Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 3, 2012
"From now until the end of time today and everyday shall be know as secretaries day!" Mike (Astin) and Rodney (Vartan) are the best salesmen and Treadstone tire, and they know it. Being rude to everyone has become standard fare until their boss dies. When Ken Castro (Cross), who has been the brunt of their jokes, takes over he immediately demotes them to secretaries. The two realize how they have been and begin to change their ways. I will start by saying that I liked this movie and laughed quite a bit but this is also nothing amazing at all. Very predictable and pretty much a no substance movie but it is worth watching and I liked it. Think "Office Space" but a step above on the absurd scale. There really is nothing to say about this as there is really nothing to it but I again liked it and I think it is worth checking out. Overall, if you liked "Office Space" you will like this. This are worse ways to spend an hour and a half. I give it a B.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2012
Mike Murphy (Sean Astin) and Roddney (Michael Vartan) are two hot shot tire salesmen for the Treadline tire company. They can do no wrong in the eyes of their boss Bob Farrell (Robert Klein). They treat their fellow employees with disrespect and play nasty pranks. When their boss suddenly dies from what appears to be an overdose of lap dances, the office politics change as the brunt of their humor, Ken Castro (David Cross) has become their boss. Rather than fire these two, they are demoted to the secretaries.

After some initial friction things smooth out to where our two bad boys lead an uprising against the constant misuse and sexist attitudes of their bosses. Sara Foster of D.E.B.S. plays Jennifer, the fiancee of Rodney.

The film is crude at times, but compared to others in its genre, it is rather tame. I found the humor to be light and at times forced. The plot is predictable with much the humor is on the immature side. Too much of the movie is filmed inside a restroom.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bombs, no sex, male rear nudity (Michael Vartan)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2013
This movie is hilarious! The tables are turned on these two guys, in this fun movie. It also shows the harsh disregard men have towards women in clerical roles. Granted it depicts "the old school" way things were, but is still super funny. It also has sensitive moments enveloped in the hilarity. I highly recommend it for a light-hearted evening of comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
Within the first ten minutes of the movie, the writers rely on humorless jokes involving toilet humor, feces, and bodily functions. This is a portent of an ill-conceived movie that lacks creativity and imagination - and Demoted delivers just that. The entire movie was vacuous and insipid. The other one star reviews here on Amazon are spot on and cover many of the problems with the film.

If you are determined to waste time watching this film, check it out of the public library and spend your money on something worthwhile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2012
It should be noted that I'm a bit biased, being a huge fan of David Cross ever since the days of "Mr. Show" (and of course, he gained the status of legend for his role of Tobias Fuhke on "Arrested Development"). Anything this quirky guy says or does is very funny in my book, and "Demoted" is no exception. He plays the awkward, stumbling character that he has become known for in all his work, and the results are the same: it's just plain funny. Therefore, if you're a fan of David Cross, you will not be disappointed.

The story revolves around three tire salesmen, one of which is named Ken "Don't Call Me Kenny" Castro, played by David Cross. Ken is perpetually teased and tormented by his co-workers, so it comes as a delightful surprise to him when he receives an unexpected promotion (due to an odd set of circumstances), that positions him as the new boss of all salesmen- including the ones who have made his life so miserable. Ken's first order of business is to give his tormentors a taste of their own medicine. He chooses to demote them... to male secretaries. Finding the employment market to be inhospitable, the demoted duo has no choice but to join the pool of secretaries, a group that is none too receptive, given their past exchanges.

"Demoted" is by no means a masterpiece, but it's a very good comedy that's well worth watching for people who like to laugh at the nuances and relationships of the workplace- oftentimes, as they say, there is a lot of truth in fiction. Things can be exaggerated a bit at times, but overall, this story remains fairly close to what ACTUALLY happens in setting of the American workplace. Although this is clearly a low brow movie, I was quite surprised to see how the writers subtly began transferring the viewers' sympathies from one character to another- it was unexpected and well executed. "Office Space" focuses on cubicle work, "Extract" focuses on blue collar factory labor, and "Demoted" is an interesting look at the world of salesmen and secretaries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
Nothing too over the top, but a nicely paced flick with good humor. It's on par with the show "Workaholics" and benefits from good casting. It seems that the director or the producers were playing it safe with the storyline, and not getting too outrageous, but the film makes a good Sunday evening rental.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
This movie is funny as heck!! Love it and have watched it more than once, for those who love movies like Animal House, Superbad, Bachelor Party and Revenge of the Nerds, you will love this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
Too bad the good actors in here wasted their time making this movie. I'm sure immature frat boys would love it though.
Everyone else - save your money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
This is worth a watch but the ending is lame and there were some unneeded sexist stereotypes and assumptions. The film would have been perfect w/o that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
A fun story with a moral overtone. Its a pity this movie was not shown in more cinema's as it was a story line worth showing and well acted by all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.