Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sure Hit!
What evil lurks in the hearts of hairdressers around the world? Lucia Gregory knows... but only because she's just opened a chest full of demons and discovered that she's a succubus. Now she's pressed to rein in all that she's loosed upon the world, not to mention keeping her salon in one piece while doing it.

Lucia Gregory is the kind of heroine you like from...
Published on June 1, 2011 by LAS Reviewer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Demon's Prefer Blondes by Sidney Ayers (thoughts)
Demons Prefer Blondes begins with Lucy Gregory opening an old chest and unleashing a box full of demons. Afterwards, she discovers that parts of her life have been hidden from her as she is half human and half succubus. Now it is up to Lucy and her friends to save the world while in the midst of all that she discovers love as well.

The premise of this book...
Published on July 17, 2011 by Samantha.1020


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sure Hit!, June 1, 2011
This review is from: Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) (Mass Market Paperback)
What evil lurks in the hearts of hairdressers around the world? Lucia Gregory knows... but only because she's just opened a chest full of demons and discovered that she's a succubus. Now she's pressed to rein in all that she's loosed upon the world, not to mention keeping her salon in one piece while doing it.

Lucia Gregory is the kind of heroine you like from the moment you meet her. She's passionate about what she does, she's good to her employees, and she seemingly has the patience of a saint. Lucy, as her friends know her, also is very adaptable and goes with the flow, which is handy when you suddenly discover you're a sex demon. What I like best about her, however, is how she can be completely in awe of her new-found powers one moment and completely at ease with them the next. I think this has a lot to do with her adaptable nature, but it also makes her so much more enjoyable to watch.

Rafael Deleon is pretty much what you'd expect out of a demon. He's stern, determined, and pretty inflexible on his best days. However, he has a softer side that he keeps well hidden from everyone. Tortured by his past failings, he hides behind his duty to keep him aloof and unattainable. Little did he expect Lucy to find a way to break down those barriers. I love the fact that she is not just able to do that, but that she is willing to keep trying. I also enjoyed the way the author softened him up little by little, making it seem like an honest turn around on Rafe's part. You can really see their attraction growing and becoming something more.

Demons Prefer Blondes was a surprise in many ways. The author does a fabulous job of giving you not only a unique setting, but a hero and heroine that you won't soon forget. Not to mention that she manages to make demons both sexy and scary at the same time. Jam packed full of laughs, characters you can't get enough of, and a steamy-hot romance, Demons Prefer Blondes is a sure hit!

Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Demon's Prefer Blondes by Sidney Ayers (thoughts), July 17, 2011
This review is from: Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) (Mass Market Paperback)
Demons Prefer Blondes begins with Lucy Gregory opening an old chest and unleashing a box full of demons. Afterwards, she discovers that parts of her life have been hidden from her as she is half human and half succubus. Now it is up to Lucy and her friends to save the world while in the midst of all that she discovers love as well.

The premise of this book sounded unique and interesting which instantly made me want to read it. And while the storyline was interesting and fun, it ended up being just an okay read for me. Let's start off with what I liked first which were the characters. There were lots of characters in this story but one of my favorites was a secondary character named Kalli. The author portrayed her with a hint of mystery, her past is alluded to a couple of times, but what made me like her so much is that she wasn't your typical sidekick character. In fact, I wanted to read more just about her. The two main characters were likeable enough as well with Rafe's character being the most fleshed out. Lucy took finding out that she was a succubus amazingly well which didn't quite ring true to me. She had doubts at the beginning but then all of a sudden she was completely at ease with her new powers. The storyline wasn't amazingly original but what worked for it was the author's writing and the characters that added to it.

I did struggle with the book at times as it never really drew me in. I found it easy to set aside before picking it back up again. The page turning suspense was never really there for me which was a disappointment. I would have to like to have learned more about Lucy's new powers as a succubus as well. But overall while I didn't love this read, I did think that it was okay bordering on good. I would read more by this author especially if the next book she writes features Rafe's sister Coby as the ending left me with a few questions. Recommended but with some hesitations.

Disclosure: I was sent this book for review from the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced and funny, readers who love saucy heroines and a quirky cast of secondary characters will enjoy this new paranormal., June 1, 2011
By 
Bookaholics Reviewer (Bay Area, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) (Mass Market Paperback)
Demons Prefer Blondes by Sidney Ayers
Paranormal Romance - June 1st, 2011
3 ˝ stars

Rafael Deleon is a demon on a mission. His sister is part of an elite guard that were transporting a magical chest when they were ambushed by the evil Belial and his sister was kidnapped. Now Rafael is determined to save his sister and get back the stolen chest that is their salvation. But he discovers that the chest has been magically hidden on the planet earth - in the most unlikely clutches of a beauty salon owner named Lucy.

Lucy Gregory is trying to make ends meet at her hair salon where not only has one of her employees called in sick but the clients are driving her batty. Then her wacky friend, Serah comes in and tells her of an antique chest she bought. Lucy is skeptical and believes her friend was ripped off. That is until she touches it and feels something like electricity. When the latest in a series of calamities makes Lucy want to pull out her hair, a hunk like a Greek God comes in and saves the day. But what does he really want? And would it really hurt to open up the chest?!

This is a funny off the wall romance that lovers of high spirited chick lit romances will enjoy. The heroine is sassy. The hero is dark and dangerous and the rest of cast brings a lot of comic wackiness. It reminded me a bit of Michelle Rowen's lighter books. Lucy's adventurous are zany and outrageous. I did enjoy the quirky characters but actually found myself sometimes wishing there were fewer characters because they sometimes distracted me from the main plot/story. This is because the book was so crammed with cast members that it sometimes made it a bit uneven to read. I felt that there was a lot of material that that the writer could have added to another book.

Fast-paced and funny, readers who love saucy heroines and a quirky cast of secondary characters will enjoy this new paranormal.

Reviewed by Steph from the Bookaholics Romance Book Club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, June 2, 2011
This review is from: Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) (Mass Market Paperback)
When the book starts we do not know that Lucy is a succubus. Nope she owns a beauty salon. She is single, she has good friends and one of them has just brought a strange box to her. Let the fun begin. This is where the demons step in and they are not your usual kind of demons. There are the wicked evil ones and then there are those blessed by angels and they actually fight for good. That was different.

Lucy was fun and she could hold her own, quite the tongue on her. Her two employees are fun, cheeky devils. Her best friend is interesting (and getting the next book), the chimp that shows up was fun (yes I said chimp, it was an imp as a chimp). And I am not forgetting the hero, Rafe, a demon sent to get the box back. He is one of the good guys and he is slowly falling for her. The guy has some issues, mostly since he wants to save her sister and since he does not want to get involved with anyone. There you have it, a great cast of characters.

The story is about the chest since the bad guys want it, but it is also about Lucy finding out what she truly is (while having a hot fling with a handsome demon).

But the thing I liked best (well not counting the fun characters) was the humour in the book. Even if it looked really bad Lucy still had funny remarks. Perhaps a survival instinct but it was fun.

Conclusion:

This was a light paranormal with humour sprinkled on top. It was a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Demons Might - I Didn't, February 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hairstylist and beauty shop owner Lucia Gregory should have known better when her best friend Serah showed up toting the antique chest she'd gotten for a steal. The fact that she bought it isn't what bothers Lucy. That's what Serah does. She buys things. Lots of things. In this case, however, it's a creepy chest that gives her a zap when she touches it, and the Latin scrawled across the top is not exactly chock full of warm fuzzies.

More like dire warnings about grim things that Lucy doesn't believe in. Still, it gives her a chill.

That should have been enough to keep her from going anywhere near it, but Serah wanted a full translation and she wanted to see what was inside it. And Serah can be very convincing.

Rafael Deleon has kept himself away from the realm of Earth, choosing instead the solace of Limbo after his last debacle with the fairer sex a couple of hundred years ago. He's given little choice by the council of Fore-Demons, though, when they find out the Arca Inferorum, the chest that keeps contained some of creation's worst demons, is no longer being protected and has popped up on Earth. Rafe is tasked to recover it before it can be opened, despite his misgivings about returning to the mortal plane.

Tracking it to the beauty parlor only leads to frustration. The chest is gone, but he meets the owner, Lucy Gregory, an appealing ball of attitude and latent demon power. Not even close to what he was expecting. Still, maybe he shouldn't have let her out of his sight once he'd sensed her, even after she told him to leave her business.

Before Rafe can follow the chest's trail, Serah has convinced Lucy to finish the Latin translation and see if they can open it. Lucy had no idea her unique heritage would allow her to flip the lid on that bad boy during the night of the lunar eclipse. And she couldn't have even dreamed the results would be so catastrophic. When Rafe shows back up at her business as the place is getting mystically trashed, spouting off about some sort of woo-woo stuff the chest can do, Lucy ignores him. Until he tells her she's half-succubus. And that she just released a bunch of nasty demons on earth, destroying her precious beauty shop in the process.

She's finding it pretty darned hard to ignore all of that.

~*~

Lighter-toned paranormal romance and urban fantasy tends to be hit or miss for me, but when I like them, I like them very much. When I don't...I don't. This one didn't work for me on any level.

I found the narrative excessively wordy, the dialogue overly emphatic (so many exclamation points!), the plot lacking in focus, and the characters tedious. The first half of the book did little to flesh out the world, explain the created mythos, or progress the plotline. It focused almost exclusively on how sexy Rafe is, how much Lucy wants him, and how confused Rafe is over his desire for Lucy. Not much else.

A heavy dose of relentless editing could have streamlined the book and improved the flow of the story tremendously, but as is, the book meanders aimlessly and loses all sense of urgency, even in extremely urgent situations. Someone at risk of being killed? Characters stand on the stairs wrapped in a lengthy discussion about racing in and saving the day instead of...you know...actually racing in and saving the day. Someone kidnapped? Characters stand around looking for information on the Big Bad's motives for the kidnapping instead of...you know...actually going after the kidnapped character.

That sort of stuff drives me a little nuts.

Sudden shifts in characters' emotions with no supporting setup, story development, or explanation were also common. Rafe is offended and annoyed by Squeaky at first, then suddenly decides he likes the little guy, that Squeaky has "whittled his way in." I'm not sure how that happened, considering their starting point and the fact they spent no time together in the interim. I'm no clearer on how Squeaky, who started out noticeably afraid of Serah, suddenly turns into her popcorn-munching movie buddy and her new BFF. The initial fear was given no more explanation than the abrupt change of heart. It's not even noticed.

And Rafe is a crier. Crying heroes are not sexy.

Other stuff in the story just flat out didn't make sense to me. Developments, storyline, motivations, actions. There were times when I simply didn't understand what I was being told or where the story was trying to go. A preponderance of unanswered questions posed more problems, especially about Lucy being half succubus. Her need to feed on human males through sex was brought up often originally...then completely dropped from the story. Does she need to feed or not? On humans or not? What's her deal? So many unanswered questions.

I stuck it out, read through to the end, and kept hoping something would come together for me in the book. That some aspect of it would click for me. I ended up disappointed. I can't say I was terribly surprised. Like I said, I know that series such as this, with lighter, more comedic elements, don't always go over well with me. It was just bad fortune that more than just the lighter elements fell short for me. Everything else did too. Unfortunately, I just don't think this series is for me.

~*~*~*~
Reviewed for One Good Book Deserves Another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars terrific often humorous thriller, May 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) (Mass Market Paperback)
Dominic Duvane of the Fore Demon Council informs senior demon Rafael Deleon that Hell's northern region Prince Belial's Infernati warriors attacked the guards protecting the chest. Belial captured Rafe's sister Coby, but she bravely sent the chest to earth to buy time in order to prevent the enemy from obtaining it. Dominic orders Rafe to retrieve the chest while he rescues Coby from their adversary's dungeon.

Cosmetologist Lucia Gregory has the chest; with her friend Serah Bear she attempts to open it; unaware that she would be freeing some nasty demons of the damned. Rafe arrives and realizes that Lucy is a succubus and that he wants her. Both are stunners to him as he never expected to meet a succubus or desire her. As a war begins, Rafe and Lucy fall in love. Each understands they must return the demons to their hell so he brings in his allies and she brings in her circle.

The opening Demons Unleashed romantic fantasy is a terrific often humorous thriller. The characterizations are superb and the Ayers universe deftly created inside an exhilarating story line. Sub-genre readers will appreciate the amusing romance between the demon and the succubus who also have a world to save.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a pleasant surprise, May 20, 2011
This review is from: Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was pleasantly surprised to find that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I am not a fan of the fantasy genre, but the witty dialogue and entertaining characters kept me coming back to see what they were getting into next. I can't wait for the next book to see what happens next! A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun and exciting book, October 3, 2013
Demons Prefer Blondes is a fun and exciting book by debut author Sidney Ayers! Lucy is a very independent salon owner who is very likable, friendly and seems to take what life throws her and make the best of it. She never dreamed that she would be a succubus, a sex demon, in her wildest dreams. Rafe is a very alpha demon, one who is rigid and determined to do do his job and do it well. When Lucy inadvertently opens a box and unleashes demons, Rafe is there to run damage control. What he didn't expect was the effect Lucy's charms would have on him.

Wildly entertaining, witty repartee, fantastic characters and spicy romance set the tone for this fun and magical paranormal romp. You won't want to miss the next book in the Demons Unleashed series, Demons Like It Hot, coming in December!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Demonic Hairstyling, September 11, 2013
By 
This review is from: Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) (Mass Market Paperback)
Demons Prefer Blondes by Sidney Ayers
The story idea was hilarious. Hair stylist is really a demon of her own. It had a little bit of every paranormal favorite except for vampires and werewolves. Ms. Ayers writes a funny story that is easy to read and takes the reader on a wild ride. Just when I thought the story would resolve, a new conflict/twist would happen. The secondary characters were almost as much fun as the main characters. Best of all, I could read about Michigan places <3. If you like a story with a sense of humor and excitement, Demons Prefer Blondes is a perfect read for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When is a Succubus not a Succubus, September 11, 2013
This review is from: Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) (Mass Market Paperback)
Book provided as part of a promotional gift bag I received at a conference.

I chose this as something to read on a flight home, it turned out to be a long flight and I was able to finish it right after I got home.

It is light and often funny with a snarky and tough heroine who had been able to hold her own against a pushy mother to do what she wanted with her life. Add in a Pandora's Box of problems, a hot demon, a couple of demon kings and you have a battle for the ages as Lucy and Rafe try to save the world.

Lucy learns she is actually a Succubus. For some reason, Rafe is afraid to be with her - I guess he has failed several missions so he's worried he'll fail her. Plus, as he keeps telling her, she needs to eat. She is not eager to eat because, well, it involves what succubi do -- suck the life out of their partner.

Here's a problem - making love with a demon will not fulfill her needs. But then she never eats throughout the entire story. But while not filling, she and Rafe develop a hot and satisfying relationship. There is something odd, they admit that his connection to her is changing him. But it was a little too nebulous, the author had a great idea but didn't know how to tie it together or just wrote herself into a corner.

The story depends on humor and the characters' personalities to carry it; there are a lot of characters -- too many. And, many of the characters are not who they have seemed to be. It was hard to read the subtext and that detracted from the story. It was hard to follow.

The upshot, funny, with good main characters and too many peripherals but some nebulous world building make following the plot a little tough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed)
Demons Prefer Blondes (Demons Unleashed) by Sidney Ayers (Mass Market Paperback - June 7, 2011)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.