Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, hopefully the BD's will be good
Well I've seen the entire series from dvd/television re-encodes so I can't exactly comment on the video quality of the blu-rays, should be superior to both though.

Overall I thought the series starts off well enough, quite a few laughs throughout the first 4-5 episodes. Also the pacing is good during this time, moving the plot along but not forcing it all out...
Published on April 22, 2011 by A_Blind_Man

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Felt kind short and rushed!
I agree with most of the reviews here. The anime started out great. The story line was great. They had a bunch of great characters and development of them was nicely done. Then, half way through it, they picked up and rush too much information in way too fast. I seriously don't know how to explain it in words. It's like they literally didn't want to do leave the fans...
Published on August 23, 2011 by S. Der


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Felt kind short and rushed!, August 23, 2011
This review is from: Demon King Daimao Complete Collection (DVD)
I agree with most of the reviews here. The anime started out great. The story line was great. They had a bunch of great characters and development of them was nicely done. Then, half way through it, they picked up and rush too much information in way too fast. I seriously don't know how to explain it in words. It's like they literally didn't want to do leave the fans hanging so they finish it, but only put in all the main plots of the story in, but you would had to read the books before hand to know what's really going on because it's was on fast forward times 8!

I mainly want to say, this anime should had been two seasons, but I guess they saw there wasn't going to be another season after, and so, they had to pick and choose what to tell us to finish it. Again, this wasn't a good or bad idea. It's good for people that already know the story and bad for people that don't know it at all.

Honestly at the very end, I didn't know what was going on? It seemed like they were talking about a lot information that came up to that very point, but the thing is...they never told us anything!!! They, just skipped to the end. I'm not kidding either. It was Climax scene to climax scene to climax scene. I was left feeling ???????????? It just went from what seemed like the middle of the series to the end in one and half episodes. There were a 2 or 3 more characters that came out at the end and it seemed like they were important characters that needed to be explained. I mean, they looked super important to the whole series, but I was left feeling, okay, this guy knows everything and he talking a whole of lot information, and now I see the final battle. Who are you? Were you the main villain? Were you just the secret villain? Were you the guy that just came out of nowhere? Why are you here? Why are you fighting that dude? Ahh...I want to know! It looks cool, but I just don't know what's happening. So sad.

Also, it is confusing to know who was the good guy or bad guy in story. I kept watching it and didn't know what was going on and didn't feel anything towards the end, but confused and rip offed. It was never told who was the "REAL Villain" and it will never will be now. One of the main story lines was the Demon King and he like an anti-hero, but maybe, he was the villain really at the end? I don't know. I can't come to a conclusion on a show 8 times fast-forward. lol

The ending doesn't make any sense. Since, we don't know anything. How could it? It's like one minute, you're in the middle of the season and the next show your in the middle half, then the next show your at the ending. So many things weren't explained and I had no clue to what to get out of it. I could see how they got the happy ending, probably, but I don't really know if that's was supposed to be a happy ending or not. I'm just pissed!

This series could had easily been 5 stars. No problem. It just never had the chance to developed into it. Good for people that already know the story, otherwise, stay far-far away from this one. You'll be just pissed at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, hopefully the BD's will be good, April 22, 2011
Well I've seen the entire series from dvd/television re-encodes so I can't exactly comment on the video quality of the blu-rays, should be superior to both though.

Overall I thought the series starts off well enough, quite a few laughs throughout the first 4-5 episodes. Also the pacing is good during this time, moving the plot along but not forcing it all out. However, something so good will never last...

After this point it seemed as if the staff realized that "OH S**T, we only have 12 episodes!" and so tried to run through a lot of plot very quickly. resulting in an almost 'jumpy' feel toward the end, and it also seemed that they didn't have as much animation budget as they wanted (or it was all used up on breasts, not that I'm complaining).

very nice OP music and the soundtrack has some really decent songs in it. the ED is tolerable but the animation for it seemed out of place (maybe a result of animation budget deficit, who knows).

TL;DR: Its a decent harem/ecchi series, definitely quite funny, plot felt a bit rushed, and animation seemed a bit shy at points

overall: worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fanboy's Dream, A Demon King's Nightmare, June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demon King Daimao Complete Collection (DVD)
Demon King Daimao, (also known as Ichiban Ushiro No Dai Mao) follows the high school life of Akuto Sai, in a world in which magic not only exists, it's a normal way of life. Quiet, kind-hearted and unassuming, he hopes to become a member of the highest order of the church. However, to his horror, he finds out that he is destined to become the next Demon King. As a result, he has beautiful girls wanting to marry him or kill him. Sometimes, it's both.

The series is a short one at 12 episodes, but the storyline is quite enjoyable. Fanservice is pretty standard for a harem series, comedy peaks a lot, and the ending does leave you wanting for more. One of the biggest surprises about this release is the fact that is has an English dub. Considering Sentai Filmworks penchant for subbed-only formats, this is quite a change.

For anime fans of harem series, this is a must to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All original bluray content is missing on the bluray, January 31, 2012
Most disappointing anime title I have ever owned.

let's put aside any review of the storyline, characters or content of the actual show. I am not here to give another review of 'will you like daimaoh?' I am here to talk about the bluray and the bluray released in america.

Daimaoh was originally licensed for streaming by crunchyroll in America. In fact, you can legally watch it right now, all 12 episodes, online at the crunchyroll website or if you have an anime network subscription (they are owned by sentai films who is selling this bluray)watch it there too.

So that brings the question why would anyone want to own this mediocre show that can be watched online for free? Well the bluray should be better quality right? uncensored extra content not available elsewhere?

The japanese bluray content included the 12 episodes plus 6 never before seen specials called Another Extra Daimaoh specials. It also included music videos, original commercials and bonus CDs if you bought the limited editions. So we should get all the same on the North American release, right?

No, that's not right, we don't get crap. Oh wait we got some advertisements for future releases. oh, and the original show is uncensored, like 3 scenes had the little foggy clouds removed. That is what you paid 40$ for, was that.

You know, sometimes I just don't understand. I have been doing my best to support the anime industry for more than twenty years now but sometimes I wonder who am I working hard for? certainly it's not for me, I just purchased an authentic copy of a bluray and half the content is missing.

Maybe the Japanese companies expect us all to be pirates? Am I supposed to pay for half the bluray now and download the rest? Or is it both companies just trying to cash and run as much as possible? I understand the world is changing and the Japanese industry needs to protect reverse importation and Sentai films needs to keep prices low but omitting content, 'especially new never before seen content' is like going to mcdonalds and getting half a cheeseburger.

As for me, I am done. I will not pay full price for another bluray. Interestingly enough, the exact same thing is happening with sora no otoshimono. It's a good thing I did not get around to buying the first season before they announced that. I hate to say it, but the Japanese licensing companies need to learn a very hard lesson and sadly, it's going to be the American ones who end up taking all the damage up front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Fun series, March 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In short this show should definitely be checked out for people fans of ecchi,harem,romance,comedy anime series. As for others who aren't fond of fan service, I don't recommend this show to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demon King Daimao, September 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demon King Daimao Complete Collection (DVD)
The was a great choice of mine. It's good for the people who like a lot of bases covered. Action, comedy, romance, violence, and some pretty cool fan service(ooh ya). The characters are awesome, and the story isn't slow and keep you interested.
For though who don't like to read, the English Dub sounds great too. All round great anime, but probably not for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harem Ecchi! Just my type, June 9, 2014
This review is from: Demon King Daimao Complete Collection (DVD)
Very funny. Just my type of topless shenanigans and supernatural fight scenes. Even a bro mance so its not all boob play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demon King Daimao Complete Collection (DVD)
A little short but the concept is fairly original. Characters don't have a ton of depth but for a 12 episode series or so they were very well done. Lots of Laughs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great anime sadly no English manga except online., March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this anime, Akuto Sai (the main character) is so hilarious the way he is always screwing up in conflict after conflict. Junko the blue haired girl on the cover always catching him at the worst possible moment. Only regret I have about this...unless someone reads this review who knows otherwise, I couldn't find a book manga released in English anywhere only online. Alotta anime fans don't read manga though and you will love this anime. But if someone knows of a manga book set comment and correct me please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Demon King Daimao Complete Collection [Blu-ray] YES!!!!, February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this anime, I wish I could see a second season but who knows if that will ever happen it ends pretty well so.... Anyway lots of fan service and sexual situations/innuendo but great story well written and the English voice cast did a great job. I am a huge anime fan and this is a great one lots of comedy and a few serious points I highly recommend I would suggest 15 or 16 yrs and up certain things I wouldn't let my 9 yr old see so I speak from experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Demon King Daimao Complete Collection
Demon King Daimao Complete Collection by Demon King Daimao (DVD - 2011)
$59.98 $36.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.