Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Baby...and for you!, August 24, 2009
This review is from: John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series) (Hardcover)
Janeen Mason is one of my favorite illustrators..and with text from John Denver...it's a match made in heaven! Baby animals and baby people from around the world are used to illuminate Denver's touching lyrics....it's a perfect book to read to your babies...however old they are...and a great art treasure for you! This one has keepsake...collectible...heirloom...written all over it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Baby's For Me, August 22, 2009
By 
This review is from: John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series) (Hardcover)
John Denver's tender words and Janeen Mason's glorious illustrations will make your heart soar with reminders of loves past, present and, if you're lucky, still to come. I can't wait to sit with my granddaughter in my lap, introducing her to two of the best in the business. For Baby (For Bobbie) (John Denver Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Love Song with Pictures, October 15, 2009
I don't normally like picture books produced by illustrating songs. The lyrics don't often work as a read aloud, or they suggest you should be singing rather than reading them, a challenge not every parental voice is up to.

But For Baby (For Bobbie), a picture book version of the first song the late John Denver ever recorded, overcomes my usual objections. The sunny illustrations by South Floridian Janeen Mason depict families and animals from around the world, meaningful paired on facing pages - a lovely interpretation of the lyrics which express unconditional love for an unnamed person. (The interesting endnotes report Denver wrote the song for a girlfriend but Mary Travers of Peter, Paul and Mary recorded it with her daughter in mind.)

Best of all, I'm saved from trying to sing Denver-style (though this has never stopped me in the car while driving through West Virginia. "Take me home, country roads . . . .") because the book is packaged with a CD of Denver singing his soothing song of gentle sentiments.

A beautiful baby gift whether you can carry a tune or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Baby (for Bobbie), September 12, 2009
This review is from: John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series) (Hardcover)
Absolutely gorgeous illustrations grace the pages of this picture book that brings together families from all over our world. A part of the John Denver series, which illustrates many of his most popular lyrics, For Baby (For Bobby)is simply a breathtaking picture book.
-- Reviewed by Michelle Delisle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Book, August 24, 2009
By 
D. Gephart (Jupiter, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series) (Hardcover)
The illustrations in this book will take your breath away. Janeen Mason's bright colors bring to life creatures great and small from all over the globe. It's a glorious melding of tender words and illuminating art. A must have for your baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories for Children Magazine 5 Star Review, December 22, 2009
This review is from: John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series) (Hardcover)
Reviewed by: Wayne Walker

Do you know what the first song that the late John Denver ever recorded was? It was "For Baby (For Bobbie)." He originally wrote it as a love song for a girl named Bobbie, but Mary Travers, of "Peter Paul, and Mary," heard it differently and sang it as a love song for her daughter. This book is the fifth in Dawn Publications' series of John Denver and Kids picture books. Janeen Mason, an award-winning artist, member of the Florida Arts Council, and illustrator of numerous children's picture books, has adapted and illustrated Denver's song. Toddlers and their parents will see mothers and babies of both different peoples and various animals in a song and picture journey around the world, including elephants from Sri Lanka, kangaroos from Australia, puffins from Iceland, cats from the United States, monarch butterflies from Mexico, baboons from Africa, giant pandas from China, llamas from South America, and orangutans from Borneo. At the end there is a section with a map and information about the animals and where they live, followed by a copy of the song itself and a biography of Denver. The hardback edition comes with a CD of Denver performing the song. Previous titles include Sunshine on My Shoulders, Take Me Home Country Roads, Ancient Rhymes: A Dolphin Lullaby, and Grandma's Feather Bed. Many people have loved the songs of John Denver, and they will enjoy sharing them with their own children and grandchildren through these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A touching encasing of a beloved classic love song that will delight parents and children alike, October 19, 2009
This review is from: John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series) (Hardcover)
"John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie)" is a beautiful adaptation/interpretation of a famous love song that has been interpreted as reflecting either parent/child or romantic young love. A Sharing Nature with Children book, "For Baby" contains wonderful brightly colored paintings of animals and people all around the world. At the end of the book, which contains the text of the song, is a world map and guide to all the animals shown in the illustrations, plus a copy of the song and more background information about John Denver's experiences writing the song. "John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie)" is a touching encasing of a beloved classic love song that will delight parents and children alike. It is suitable for ages 3 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our daughter won't let us put this book down..., October 6, 2009
Keira loves her new book.. She signs and calls it " My book", she is only 20 months old but already loves to listen and sing and look at the pictures. She has trained our older boys to read it to her as well, so roughly it gets read about 6 times a day if not more.
This is a wonderful book for all ages, with the imagery and the amazing use of color it captivates the imagination of every age. Our older children like the map in the back so they can see where all of the animals come from and it has created a dialog for us to learn about new and different cultures.
Once you open the pages and see for yourself you will to bee singing along in time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Baby, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series) (Hardcover)
This song is so beautiful! It is one you won't get out of your thoughts fast. The words in it will stay with you forever! This book is so beautiful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Fantastic For Baby For Bobbie", October 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series) (Hardcover)
My grandson and I love singing it together and pointing out the pictures and anmals. He is now a John Denver fan too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

John Denver's For Baby (For Bobbie) (Audio CD Included) (John Denver & Kids Series)
$19.95 $14.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.