Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, but interesting
This book was hard to read. But once you figure out the old text, it becomes very interesting and a little scary.
Published on November 16, 2009 by Jennifer A. Travis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was alright
It wasnt what I was looking for, talking more about king James himself. It's a very small book, so you can imagine there is really very little information
Published 17 months ago by bcooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, but interesting, November 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was hard to read. But once you figure out the old text, it becomes very interesting and a little scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classical Rhetoric Applied to Sixteenth-Century Culture, December 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demonology, by King James I (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
*Daemonologie* by King James VI (of Scotland) and I (of England) must be understood in terms of classical rhetoric, as it was established in the ancient period by Aristotle and used as a method of persuasive writing throughout western history. As an educated man of the late sixteenth and early seventeenth centuries, James would have been educated in this tradition. I have heard the Chinese have a curse that says, "May you live in interesting times." Certainly James did live in such a time in late-Reformation Europe. His mother, Mary Queen of Scots, had remained a Catholic, but James was raised by Protestants and succeeded the Protestant queen, Elizabeth I, upon her death in 1603. He had an interest in witchcraft and wrote his *Daemonologie* as an intellectual exercise about the occult, which still had its practitioners in Merry Olde England. Shakespeare's play *Macbeth* was written while James was on the throne and mixes together Scottish history and witchery in a tale of power gone mad.

Another reviewer, who did not like the book, indicates that James used "fake Socratic method" in his work, though it is hard to say what that term means. Certainly James employed Aristotelian style and logic, presenting his thoughts on the subject in the form of what the ancients called a diatribe (pronounce the first syllable as "dee"). This rhetorical technique differs from what we now mean by the word diatribe (pronounce the first syllable as "dye") in that Aristotle meant it to refer to a method of persuasion or exhortation in which two people engage in a dialogue on a topic, one attempting to persuade the other, who remains unconvinced and acts as "devil's advocate," as medieval scholars would have put it. In the dialogue, the tools of logic and the art of rhetoric are employed to effect the emergence of arguable truth in much the same way that lawyers reason out their cases before judges and juries today.

Thus, one finds at the beginning a dialogue between two men: Philomathes, who is not convinced about the reality of witches, and Epistemon, who seeks to persuade and inform him. Aristotle insisted that rhetoricians craft their arguments with their particular audience in mind. Therefore, James has his two disputants begin where any educated man of the period would have begun on a topic of this sort, that is, with the Bible. Epistemon begins by saying he has a difficult challenge at hand since Philomathes is skeptical even about the existence of witches since logicians insist, "Contra principia negantem non est disputandum" (that is, "Against one who denies the principles, there can be no debate"), but he endeavors to help Philomathes understand.

After the analysis of Old and New Testament scriptures regarding the existence of witchcraft, Epistemon (who is serving as King James's voice in the work) proceeds to such matters as (a) the kind of sin that is practiced by witches, (b) the distinction between necromancy and witchcraft, (c) the distinction between astrology and astronomy, (d) the use of charms, (e) contracts between the devil and magicians, and (f) why magic is unlawful and what punishment it deserves. These matters constitute Book I.

In Book II, the topics include (g) a refutation of the idea that melancholy explains witchcraft, (h) the meaning of sorcery, (i) the actions of witches, (j) transport of witches, (k) witches' actions towards others and the predominance of women amongst them, (l) persons who are easier or more difficult to be influenced by witchcraft, and (m) two forms of devils active in the world.

In Book III, the topics are (n) four kinds of spirits (which spans several sections) and (o) the requisites of witchcraft trials.

Forgotten Books, the publishing company, states that they take "the uppermost care to preserve the wording and images from the original," which means in this case that, like online versions of the text, the spelling and printing customs of the seventeenth century are retained. It becomes easier after a few pages if one understands that the letter "v" is used where we would use a "u" and that the final "e" was more widely used than is current today. Thus, we read the opening line, "I am surely verie glad to haue mette with you this daye," or, "I am surely very glad to have met with you this day." Second person pronouns are different as well, "ye" (often spelled "yee") being the form of the subject of the sentence and "you" being the direct object or object of a preposition.

Moderns (and post-moderns) like to snicker at King James' concern that witches were trying to kill him (shades of paranoia, some would say). However, there was a plot among practicing witches in North Berwick in 1590, which led to charges of treason against the king's cousin, Francis Stewart, Earl of Bothwell, nephew of the Bothwell who had killed the king's father in 1567. Whether the witches of North Berwick had actual power or were being manipulated to think so by powerful political forces who hoped to kill the king is the subject of a novel by Scottish writer Mollie Hunter entitled *The Thirteenth Member*.

My rating of five stars is due to the fact that this is an accomplished piece of rhetoric whether or not one agrees with its conclusions. Anyone who wishes to understand witchcraft in England and Scotland in this time period must start with this book. It also has applications to the study of Shakespeare's *Macbeth*. To be specific, the actions of Shakespeare's "weird sisters" in Act I, scene 3 of the play correspond to James' remarks in *Daemonologie*, Book II, Chapter 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars demonology, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demonology, by King James I (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
king james was a very interesting person. even though he had produced the king james version of the bible which many faiths still use today he also had an active interest witch hunting and other pagan practices and beliefs. james was certainly a man of god and felt he needed to know the work of the adversary to protect not only himself but god fearing worshipers as well. this book sites his research in the subject of demons. it is written in old english so its hard to get used to at first but your brain will adjust to it. it will also give an account of a witch trial which i found very interesting and thought provoking. history tells us that witch craft did indeed exist but you will have to be the judge of that. intersting book for the open minded reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was alright, February 25, 2013
This review is from: Demonology, by King James I (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
It wasnt what I was looking for, talking more about king James himself. It's a very small book, so you can imagine there is really very little information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting writing sample., November 19, 2012
This review is from: Demonology, by King James I (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
This writing by King James himself, shows the state of the English language around the time that the KJ bible came out. The King James bible was translated by many English schoolars not by King James himself. The King James bible is easy to read compared to this book's sample of the language in its same time period.

William Tyndale updated and advanced English using the Antioch-ian scriptures for his translation of the Bible into English. The KJ translators then used the updated English style from Tyndale's translation as part of the base for the King James translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The demon king., July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demonology, by King James I (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
It got more and more interesting as it appeared King James was educated and thoughtful but then the obscenity of his views at the same time as similarities with his other book. It is, of course, difficult to understand more than a sentence at a time. The part by King James 6th of Scotland was particularly obscene. A terrific book which should not have been forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good read, September 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demonology, by King James I (Forgotten Books) (Paperback)
This treatise on demonologie written by James I of England is written in a fake Socratic style and is extremely pretentious in tone. If you are required to read it for a class or have a burning desire to understand 17th century attitudes towards witchcraft of other of the "dark arts", you might find it helpful. The suggested influence of this book on Shakespeare's Macbeth seems plausible but to read that masterpiece from this very limited viewpoint is ludicrous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AMAZON ERRONEOUS LISTING - WAKE UP, June 20, 2007
Like the previous reviewer, I tried to order Rick Moody's collection of stories by the same title but you sent me this Christian Compilation of Demons, which I am returning, rather annoyed. Like him, I am frustrated because there seems to be no way to reach you guys directly to tell you that this book is listed ERRONEOUSLY ON YOUR WEBSITE AS BY RICK MOODY, which it is not. That correct book, that I wanted, is under another listing. AMAZON SEEMS TO HAVE A VERY SLUGGISH FEEDBACK SYSTEM. CHANGE THE LISTING!!! I am in the process of ordering the actual Moody book (I hope) which is under the correct listing. I just hope that unlike the previous writer, I actually get the right book this time.

WAKE UP WEB-SITE COPY WRITERS !!!

I even took the time to call you guys yesterday. You have two different ISBN numbers listed as the same book. demonology king james 1 is not the same as demonology: stories by rick moody. hello? anyone there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, October 11, 2008
Rick Moody should work for Ross and Norris McWhirter, the founders of the Guinness Book Of World Records, for the only thing one can absolutely say about his writing is that he loves to make lists- he lists brand names, celebrities, quotidian details, and sometimes the same words over and again. Naturally, this leaves almost no room for storytelling, which is what he claims to be about. His stories in his collection Demonology, lack character development, have no insight into the human condition, and are merely a hodgepodge of what might be termed his Worst Tales 1999-2001. Their only connection to each other is their execrability. It is no small irony that, as I was reading this book, I was also reading, alternately, a book of short stories by Anton Chekhov, and the differences were stark. In a century, were one to only look at these two writers, the short story form would seem to have died. Even in his earliest, most callow, tales Chekhov was capable of moments of insight, metaphor, and poetry that the ilk of Moody, Dave Eggers, and David Foster Wallace seem congenitally incapable of. Moody seems to thrive on merely typing....Rick Moody: He is a very bad writer, who is not just routinely bad, but predictably bad, even as he gesticulates form, for he is all shtick, PoMo vaudeville. Should I have a better ending?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong book again, May 14, 2007
I originally ordered the book 'Demonology' which is a collection of short stories by Rick Moody. I was sent the book 'Demonlogy' which is a comprehensive study of demons, and not at all what I wanted. I informed Amazon and you guys sent me the same wrong book again. Needless to say I am very unhappy with this. Get it together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Demonology, by King James I (Forgotten Books)
Demonology, by King James I (Forgotten Books) by King I James (Paperback - February 16, 2008)
$7.24 $6.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.