watching twice.

Criticism? The stage play of "Where my comedy goes" could have been cut, or at least cut down. It's amusing, but goes on a bit too long, hence, I give the DVD 4 instead of 5 stars. An excellent show by perhaps the next superstar comic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical!, November 14, 2007
By 
Kurt L. Leiker (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demetri Martin. Person. (DVD)
Demetri Martin is an extremely funny young comic who doesn't need the rants, raves, and fast-paced nonsense that other comics use in their acts. Demetri creates big laughs from a look or short quip. His comedy enlists the audience member to think, not just react to some wild provocation. He fills the niche of subtle humor not tapped enough in this fast=paced world. He is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My ability to draw trees over time, February 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demetri Martin. Person. (DVD)
I saw Demetri Martin on a comedy central stand-up and my husband and I thought he was hilarious so we bought his DVD. We are so glad we did because this dvd was worth every cent!!!

Martin is absolutely hilarious! He is one of those rare artists who do not use profanity and sexuality for a laugh. Instead is comedy is based on pointing out the obvious but making it funny! He uses charts and graphs that he drew himself, a piano and harmonica, and a guitar. The "finale" has people acting out what he is saying in the background. An absolute riot!!!

DEF worth the purchase. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, March 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demetri Martin. Person. (DVD)
Martin is something different for those who like off-beat standup comedy. Don't expect a lot of belly laughs, but instead a more subdued, goofy comedy that appeals to quirky and intelligent types. The artwork sketches, done by Martin himself, are the strongest elements.

If you like guys like Jim Carrey, Martin Lawrence or Carlos Mencia...forget this and look for something else. You won't "get" it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Clevelands my buddy Bill, February 9, 2008
This is one of the funniest comedy stand ups I have ever seen. This guy is very witty and articulate to make for a very intersting story telling type of comedy. It is worth watching over and over again. I would recomend sharing it with as many friends as possible. This guy is a stand up king. Very well done.Specials: Comedy Central Stand-Up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demetri Martin. Person. (DVD)
This is great. No other way to put it. If you are thinking about getting it then buy it. Really funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very original humour, April 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demetri Martin. Person. (DVD)
Demitri Martin epitomises originality in humour. He is an observation-based comic but never makes you feel that he thinks you are stupid or ignorant, he just takes you along on his journey through finding us (everyone) and what we do funny. He is somehow more sincere and less derogatory than other observational comics. I recommend him highly, this DVD is worth every cent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demetri Martin. Person. (DVD)
This was a gift for my daughter. She loves it. I thought I would surprise her and I did. Thanks so very much for everything, especially for the speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demetri Martin. Person. (DVD)
I have always loved Demetri Martin, he doesn't have to resort to swearing to get a laugh. His simple and humours observation of everyday laugh gets me laughing every time. I thoroughly This DVD and would recommend it to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars found shows on amazon i couldnt find anywhere else, July 9, 2013
Amazon has the best selection by far and unlike Netflix, it loads quickly and doesn't "pause" to load right in the middle of the show....anyone who uses Netflix knows exactly what I am referring to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Demetri Martin. Person.
Demetri Martin. Person. by Jay Karas (DVD - 2007)
$14.98 $10.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.