Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundLink AE All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 7, 2011
If you are interested in reading this book, it's likely that you are already of a certain political mindset. Therefore, I'm going to try to make this review helpful to you depending on your specific beliefs. I will do my best to be direct and not mis-leading.

--------

If You Are a Liberal:

Let me give you a fair warning; If you are a liberal democrat, even an "open-minded" one, you will hate this book. I would not recommend you waste your time reading Demonic. You will likely find Ms. Coulter to be mean-spirited toward your affiliation and paint you all with a generalized brush of disdain that you may not deserve. Now, if you still choose to read the book (despite my stern warning) you may learn some interesting facts(while being offended) as this book is undeniably well-researched and covers some interesting historical and philosophical concepts. However, I would imagine the chore of spending the hours needed to read this book red faced and clench-jawed will easily override some interesting facets the book uncovers. In fact, you will probably garner more from simply reading the work of Gustave Le Bon, particularly his book "The Crowd"- which provides many of the same factual insights discussed in Demonic, without being overtly offensive. So, to you my liberal, beloved, fellow American, I hope this review will save you some time and money by avoiding the aforementioned work.

--------

If You Are a Conservative:

Ahh, yes, the target audience for this book. If you fit within this group, Ann Coulter, and her newest work will likely appeal to you- especially if you prefer a no-nonsense delivery and a barrage of well-articulated shots taken at the Democratic Party and Liberal/Progressive leaders and it's followers. Coulter's true strength is her ability to couple well-researched events and link them to what she feels are modern equivalents (often with compelling evidence). The end result will supply you with entirely new reasons to remain firm in your political and moral convictions while giving you new ammunition to besiege your Democrat-loving relatives next Thanksgiving dinner. In truth, Ann is incredibly insightful and much too smart for my personal liking- as I fear ever having to debate someone like her about ANYTHING. I greatly enjoy her writing style, she is blunt, bold and opinionated- and fortunately for you, those are opinions you will likely support.

Final Thoughts

Demonic is primarily a book that seeks to highlight the mob-psychology that often occupies space in modern politics. Ann equates the "mob mentality" with literal demonic/evil influence- a notion that many may feel takes the argument too far. However, as with many of Coulter's books, her claims are backed by a myriad of historic events, facts and statistics, that may lend credence to many of the implications within the book. Ultimately, it will be up to you to decide whether her allegations bear any weight. I can only tell you, that for me personally, Demonic underscored strong correlations with some tragic historic events and recent tactics seen in several parties and sects today. Those who fail to observe the lessons of history are doomed to repeat them; perhaps Demonic will help America dodge some of the most unpleasant lessons on the horizon by encouraging critical thought from its people, rather than loyalty to propaganda and hollow-catchphrases.
1,3251,325 comments1,316 of 1,517 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 7, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of Ann Coulter; sometimes I think she says or writes controversial things just to get a rise out of her opponents. She is like a cat toying with a fuzzy, helpless animal most of the time...on one hand, you feel sorry for the helpless animal, but on the other hand, you accept that nature demands winners and losers.

Ann strikes at the heart of the matter, and right out of the box. Christians who know their Bible know the story of the hapless man possessed by 'Legion'. The book opens with this and sets the tone for the entire book. There is no toying with her prey in 'Demonic', rather there is an unrelenting assault (limited, well placed sharp humor) on the left and the lefts reliance on ginned up mob mentality. My guess is that Sarah Palin read an advanced copy at some point; the true story of Paul Revere's ride and capture by a group of Redcoats is explained. BTW - the NYT and WP asking for readers to help in reviewing the Palin emails on 6/9/11 is a perfect example of the 'mob' Coulter refers to in her book. Let's just say people aren't scouring Palin's correspondence for moose eyeball recipes. The press minions are assembling in attack formation...I bet they feel delightfully evil...oh, what's another word? (See title of book!) 6/13 follow up: Drudge states that some would-be mob icons the press uses to lend credence to the Destroy Palin movement have begun to turn and question why this much focus on a single woman who was last a candidate 3 years ago. The premise of Coulter's book is that real Americans embrace the traditions of debate and individualism, while those that hate America embrace the traditions of groupthink and mobs.

This is an excellent book for those people who self identify as 'new to politics' and have participated in tea party activities a couple of times. Ann lays out a good deal of recent history, and exposes how group think might have shaped your thoughts prior to the great tea awakening. She also covers a great deal of mob think history, and no, I'm not talking about Cosa Nostra; think French Revolution, and NOT the white washed version you thought you learned in school that supposedly paralleled the birth of our country. For those who have walked in Conservative shoes longer, this is a must have book as it is Ann at her best. And for those, like me, who have found her to be abrasive in the past, 'Demonic' is the one Coulter book you'll want to read. 'Demonic' is a must have for historical purposes alone...and even the least educated liberal should appreciate a well written book given their penchant for open-mindedness.
122122 comments463 of 605 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2011
Ann Coulter has not written a book which is only a "partisan diatribe" --- she has actually written a unique and brilliant history.

In many ways, of course, she is not a trailblazer. Other books about mob psychology include Charles Mackay's brilliant Extraordinary Popular Delusions and The Madness of Crowds, as well as the Frenchman who is almost the co-author of Coulter's book, Gustave Le Bon, who wrote The Crowd: A Study of the Popular Mind. In addition to that, educated people have always known that the mob almost always heads straight for the bottom and represents the lowest common denominator.

Nevertheless, this is a unique work of scholarship on at least two counts.

First, it is a horrifying compendium of what the French mob actually did to other people during the days of the French Revolution. I don't know of another place where you can find all these stupefying cruelties gathered together in one book.

Second, it is a history of the mob in America, which proves a rather startling thesis: the American mob has always been ginned up, used, and controlled by the Democratic Party. This, by the way, is a thesis which leftists should feel free to refute --- not by calling Ann Coulter silly names, but by consulting the historical record. You know what I mean --- "hard work and research," not sloganeering.

Oddly enough, the incomprehensible "Occupy" protests around the land provide even more evidence that the American mob has always been ginned up, used, and controlled by the Democratic Party.

If you want to read further on these subjects, I would like to recommend Edmund Burke's Reflections on the Revolution in France (Dover Value Editions) and Erik von Kuehnelt-Leddihn's Leftism Revisited: From De Sade and Marx to Hitler and Pol Pot. If you have further interest in the French Revolution (as opposed to mob terror during that Revolution), then you have an enormous choice, including Hibbert's The Days of the French Revolution and Tocqueville's Ancien Regime and the French Revolution (Penguin Classics).

All in all, an excellent & surprising book, very highly recommended!
3535 comments184 of 240 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
This book was not what I expected from the one word title 'Demonic.' Instead of an exercise in calling liberals names, the book is actually an extended comparison of the American Revolution to the French Revolution. Further, it draws parallels with contemporary conservative politics to the former, and modern progressive liberalism to the latter.

I generally consider the English genius G. K. Chesterton to be the ultimate standard of wisdom on just about every subject. The one exception has always been the French Revolution, about which he wrote a great deal of bosh. One can scarcely believe he was even writing about the same historical events.

The greatest recommendation I can give for Ann Coulter is that if you went through all of Chesterton's work, replacing everything he wrote about the French Revolution with 'Demonic' the resulting body of work would be the ultimate road map through the perverse complexities of modern times.

Highly recommended.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2014
Another informative and enlightening book by Ann Coulter. Witty with plenty of sarcasm. Just the way I like Ann Coulter. A must read for anyone feeling a bit overwhelmed by liberals!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
Love the humor she injects in her writing, makes me lol. She always has references listed to backup her statements.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
Ann Coulter can be caustic but every one of her books has enlightened me and taught me facts I did not know.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
Ann Coulter explains America's liberal mob mentality with crystal clear precision. She details the foundations and objectives of the liberal mob agenda and traces its roots through modern historical fact. There are lightbulb moments today's conservative citizens as well as some elective officials need to internalize. Wake up American citizens, the mob is in your neighborhood and your wallet!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon January 23, 2013
Over the past decade I have read several of Ann Coulter's books and have found them witty and informative. I'm often in agreement with her positions. As time has gone on I have become increasingly disturbed by the oversimplifications, sweeping generalizations, and caricatures found in her writing. These tendencies come to the fore in "Demonic."

Her attempt in this book to paint the French Revolution as all bad and the American Revolution as all good is certainly an oversimplification, as any student of history will attest. But even if we accept this premise, to claim that liberalism in general and the Democratic Party in particular are the spiritual descendants of the French Revolution is tenuous. Coulter provides little evidence for an intellectual or ideological connection. In fact, her argument seems to be, "There are similarities between the way people acted during the French Revolution and the way liberals act today. Therefore, the latter are the direct descendants of the former." Similarity of behavior does not prove an ideological connection. But this is about the only evidence that Coulter gives to support her generalization.

Much of Coulter's evidence for her overall thesis in "Demonic" is anecdotal. Granted, liberals have done some nasty things, and "Demonic" is full of examples of clearly egregious conduct. But conservatives have been guilty of equally aberrant behavior. And even if liberals as a whole are nastier than conservatives as a whole, this says nothing about the validity of the positions and proposals of those on either side of the political, economic, and social spectrum.

If one is interested in a quick read with plenty of examples of misbehavior by liberals past and present, then I would recommend "Demonic." However, this is not the book to read if you're looking for serious reflection on the respective ideologies of liberalism and conservatism.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2015
Ann has captured the liberal tactic which is now playing out in it's violence and hate based mobs who are intent on property destruction and disruption of society. Prophetic considering when Ann wrote this book and what is going on today! Ferguson, Baltimore, etc. etc.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse