Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soon to be dog-eared, September 13, 2006
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
I've read this book from cover to cover - only the second architecture book I've finished all the way through. The first 'Good deeds, good design' (ed. Bryan Bell) is very similar in its exploration of sustainable innovative design. I've been waiting awhile for something as inspirational as that book, and 'Design Like You Give A Damn' doesn't disappoint.

While covering some of the same projects as 'Good Deeds, Good Design' it looks at quite a few more as well. The emphasis is on cultural, rather than environmental, sustainability (but the latter isn't ignored).

The graphics make it as accessible as a coffee table book (without the shallowness) and the information is clear and easy to read. Best of all, it avoids the self indulgent, self-obsessed rhetoric that seems to be so common in architectural books.

After finishing each section of this book I'm left with so many questions that the book couldn't possibly answer. How do I get involved or start one of these projects? What tools were used in the participation stage? (In this respect 'Good Deeds' is a bit more helpful?) How exactly does the construction work for the adobe huts that are lit on fire from the inside?

'Design Like You Give A Damn' promotes a philosophy of initiative, resourcefulness and not waiting for things to be handed to you. As such, the greatest compliment I can pay this book (and its authors) is that I finished it with lots of questions and enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Sets a New Standard, August 30, 2006
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
I am a community planner working in sustainable design. I have a library of books that pitch the green, the innovative , mod construction, etc.

Most of them are, at the end of the day, fluff... many promoting a small group of architects that get together to publish a sort of self serving tome.

THIS BOOK IS THE EXCEPTION! It is sure to become the standard as a resource for inspired design world wide, and the way it is constructed is brilliant, with the design and the technical well illustrated, along with an engaging background story of how the project came about, what were the challenges, etc.

I am purchasing copies of this book for associates so they can get the benefit of this remarkable overview of creative, sustainable, and innovative work being done world-wide by designers, tinkers , inventors, and creative folks that really do Give a Damn

I hope they issue a new edition every couple of years.

Seriously, its like the original Whole Earth in the important and liberating information contained... an important new resource

Buy this Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An encyclopedia of inspiration, September 3, 2006
By 
A W (Atlanta, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
To echo what some of the other reviewers have written, this book is really marvelous inspiration. It describes a series of projects, most built, that are mostly low tech, low cost, people-centered. It is mainly architecture (buildings), but highlights a few projects that fall more into the 'appropriate tech' catagory: pumps, water carriers, solar stills, bush toilets...

Like most architecture books, this isn't a technical guide, but it is a well written, inspirational look at a few dozen examples of architecture and design applied to their highest good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspriational read!!, August 29, 2006
By 
GB (Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
This book is truly fantastic. I am an architecture student in the process of writing a thesis on sustainable humanitarian design. There is no other title on the market that compares - so many examples from right across the globe. It is so current, so real and I couldn't help but be inspired. I hope that one day I am able to be a part of the work of these amazing design professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For once, not a coffee table book about architecture..., November 25, 2007
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
This book is an important counterbalance to the plethora of glossy coffee table books about architecture that glorify starchitects and their creations, which usually only benefit their wealthy clients. If only the architectural journals would plaster these projects on their front pages instead of oh-so-chic homes and corporate headquarters. The world is facing a housing crisis, but most architects are not trained to respond to this crisis in massive, innovative ways that go beyond the feel-good student trips to build a couple of houses for people in need. This book should be required reading in all architecture schools, architecture practices, and architectural publishing offices. The profession - as with so many other professions - has lost its way. This book can be one small step toward recovering the reality that architecture is a collaborative endeavor that entails public responsibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a Designers Library, May 25, 2007
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
This book is a great addition to any designers library, skimming over a few different projects that are displayed after reading the first few chapters to get the background story is best. There are many projects that can help get over designers block when you need a break at 4 oclock in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Socially Conscious Sustainable Design, August 9, 2007
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
I found the book very inspiring and informative. The book is basically a catalogue of several types and scales of architectural humanitarianism. I am a student of architecture and this book and "Cradle to Cradle" have really inspired and driven me to explore these topics of sustainability and humanitarianism in the field of architecture further. If you are new to how architecture can help in humanitarian ways, as I am, then this book would be a fine introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Work, August 29, 2006
By 
Architect (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
This thorough compilation gives us access to many successful projects we would be unable to see anywhere else.

I found the section devoted to the historical background of social housing extremely interesting as well.

I hope to see further details and analysis of some of these projects in Volume 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of interesting ideas, December 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
I'm not an architect, but I enjoy the craft as a whole. I saw this book on a PBS science show and had to check it out. Once I finish reading it, I'm passing it on to my architect friends to inspire them to think of the more basic level of need for their talents. Living in the US, I have always taken for granted having a place to live, but seeing how many people around the world need homes is staggering. Kudos to those architects that face the problems of these people. They should be recognized for their innovative uses of stuff as simple as PVC pipe and tarp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars change happens one house at a time, November 14, 2007
This review is from: Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises (Paperback)
This is truly an inspiring book! I originally bought this for architect friends whose humanitarian vision parallels many of those in this book. Even they were thrilled and inspired. I plan to give it to others for Christmas this year..Lets hope soon everyone will have a place to live that will be their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises
Design Like You Give A Damn: Architectural Responses To Humanitarian Crises by Architecture for Humanity (Paperback - January 15, 2006)
$35.00 $25.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.