Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best damned book #2
This is a great second book that Architecture for Humanity has put out collecting and documenting a number of projects that focus on the other "99%" of the population that are not always catered to for architectural services. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in low income design or any other type of nontraditional practice. The articles are all...
Published on May 14, 2012 by afterGLOW Design, LLC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Very inspirational to read! Im very excited to look further into it .
Published 1 month ago by catherine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best damned book #2, May 14, 2012
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
This is a great second book that Architecture for Humanity has put out collecting and documenting a number of projects that focus on the other "99%" of the population that are not always catered to for architectural services. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in low income design or any other type of nontraditional practice. The articles are all written well and shown in a way to easily compare contrast. This is an amazing document/learning bible on socially responsible design. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Architecture Student, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
My brother in law in a grad student in an architecture program and is very focused on sustainable, environmental and ethical building practices. He already has the first edition of this book, but after reviewing it I found that the two have a lot of different information. I purchased this for him as a Christmas gift and he has already said how great it was! Definitely a worthwhile read for students, professionals or those just interested in the field!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great size, December 30, 2013
By 
hoffmalr (Central New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
The print quality is terrific, and the size of the book is nice - not to unwieldy. The color photographs are a great addition and make the book more pleasant to read than other similar books about sustainable technologies for developing worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In depth knowledge on out of the box design, October 29, 2013
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
Design Like you Give a Damn is a great precursor to understanding grassroots efforts in the developing world. The look at various projects by Architecture for Humanity gives a fresh take on design. Where do we really design from? Our heads or our hearts?
I appreciate how the book gives a lot of examples in picture and short written form to be able to further research based on ones that catch your eye. I especially like the involvement of the community as the main stakeholder in these projects. The next book from this group gives even more example projects to feast your eyes and design inspirations on! Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very usefull book for humanitarian architecture, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
I loved it, It is very usefull and helpfull for my future engagement in architecture especially for nowdays. Great Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in depth book, July 3, 2013
The book reads like a series of illustrated short stories on the work of architecture for humanity. It reads easily, quickly, and the work they have done is absolutely incredible. I highly recommend you check it out, and check out the organization as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
This book is really inspiring. The work that architecture for humanity does is really amazing. We can learn a lot from what they are doing. The projects look simple and sustainable at the same time. Really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ., February 9, 2013
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
I got this book from my In-law's for my Birthday, after wanting it for the last 2 Christmas. I was expecting a Great Book with a lot Amazing thought and Idea's And it is full of it! It met every Expectations I had for it, plus more! I highly Suggest that you get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring!!!, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
This is a great book if you are starting to get the feeling on do something great for the world, this is a good guide to understand what's going on out there, maybe if they included more details about the designs and projects all had enriched the experience of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Design Book, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up (Paperback)
This was a gift for an architecture student. She was very excited to get this book that she will need next semester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up
Design Like You Give a Damn {2}: Building Change from the Ground Up by Architecture for Humanity (Paperback - May 1, 2012)
$35.00 $25.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.