Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book
This is the kind of book that boggles someone. Its a vast collection though is DEFINATLY rated R. I wouldn't recomend it for anyone under a decent age as theres a lot of sex, sexual referances and in general a tone of violence, swearing a defilement of the human character...which is WHY the book is labeled demons, just warning anyone whose silly enough to think otherwise...
Published on November 2, 2011 by Sama

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and..
This would be rated higher but the editor John Skipp chose several stories that were sexually graphic and a departure from his demonic theme. Take those out and I would rate this higher. Also Skipp included a story he had written. Let's just say he is a far better editor than he is an author.
Published 18 months ago by J. Guier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, November 2, 2011
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
This is the kind of book that boggles someone. Its a vast collection though is DEFINATLY rated R. I wouldn't recomend it for anyone under a decent age as theres a lot of sex, sexual referances and in general a tone of violence, swearing a defilement of the human character...which is WHY the book is labeled demons, just warning anyone whose silly enough to think otherwise. However, if you can move past all that its a great collection of stories and excripts that delve waaaay deep into the whole demon business, and even makes one think about the true human nature. Awesome read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best anthologies ever!, December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
I am an avid and serious reader of the macabre, and horror fiction; and I can tell you without hesitation that Demons is one of the best anthologies I have ever read. The stories are among some of the most imaginative and disturbing of current literature. Others are beautifully evocative, making one reexamine what is perceived as evil. This book now has a spot in the "Don't sell these when I'm dead" bookcase: the collection of books I want handed down to the next generation and not at a yard sale! In fact, this purchase is my second copy, as I plan on giving it to my attorney son, with whom I have had many a discussion about the cultural relativity of evil! Buy the book, turn off the phone, and find yourself a comfy chair and begin reading. Just ignore the little hairs on the back of your neck, rising up in alarm. I'm sure that noise you hear outside is just the cat. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immense and amazing collection of horror and dark fiction, March 6, 2012
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
REVIEWED: DEMONS
EDITED BY: John Skipp
PUBLISHED: September, 2011

L-O-V-E-D this anthology! IMMENSE collection of both classic literary tales and wild new fiction exploring the lore of Demons in culture. Violent, Funny, Provocative, this collection really has something for everybody. Of course, with so many stories and ideas, not all of them hit the mark, although that may be perceived as a matter of taste. I had read all the classics previously, but was nice to see them intermixed with the new fiction - including, "The Monkey's Paw," by W.W. Jacobs, "The Black Cat," by Edgar Allen Poe, and "The Howling Man," by Charles Beaumont. Some of my favorite new fiction included "Cherub," by Adam-Troy Castro, "Consuela Hates a Vacuum," by Cody Goodfellow, "Best Friends," by Robert R. McCammon, "Stupid Reason to Sell Your Soul," by Carlton Mellick III, and "Other People," by Neil Gaimon. My absolute favorite was "Mom" by Bentley Little! With 37 stories plus articles, this collection is a complete sampler of the theme of "Demons."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Should POSSESS This Book, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
Very good compilation of stories, each dealing with the demonic in its own way. For the price, you cannot go wrong. 30+ stories about the evil ones we all fear (and sometimes secretly love).

The writers within are talented. You will definitely find a few stories to love here. The variety of tales in this tome is devilishly good! A few classics await you, like Poe's The Black Cat and W.W. Jacobs' The Monkey's Paw. An excerpt from The Exorcist by Blatty is included. Alongside these are stories by modern masters like Matheson, McCammon, Little, and Gaiman. Then there are the little-known gems by writers like James Steele (The Empty Church). A pastor gets a congregation of demons. Very weird.

Great book. BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Anthology At Reasonable Cost!, April 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
I highly recommend this very good anthology. A great selection of stories! A must have for your your personal library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Themed Anthologies in Years, January 17, 2012
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
Splatterpunk lord John Skipp has compiled a nicely-balanced collection of vintage tales, contemporary classics, and a slew of brand-new stories involving demons and the demonized. Lots of recognizable names in here, but kudos to Skipp for assembling many first-rate tales from up-and-coming authors (several of whom--Laura Lee Bahr, J. David Osbourne, and James Steele, for example--are writers I've encountered for the first time, and am looking forward to reading again).

A superb offering of both quantity and quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DARK AND AMAZING !, March 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
This is growing to be one of my favorite collections... It is very dark and very awesome ! Get it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and.., January 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
This would be rated higher but the editor John Skipp chose several stories that were sexually graphic and a departure from his demonic theme. Take those out and I would rate this higher. Also Skipp included a story he had written. Let's just say he is a far better editor than he is an author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars demons, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed (Paperback)
i was not happy with this book,but i was looking for information on fighting against demons not fighting for demons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed
$18.95 $14.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.